Patrol 3.0 Turbo Diesel Engine Rebuild

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 19:53
ThreadID: 36153 Views:10470 Replies:18 FollowUps:18
I am after some information from some genuine patrol owners who have had the unfortunate bad luck to have suffered an engine failure ie pistons with holes burnt in them which has required an engine rebuild. I'll expain why a bit later. What I want to know is what did the rebuild include, a complete new engine or reusing some of the old engine (block etc) with some new parts? Did the engine number change in this process?

My reasons for asking is that I purchased my 2001 patrol when it was 12 months old with 24000k on the clock however there was a 6 month gap in its life I could not account for. All but a couple hundred Ks had been completed in the first six months of its life then only a couple of hundred in the next six months. The dealer could not explain what had happened so I wrote to Nissan and they just side stepped the question and only responded to other questions I put to them. I have often wondered what could have happened and my suspicions have been raised to a higher level as I have just had some work done on my engine and the mechanic (who knows his business) assures me that either the engine has been replaced or has been removed for some major work to be completed. I know that the engine number is the same as when the patrol was imported into the country as I have some documentation and the details match.

All I am trying to establish is the full history of my patrol and if there has been an engine rebuild I believe I have a right to know.

For all those Patrol bashers out there you can settle down as I am not interested in your sarcastic comments about the nissan patrol so please do not respond unless you have valuable answers to my questions.

I do not have any issues with my patrol and I personally thnk it is a great 4WD and I am totally happy with mine as I'm sure most of you are with what ever 4wd you own. I just want to know as much as possible about the history of my patrol and require some more details before I have another go at Nissan.

Thanks.

Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:01

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:01
The other reason why the motor could have been out is a gearbox rebuild. A lot of the earlier ones had a problem stripping the spline on top gear.

Good luck mate, I have the June 2000 build and it's done 180,000. Did have a gearbox rebuild.
AnswerID: 185290

Follow Up By: brd - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:09

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:09
Not usually any need to remove the engine for gearbox repairs.
FollowupID: 442070

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:21

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:21
You can remove the box without removing the engine.

Leroy
FollowupID: 442071

Follow Up By: Bob on Patrol - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:21

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:21
Thanks for the input but I think it has been more than a gearbox as some evidence you can see is sealant or gasket goo oozing out from between engine components at the top end. Not the sort of thing you would see from a factory built and installed engine.

I hope I get the same mileage as you and more without any issues.

FollowupID: 442072

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:02

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:02
24,000km seems very early in it's life for the 3.0 litre piston issue to have happened to it. Most of the cases I read about on here (and there have been a few!) seem to be in the 100,000 to 130,000km range - right after the factory warranty expires.

Having said that, if it did 24,000km in it's first 6 months of life then that sounds like a hardworking vehicle so anything is possible.

Fully agree that you have a right to know it's history if it has had major surgery that early, esp buying from a dealer.

Muddy
AnswerID: 185291

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 21:56

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 21:56
Robins wonderful light weight 4.8 blew up with less than 2000klms on it...
FollowupID: 442093

Reply By: Seanny - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:09

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:09
Hi Bob,

I am not a Patrol owner, however, if you have the original documents from the warranty, are you able to identify the original owner??

If so, give them a call.

Sean.
AnswerID: 185294

Follow Up By: Bob on Patrol - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:25

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:25
I'll give this some thought but as it was owned by a Christian Outreach Centre it may be difficult to find someone who remembers the vehicle after all these years.

FollowupID: 442073

Follow Up By: Spike me - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 13:26

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 13:26
There is your problem straight away. It has been owned by blaphemous god-botherers who were struck by lightning on the way to a Jambouree. It probably took 6 months to find them and then it just drove back 200 kms to the church.The gaskets would have melted when the lightning hit and caused them to ooze a bit of sealant.

Seriously though 6 months off the road could be either a rebuild or a quiet t ime for the church. With budgeting etc... they may have actually just not used the vehicle.
FollowupID: 442192

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:19

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:19
Bob,

This refers to a completely different make I owned about 5 1/2yrs ago. About 9 months after I sold the vehicle I had a phone call from the new owner to find out the background on the vehicle. In the 9 months it had travelled a meezley 2500km. It turns out that the vehicle was in a serious roll over and the car had been sitting in a factory getting the backside cut off it and made into a ute (it was a big wagon).
Could it be that your car has been through a major accident and has been fixed up by a panel beater along the line somewhere. This may account for the 6mths off the road. Insurance companies keep records of write offs if this is the case. Also Nissan would be aware if this has happened as well. (I know Holden was aware of my wifes Jackeroo that had been written off before we bought it)

Regards, Trevor.
AnswerID: 185296

Follow Up By: Bob on Patrol - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:31

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:31
I hope that this is not the case with mine and I suspect not as I crawled over and under the vehicle and it all looked original and genuine but you never know. You are right Nissan would know but how willing will they be to share the info especially if it is not good news.

I will keep asking.

FollowupID: 442076

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 21:04

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 21:04
Bob,

I should have pointed out, I do not wish this upon anyone so sorry if that was the way it was taken.
Any warranty work you need done on the car (if it's stilll in warranty) will not be done if the car has been written off so Nissan should be forthcoming with this info in my opinion. Unless it was one of their dealers that sold it, then it may be hard to get the info.

Happy hunting where the 6mths got to.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 442080

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 21:14

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 21:14
As Trevor said check out the vehicle make sure it hasnt been a rebirthed write off or had major smash I hope for your sake it hasnt been, the RTA will be able to tell you this and also I know NRMA have vin/chassis no of vehicles that have been totalled. You should also be able to tell about the service history from any nissan dealer through it's services providing its been done by nissan, but if it has ever been an issue with warranty even if it was serviced by who ever it would have to go back to nissan to get warranty done not by any other mechanical workshop, also does the speedo seem to be ok, I found this with my holden statesman I bought, after a month or two of owning it when you really sit down and read all the dates and services some thing didnt seem write so I pulled the speedo out only to find it was a 98 model speedo in a 96 model car,(1 good thing about holden they put build dates om everthing) cut a long story short it was either the cops or give me a few Gss back from the owner and I was happy.Only other way as said above ring the original owners, but I know the church mob here in sydney at kingslangley are like goverment cars and get rid of there every 40k as you said might be a bit hard to find all the previous owners. Best of luck . Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 185309

Reply By: HGMonaro - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 21:51

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 21:51
Still not a reply to your real question (the rebuild) but what makes you think Nissan should know what happened to the car in that 6mths? Who did you buy the car off? I once went overseas for a year so my car (was a Nissan too!) sat on stands for that time, thus did next to no clicks in that year. How many K's has the car done now BTW?
AnswerID: 185312

Follow Up By: Bob on Patrol - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 08:24

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 08:24
As the vehicle was owned by a church organisation and it was still under new car warranty then I would expect any work, minor or major would have been done under warranty and Nissan would have to approve the work before it is completed. Therefore there should be some record on what was done. There is no doubt that some serious work has been done but exactly what is unknown. I purchased it from a Nissan Dealer in Sydney and I commented on the gap in its life at the time of buying it and they could not offer any explanation. There is no record in the papers I have of the vehicle being sold or traded and as a church organisation owned it I think it is unlikely it just sat there for 6 months. It has now travelled 87000ks and is still going strong.

FollowupID: 442146

Reply By: Plugger - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 21:58

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 21:58
Bob, My 3 litre engine was replaced at about 30,000 kms I believe. It was prior to me buying it. However I do know that the engine number changed because when I went to register it in my name I discovered the engine number was different.

It is an ex Police vehicle and they had forgotten to change the rego over when the engine was replaced.

It now has 130,000k on it and it is going like a beauty.

Plugger
AnswerID: 185314

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 00:16

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 00:16
Can we write them a ticket!
FollowupID: 442122

Reply By: nismo - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 22:00

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 22:00
bob,working with nissan i can tell you that the zd30 eng accur an oil leak between the timing cover and block.to fix this problem you need to remove the eng and strip down the front of the eng and sump.now you can get away without removing the eng to do the job.if the eng had major work done eg pistons the block can be reused if ok.you have answer your question about eng change. if eng no the same when came into country you can say it is original.to be 100% sure any nissan dealer should tell you the eng no by the vin no.happy driving with your patrol.
AnswerID: 185315

Reply By: blown4by - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 22:30

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 22:30
Bob as you know the engine number on the ZD30 is on the cylinder head (one of about only two vehicles sold in Aus that it is not on the block) so if the engine has been rebuilt for whatever reason and even if the block was replaced you would have no way of knowing just by looking at the engine number unless of course the head was changed as well.
AnswerID: 185325

Reply By: Redeye - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 06:41

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 06:41
Bob,

Go to your Nissan dealer with the VIN number. They will have a full record of any work carried out by Nissan anywhere. This worked for me.

Redeye
AnswerID: 185349

Reply By: DMH122 - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 07:51

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 07:51
Bob can you email the VIN number to my email i may be of some help.
AnswerID: 185355

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 09:05

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 09:05
Hi there Bob just spoke to a friend of mine who works for nissan if you like email me your chassis no and rego no and I will ring her with the details and get back to you via email if this helps any. millers1@fortdodge.com.au Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 185369

Reply By: JR - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 09:36

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 09:36
Bob,
My ZD30 was rebuilt at 130K k and they replaced a short motor, that is Block, pistons, crank etc. Im fairly sure they reuse all auxillary parts and the head, waterpump, turbo etc etc
Early on when these engine failures were new Nissan spent a while working out what was going on so some were repaired, ie new pistons only. Very early ones had the engine removed and some work done to the sump.
Im told since the first version of this engine there have been over 70 changes made internally to the engine and done gradually so early repaired versions may be OK maybe not dependedng when the repair was done. No way to really tell.
Follow up the history, really shouldnt be a secret, not sure why Nissan wouldnt tell you what went on.
JR
AnswerID: 185371

Reply By: blown_zd30 - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 11:30

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 11:30
Hi Bob

When my ZD30 went bang, Nissan offered a package deal on the parts to fix it. They have a kit (for busted ZD30's) which consists of 4 pistons, 4 rods, a block and a crankshaft which costs around $2500.

Given that the engine no. is located on the head, it's possible all of the above could be replaced and it you still retain the same engine no.

If any work carried out on the vehicle was done at a nissan service centre under warranty the details would be logged in the nisssan database under the VIN #.

Regarding the GAP in mileage history, May not apply to your vehicle, but it's common for vehicles at the end of their lease period to sit around for months on end while the companies that have leased them and the leasing companies decide on what they are going to do with them.

Brad
AnswerID: 185384

Reply By: scottcamp - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 17:56

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 17:56
Hi Bob,
We bought a Ford Focus off a main Ford dealer about 4 years ago and it was 1 year old with 12,000 miles(UK so miles) on the clock. Nothing unusual there, when we got the new log book through its previous owner was Hertz rent a car. Again nothing unusual there as ford always sell ex Hertz rental cars, they must have a lease deal with them. A couple of months later i gave the car a major clean inside and for the first time checked all the paperwork in the glovebox. I found a workshop slip inside detailing the work done on the car by Hertz. The car had a rear light bulb changed at 12000 mile on the clock when the car was 5 months old.

After further investigation i found out that it is standard practice for lease firms to run popular cars up to the average yearly mileage in a very short time then store them until the milage and age is correct, not sure if the main dealer does this or the lease firm. This allows them to sell them at main dealers for maximum price. The ex hertz cars are all sold as Ford Direct cars and you do pay more for these. I was a bit annoyed to find out that the car was ex-rental and had sat about for 7 months, but then again the car was perfect.
AnswerID: 185432

Reply By: Bob on Patrol - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:09

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:09
Thanks to everyone who has responded. I will be taking up some of the offers of help to try and solve the missing 6 months. I had accepted that the vehicle had sat in a dealers yard somewhere for this time but after two different mechanics commented that some work had been done it rekindled my curiosity to know the full story. I will post a followup with the results (if any)

Thanks again

AnswerID: 185471

Reply By: PhilZD30Patrol - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 12:20

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 12:20
Hi Bob

I have a very similar 2001 ZD30 automatic purchased from a state government fix price sale from an auction house.

I bought it at a good price with log books. Before the purchase I phoned the Nissan Dealer who had stamped all the services who assured me all the services had been done and that it was a very good vehicle. As it was still under Nissan Warrantee and also had a 90 day dealer warrantee I didn’t worry about it anymore. The car had covered 78,000 KMS and was 2.5 years old and in very good condition. The NRMA did a pre purchase check said it was mechanically OK and had no accident damage.

Later I noticed that the log book service dates showed about 5 to 6 months gap when it had little use between 20Ks and 30Ks. I was told by my mechanic ( not a Nissan Dealer) that the engine showed evidence of being dismantled and rebuilt. My engine oil and filter is replaced every 5,000kms with 10W – 40 CF4 semi synthetic oil. My mechanic says to ignore the service book recommendation as Nissan issued a revised service bulletin. Currently the vehicle has 130,000 kms and goes very well. It is totally reliable, no problems except the inner front axle drive shaft seal LHS leaking oil through the CV joint and routine brake pad replacement.

I have heard a number of unconfirmed stories about early model ZD30 engine failures at low kms.

I know of a one owner May 2000 ZD30 that recently blew at about 180,000. It has been serviced since new by a Nissan Dealer every 5,000kms and had an extended warrantee. After an robust argument with Nissan, through the dealer who was supportive, Nissan came good and fixed it but I don't no the details, i.e. replacement or rebuilt, and if he had to make a part payment.

AnswerID: 185822

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 12:50

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 12:50
I love how people keep saying 'unconfirmed reports'...
FollowupID: 442729

Reply By: PhilZD30Patrol - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:24

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:24
I get very frustrated with people who have stories about how they know some one's second cousin's aunt who had a Nissan ZD30 that blew up as they left the showroom and the dealer wouldn't fix it! Probably coincidental but it is usually a Toyota fanatic.

I am amazed about how few actual owners of a Nissan Patrol ZD30 actually claim their vehicle's engine blew.

How about responses from people who actually own a 2000 to 2005 Nissan Patrol fitted with a 3 litre turbo diesel.

IF YOU OWN A TOYOTA, HOLDEN, FORD, BILLY CART OR GOGMOBILE PLEASE DO NOT REPOND TO THIS FORUM

AnswerID: 185832

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:30

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:30
it's been done to death. There are a number of members here that have blown their 3.0l engine. Do a search and you will find who these people are.

Leroy
FollowupID: 442740

Follow Up By: Off-track - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:53

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:53
Phil, it sounds like your 3.0 may well be another statistic, going by your previous post.
FollowupID: 442747

Follow Up By: PhilZD30Patrol - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:05

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:05
Hello Off-Track

It may well be, keep tuned to this station!

One thing is for certain, my ZD30 is going well today, and I am going to keep on 4wding without taking heaps of valium because I am worried that my No.1 piston may get a hole in it.

FollowupID: 442751

Follow Up By: Bob on Patrol - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 08:40

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 08:40
Phil,

These forums have a life of their own, I hadn't logged onto my PC for few days and was surprised to see this still going. I agree with your sentiments and this was why in the original post I requested that patrol bashers stay away as I am not interested in their comments which generally are ill informed. I suggest that anyone who owns a 3.0 patrol and are concerned with the engine, speak to a genuine diesel expert and get real advice from them. I did this and you learn a lot. They are the ones who discovered some serious work had been done on my rig (answers still outstanding)
I have recently had some mods completed ( intercooler fan - standard setup is inefficient: EGR valve mods - standard setup pumps super hot air directly into 3 & 4 piston and in right conditions contributes to these piston burning holes ) These are only some considerations and the complete engine maintenance needs to be addressed, correct oil and frequent changes, regular checks on MAF sensor, use only genuine paper air filter elements and not after market substitutes.

I have found by speaking to the experts face to face you will get better information than relying on only forum feedback as there is too much emotion and then you have to sort through the rubbish to get any useful info.

Don't get me wrong I believe this form is great when used in the right manner unfortunately far too often a post is highjacked by others with their own agendas.

As for my patrol, will it have problems? who knows but theres no point worrying about it, look after it use it for its intended purpose and enjoy it. My patrol is going well and I think slightly better after the recent mods.

Good luck with yours, and again to you and everyone else who constructively added to this post thanks, to the distractors consider yourself ignored.

FollowupID: 443236

Follow Up By: B & M - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 12:48

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 12:48
We have just had to transport our patrol 3.0lt (2001) back from nth QLd after blowing a hole in No 3 piston (126000k's) Nissan are doing a re-build.
Where's the best place to find more info on this.
How often do you think this happing
Look foreward to your comments
B & M
FollowupID: 444484

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 22:14

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 22:14
>>> I am amazed about how few actual owners of a Nissan Patrol ZD30 actually claim their vehicle's engine blew.

FollowupID: 444620

Follow Up By: Bob on Patrol - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 00:06

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 00:06
B & M,

Sorry to hear about your patrol. I hope Nissan do the right thing for you. As for how often does this happen, that is very difficult to determine as you hear of very few direct occurrances like yours, mostly its a friend of a friend etc. That's not to deny it happens as you have experienced but the actual number is not known and Nissan certainly will not tell. Where to find out more is as difficult find out. If you do searches in this forum you will find a lot of information but you will find even more crap on the matter. I have been reading this forum for the past two years and I have been worried, confused, annoyed and lots more as I read the information available. Simply said it is difficult to work out the truth from the crap. Read the info but take care in what you believe and get indepentant advice from experts (not Nissan) to help understand the issues. I have just recently had some mods done as you may have read as above and this was done after consulting with diesel experts over some time before I decided what to do. I am happy with my decisions and hopefully I will avoid what has happened to your 4WD. Despite what you may read I don't believe there is one simple cause to the engine failures as some people believe. It is a combination of issues which combined cause the failure and in the vast majority of patrols this never occurs. Unfortunately in some all the wrong things happen and the engine fails. I do noy lay any claim to knowing exactly what all the factors are but a brief summary of some of the things I have learned are as follows:-

**regular servicing and oil changes every 5000k
**Regular changes of oil filter
** Regular change of air filter - use only original paper type.
**MAF sensor checked regularly and replaced if faulty
**Inefficient airflow through intercooler - fit fan or take other steps to improve air flow. Recommended not to have bonnet protector as this deflects air flow over air scoop to intercooler.
**EGR valve (this causes a lot of controversy) block system off to prevent exhaust gases re-entering engine I won't elaborate here but do a search in the forum and you will find a recent but long discussion on the subject which I believe supports this action.

I know a lot of this is too late for your current situation however after you have the patrol repaired, it you decide to keep it, you may wish to consider these matters.

Best of luck

A Proud Patrol Owner
FollowupID: 444644