Nissan Patrol 4.2

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 09:19
ThreadID: 35960 Views:2985 Replies:11 FollowUps:20
Well,

Finally spat the dummy with my 4.8 patrol on Gas and am going out to buy a new 4.2 ST-S today.

Any thing in particular that I should look out for????

Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 09:23

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 09:23
"Any thing in particular that I should look out for???? "

Yeah.....owning a bloody great car! Enjoy the economy.
AnswerID: 184229

Follow Up By: kookaburra - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 23:39

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 23:39
yeah, look out for salesmen ,the ones with ties on,the ones that started last week,the ones that talk, there telling lies,the ones that know everything and dont even haveone of there own,the ones that want to give you FA for your trade in, especally the ones that dont want to know ya when your new 50 granda chits its 10 grand motor 1 day out of waranty, go and look for one privately, pay a reptuable 4x4 mechanic to check it out properly, you will save thousands you will find what your looking for if you dont rush, how many salesmen are sorry they sold 3 litre what evers to hard working buyers, NONE. IF YOU MUST BUY A NEW ONE get the dealer or dealers to fight for your business. ps saved 10 thousand dollars on a deal january 2005. both dealer and customer still happy, salesman still talking about wood ducks. regards al
FollowupID: 441041

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 09:24

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 09:24
Who spat the dummy you or the patrol, if the patrol why, just wondering why as my mate has just put his on gas ???? Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 184230

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 09:36

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 09:36
Car is a 2002 4.8 TI. I put it on gas after 50,000k. It now has 98,000K. It was backfiring and carrying on. Went across Nullabor and Cat pooped itself, went down the exhaust and blocked the muffer. It's a very common fault and your mate should fit a Hi flo stainless steel cat ASAP(so common that the LPG Fitter paid for the fix up). Car has never run properly on gas and the general consensus after me rooting around heaps is that the 4.8's don't like gas. The gas also burns out the valve seats on 4.8's (another common problem). So he should fit a flashlube kit or the like. Also I hope that he went for the Vapour injection. I like my Patrol, it's a great car and has never let me down apart from the gas. I have just put 4 brand new BFG's on a week ago and I am spewing that the won't fit the new one. I have had 2 Pajeros' and 2 Landcruisers and have been most happy with the Patrol (DO NOT START A DEBATE PLEASE EVERYBODY).

By the way the car hsa been fully dealer serviced all of it's life and has been generally well looked after.

If you want to discuss it more email me direct and I am happy to pass on my experience.

FollowupID: 440868

Reply By: Robin - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 09:29

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 09:29
Hi Grizzle

As per previous post , I monitored sound pressure levels of 9db (about 8 times) higher in a 2002 model , compared to my 4800.

NVH had a resonance around 105 kmh , maybe latest iteration is better, but please check this point.

P.S. Watch out for soft sand , better still remove the gas , I have at least one friend who loves his 80 series now that the endless gas issues he had are gone.
AnswerID: 184232

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 09:38

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 09:38
Cheers Robin, I looked at removing the gas or changing to Vapour Injection. The issue with valve seats is the final nail in the coffin for me. I would really like to get the 3 litre but there seems to be so many issues with them (admittedly in the past) that I just can't bring myself to do it.

It's the 4.2 for me.

FollowupID: 440869

Follow Up By: Robin - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 10:42

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 10:42
If your aware of the power and NVH limitations , then there is probably no better car you can get so good luck Grizzle.

Almost always , new car contracts have fine print to the effect that they can pass on costs passed on to them and delivery date is not guaranteed.

I always write something like - Price is fixed and delivery before xyz date , and this condition overides any other contract clauses.
Do this next to where you sign.

FollowupID: 440879

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 10:53

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 10:53
You are right Robin, I got caught on the delivery with this Patrol. ordered December, got it Feb. The first thing I will be doing is confirming availability. Just as an aside for anybody reading this thread, there is no cooling off period on new cars. The law states that when you buy it new you know exactly what you are getting!!! Almost got caught with that when I bought a Triton a few years ago. (another good car)

FollowupID: 440882

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 10:15

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 10:15
G'day Grizzle

Good luck with the new 4.2TDi.......it should be a welcome changeover. You will probably feel as though you are down on power from the lights etc. The 4.2 is most at home winding down/up a steep mountain track etc. It will take many klicks to free-up (mine came good around 30,000 to 40,000klm). It will benefit from a fatter exhaust right through, as the original is a bit too restrictive. On mine I had a whole new 3" system (with small hotdog muffler) put on and did away with the resonator (or whatever the stupid bloody thing is called) right near the tail pipe.

Once you get it and start to feel your way, please hit us with any questions you may want answered......I'm sure that between us we will know the answer/s ;-))

AnswerID: 184239

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 10:24

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 10:24
Thanks Roachie,

I've read a bit about the 3" pipe. The dealer won't fit one for me. I'm in the eastern suburbs of Melbourne so I'm hoping I can get someone to look at that for me.

FollowupID: 440877

Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 13:27

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 13:27
Gotta agree with Roachie.. (not that dumb that i would even contemplating disagreeing with him.. ) I have an 05 4.2TD and it has just hit 20000ks and starting to free up.. the economy is getting better too.. Fitted a full 3" exhaust at about 12000k's and it made a difference too.. enjoy..
FollowupID: 440917

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 14:55

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 14:55
I agree with Roachie and Coyote, but mine didn't free up until about 45,000 kms, then the exhaust.. phew. Nissan know about the exhaust too in the warranty and nothing was worrying them at all. What was I worried about with that?
FollowupID: 440929

Follow Up By: Keith_A (Qld) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 22:12

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 22:12
Gotta agree with above. Mine has 165,000ks and still not completely run in.
Damn things take around the 200,000k mark for pistons to bed properly. Then they run well for the next 500,000k or so. Welcome to the club........Keith
FollowupID: 441024

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 11:01

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 11:01
I hope your 4.2 turns out to be as reliable and predictable as mine. Even half this and you will be set for many a good year of hassle free motoring. As said before you will feel like you're peddling the thing with your feet after stepping out of the 4.8.

Best of luck,
Trevor.
AnswerID: 184249

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 11:10

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 11:10
The 4.8 is a doozie of a motor. I pull a ski boat and a van and you don't even know they are on the back. Mine is a TI so it has all the fruit. I am going to have get used to less oomph and luxury but I can live with that.

FollowupID: 440886

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 11:24

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 11:24
Luxury can be sorted by ticking the ST-L (if it's still available).

Power can also be sorted with a number of power upgrades available but as Roachie suggested start with the Exhaust and dump pipe. Still won't match the raw grunt of the 4.8 but a nicely worked 4.2 will still get the job done nicely IMO.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 440890

Reply By: yakodi - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 12:24

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 12:24
Well we are thinking the same thing - except our late 2002 3L t/d patrol after 130000km has decided to drop 2 cyclinders - not happy to say the least, Nissan say they are trying to claim a warranty due to service history but no response as yet. 4.2 sounding better everyday. Any current model (post 2002) 3L Patrols having similar probs???
AnswerID: 184261

Follow Up By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 13:05

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 13:05
Sorry to hear yakodi about your Patrol. I got rid of my 2000 3l for the 4.2 and never been happier. Let us know how you get on with the claim.
FollowupID: 440910

Reply By: Grizzle - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 14:24

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 14:24
I've doneit !!!!

New 4.2 ST-S White, Snorkel, Cruise, Towbar Bullbar Driving lights 9000lb Warn Winch Dual battery system with monitoring. tinted windows, 6 year 150K Full Nissan warranty. 5 x BFG tyres. I have just lifted my old patrol and they will swap the suspension for me so 2" lift. I will swap over my Rhino Roof rack and GME CB.Also I will keep my Milford cargo barrier. Very happy with price (please don't ask!)

Many thanks to all of your replies and I will take some photos and post on my Members Profile.

AnswerID: 184277

Follow Up By: Robin - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 14:50

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 14:50
Congratulations Grizzle - now maybe you might change your name.

I drive the full length of stud rd each day in white manual 4800 with aerial in middle of roof , so might cross your path.

When time comes , can put you in touch with others who have had basic 3" mod and full changes done from place in Montrose.

You will owe us a full report in time on pros/cons of the changeover

FollowupID: 440928

Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 15:12

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 15:12
Sorry about my last post....wrong thread!
AnswerID: 184285

Reply By: Grizzle - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 15:21

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 15:21
Done Robin,

I live in Lysterfield and work in Boronia so I have probably already seen you about.
The Grizzle tag is a play on my surname (Greenwell) so I am not really grumpy.

I am a bit sad about the 4.8 because it really is a great car but it's done now.

AnswerID: 184288

Follow Up By: dj Patrol - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 16:02

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 16:02
Great stuff Grizzle welcome to the BIG 4.2 TD owners club not much to grizzle about now as mine is a 99 GU 4.2td and still goin strong but did hav a short motor fitted at 2000k Warranty but is goin strong now LUV IT as its only the Tow Truck here only tows our house around (caravan) so happy days.
dj
FollowupID: 440945

Follow Up By: Moggs - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:17

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:17
What a small world! I also live in Lysterfield, but work in Glen Waverley. Give us a wave if you see the green Patrol.

BTW, good choice of vehicle.....oove my TD42T :-)
FollowupID: 441122

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 14:22

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 14:22
Will do!!

FollowupID: 441147

Reply By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 18:04

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 18:04
Just remember if you drive your 4.2 hard it will drink just like a 4.8

my 4.2td (6 wheeler patrol wagon) is great as long as you just chug a long (13.5/100) drive it fast & hard with weight it will drink 25ltrs to the 100klms not a problem
AnswerID: 184312

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 20:33

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 20:33
G'day Vincent,

Man O Man, you must be REALLY pushing it bloody hard to get 25L/100klm!!!! Even towing the camper trailer and doing the hardest off-roading, lots of low range etc (both Simpson Desert crossing and Cape York etc), the worst I've ever recorded has been 19L/100klm.

Not sure whether the extra axle would add that much to your fuel bill or whether there's some other reason.

FollowupID: 441004

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 21:54

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 21:54
Roachie,

I've seen 21-22lt/100k's out of mine, maybe that's why it runs warm ??? You know what I mean. hahaha.

Cheers Trevor.
FollowupID: 441017

Follow Up By: Robin - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 08:10

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 08:10
Hi Guys

The old fuel consumption thing definately has its quirks , as is why I haven't really felt the pressure to change from the 4800 which is a potentially very thirsty car.

While the diesels are capable of a lot, the actual results are often not what owners expect. I have put real difference between GU's 4.2 and 4800 at 27% but this can be quite different depending on the overall circumstances.

RE our most recent trip of 6000km thru the desserts -
Haven't got the 4.2 figures yet but the 60 series diesel with us actually paid more for fuel than our 4800 which used $1287 with average of 16.5lt/100km.

This was because we would leave early in transport sections and sit on 100 compared to 115 and we have not a thing that increases wind resistance whereas they had everthing from Hi-lift across the bullbar to loaded roofracks etc and diesel was usual 5% dearer.

We meticulous about high road pressures etc but still it was instructive to see the "Total of the tape"

FollowupID: 441076

Follow Up By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 09:21

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 09:21
To roachie
my 4.2 doe's great ltrs/100 & when we crossed the simpson last year it was a lot better than i expected & is normally quite good 13.5/16.5/100klms to but when you load the truck
(truck empty 3.1tons load it 1.4ton = 4.5tons then tow 3.5tons push it over 110klms & it drinks)
legal Gvm 4500 & tow 4500gvm with 75mm ball/pin & breakaway brakes (total 9000GMV) its been close a couple of times (thank god for a centre force clutch)

my truck is the family car on weekends & trips but the rest of the time it works & Very hard & shows how good the patrol is, the toyotas ive had have all had gear & transfer box Problems very early, the GMC has nothing but front end problems, the F250 was the worst truck i have ever had

Nsw Martime south coast changed from 4.2lt td to 4.8 petrols to tow there 7mtr craft as they have found that its is cheaper to run (mind you they turn over every 60,000klms)
FollowupID: 441091

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 19:37

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 19:37
Mate, what an unfortunate choice! You could have bought a Troopy and felt twice as good but instead you took the easy option...reliability, comfort, looks and diesel to boot. You are too young to be this soft!! Happy travels Grizz and enjoy you lucky fella.
AnswerID: 184329