Reminiscing now Better than arguing!

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:07
ThreadID: 36220 Views:3298 Replies:9 FollowUps:16
There must be a million stories out there, About when ii was a young bloke.

The things that where done? Can"t really criticise the youth of to-day, we where probably worse!!. Can remember sitting on a triumph 650 motor cycle doing 90mph up a back road not far from home, only to pass a cop sitting in a mini cooper s on the other side of the road. Well! i shot round the next corner in panic mode and on to a long straight not backing off to much i might add, but it wasn't to long before that little missile had caught up and i was gone. License suspended fined, the age old story. Somethings never change its just as you get older the brain grows, "sometimes"

Axle.

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:26

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:26
I used to work in a hotel and nite club, as a 16yr old I might add. Ride my motorbike to work on a Fri night (no licence but bike was registered) and the number of times I'd come home barely able to stand up let alone ride would be impossible to count. I can remember a huge party one weekend where me and 3 mates polished off a 5gallon keg and the next morning I went to get on the bike and fell straight off the other side, I picked myself up had another go and then the boys threw the empty keg on my lap and I rode the 20 odd km back to town with the keg on my lap. Would have been a dead give away for any blue light that drove past. I've had to put my left finger on the key hole slot in the bike to guide my other hand down to get the key in the ignition before I could start the bike and ride on. Offered this chick a ride home one night but I only had one helmet, I was that tanked I thought if I wrapped my jumper around my head the boys in blue would think it was a helmet. I rode right through town passed another nite club to see if it was worth stopping in before I give her a ride home 20km out of town, how I got away with that one I will never know. and the list goes on.....

I was extremely lucky on many occasions and now you wouldn't think I'd have been a drinker all those years ago.....hardly touch the stuff now (maybe one or two cans a week at most) and NEVER drink drive.

Cheers, Trevor.
AnswerID: 185689

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:36

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:36
Trev,
Does that ring bells! Remember crawling of the floor of the back veranda when the sun got too hot. Found my motor bike on it's side in mum's rose garden and in second gear.
Turns out I'm told that the guys sat me on the bike, pulled in the clutch and let it out with a push start.

I guess that's how I got covered in scratches.

FollowupID: 442569

Follow Up By: Shawsie (Bris) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 09:27

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 09:27
Hi Trev, Years ago it was 'ok' to drink and then drive yourself home. Sure, if you got caught you got fined, but it just was'nt like it is now, we're all too educated on the subject - for obvious reasons. I can remamber my mate giving me a lift home a few times on the back of his Yamaha RD400 AFTER a big night out on the weekend (Gulp!). God know how we made it to my place and God know how he made it back home afterwards. Like I said, we're all educated now ;o)

FollowupID: 442684

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 10:11

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 10:11
It's funny now how we get educated on things. This is one subject that I am very aware of when driving through country towns on fri and sat nights. I can't think that no-one will be drunk as I would be wearing blinkers over my eyes if I did. Maybe this is why some drivers can avoid the accidents waiting to happen as they are thinking for the drunks??? not saying what I used to do is OK or even good but I do think I have learned a lot from it.

PS it was a 10gallon keg we got stuck into that party as well.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 442691

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:33

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:33
Can't believe a cooper S caught up with you doing 90.
Mine was flat out at 105mph, and that was 7000rpm in 4th.
Mates with a full race engine wouldn't do much more than 120.
AnswerID: 185694

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:43

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:43
Oldplodder might be slight,mistake but you would have to admit the little coopers got up to speed very quick??.
FollowupID: 442572

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 07:52

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 07:52
The old stock cooper S from memory did a 17.5 sec 1/4 mile.
It used to keep up to the 289 Falcon GTs up to 60mph (16 sec 1/4 mile?)
Pass them in the corners.
Faster than the Cortina GTs the police had, until they changed to 5 litre Falcon GTs.

Takes a long time to catch someone at that speed, use to have problems catching a friend in a highly modified MGB, but it would do 130. :-)
No hope catching another friend with 327 chev torana which topped out at 135 plus:o))

Sorry, too many memories, 10 hours brisy to townsville, 30 minutes brisy to gold coast. Next door neighbour did brisy to melbourne in 10 to 12 hours (V12 jag saloon), and another brisy to sydney in 9 to 10 hours. Just plain dangerous, and too many dead friends too. One had just finished restoring a MGA, only 6 months later had an off on Mt Nebo. We all just hoped it was quick. Friends found the wreck two days later when he hadn't turned up at a girl friends place.
I just missed twice. Spun out on a montain into the side instead of over the edge. Another time an off on a corner and did a 360 deg roll and landed on all 4 wheels on top of a barbed wire fence. Funny sight at the time, all the strands going under the car and out the other side. Had to replace all four wheel bearings too from the hard landing. If it had landed on the roof ??????

Much safer 4wding and sliding off the road at 20kmph then at 130kmph or more!

FollowupID: 442645

Reply By: Dirty Smitty - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:56

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:56
Like the advertisement states: DRINK DRIVE AND YOUR A BLODDY IDIOT! GOOD ON YA, loose a couple of close friends or relatives to drink driving then you can reminisce about them and how they were before their lives were taken away from them by a drunken hoon.
AnswerID: 185700

Follow Up By: Off-track - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:13

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:13
So I take it you never did anything dangerous in your time?
FollowupID: 442593

Reply By: Exploder - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 21:20

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 21:20
I would have to agree> Have heard my-old mans story’s along with uncles and so on and they did a lot worse than what I have done and most likely will do.

My thoughts are if you haven’t done a few stupid things in your young days then you have not lived, you will have nothing to look back on and laugh, cry or smile about, it’s all part of life and growing up in my books.

I have done or been party in a few not so intelligent things in my time and have been lucky to come out alive in one or 2 of them but if I could I wouldn’t change em, and am glade I have done it.

AnswerID: 185707

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 21:26

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 21:26
Thank christ you took that attitude the post above had me worried, on a different track ithink

Cheers Axle
FollowupID: 442584

Follow Up By: Exploder - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 21:44

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 21:44
Cause I did I am only just turning 22 in a few months LOL, gee I still do the odd bit of calculated stupidity.

A few mates and I all sat around a wile back and after a few beers started reminiscing about some of the stuff we had done over the last 3 or so years and some of it was pretty dam funny, looking back on it.

There are still a few classic moments that happen but know where near a frequent as they used too be,oh bugger must be growing up. No doubt I will be a late bloomer as I try not to take things including myself too seriously.

FollowupID: 442590

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 08:01

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 08:01
Only seriously drunk and drove once.
In the car club I was in, we had a training / tear up the track type day at a local race track.
Just as an experiment, that night, we lined a slalom on the main straight and timed every one sober.
Then every one had a standard drink.
Did this five times, doing a timed run in between.
The results were plain scary. Even the 'tough' ones who 'can handle their drink'.
Every one slept at the track that night and went home next day.

Most of the young ones I know are a lot smarter when it comes to drink driving than we ever were.
Still shake my head at a mate who used to drive faster when drunk, 'since it is harder to hit a moving target'. Yes, he is still alive, don't know how.
FollowupID: 442646

Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 01:55

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 01:55
I bought a road bike when I was 19 but was a fairly sedate kind of rider except on the new Kwinana freeway in Perth. Back then the freeway only went to South Street but I managed to wind it out, bum up head down style to 148klm/h. Thats not bad for a stock Yammy RZ250!!

A year or two later I started riding with some new mates and it didn't take long to realize I was not in the same league, in both balls & stupidity!!!

Apart from the fact they had 750's, they scared the crap out of me many times with silly stunts, even trying to outrun persuit cars while 2 up. One had a habit of taking his bike to parties and forgeting how many drinks he'd had.

Needless to say both have been in horrific accidents, but somehow they survived, well at least last time I saw them---20 years ago!! who nows now?
FollowupID: 443032

Reply By: Barnesy - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 05:45

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 05:45
I have done one stupid thing in a car. I wont elaborate too much but it involved trying to get a car airborne doing 130 km/h (i hadn't been drinking). It went badly wrong and the car was a write off. I look back on this not with fond memories but with relief that nobody actually got killed!
AnswerID: 185745

Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 08:13

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 08:13
if you havent done something stupid then you havent learnt a damn thing!

we learn by making mistakes...even speeding....

however, if no one was injured then sure (and its only natural) we should be able to have a laugh about it..?...

i was a very naughty boy...mum used to let me drive...well before I had a licence
then there was all the speeding tickets...never ever could get away even in a supercharged mini.....was too chicken to try and outrun them.....
AnswerID: 185756

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY VIC) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 09:29

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 09:29
I think that the biggest problem was that the boys in blue new where we lived ...I arrived home one day to find the local sergant drinking tea with my mother..bloody neighbour had reported me for speeding up our street in the middle of the night...didnt seem to make muck difference for a few years ...now the kids think i am driving dangerously if i go over sixty

AnswerID: 185774

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:01

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:01
G'day guys,

I will also confess that when I was young I had a rather heavy right foot. Having a LC XU1 in these circumstances was not altogether a good combo. Having mates that spent their time at "brickies" didn't help either. This did see me down to my last couple of points on one occasion when a flash of stupidity made me do a doughnut in the middle of a Fairfield (NSW) intersection where unbeknown to me a cop was booking some guy. My first indication that all was not well was the blue lights through the smoke, blessed with much quicker acceleration than the HQ premier I was soon rocketing along Railway parade at serious speed deciding a quick turn over the railway lines and some ducking and weaving to hide in an under cover car park in a block of flats was the best escape. The Premier came screaming past a couple of minutes later and after several hours there made a subdued return home. Fixed me for ever - well almost.

Much better behaved these days and somewhat understanding towards misguided youth.

AnswerID: 185850

Follow Up By: Member - John R (NSW) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:15

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:15
Hahaha....Brickies. Those were the days :-) I drove down through the area it used to be last week (back-o-Homebush) and explained to the daughter what used to go on there. She was less than impressed...Kids are too PC these days.

Don't forget the chew-n-spew at "Beefies" on Parramatta Rd.

It all seemed so innocent then :-)
FollowupID: 442767

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:25

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:25
Great meeting place at Beefies. It did seem innocent then, and people are rightly horrified about this sort of activity now. Haven't been that way for over 20 years so I guess its changed a bit, anywhere near the Olympic Stadium?

Look at it this way John, there seemed to be less drugs back then. Mind you there were other health hazards like drinking at the Stardust Hotel at Cabramatta, a favourite with the Gypsie Jokers and always somewhat entertaining at closing time.

FollowupID: 442768

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 17:00

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 17:00
Sunbury and overdoses of music /mud and willing maidens ,,Easter bike races at Bathurst drinking and partying so hard that in 4 yrs never saw 1 race.
AnswerID: 185864

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 18:14

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 18:14
Jeeeeezus!!, Thought i was bad, The easter bike races Man!! how did you miss them?the greatest weekend of all times!

Axle
FollowupID: 442805

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 18:49

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 18:49
Axle ,way back then , 25/30 of us would leave Albury on the Friday ,,,Norton 750 roadsters / Kwaka 500/750 triples ,Suzi waterbottles ,the odd Honda 250/350/450 and the all "new" 750 / 4 ,,, allways 1 ute carrying 5x 44gallon open topped drums stacked with cans [ VB,Carlton Draught ect ect in 750ml and 375 ]+ ice ,,lots of Stones and StonesMac ,,, generaly camp under a h/way bridge on the Friday night and "hit" Bathurst at pub opening time on the Saturday , out to Panorama round 2/3 pm and ride up Conrod straight between practices to camp ,, Watch races ?? nah ,to busy drinking and seeing people youd only see once a year ,,,
FollowupID: 442813

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 19:29

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 19:29
HA HA HA HA! Was probably standing there looking at you guys.
FollowupID: 442821

Follow Up By: Member - John R (NSW) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 20:17

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 20:17
Hey Alloy,

If you really want to upset the PC's and killjoys on this site.......Tell 'em about the Stones Bombs!

WHOOSHKA!
FollowupID: 442837