Sydneysiders - Cross-City Tunnel 4WD WARNING!!
Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 10:10
Member - Omaroo (NSW)
This is copied from the Oz Land Rover
forum, but is relevant to those of us who run tall rigs with roofracks, rooftop tents, etc and stand over 2m high (which ISN'T very high at all).
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Just got the latest bill from the RTA
The one & only time I've been through that damn tunnel cost $9
Nothing we can do it seems. The operators deem a Defender to be a truck - over 2m high.
Never again.
Haven't been on Laurie Brereton's Monorail on principle either.
Be Warned!
Max P
Reply By: stevesub - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 10:30
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 10:30
Bugger - lucky we live in Brisbnae but who knows if will get the same stupid idea up here when we get out new tunnels they are talking about. Drove a Merc Sprinter van last week (2.7m high) and still paid the same toll as a car at the toll gates.
How do I go if I use my QLD eTag in SYD on my Troopy, it is supposed to work anywhere in OZ and I get charged that same as a car up here so I asume it will still ping me for a car toll in SYD.
Stevesub
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 16:43
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 16:43
"I asume it will still ping me for a car toll in SYD."
Hahahahahahaha you'll be lucky. They're trying to prevent cane toads migrating south LOL
Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 10:44
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 10:44
Just got my bill from roam toll the other day didnt even look at that, will do when i get home thou. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Wisey (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 12:53
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 12:53
Hi Steve
Where abouts have you seen these
bins and do they hold liquid?
Andy
Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 11:06
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 11:06
Citylink here in
Melbourne, through their infinite wisdom, classifies any cab-chassis utility as a "light-commercial"... $14 a day to get to work... Wouldn't mind paying if I could claim it at tax time but as I'm a private user, alas I cannot...
Follow Up By: Rokkitt - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 13:25
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 13:25
Citylink tried that on me - but vehicle is registered as "private use" not commercial so they refunded the difference - suggest you "fight" that one out with Citylink in
Melbourne.....to back you up - if you buy a day pass it is for a private vehicle.
Rod
Follow Up By: Rokkitt - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 13:26
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 13:26
Sorry Blue - may have read your post wrong -
mine is an ST wagon.
Rod
Follow Up By: Member - John - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 07:44
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 07:44
Blue, my GU ute is listed as a car for CityLink. Never had any problem with them, so don't know what difference is between yours and
mine?
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 08:04
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 08:04
John, is your GU a ute or a wagon...??? It's the cab-chassis ute configuration which throws it all out . According to their reckoning, if I had an XF Falcon ute and you had an AU Falcon ute, you would pay the upper tarrif as the AU is a cab-chassis where as I'd pay the car rate as the XF has a monoformed body. I thied arguing the point that the likes of Patrols/Cruisers/
Explorers are all substantially heavier vehicles but to no avail. Several of the blokes here at work lease Navaras and they had them originally listed with Citylink as "Nissan utes" and paid car rates... Citylink cottoned on after a while and changed the classifications on their accounts and now they have to pay light commercial rates.
Follow Up By: Member - John - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 08:12
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 08:12
Blue, it is a Ute. John
Reply By: Member JD- Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 11:31
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 11:31
As far as I know there all governed by height,I know the the m2 which is part of the m7 has signs saying you basicly pay for use of open air space...2mtrs and over..go figger??
JD
Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 13:23
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 13:23
What is a toll?
Pete in SA
;o)
Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 18:49
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 18:49
Pete
A toll is what people in
Sydney &
Melbourne pay to get roads that we should have had 20 years ago. The guvmint can't afford them, because a squillion dollars a year of our taxes are distributed to the poor darlings in the "disadvantaged states".
For example - you'd be paying to use the hills tunnel - maybe $4 20 a pop if you were not "disadvantaged". I see you have a new freeway from Wingfield to the Port now - I drove along it six times to see where the toll collection point was. After all -
Junction Road is half as bad as Parramatta Road, so you need a freeway. The difference is we pay $3.20 to use the freeway to bypass Paramatta Road, you get a freeway on our taxes.
Enjoy it lest one day justice may prevail. LOL
Max
Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 19:26
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 19:26
Heh Pete ??? dont you know a what a toll is?
You pay one everytime you fill with fuel here in good ol rip off S.A. mate, a toll to freight all our fuel from interstate!!
Easier than stuffin around with tolls on freeways.
Cheers Pesty
Follow Up By: Luke SA - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 21:24
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 21:24
Dont be surprised if they put one on the new tunnels they are planning for on south rd. anything to pay for there flash hotels and plane flights when they go over seas for bull sh@t meatings lol
Cheers Luke
Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 22:55
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 22:55
A toll is used to give a city a road network that isnt 30years behind it's use by date.
Adelaide is a bleep -fight when it comes to roads and unless you get a toll of sorts (apparently you will get it through rego) you will never be able to afford to fix an embarrassment like Main South Road.
Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 09:48
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 09:48
I love driving Main South Road. It gives me lots of quality time listening to the radio and looking at the shops while stopped. It keeps the stress on the engine down by not using high revs and you get very little wear on your tires when you drive at a crawl.
And when you get stuck behind some 90 year old in their one owner Ford Prefect doing 20 kmh in the right hand lane you don't have to stress because you are keeping up with the traffic anyway!
It is the one road I can drive down to bring back fond memories of traffic in
Sydney or
Melbourne.
Pete
Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 13:24
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 13:24
Chris ,
When I was paying cash on the M2 , I would go to the booth and the operator would ask for the truck equivalent . I would then say to the operator "I am not a truck" and they would change it to the lower car price .
Since I got an E Tag , I have been through the M2 , the Eastern Distributor and the Harbour tunnel and have always been charged car prices .
My car is a 100 TD with a lift , roof racks and a spare tyre on top and is 225 cm tall , so it seems they are doing the right thing on these tollways .
Cheers ,
Willie .
Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 13:29
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 13:29
Yep - it's all a tad bizarre Willie, I must say.
I swear I've taken the Defender through the XCity, and I think that a car toll resulted on the statement weeks later - but I can't be certain without it out in front of me. Maybe if you have a E-tag that gets beeped, rather than relying on them billing you via the snapshot taken of your number plate, they give it to you at the lower price.
Weird.....
Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 18:53
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 18:53
Willie
I am about 1900 mm high on the car, and never a problem anywhere. BUT ... put the van behind and I am a truck - $9.10 along the M2.
The M7 still charges me as a car though - all that way for $6.10, and a few more kms for $9.10 to North Ryde offramp.
But don't tell them - I just got my statement and even though the tag beeped, the M7 didn't get on to my statement. LOL
Max
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 10:17
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 10:17
The M7 owners have taken over the M2 and the Toll charges and Toll gates have changed - you no longer get charged on height on either of them.
Reply By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 17:56
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 17:56
My patrol six wheeler always got charged as a truck in the pay booths got a Etag & now only get charged as a car even though I'm 2150mm height & 3 axles (can't work it out), also their computer can,t tell the difference between a O or a 0 in
mine or someones VW combi that i offen get billed for, they remove the charge all the time.
So my new plate on one one car is going to be O0O0O0 & the 2nd 0O0O0O & see how that stuffs there system they will have to work out which car they bill or its an incorect reading no charge (hope it works for those money making police cameras too)
Reply By: Ozboc - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 20:29
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 20:29
Had same problem on the M4 - had a small box trailer on with an item on the back that broke the truck beam - got charged full truck rates .....
toll booth operator should use common sence in such cases
Boc
Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 21:21
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 21:21
Just had a look at my a/c and it says: class 2 = vehicles equal to or less than 2.8metres high and equal to or less than 12.5 m in length. I get charged $3 for Bridge and Tunnel, $3.50 for the Eastern Distributor. I'm with "Beep" if it makes any difference.
Follow Up By: brett - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 21:37
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 21:37
When was the last time you used the ED, it's been $4.50 for a fair while now. I know as I have to go the back roads every day to avoid the $4.50.
Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 22:01
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 22:01
ha. You're right there mate. Got a bit carried away didn't I? That must've been the CCT.
Reply By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 08:48
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 08:48
the national road rules clearly defines a commercial vehicle...(basically rated to carry to one tonne)
i use my 4wd for work, its decked out with ladders, van racking, lots of
tools all easily seen when one looks..notwithstanding the fact that its registered to the company...but its still a station wagon & not rated to carry one tonne
am i allowed to park in loading zones longer than 10 mins...not on your sweet nellie....its not rated as a commecial vehicle
So if i ever copped a fine from some private corporation who has defined my vehicle as commercial will end up in court...win or loose...but i will put my money on the basis that the National road rules would apply