Duncan Rd

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 21:17
ThreadID: 36073 Views:2988 Replies:3 FollowUps:4
Just back from three days doing a loop from Kununurra down to Halls Creek round the Duncan Rd and back to Kununurra.
Had a look in at the China wall,Caroline Pool,Old Halls Creek,Sawpit gorge & Palm Springs.Met up with some EO members at Caroline Pool(re-post down abit) where we camped for a night.
This was the first real trip with the Tambo camper on the rough /dusty stuff and came through pretty good.We still havent got a rear window protector for the Cruiser and the amount of rocks thrown about I was on tender hooks the whole trip.The deflector on the front of the trailer did a great job,the rubber flaps under the deflector were nearly worn through from rocks but trailer came through unmarked.We had one rock bounce across the roof and down the windscreen to land on the windscreen wiper(about the size of a golf ball),phew that one was lucky.We had a bit of dust enter across the top of the tail gate but I believe most of this came in when we opened up the tail gate.
The condition of the road was great but was to worried to go above 60kph as the rocks flew more.A few corrigations,fair bit of bull dust and great scenery.One minute your in spinafex country,turn the corner and its open cattle country then slowly closes in back to light scrub.
Great spot to camp on the banks of the Negri river amongst the trees,bird life is spectacular.Heading down to the causeway we encountered the biggest section of bull dust Ive ever driven through.It just exploded out the back of the 4WD and layed about an inch thick on the camper which just so happened we were setting up in 30 seconds time.
SO anyone wondering about a differant route to travell between Halls Creek and Kununurra,this is a great drive.Actually any drive off the bitumen is a great drive.
Cruiser returned 13.88l/100km towing loaded trailer,parents petrol cruiser returned about the same unloaded but just to put a dampner on the trip blew (and destroyed) a tyre just after we hit the bitumen on our way back to Kununurra.

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 21:45

Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 21:45
You are spoilt for options up your way. As you said any drive off the bitumen is a great drive. That said, then you have many great drives up that way and I look forward to the next time I get up there. Has been 10yrs sadly.

Regards, Trevor.
AnswerID: 184841

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 06:59

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 06:59
Gday Nick

It is a good littld trip out of KNX, we did it a couple of years ago & intend doing it again soon - Did you go int Marella Gorge? From you description you may not have. Gives you a good excuse to do it all again soon!

We had a few good days out at Cape Dommett last week - kids had a ball with the plague preportions of hermit crabs, along with soldier crabs and other little critters in abundance out there.

From memory (to lazy to do a search) you went out to the Keep NP earlier in the year. We intend going out there for a couple of nights on about the 10th of aug. Any tips on what's out there etc.

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 184861

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 08:49

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 08:49
Pulled my finger out & did the search & found your own thread. With the road closures etc it looks like it may almost be a day trip??? Will have to do some ringing around to see if the second camp ground has been reopened
FollowupID: 441583

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 10:48

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 10:48
Gday Andrew,from what Ive read the second camp is now open so will have to go back and check out the other section.
We actually ended up out at Cape Dommett the weekend before the show,went with some people from work just for the day and log it into our GPS (for next time),good look and drive.
No,didnt go into Marella gorge,saw the track on the map that went in close(but not too??) but missed it on the day.Good trip o/all.
FollowupID: 441592

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 11:18

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 11:18
Its not a bad day trip, and a good spot for the kids - just don't get bogged on the beach......Planning a boys trip some time this dry out to Dommett, along past Attack Creek all the way to the Keep Mouth, The back out Cave Springs Road to town. From the ai there is a few tidal fed billabongs along the way which hoefully will be full and fish (full of crocs as well no doubt)

There is supposed to be an isolated piece of rainforestish (is that a word?) in the middle of that Loop, I reckon I have seen it from the air, but google earth is inconclusive. Speaking of google earth, They have updated the photo's of the coast all around here, KNX is still a blur though

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 441598

Reply By: time waster - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 07:09

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 07:09
Hi Nick we will be heading up your way next month testing a new stone guard that we hope to have ready in kit form in November. If you send me an email I send you a pic.

Cheers Christian.
AnswerID: 184862

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 10:49

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 10:49
Thanks mate but need one within a month for up coming trips.
FollowupID: 441593