What to do with dogs in the Red center??

Submitted: Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 09:51
ThreadID: 36103 Views:2883 Replies:5 FollowUps:8
Hi all, I will be doing a bit of a Road trip in Sep and part of it will invovle climbing Ayers Rock.. Now we generaly travel with our 2 Beagles and when NP's come into play we usually manage to avoid them or leave the dogs locked in the car for short periods etc. However, obviously the 4 or 5 hours it's going to take us to climb ayers rock and return is a little too much to expect them to stay in the car. The resort at Yulara doesn't have any suggestions. Does anyone have any ideas or know someone around the area who might let us leave our two dogs in a yard or a kennel or something??
My next step is to ring the roadhouses around the area and test the waters there..
We will be coming through from Kings Canyon and then heading Sth along Gunbarrel, so we don't have a lot of options..
Any sugegstions much appreciated

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 13:07

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 13:07
Hi there Coyote, last time I was there they were talking about banning climbing the rock as it's aboriginal land and is on the protective list. Dont know how true this is as I havnt been back there since. We camped at the resort, beatiful green grass and bbq's etc and there were people there that had dogs including myself, (not sure if still allowed) also used a doggy bag and use to walk myn away from the campsite towards the scrub to do what he had to do. When we went there was always some body sitting at the bottom of the rock while there friends/ partners etc climbed and there was many people hanging on to a lead. There was some tied to bullars (my dog included) with a bowl of water under the truck for there fury friends to drink so they were in the shade,I would not leave them in the vehicle even with windows down. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 185018

Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (SA) - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 14:13

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 14:13
Thanks Stephen.. out of interest, how long ago were you there? These days they are cracking down on dogs in the parks, but I guess, in hindsight the area isn't NP is it? I think it's Aborginal lands??? Therefore NP has no say in it at all.. Last time I was there it was managed by NP but that was in 1989. Thanks anyway..
FollowupID: 441743

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 14:30

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 14:30
Hi there Coyote, I'm talking 92 so I would also imagine a whole heap has changed since I was there. Also if you like the odd ale or two buy before you get there we paid $78 for a case of crowns back then and fuel was 99.9cpl I thought that was dear then must be $2 plus now I'd reckon. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 441758

Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (SA) - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 14:38

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 14:38
Ouch.. yeah looks like they are charging like wounded Bulls beacuse they can.. it's $25 PP just to enter the park and the cheapest Room at the rosrt to have a break from camping is $404 I can pay that in Sydeny and have a spa and rooms service thrown in.. whereas for that in Yulara I get a queen bed, a TV, a shower and a bar fridge.
I find it hard to see how they justify those costs, but I guess with No competition. they can charge what they want.. will defenitly "re-stock" the engle in Alice
FollowupID: 441763

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 16:07

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 16:07
I climbed it last week for the second time in 3 years (Stupid Ba$tard I am, Its a bit like child birth I guess I forgot how much effort it was the first time)
Anyway its a 3 hour round trip taking it easy with stops as long as the rock isn't closed due to rain, hot temp, wind etc as it is closed a very short notice.
(Make sure you take plenty of water on the climb)

Can't help with the dog issue but suggest you ring the camp ground and ask if they take them there.
Also the Rock / Olga's area is a National Park, It was handed back to the Black fellas in the 80's and leased back from them as a N.P. and is managed under consultation with the traditional owners.

AnswerID: 185040

Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (SA) - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 16:09

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 16:09
Cheers for that.. yeah I climber it twice in 2 days for some silly reason but that was years ago.. good to know its about a 3 hr return trip at least..
And ta for the Info Re NP.. I guess I'll have to pull a favour or 2 in the cmap ground. Cheers
FollowupID: 441783

Reply By: Hairy - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:38

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:38
Try Rangeview Pet Resort Alice Springs.
It will mean leaving your dogs in Alice but there realy isnt many options unless you know someone here who can mind them.
Id love to help but my dogs would love a feed of beagles!
AnswerID: 185208

Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 14:21

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 14:21
Thanks Hairy.. I checked out there web page and they look pretty good. Or I might have to forgo the climb.. Cheers
FollowupID: 441974

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 15:12

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 15:12
On the question you raised, Hairy's reply is the most sensible, unless you can phone a friend in Alice who will do it for nothing.

Even taking dogs into National Parks is generally not allowed and I am 99% certain this is the case in Uluru Kata Tjuta - ie. not even in your vehicle is allowed.

You could always leave it at Mutitjulu - there are more dogs there than people.

On some of the off topic stuff in this thread:

It is Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park and whilst the park is owned by traditional owners it is managed by the anachronistic Parks Australia - part of the Federal Department of Environment and Heritage.

Climbing the rock is one of those challenging questions - clearly the tourism industry of the rock lists this as a major activity of the area and without it, many might be turned off.

The traditional owners have for years "requested" people don't climb the rock because of it's cultural significance - the climb that is, not just the rock.

However, they do allow people to climb the rock except:
* when adverse weather (read heat, rain, wind) threatens
* when a rescue is taking place
* when there is some cultural reason - funerals, ceremonies etc.

In practice this results in the closing of the climb frequently and with no notice except when you get there.

I sense some increasing realisation that the current limitations in other areas (sunrise viewing location, for instance) might need revisiting - I recall hearing recently that they are planning considerable development, so I doubt whether anyone is thinking of closing the climb.

The restrictions in the park (also at Kata Tjuta) always seem to get ambiguous responses from the indigenous people up there that I know, but they are enforced rigorously by the Parks Australia managers.

Whilst, as a photographer and tourism operator, and as much as I would love to have free rein over what and how I photographed and where I took photographers, reality is that some indigenous people may have a problem with that, and as absurd as it seems - and as absurd as many indigenous people find the restrictions, we just have to live with that.

The entry fee at Kakadu was removed recently - hopefully the $25 per head fee at Uluru might also be revisited too.

Ciao for now
Andrew.
AnswerID: 185240

Reply By: N.T. Home - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 17:26

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 17:26
G'Day mate,

I live in Darwin now, but I was a tour guide at the rock for a couple of years. You can definately take your dogs in and around both Ayers rock and the Olga's. Leaving your dogs at the base of the rock tied to your car with some water is very normal. But you will have trouble at the canyon, as they don't allow dogs anywhere around there.

hope this helps,

regards tim.
AnswerID: 185429

Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (SA) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:25

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:25
That great news Thanks Tim.. I have often wondered how it would work if someone took the Nat Parks to task on this isuues, I.e Mitutjulu community is only a few K's away and there are stacks of dogs there. I wonder if "Native dogs" are different to "home bred dogs" Cheers for the tip.
FollowupID: 442362

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:45

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:45
I think you would be wise to check with the Park ... their website Site Link says "Pets are NOT permitted in the Park".

Given the rather ad hoc management style that I see, you could easily get picked up by some zealous - perhaps overly zealous ranger ...

Ciao for now
Andrew.
FollowupID: 442368

Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (SA) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:47

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:47
Yeah, I'm not the antogonistic type.. At least the Camp Ground is outside the NP and if worse comes to worse we'll leave them in the car and just do some short walks...
FollowupID: 442369