Another 4 wheeler for the Roachie household

Submitted: Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 14:24
ThreadID: 36036 Views:2464 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
No, no, no, the patrol is NOT going to leave the family!!!!

I am in the process of buying another set of wheels (after all, petrol is soooo cheap these days!!!!) and will be collecting a 1994 Feroza from Adelaide tomorrow. Can't find anybody whose going down there tomorrow morning that I can get a lift with, so will have to settle for hooking a car trailer onto the Patrol and picking it up myself.

Might even get Annette interested in learning to drive (just maybe....not pushing or anything). But we now have my 17 y/o son Nick living with us, so he'll need a set of wheels for when we go on trips etc. He's has yet to get his L's yet, so in the meantime, I'll be using the frozie around town......I hate having to fire up the Patrol to drive 2 klicks!!!

If anybody has got any advice for me about the frozie's foibles, feel free to contribute your thoughts. One thing that worries me is that, apparently, Diahatsu is sort of in bed with Toyota and the donk may be sort of toyota as well!!! Strewth, what have I done!!!!!!! hahahahaha ;-)))

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 14:30

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 14:30
Will have heaps of Toyota parts on it as did my old Rocky.

Don't know much else about them. Just make sure it has a good recovery point on the front if you want it to follow in the Nissan's footsteps.

Cheers Trevor.
AnswerID: 184663

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 14:34

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 14:34
Thanks for that Trevor,

At least there is a local toyota dealership close by......just about every town has one in Australia I reckon......I guess that's because they need soooooo many spare parts to keep them going!!!!!! hahahahaha
FollowupID: 441361

Reply By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 14:38

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 14:38
Roachie can you mail me some seeds from the money trees you have planted in your backyard?!!!!

Jo
AnswerID: 184664

Reply By: CHRIS UREN - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 14:58

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 14:58
Roachie,

Dont worry mate, there arent that many Toyota parts on your Feroza.
Engines, transmissions, driveline, its pretty much 99% Daihatsu.
From memory there are some bearings in the gearbox that carry Toyota part numbers but that's about it, so you can rest easy!

The only thing you need to worry about is that you may have to go to a Toyota dealer to get your parts because there are no stand alone Daihatsu dealers that i know of

Chris at Lane Toyota & Daihatsu

AnswerID: 184665

Follow Up By: CHRIS UREN - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 15:05

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 15:05
Roachie,

Forgot to mention that there are only 2 Daihatsu spare parts dealers in SA,
CMI in Adelaide and Northpoint in Port Augusta & Hillcrest.

FollowupID: 441365

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 15:06

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 15:06
Thanks Chris,

Anyway, my good ol' mates Pesty and Lucy both have oodles of spare parts laying around their places, cos they are toyota devotees and have long-ago realised the need to keep a good stock of parts handy to save any embarrassing moments.......... sota like an old bloke with a dodgy prostate might need to keep a supply of spare undies handy...hahahaha
FollowupID: 441366

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 17:56

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 17:56
Roachie,
You can be a very hurtful man at times with your remarks about the TOP SELLER.
And my dodgy prostate has nothing to do with it. LOL.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

FollowupID: 441400

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 18:37

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 18:37
Hey Bill!

You could drive the "Frozie" and let Nick drive the Patrol:-)))

FollowupID: 441415

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 09:09

Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 09:09
Roachie Roachie Roachie!
"Anyway, my good ol' mates Pesty and Lucy both have oodles of spare parts laying around their places,"
May I speak for both of us!
The reason we have so many spares lying around is because we never have to put them in because they never break!!!!!!!!!!
I have tried real hard to educate you, but you no get it!
Anyway it good to see you have finally bought a tow starter of your own instead of using everyone else each day, will be good practice for nick to tow start the trol every morning.
Do you think it will fire by the time it reaches roach street, or are you going to have to tow it over the intersection?

Cheers Pesty

P.S. Will call today about truck racing tomorrow.
FollowupID: 441481

Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 15:48

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 15:48
"I hate having to fire up the Patrol to drive 2 klicks!!! " my bank manager walks to work every day...3 klm's.....dont you need the exercise...hehehehe
AnswerID: 184671

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 15:52

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 15:52
Yeh mate, I could (and have......and should do more often) walk to work. I go home for lunch every day and will probably do the walking trick again once the warmer weather starts (but stop again once summer hits!!!).......that'll be 8 klm a day all up. At my age, I've only so many steps left in me!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 441368

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 16:59

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 16:59
stop when summer hits...thats the best part of the year...reasonably cool in the mornings...and it wont matter if its hot when your on your way home....at your age....You Should Be doing More Exercise!!...to keep that ticker going
FollowupID: 441385

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 17:12

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 17:12
Pt 1 Oh Boy Roachie, are you gunna get it now. I notice the Dyehatsue dealers all are Yota Dealerships too. at least we've got you in the door.
Pt 2 "will probably do the walking trick again once the warmer weather starts (but stop again once summer hits!!!)......." Which day of the year does it get too hot to walk to work in Kadina. Tch Tch Tch No excuse Roachie
Can I have some seeds to your money tree too?
FollowupID: 441391

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 20:35

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 20:35
Good stuff ...........another vehicle to help tow those Tojo's on the club trips. Don't load this one up with too many gadgets Bill....its only a little thing :)
AnswerID: 184717

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 21:05

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 21:05
Hiya Mr Roach,

Were you aware that the Daihatsu brand name is going to pass into Australian Motoring history shortly? Where will you get all those spares from????

Press Release here.

Shoulda got him a 'cruiser mate!!!! Fellow at work has a nice condition short wheel base Bundera just come up for sale too. Was going to mention it to you next time I saw you but you lashed out too bloody quick!

Then again - Roachie buying a Toyota is as likely as Pesty buying a Nissan.

Muddy
AnswerID: 184719

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 11:56

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 11:56
Thanks for the responses everybody.

"Frozie" is now in the carport. Nick had great fun on saturday arvo pulling the dash to bits and getting the sound system working properly. I did a couple of small jobs under the bonnet (the plastic air intake is in multiple pieces and 2 of them were not connected properly (between the filter and the engine!!).

It needs a new muffler and there is a bit of an intermittent issue with the lights that I'll have to sort out before I do any night driving in it.

Clutch doesn't take up until the pedal is almost all the way out and is a lot heavier to use than the Patrol's.

She goes into 4H and 4L pretty easily, so I reckon a previous owner/s have used it for it's intended purpose....thankfully. (I was a bit worried that it'd been a town car for 12 years and that the top of the front crown wheel might be rusty & the front drive-line bearings might have worn a flat spot etc).

We'll see how she goes off road in due course.

AnswerID: 185005