Immediat departure
Submitted: Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 21:56
juanmtz
G'Day. In some hours we'll flight from France to Australia. Our plan is, driving a 4WD camper, to cover NT and WA in 5 weeks - from
Darwin to
Perth via the Red Center. I Know it is very ambitious but it may be our only journey in Australia. We are impatient to meet your beautiful country. Many thanks all for recommandations and answering my questions. Thanks to this great website. If you cross our route, we'll be happy to share a beer.
Our route is described in my website. Sorry it is in French. But you may have a look at the map - platypup.free.fr/wordpress/?p=17
Juan
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 22:00
Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 22:00
Hey,
well done Juan.
You have mastered the Australian language.
G'day is all you need.
Have a safe, enjoyable and incident free trip Mate.
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 23:33
Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 23:33
Have a great trip Juan. Your Aussie language is a lot better than my French is. I hope you will have the EO sticker on the camper. Bon voyage.
Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 09:02
Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 09:02
The route looks like an excellent way to get to see outback Australia - yes you could do that in 5 weeks, but you will really have to have only brief stays at any one location.
How many kilometres do you anticipate covering?
Fantastic website, even though I can't read it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Could you possibly drop a translator button ont it so we can rad it in Ozzie, and track your progress as you go. No doubt you will be posting a progress report to your mates, so perhaps you could drop one here at ExploOz also.
Follow Up By: kiasen - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 15:25
Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 15:25
Hi Rick,
For those of us who can't remember our schoolday french lessons ?? there is a very easy way of doing it.
Just right click on your mouse button and hit convert to English.
Hope this works for too !!
Kiasen
Reply By: bruce - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 09:22
Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 09:22
WOW...it is a long way in 5 weeks...and lots of rough outback roads....make sure you take lots of photos because that is about all you will have time for ...besides sleeping , eating , driving and refueling...cheers and good luck
Reply By: Off-track - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 13:47
Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 13:47
Nah I reckon you can do this comfortably, as long as you maximise and utilise your waking hours efficiently. If you are travelling alone it will be a breeze, I did a similar trip in 3 weeks and while I didnt see everything I did still see plenty. It was intended as a recon for my/our future trips.
Good on you and good luck!!! The greater percentage of Aussies wouldnt have even travelled any great distance from a city, let alone over WA and NT.
Reply By: juanmtz - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 15:22
Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 15:22
Arrived in
Darwin early this morning. The weather is fine. Australian are nice. The adventure is starting - our room was booked for a wrong day...
Thanks to all. I'll give a feedback in 5 weeks.
Juan