RIP: ZD30 fuel pump
Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:08
Graeme
After 90000Km my fuel pump died. I filled up with some cheap diesel and then it started missing slightly. then it got worse so I diverted into a large town where the Nissan dealer confirmed what I had originally thought. He asked if I had used biodiesel at all. I have used B20 to top a
tank half full once and some Jet A1 also to top a
tank.
He warned me to use nothing but fuel from only major company retailers and not independant cheapies as they use the dregs and crap rejected by the majors.
For me there is now no such thing as cheap diesel as I expect the repair bill to be in excess of $5000.00 and that is with a rebuilt pump from Bosche which comes with a 12 month guarantee. It appears the engine is built around the pump hence the 2 full days of labour.
Hope it does not happen too often to others who can ill afford it.
Graeme
Reply By: DavidT - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:23
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:23
When Outback touring how can one prevent this from happening when we dont have a lot servo's to chose from we are planning a trip up to Cooberpedy in October and getting a bad drop of fuel worries me
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:31
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:31
I use a Debug www.morisons.com.au
However, I'm sure BillS will be along shortly with his advice.
The other thing I'd suggest outback travellers do is to fit another filter and a lift pump back nearer the fuel
tank to help push the fuel through the extra filters etc.
Sorry to read about your plight with the pump mate, that's a real bad news story, but unfortunately it's not an isolated instance for the 3.0L rocket. Pud and Barb did an injector pump early on in the life of theirs and subsequently blew the whole motor and have had several other issues with oil leaks, inter-cooler hose coming off (or probably "blowing off" due to excess boost pressure me thinks).
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:31
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:31
Don't find the cheap discounters out there.
Coober Pedy has both Shell and
Mobil depots that turn over a heap of diesel. I'd trust them
well ahead of any of the small city servos.
Port Augusta has a heap of truck stops too.
Follow Up By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:32
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:32
Perhaps a CAV filter in place of the OEM unit would help get rid of the crud? It fits in the OEM primer assembly perfectly, but the filters are expensive from memory.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:34
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:34
Sorry, link didn't work....try
www.morison.com.au
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:38
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:38
Craig,
Those CAV filters are very cheap mate, about $5- to $8- at most
places.
I use one of those in place of the standard filter, plus the Debug before that. Some blokes elect to use the standard filter, but add a whole extra CAV filter prior to it; only need to change the CAV regularly (say every 10,000klm) and the OE filter every 50,000klm or so.
Follow Up By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:41
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:41
Sorry Roachie, the filters I were using weren't CAVs (senior's moment), they were supplied from OL and were bloody expensive, just can't remember for the life of me what brand they were but did an admirable job. CAV filters certainly are cheap!
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:51
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:51
No worries mate, they were probably RACOR filters......have a sort of
orange coloured plastic bowl on the bottom?
Follow Up By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:55
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:55
Grey actually, but Racor rings a bell.
Follow Up By: traveller2 - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 12:07
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 12:07
The cheapest place that I've found to buy the CAV filter assembly is at Whitworths marine supplies, $59 for the one with a glass bowl on the bottom. I usually buy the filter elements at Western filters by the slab (12) which cost around the $5 mark.
Follow Up By: DavidT - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 16:46
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 16:46
Hi Roachie
I have 3.0 litre gu4 i would like to fit one of the de bug units do these need a take up pump to push the fuel through or should it just sit in the system with out any problems and would you recommened in the engine bay ornear the tanks.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 16:52
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 16:52
David,
Just curios as to why you want to fir a debug unit? I have the same vehicle and I don't feel the need.
Leroy
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 17:09
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 17:09
David T,
It shouldn't need any extra pumping unless you add a lot of extra plumbing in (like on Ron Moon's 4.2, where he mounted the Debug unit on the passenger's side of the engine bay). It's not a filter as such, so there is no extra resistence for the fuel to overcome. It is a alloy bowl with a drain plug and 3 large, donut-shaped magnets suspended in/on plastic stands. Fuel goes in and any heavy particles fall to the bottom. It's supposed to do the same with algae blooms etc, but afaik I have never suffered from that anyway.
Leroy,
I cannot say whether it works or not.....it's in the same category as the ShuRoo (recently removed), the CounterAct Electronic Rust Prevention etc. I have put them on as a type of insurance policy cos I do a bit of remote travel and "IF" I ever get a dose of bad fuel, it'd be nice to know (or at least believe) that the Debug might prevent some drama. The occasions when I have serviced the Debug, it always has a small amount of sediment (looks like fine sand) in the bottom, which the filter would have stopped anyway I guess, but you can never be too sure.
Cheers blokes
Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:30
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:30
Been there, done that (RIP my old ZD30, too). Strangely enough, the fuel I bought that threw the pump's towel-in was from a major truck supply outlet. Go figure. Yep, the bloody donk is built around the pump, which is about half the engine I reckon LOL. Luckily (after much bitching)
mine was repaired under warranty, as were the 6 AFMs, 2x ECUs, 1 x engine wiring harness, 2 x boost sensors, 1 x valve solenoid.
Oh and by the way, my Nissan Dealership took 12 days to remove/repair/replace my fuel pump so 2 days is pretty slick even with a rebuilt pump.
Best of luck Graeme.
Sorry, but I'd had enough so bought the venerable 4.2
Reply By: traveller2 - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:38
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:38
Methinks more bull from Nissan, if your fuel filter is in situ and doing its job then no crap should get to the injection pump.
Biodiesel is used by the oil companies in diesel to improve lubricity that was lost by the removal of sulphur. Biodiesel alone will not cause pump problems on modern vehicles.
The fuel you used might have had something else added to it.
I have heard of other injection pumps wearing out at similar distance to yours so you are not alone.
Infrequent filter changes, crook fuel and running tanks till they are empty and the engine coughs will all kill injection pumps. The injection pump relies on a constant supply of fresh, cool fuel to lubricate and cool the pump, any restriction to flow will cause excessive wear.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 16:11
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 16:11
Yep, sounds like WHAT A LOAD OF CRAP to me. I've been running backyard B100 Biodiesel for over 6months now, I literally have not been to the serevo this year!
I also did a lot of work for the fuel supply depos and retailers over here in the West and that "dregs" comment is complete argoance coupled with neivety. It's got more to do with the tanks fuel is stored at in a particular servo than the supplier anyway, some of the branded sites have got crappy old rusty tanks and some of the budget suppliers have got brand new plastic tanks and vice versa.
Nissan, get a life. Admit you have built a crappy engine and stop pointing the finger at other people!
Follow Up By: DMH122 - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 18:57
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 18:57
I once put the question of is there any better filter to put on a zd30 other than genuine to the bosch injection pump on str nav to the bosch suppler in
sydney once he said it is one of the better filters to use he also said it doesnt matter what filter u use if u get bad fuel it still gets thru.
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:29
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:29
DMH 122.
In my opinion your on the money!!. Drain the
tank, fill it up with
water, start the motor!, whats going to happen?? The thing will start with what fuel is in the lines, when the
water gets there, which it will the motor will cough splutter, blow odd smoke, then F....king stop. No amount of filters will stop that. But if the contamination is that bad i personally dont think the pump would get destroyed unless you tried to keep going with the thing running rough as guts. Just maybe some do this not realizing whats going on.
Axle
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 01:58
Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 01:58
" Drain the
tank, fill it up with
water, start the motor!, whats going to happen?? The thing will start with what fuel is in the lines, when the
water gets there, which it will the motor will cough splutter, blow odd smoke, then F....king stop."
Before that the
water trap alarm should go off. Are they fitted to Nissans?
Gotta agree with Jeff, NIssan are w..king on. What are they saying, could only be one of 2 things? That their crap engine wont handle fuel to Australian standard, or a major supplier is supplying fuel that is not to A.Standard. If the latter then it should be EASY f...ing PEESY to send a sample of what is still in the
tank away for testing by consumer affairs.
Then again it would not have been at all smart to admit putting Jet A1 in the
tank?
Follow Up By: DMH122 - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 07:29
Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 07:29
I think you are getting off the track a bit, the problem in the original question was fuel contamination not putting
water in fuel
tank.
Reply By: Alan S (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 13:04
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 13:04
Graeme
How much Jet A1 did you put in, as this is really Kerosene. KErosene can be used for degreasing as it disolves grease. This may have been more of the problem than Biodiesel.
Follow Up By: Graeme - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 13:18
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 13:18
I am aware of the JetA1 properties as I am an aircraft engineer so I only put in less than half a
tank. It is a dry fuel due to the extremely low sulphur content and the ZD30 is designed for low sulphur fuels, but in future I will also use an additional lubricant such as flash lube.
Years ago in NZ when there was the fuel pump failures on the BAE146 and Metros after introducing the low sulphur JetA1, there was a special lubricant we used to add to the fuel. Wish I remember what it was and could lay my hands on some.
Normally for diesels fuelled on A1 we have added two stroke oil to the fuel until it was oily and slippery when rubbed between your fingers. Current JetA1 feels dry, while Arctic rated fuel from Russia I have had experience with in the cold climates feels like diesel and is clear like the A1 and smells different out of a PT6.
Follow Up By: Flash - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 14:12
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 14:12
Putting Kero (Jet A1) in a diesel.... with OR without additives.
you are a braver man than I!
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 02:02
Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 02:02
Do airlines give away Jet A1 while adding a fuel levy to passengers, or is it being pinched??
Follow Up By: Graeme - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 08:14
Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 08:14
Once the fuel is drained from the aircraft tanks for whatever reason (repairs etc.) it cannot be used again in an aircraft due possible contamination. I am not in airlines either but in another area of aviation so please do not think you are paying for the occasional top up with Jet A1 I have used.
Follow Up By: Ianw - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 22:26
Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 22:26
The Nissan users manual states that you can add up to 30% kerosene to your diesel to prevent waxing in colder climates!!!!
Reply By: Dirty Smitty - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 21:05
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 21:05
It all depends on what type of Jet fuel/avaition kerosene, the types that I have had experience with are F34 AVTUR FSII Jet A1, F44 AVCAT,JP5. Civilian jet fuel and military spec are different, military spec fuel has lubricity improver added where the civilian one does not (as the aircraft use different sealing compounds and seals in their fuel tanks etc). However I would still use a fuel additive such as Morley's, Lucas or flash lube. I have heard that transmission fluid and 2 stroke oil can be used as an alternative, however I would not use them. AVTUR quality is tested constantly on a daily basis and for
mine AVTUR is an excellent fuel. As far as running it I have in the past ran approximately 500 litres through a diesel vehicle without any dramas except for an improvement in performance. When I did use it I would use a mix ratio between 50% to 75% of AVTUR to commercial grade diesel. I just wish I could still source it. But having said that I am now keen on making my own Bio.
Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 00:00
Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 00:00
Instead of paying big dollars for additives, you'll get far more extra lubricosity from a couple of litres of new vege oil bought at the
supermarket and poured straight in each tankful.
Tim