Most reliable vehicle in the World

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:22
ThreadID: 35995 Views:5179 Replies:22 FollowUps:23
I love these posts where someone asks about a specific fault on a brand A vehicle.
Invariable this leads to a discussion about all brand A's being the worst and brand B being the only one worth getting. If you don't believe me spend an hour reading the archives.

My point is this:
Yes, there are a couple of vehicles that do have real and common problems.
The majority of them however are reliable and do what they are designed to do.

A couple of important factors to keep in mind are.

Modern 4WD's a highly, highly complex machines that because of mass production are relatively cheap to buy and own. (try buying a low volume piece of machinery of equal complexity for anything like the same price)

We then push them to, (and often over) their design limitations.
Picture, say a 100 series loaded to the gills towing a camper with a few jerry cans and assorted other stuff on the roofrack, Mum Dad and the kids in the back watching a DVD, GTW too frighteing to think about, belting along at a 110k along a corrugated potholed outback track when it's 45 in the shade. (slight exageration maybe, but we all know it goes on)

Is it any wonder we have problems? Maybe the cars are getting too good and we are expecting too much of them.

Getting to my topic at long last, the most reliable vehicle I ever had was a 1971 Holden Belmont Panel Van. The Victorian Gas and fuel Corporation had thrashed it for the 54,000 Ks it had on it when I bought it. This was the 173cid powerhouse, single barrel stromberg etc etc, with three on the tree and a blue vinyl bench seat, white of course.
(while red cars go faster, white ones are more reliable)

I replaced the badly slipping clutch immediately threw a matress and a portable gas cooker and esky in the back, and that was my setup. Over the next seven or so years I did almost 300,000k in that car. It was serviced whenever I could afford it, which was not that often. I replaced quite a few sets of tyres, did the brakes a few times and replaced another clutch and a couple of batteries.

Nothing ever broke, It always started, apart from when I left the lights on.
I went into all sorts of places where I now know you can only go with a 4WD that is accesorised to the hilt.

The moral, well I'm not so sure. Maybe it was just a simple basic car, some would say crude, that was mainly used within it's limitations.
(before anyone raises this, I'm not hankering for the "good old times" merely making a point outside the square)

I wonder if anyone else ever had a car that did not fall to bits immediately it was driven out of the car yard.

Reply By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:31

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:31
HJ75 and HZJ75 Landcruiser's. We used to cane those things mercilessly, day in day out bush bashing and they NEVER broke down. NOBODY ever walked home unless bogged to the doors in a salt lake. They went through absolute HELL.

The only problem I had with mine was the brushes in the alternator wore out and the oil pressure sender unit used to leak.
AnswerID: 184452

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 13:10

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 13:10
ditto,

and my 1982 XD Fairmont Ghia, 250 crossflow. good value, reliable lounge room on wheels.
FollowupID: 441134

Reply By: Brett_B - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:35

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:35
I had a 1976 Toyota Corolla KE36

It was my 4x4 for many years - I was amazed at were it could go :-)

We treated that car with sadly no respect - that little car never failed, I serviced it when I felt like it, did the normal brake change maintenance type things only.

Hence the following three 4x4's I have owned have been Toyota's (Hilux) they to have never let me down :-)

B
AnswerID: 184453

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 13:05

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 13:05
Brett,
Corolla wagon was also my favourite. Had a 1969 KE16 in the late '70s. It did all the main tracks, back when they were tracks. For offroading it had lifted rear springs, and I welded up a sump guard and bullbar. Used to just gun it through the sand - it was light enough to get thru.
Single vehicle and it never let me down. Sold it for more than I paid for it with 100,000 miles on the clock.
FollowupID: 441131

Reply By: F4Phantom - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:35

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:35
I agree, every time I get another car I wait for things to wear out and need replacement, and if nothing happens I think its good. I see many other people buy a car and when something needs renewing they say call it less than reliable. EG, I got my alternator done after 230,000km, it cost $120. I was told to watch out, as its an old car it could cost me a lot of money. The attitude is as if the car is falling to bits, my attitude is that this is normal. Since then I have spend $400 and i am about to spend another $400 on a new radiator. I see this as cheap as I paid cash for the car (used) and most people spend more than my occasional "problems" in a single monthly car payment.
AnswerID: 184454

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:37

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:37
forgot to mention if i had lots of money i would buy new cars all the time instead of old ones therefore no reliability probs!!
FollowupID: 441125

Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 00:48

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 00:48
New car = no reliability probs????? What planet are you from LOL. Take the early Land Rover Disco for example .....

Give me an older vehicle that I can trust (and afford) any day. I agree that fixing an older vehicle still leaves lots of change over the purchase price of a new vehicle. It seems to me that the value of a new vehicle depreciates faster than the amount left to repay on it.

FollowupID: 441299

Reply By: mfewster - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:40

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:40
About three years ago, an American magazine (think it was Popular Mechanics) analyzed a whole swag of vehicles on the basis of purchase cost; running costs; reliability; performance; comfort; carrying capacity; braking. Came to the conclusion that the Toyota Camry 4cyl was the best car in the world. Not sure about the conclusion, I haven't had experience with enough other cars to make the comparison; but our Camry 4cyl was a pleasure to drive,and bulletproof. Second hand values in Oz seem to show that a lot of other people have had similar experiences.
AnswerID: 184455

Reply By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:44

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:44
The valiant 245 slant six was the most reliable engine i've had anything to do with. 15yrs on the road and never touched. you could drive them till they fumed their guts out, but they just kept going.

Axle.
AnswerID: 184457

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 13:24

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 13:24
Ahh the old Mopar's - best motors in the business. The 245 was actually a Hemi, the most common 'slant-six' was the legendary 225 if my memory serves me correctly.
FollowupID: 441138

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 13:37

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 13:37
U R Right, had both , 225 in the vc., 245 in the vj
FollowupID: 441139

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 13:38

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 13:38
You're right.
A mate had a 245 in a Valiant Coupe not a Charger but one of those looooong boat things about '71 or '72 I think

He was a bit of a thightwad so he NEVER serviced it. did at least 150k's in it without even looking at the spark plugs or changing the oil.

It used to run like excrement but it DID run. He was very happy with.
FollowupID: 441140

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 13:45

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 13:45
The old 245 was pushed into service as a truck motor in the Dodge's of the day too. Chrysler Australia fitted a heavy duty machined crankshaft to it amongst other mods. The big three wheeled Wayne street sweepers used the 245ci HD Truck spec Hemi as well.

The 265 Hemi with factory triple sidedraft Weber's in E49 form was good for 13 second quarter mile times straight off the showroom floor. Now that's hootin!
FollowupID: 441141

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 14:02

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 14:02
Fastest production car built locally, at the time! quicker than the famous ,HO falcon.
FollowupID: 441142

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 14:13

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 14:13
Spot on. The E39 even had the old Valiant 3 speed manual gearbox in it.

Crude.......but very, very effective machines. Even by today's standards.
FollowupID: 441143

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 14:20

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 14:20
You're not my Father In Law are you Axle? He had one for 17yrs without so much as changing the oil (according to him, and I would believe it). He used to go on how cars cost him so much more now that he got rid of the Val.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 441146

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 14:28

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 14:28
HaHaHa, used to change my oil though BP longlife only the best for the vals.!!
FollowupID: 441148

Reply By: Chucky - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:55

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:55
I would love to get a fourby without all the 'Fluff' that new ones come out with.
If I could buy a brand new truck with a ruggered drive train, slab panels, with no floor coverings or roof lining, door trims that just screwed on and a plain metal dash I would be very happy.
AnswerID: 184459

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:57

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:57
I'm in. Let's do a bulk order.
FollowupID: 441129

Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (SA) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 13:04

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 13:04
I think they are called Land Rover 110's we have hundreds of them in the ADF and they go pretty much anywhere... not real flash on the highway though...
FollowupID: 441130

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 13:09

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 13:09
Yep, thats why I've got a 79series farm truck - its got most of that, plus a decent factory TD motor.
FollowupID: 441133

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 13:17

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 13:17
Check my profile Chucky - it's called a 40 series Troopy. If they made these things new - I'd buy one straight away.
FollowupID: 441137

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 18:20

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 18:20
They still do make 40 series cruisers, in Brazil. Left hand drive with square headlights not sure what mechanicals are different but body is same.
FollowupID: 441224

Reply By: TROOPYMAN A.D. 1998 - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:56

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:56
All cars are reliable if looked after except for my wifes EF Falcon . It is a piece of bleep .
AnswerID: 184460

Follow Up By: adamj1300 - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 13:14

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 13:14
the older Falcon where good reliable cars except there friggen door handles every old ford that a friend or family, or work mate they are for ever repairing the door handles
FollowupID: 441135

Follow Up By: TROOPYMAN A.D. 1998 - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 14:31

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 14:31
On the old XD i just used coat hanger wire . Attached the wire to the inside bit and let it hang out of the door where the handle should be . Just lift the wire up and hey presto , opened door . Never had it stolen .
FollowupID: 441149

Reply By: derraux - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:56

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:56
1958 VW Beetle, make sure there was plenty of oil and plenty of fuel amazing where that thing would go and what it would climb, had alot of fun going places a 2wd should not go.
AnswerID: 184461

Reply By: Robin - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 13:59

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 13:59
Hmmm!

I watched something on TV the other day about selective memories
and remembering only the good old days!

I have no hesitation, saying that the car I currently have
(4800 manual Patrol) is the most reliable car going.

This despite the fact that my own - one of the first made, had the only recorded case of a timing gear come off, stuffing the engine when brand new.

So why do I say that!

Well I've had the Kingswoods etc to and took them to many places
but I never crossed a 1 metre deep river or flew up big red in it
let alone the mud & slush 30+ degree hills needing both diff locks
and tyres you could hardly get back then.

Today the relativily simple electronics actually improve reliability
in some cars, with individual coils mounted on top of cylinders
at a 1200mm height and no suspectibility to high tension leads
and wet distributors of the past.

I have never once had the car not fire up and so quickly that batteries
don't get stuffed so often.
So much so that I turn engine off if lights in front of me
go red and I know I've got to wait a minute+

I be scarred to do that in the "good old days"

Going on to modern times, no fussy turbo's adding to complexity,
no worries about dirty diesel, single belts driving 10 pulleys,
water into engine block and so on.
The stainless exhaust systems last almost forever, and intelligent
ECU system allows for sensor failures, a range of fuels etc etc

And even the little things, like little beepers that come on
if parkers are left on , such that even with lessor memory capability
I have never had a flat battery.

A dam side better braking and handling and other things that
improve reliabilty and indirectly saftey such that our Vic road toll
is 1/3 that of the "good old days" with many times
the cars on the road

AnswerID: 184467

Reply By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 14:21

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 14:21
GoneTroppo, I love that line, "It went into all sorts of places where I now know you can only go with a 4WD that is accessorised to the hilt". I've seen posts here about getting bogged and there is always replies saying something like, 'you shouldn't have left the blacktop without a 10,000lb winch, another vehicle, 2 weeks of food and water, a satphone.....'
AnswerID: 184471

Reply By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 14:32

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 14:32
Give me a Toyota any day.! Their reputation exceeds them, thats why you see more Toyota's around Australia than any other vehicle. It's also why Toyota is the number one selling brand in Australia. I would also be happy to have a Nissan..!
AnswerID: 184474

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 14:33

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 14:33
Bought a 240 GL Volvo {no kidding} in 84' had it for 12 years never failed an M.O.T. {annual pommie road test} cost me nothing on parts,wore out 3 exhausts, and many tyres, took it everywhere, totally abused it, rarely serviced it, never lifted the bonnet, always thinking it would die soon, never did, and was still running perfect at 18 years old when I part exed it for another car and, you guessed it ,wished I'd never sold it, moral is if it's good hold on to it,
Davo
AnswerID: 184475

Reply By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 15:37

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 15:37
a 1938 vauxhal wyvern....
AnswerID: 184487

Reply By: robak (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 15:42

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 15:42
1983 nissan skyline hatchback. Over the three years I had it, the only maintanance i did was to change the oil (once). Never had any problems and it went like a cat on fire, up to 100km/h in second gear.
AnswerID: 184488

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 16:11

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 16:11
Any company car is THE most rugged. Never service them, will go from Drive to reverse at 30 kph, first off at the traffic lights, go anywhere that four wheels can go and carry anything you can squeeze in them.

Max
AnswerID: 184498

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 16:29

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 16:29
Yeah! I seond that one, my company Fairmont Ghia just loved the drive into Yeranderie and back. Just marvelous the places that vehicle went.

FollowupID: 441178

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 16:14

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 16:14
GoneTroppo
You may not have wanted the reminiscing, but you certainly got it!!!! LOL...

And now it's my turn!!!

1972 model VW "Superbug" 1600cc twin port engine

SWMBO & I restored it...... back about 1985-6. Two days after we registered it, we loaded all our worldly possessions inside and headed from Sydney to the Gold Coast to live, I proposed to her on the way!
We made 26 o/night trips back and forth to Sydney in the next 2 1/2 years, only 3 misshaps....
1) Managed to "cook" the engine near Grafton, resulting in a burnt out generator, stayed o/night and had the genny repaired the following day, only running on 3 cylinders we pressed on (slowly) to Sydney and back, and then did the same trip 3 more times before rebuilding the engine! By the time it was rebuilt, it did 40kph top speed and could be heard DAK DAKKING for miles!!!!
2) Broke accelerator cable near Ocean Shores, Kombi owner in a nearby house saw us and gave us a spare of his which just had to be cut to length, he even fitted it for us and his wife cooked us dinner!!!! Wonderful people!!!!....
3) Broke Throttle return spring on carby coming through Nerang, again on our way back from Sydney, car revved out and couldn't slow, so as it was late and I was on the highway I let it go till we got to a built up area and turned the engine off and stopped it ..... found spring still in engine bay thanks to the tin bits everywhere, re-fitted it and it was ok, so I never bothered replacing it!!!!

I must also say it was the most comfortable car I have driven as well!

AnswerID: 184500

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 16:38

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 16:38
The greatest thing about the Vdub was not having to move the steering wheel to change lanes!! hahaha, great little car

axle
FollowupID: 441183

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 16:40

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 16:40
Alright Brian I'll pay that one.
Good story!!

FollowupID: 441184

Reply By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 16:30

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 16:30
22R Toyota petrol motors in 2wd hiluxs
I have serviced 2 from a company from new and both are well over 450 000 km and never been touched.
Similar engine is the 5MGE in the Cressidas. It is basically a 22R with 2 extra cylinders. I know of 2 that have also cleared 400 000 km with out being touched. Sold now but probably still going.
AnswerID: 184504

Reply By: JJ - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 17:21

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 17:21
We had a '72(?) XA Falcon S/wagon from new. Towed our 32ft tri-axel caravan (with 3 kids and all we possessed) from Berri (SA) up the South Road to Road Works at Kulgera in the height of summer (mid Feb.'76) when it was all dirt from Pt Augusta. Only had overheating problem once with temps in high 40 deg. C.
One arvo on returning to camp after supply shopping in Alice (minus van) and after flooding rains washed the new road away, the XA sailed through a 1/2 km long washout with water over the bonnet, leaving our neighbours, in an old short w/base L/C stranded in the middle... we daren't stop or would still be there!
After moving on to work in the Alice, we also did many bush trips including some places a 4x4 wouldn't go. On one occasion we went out to Arltunga. It was then barely a track and had to travel many miles down the river bed over huge river rocks.

Must agree, old veichles seemed more reliable probably because they were simple & tough (like their owners), and easily serviced and maintained.
Maybe many breakdowns went un-noticed back then because it was easily fixed by the average owner.
Compared with today's computerised high tech machines, just to change an oil filter (on ours anyway) is a major job & company service rip-off.
Getting a bit off topic but it would be interesting to know how the indigenous 'bush mechanics' keep their new fangled 4bee going these days? (not Holdens & Falcons now!).
AnswerID: 184513

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 19:40

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 19:40
Magna's are the vehicle of choice for 'traditional landowners' these days.
FollowupID: 441238

Reply By: Spike me - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 17:44

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 17:44
Nissan patrol 3 litre of any year. And also any model of Land Rover or range Rover.
AnswerID: 184518

Reply By: Barnesy - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 18:29

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 18:29
I took a 1984 Toyota corona to some places the builders didn't plan on anybody taking it. Worked very hard for 365 000 on the clock.

Has been sitting in the garage for 2 years now as i bought a 4wd, jump started it the other day for the first time in 9 months and it started first time!

Barnesy
AnswerID: 184522

Reply By: Billowaggi - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 23:13

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 23:13
Hi all, I have a 1996 Rodeo 2.8 turbo diesel that has just turned 300,oook possibly not too surprising, but it has never had one problem, still on original clutch,radiator,hoses.alternator etcI think that apart from regular services all that has been replaced is one set of brake pads a couple af batteries alternator and air con belts and the rear springs and bushes, It just always starts first time and never lets me down ,also very economical on fuel.
Regards Ken.
AnswerID: 184589

Reply By: Muzzgit (WA) - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 02:09

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 02:09
Nineteen seventy something HQ kingswood sedan, 3 on the tree, red 202.

Servicing? what the?

As a young bloke, on P plates, and living down the road from the local roller skating rink, the back seat got real work out. te he
Come to think of it, so did the front seat, hahaha. 1983 was a very good year!

I think I replaced one clutch, half the exhaust, and a battery.
AnswerID: 184600