Submitted: Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 09:25
woddonnee
G'day
Following on from my previous threads on my Jeep no so Grand Cherokee. After getting an official letter from Daimler Chrysler saying basically that even though I find the vibration unsatisfactory they think its ok. Keep in mind that at 110kph the whole car and my face shakes.
In the last 6 weeks another problem has arisen, when leaving my driveway (which is on a main road) the transmission slips severely as I pull out in to a gap, ie similar to someone riding the clutch, the engine revs but not much engagement.
After my shocking experiences and equally pathetic responses from Daimler Chrysler I have searched the web. This site explains a lot to me
www.daimlerchryslervehicleproblems.com/
It looks like I'm going to be sitting outside the yard I bought it from with a "Lemon"
sign on it, letting potential purchasers know about my experiences.
yours disgustedly
Rod
Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 10:03
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 10:03
Funny. I have a WJ (previous model) with the 2.7 Merc CRD. The car has been EXEMPLARY over the past 104,000km..... except for a diff vibration in the rear at around the 20,000 mark. It was immediately replaced (yes - the whole Dana44a differential - pinion, carrier, axles and all) after taking my dealer's service manager for a spin. He felt the vibration, loaned me another new vehicle for 3 days and voila.... fixed. No other problems at ALL since then.
Being the 2.7, I get 8L/100km average.
I know three other friends of
mine with the 3.0 CRD like yours. They are all getting around the 11.5 to 12.5L/100 around town and 10.5 on the freeways. Yours seems to have a thirst unlike the rest. Maybe it's linked to the problem. There was a problem reported on the V8 WJ's gearboxes (which are NewProcess NP, unlike the CRD's which is a Merc 5-speeder) where a small valve inside the box failed to function when cold - with the symptom being just like what you describe. I have a feeling that the box may be the same one now installed on the 3L CRD, but I might be wrong.
In any case - get back to your dealer's service manager and insist that they speak with the "tech" division at DaimlerChrysler in
Sydney. They are pretty responsive, but that responsiveness depends on what they thionk of the dealer handling your case. If that doesn't work, then go to the Aussie Jeep site forums and post there. They are sure to be able to help out.
www.ausjeepoffroad.com
Follow Up By: woddonnee - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 11:55
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 11:55
Glad to hear your happy with your jeep Chris.
The economy has improved a little around town and on the highway and is nearly as good as the Nissan Patrol was. Went to
melbourne for the boat show (from
adelaide) and managed 11 L per 100k's (highway) by the trip computer, however every time I've checked on real consumption the computer reads a little lower, ie around 0.2L.
Just had a couple of conversation with jeep customer service and the dealer about the vibration and I'm ropable and don't want write anymore at the moment.
They will be sorry
Rod
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 10:23
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 10:23
Didnt you say that the dealer themselves knew what the problem is? Why not just get it fixed? or burn it or flog it off and buy what you should have in the first place?
Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 10:46
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 10:46
Jeez this angers me. Is it your place to tell people what to buy? That's plain irresponsible - who do you think you are to tell people they've made a wrong choice? I, like many others, have a Jeep and are more than happy with it.
Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 11:14
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 11:14
Must say I do agree with you Omaroo.
Reading post all over this
Forum, Truckster is one of these people where everything he "Has" and "Does" is good and everything anyone else "Has" and "Does" is bad.
Still, I'm sure the world needs people like him, even if it's only to provide a defenition for the term "self opinionated"
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:09
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:09
How the bleep can he be happy? His teeth fall out when he drives it, the manufacturer doesnt give a flying, yet a dealer can fix it - and knows what the problem is.. A-la 3.0 GU....
Jeep are wiping their hands of it totally...
If you think their reply to the gearbox will be any different, and if you cant tell from the post he is anything BUT happy, seek urgent medical advice.
Follow Up By: TAS PAJ - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 13:08
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 13:08
Truckster go back to the valley man!
Follow Up By: StephenF10 - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 16:35
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 16:35
Buy what he should have in the first place? Like what? This is an unacceptable problem but it is only ONE Jeep, not a shipload of Jap mobile whitegoods with blown engines, broken suspensions, broken wheel studs, and stripped 5th gears.
Stephen.
Follow Up By: TAS PAJ - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 16:42
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 16:42
Good point. This sort of thing can happen to any car (including Toyota's) just sometimes you get a bad one. I hope they sort out your problems.
Cheers!
Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 10:48
Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 10:48
Sheeesh!
And they reckon us Nissan owners are touchy, we got nuthin' on Jeep owners:-)))
Avagoodn
Pezza
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 12:11
Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 12:11
Would you like a tissue little stevey?
At least nissan were fixing the blown bleep box engines.. Jeep DEALER KNOWS what the issue is, KNOWS HOW to fix it, Jeep dont wanna know.
Now get all huffy and puffy and try again.
Reply By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 11:01
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 11:01
Jeep like some other US vehicles do have their issues. I knew someone that was adamant about taking theirs around Australia , fortunately with another friend with a Nissan Turbo Diesel Patrol.
Well the story is a long one but just about every part of the vehicle failed, they basically had to abandon the car until some parts arrived. One would have hoped that under Daimler Chrsyler the reliability of the Jeep would have been improved but areas of design and US product are the issues. Lemon is the appropriate term unfortunately. Japanese made vehicles may not have the attraction of the Jeep but they certainly have the reliability and build quality.
Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 11:10
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 11:10
Sorry TerraFirma - "
Well the story is a long one but just about every part of the vehicle failed" rates as "sensationalist statement ot the year".
Firstly - qualify what model it was. If it was an XJ Cherokee - then I'd understand. They ARE made in the USA and even I would never have one. Reliability is not their strong point.
If you are referring to a Grand Cherokee, which is made in Austria - make sure that you know that they are FAR more reliable than the US-made variants. It only takes a couple of problems to start people off with fantastical stories about how "everything failed".
Lets be a bit sensible here people. Please! You are taking a few examples that you've "heard of", and are tarring the whole lot with your brushes.
I have had my problems with GQ Nissans (two of which I own right now as
well, my Land Rover, my Jeep, My 40 and 80-series LC's - they have ALL had problems from time to time.
Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 11:18
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 11:18
I'm not sure what model year it was, was a Grand Cherokee. The words, just about every part of the vehicle failed were the exact words used by the owner. Sorry I won't quote next time. As for what failed, here are some of what I remember.
Suspension failures x 2
2. Overheating issue, not sure what was the issue here
3. Transmission issue, was stuck in 2nd gear
4. Steering vibration
5. Starting issues
6. Dust continually entering the vehicle
I can only pass on the previous owners thoughts.
Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 11:50
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 11:50
That's cool. Yep - They're not built for our kind of "touring". I was going to take
mine to the Cape a year or so ago, but voted not to because of the
suspension. It's very pliable and comfortable, but not, IMHO built to take the corrugations. What people have to understand is that these vehicles are built for AMERICAN conditions - where the average back roads are far better maintained than our own here. Towns are closer together so long touring range is not required. All of that said - it's not that they are designed "badly" for Australian conditions - they are designed "well" for those found in the continental USA. There are a million dealers all over the place, so "remote" service is never an issue.
I bought
mine because I love to drive it. Most people who manage to comment on the "Jeep brand" negatively on Aussie forums have never owned or driven one - but still "know" enough to pass comment because they heard of someone with a Jeep who had problems. They are a great vehicle for what they are - as long as you remember that in context when you buy one.
Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:25
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:25
Fair Comment, I think they are a fantastic looking vehicle. Hopefully Daimler Chrysler will continue to improve on the development. I personally would love to see them using the Mercedes range of diesel engines , I think they would then have a real winner.
Follow Up By: hoffy - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 18:03
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 18:03
Huh!!!
They have been using Merc Diesels ever since the 2.7 came out in the Grand, coupled to the Merc gearbox.
And yes, they are a real winner. Best 4x4 I have owned. GU, Jackaroo, & Pajero don't come close.
Reply By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 18:31
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 18:31
Evening all,
I know this not a 4wd, but we had a Chrysler Neon auto a few years ago and we had trouble with the transmission slipping, but only occasionally. This went on for a few months and I told them as soon as it started. Anyway they checked it out and said nothing was wrong. Got it
home and it still did the same thing. Gave them a blast about it and they took it back to
test it and pull it apart. One month later they gave us our car back(after repeated calls to them to find out what went wrong), and told us nothing was wrong with it :(((((((
Had the car taken to a specialist tranmission workshop. He dismantled it and found that the sprag clutch that was rivoted to the front of the transmission was stuffed.(if the Chrysler/Jeep dealership had disassembled the transmission they would have found this, of which they did because they put gasket sealant eveywhere).
He found a transmission case over in
Perth( you have to buy the case to get the sprag clutch{he kept the case and didn't charge us, which was great of him} ), drilled out the rivots to get the ok sprag clutch out, drilled out the rivots to get the old one out and drilled and tapped the old case to allow the ok sprag clutch to be bolted in using socket head capscrews.
One week and $2500 later we had our car back.
We never told Chrysler/Jeep about it, didn't think it was necessary as we had been shafted all along and wouldn't of got our money anyway, BUT will never buy another Chrysler/Jeep ever again. We don't tell very many people about this(HAHA did now!!) It's a pity cause they make some nice vehicles. Once bitten twice shy I suppose..
Cheers Greg
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 19:57
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 19:57
Woddonnee
Take no notice of anything bewteen your original post and my reply as all the contributors in between are sooooooooooooo full 'thit' its not funny.
It is just a 'my balls are painted a better colour than yours thing' with the letters
J E E P sending them into a conniption fit.
Reality:
(1) I have the worlds second best Trooppy - second because I haven't found No 1 yet.
(2) I also have the 05 KJ CRD JEEP which now at least, is the worlds second best JEEP KJ.
(3) Bought the KJ brand new and have had a few shakedown hiccups, including the "transmission slip' thing.
(4) This hiccup (tranasmission slip thing' was finally diagnosed as a dud Torque converter.
(5) It was replaced along with the transmission pump (standard practise apparently for this tye of fix) and all is now sweet.
(6) The dud torque converter was causing the engine management computers to have hissy fits resulting in weird dash light illuminations (frightened the crappers out of me)
(7) Apparently one of the two vanes inside the T/Converter lets go on the drive shaft and slips, causing a fair embuggerance the showed itself (in my case) as the RPM increasing on the Tacho and KPH staying still then slooooowly increasing. Like it had a rubber band effect ( Shut up Truckster).
(8) Anyway it is excellent now.
(9) My JEEP dealer is also the NISSAN & RENAULT dealer. All I can say is that they have been fantastic and nothing has been a problem for them to look at, diagnose and fix etc etc etc.
(10) The vibration thing you are talking about is most probably tail shaft angle thing.
(11) I had a 2.5 inch lift put into the KJ and was told by dealer where to have it done as 'they adjust the transmission up or down if required to correct the tail shaft angle if it vibrates) Apparently it is a JEEP quirk that some do it from scratch, with lift kits or whatever and need to have the Transmission adjusted accordingly. (nothing too serious just get it done under warranty.)
So there you have it.
By the way I have never seen a JEEP explode in a puff of smoke
Follow Up By: woddonnee - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 22:26
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 22:26
Thanks for all the replies.
I can generate a vibration when the vehicle is cold and stationary by increasing the revs with the brake on , only have to go to about 1200rpm. This is not consistant and I have only realised it does this recently so not much experience. I have however worked out that if it doesn' t do it, move forward and back a metre or so then back in drive, increase revs and there it is, a vibration that feels very much like the one when in motion. Then drive off and get the transmission slip. The vibration feels a bit like the engine is only running on 4 cylinders (V6). On the highway on the way to
melbourne, at one point the vehicle seemed to be going smoothly, then I accelerated and back off again and the vibration returned.
Hopefully soon I can demonstrate this to the dealer and they will realise I'm not inventing it and both the vibration and the trans will be fixed. If this gets done I will really enjoy owning the vehicle, but I"m a long way from that situation at the moment
Rod
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 08:48
Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 08:48
Rod
From what you have just posted/explained there is a fair to middling possiblity that it might be a dud, dickie,cactus torgue converter.
One of the internal vanes may be slipping orloosened up somehow and gone out of balance - causing intermittent vibration when the drive line to the transmission (not past it) changes rpm.
This would have the effect of presenting when both stationary and mobile.
Something to think about anyway.
I know Daimler-Chrysler are aware of the dud Torque converters as the service manager that fixed mine told me that he had had a conversation with the D-C tech people and they had told him that D-C had already had 3 dud Torque converters in 05 vehicles and that mine was the fourth.
Would appear that they got a dud batch from their component supplier.
Now whether or not the Torque converter is the same in all 05 JEEPS I don't know - however it is worth a question or two.
Hope you get the sucker sorted because they are a very enjoyable vehicle.
Reply By: woddonnee - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 17:16
Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 17:16
G'day
No progress. Had the service manager around the other day, no useful input from him. He implied that transmission problem could be due to my driveway. That prompts me to think many things, but I won't post them here :-( It least it gave my wife a laugh, you know, the type of laugh only a disgusted wife can do.
I sent a few angry emails to the manager of
Adelaide City Chrysler, inviting him to come for a drive to experience the vibration himself at highway speeds. He hasn't even had the courtesy or courage to reply or ring. Pathetic
Rod
Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 17:21
Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 17:21
Rod - PM me with the dealer's name. I used to have some contacts at D/C, so I'll see what I can find out. The dealer should be shot.
Follow Up By: woddonnee - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 17:23
Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 17:23
G'day Omaroo
The name of the dealer is in the message I just posted.
Rod
Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 17:31
Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 17:31
Sorry - missed it.