HF and satphones..one point of view

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:27
ThreadID: 36221 Views:5677 Replies:14 FollowUps:26
My experience only.
I was amazed at how few travellers we met carried radios of any kind...even a UHF. Some admitted to having a satphone or Epirb, but not HF.
My bro took to telling people that I knew of such things and they all wanted a business card...which of course I didnt have on holidays
The general idea seemed to be that HF was too hard to use. Then I mentioned the NGT and ears started to prick up a bit.
I was able to get updated weather and track info, and knew about groups of fellow travellers with HF in the area. We received messages from rellies etc and the 737 network knew roughly where we were (thanks fellas) in case a search was needed. We felt that no matter what the situation that help was on tap at all times.
My satphone supplier (Global *rap...the wrong one obviously) had big problems supplying a reliable service in several areas. Sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn't. A bloke could be in real strife if relying on that sort of satphone setup and I am going to let the service provider know...in no uncertain terms.
Yes I should have known better but ....
To use an analogy, if my vehicle had worked the same as their service I would still be out in the desert !
Does HF have a future in Oz for the 4wd remote area traveller ?
You betcha !

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:50

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:50
Hmm - interesting post footloose.

My bro in law works for Codan so I know what the NGT can do, and how easy to use it is, but the cost and size of the whole set up is a right royal PIA.

On the other hand Global * sat phone that I use ... about 20-30 calls per month has only let me down:

1. occasionally it will break up with clear sky visibility. Usually hanging up and calling back works fine. HF isn't always reliable too (sun spots,..)

2. occasionally I will want to use it when i am in a shadow of the potential satellites - eg., a big hill or building that it is not always easy to get away from sufficiently - but that is rare.

On the other hand, it cost me zip - nada - nothing - with the Gov't rebate, and I pay just $70 per month plus a few bucks when my calls go over the $50 mark.

That is still a long way from paying for an NGT - even at mates rates.

Connected within 20 or 30s always. Get put through to anyone with a telephone who can answer it ... works pretty well for me - I carry a list of ph numbers for potential help where ever I go (even the 737 guys - as I know they can surely help even though my budget doesn't stretch to joining them). My sat phone works in my vehicle, or if I am out walking or trekking or hiking, I can call from there too. The NGT is bolted in the vehicle as good as it is.

What sort of sat phone problems did you have? do you have a provider who can check out your kit? were you using a car kit (wish I had one, but not if they don't work)?

I note that lots of the NT government folks have the sat phones with car kits, and more recently I have seen them in a bunch of SA Gov vehicles in Ceduna - although a lot still have HF.

Ciao for now
Andrew.
AnswerID: 185695

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 21:18

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 21:18
Andrew, thanks for a rational well thought out reply.
Yes the HF is exe, but having to pay for a search effort is more exe. And using the HF costs nothing once you have it and a network set up. You can use it as much or as little as you like and there are no billing surprises when you get home.
I like the idea of sat phones for being able to "ET phone home". Or in the event of an emergency. I also carried a thick phone list, just in case.
Problems with the provider fell into several categories.
No service availiable...many times, especially at night around Coopers Creek area. Not enough sat bandwidth rented by the service provider ?? Service availiable during next mornings but tough if I'd had an emergency at night.
Call established but broken within 30 seconds....no movement at the handset end. No idea why.
Call established but overidden by tones of some description.
All of these problems persisted right across Australia, regardless of the area. I was sure to pick areas that had a clear sky for a long way. My GPS had no problems anywhere.
Now I'm not suggesting that it wasnt my fault, but I'm fairly experienced in matters technical. Plus it did work OK on occasions...sometimes with the above problems.
No in carkit. Can you get one for an R290 do you know ?
The state police in several states still use HF. Talking to one lovely occifer who *only wanted to do a randoma license check* (Eucla...of course) he told me that they found HF very reliable.
FollowupID: 442581

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:05

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:05
Funny - Eucla - from what I hear the town is mostly copper - be it traffic or just crowd control at the communities.

I only saw two police cars between Portagutta and Caiguna - probably spent about 3 days on the road in one way or another, and both were within 100 yards of Eucla.

I have the italian handset - can't even remember the name, but it works fine for me.

Ask to get your handset changed perhaps.

The HF is pretty reliable for sure.

Ciao for now
Andrew.
FollowupID: 442592

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:18

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:18
I've been stopped for random license checks every time I go across there. This time I was following a truck at 90k/h (which is pretty dodgy I guess...no wonder they pulled us both over) when a guy on a bike went past with a "zip" sound. He was well over ...but maybe I looked more sus or something. They didn't touch the bike (he must have slowed pretty quickly).
I only saw about 3 police vehicles on the entire trip. One followed me from Casino to Lismore in the rain and I was quite nervous, wondering why he didn't just pass me. But I guess it was probably nearing knock off time or something.
The guy camped next to us at 80 mile beach was a det sar in the fraud squad in Perth...nice bloke with a couple iof great kids....I'd be a great kid too in their position :))
FollowupID: 442594

Reply By: Member - Mike - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:53

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:53
Gee I betcha Albert Canning would have luved one of those

ps whats NGT mean these days? (in my day it obviously meant otherwise!!)
AnswerID: 185698

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:59

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:59
Ol Albert would have loved a pie and can of Coke at Well 33 also :))
NGT is a model of Codan radio that works in a very similar fashion to a hand held mobile phone.
FollowupID: 442575

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:27

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:27
NGT - New Generation Technology originally ... by the time it came out it was pretty old. Lots of software problems initially led to the production getting stalled and almost to Codan's demise - mind you they are much stronger now.

Don't let footloose tell you otherwise ... it is a big bulky HF radio - it does have a nice little handset, but other than that, pretty conventional use - it resembles a hand held mobile in that it has a keypad ;-)

Ciao for now.
Andrew.
FollowupID: 442595

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:37

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:37
Andrew I'm surprised at your comments re the NGT. Having used a LOT of radios of various brands I dont find the NGT big or bulky at all. And properly profiled (a recent development following complaints from some agencies) they are almost as easy to use as a mobile.
FollowupID: 442599

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:50

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:50
Hi there footloose - I was comparing it to the sat phone like you were. Although it is quite a bit bulkier than a UHF (for instance).

2011 RF Unit: 210mm W x 270mm D x 65mm H; 3.3 kg
2020 Handset: 65mm W x 35mm D x 130mm H; 0.3 kg

to be precise.

Ciao for now
Andrew.
FollowupID: 442604

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:52

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:52
and don't forget the antenna and cabling requirements which probably make the unit size and weight rather academic.
FollowupID: 442605

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:53

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:53
Of course you might be comparing it to one of the new mobiles that weigh nothing, are the size of a pinhead and you need a microscope to see the damm buttons. In that case the NGT is big and bulky ! :)
FollowupID: 442606

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:58

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:58
Properly installed, the radio is out of sight so weighs nothing in your hand. The aerial and cabling should also be out of sight from within the cabin. This leaves a handset with a thin cord, as you say slightly bigger than the satphone. But the design concept is similar...just press and go.
Of course you can't just wander around the camp looking like it's attached to your ear, or use throat mics etc that make it look like you're talking to yourself all the time I guess.........
FollowupID: 442608

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 00:41

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 00:41
Andrew W (SA)

And don't forget Microsoft's NT (New Technology) how naive were they

HF only no sat phone ( thats me not a statement )
FollowupID: 442626

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 21:07

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 21:07
G'day Footloose, Yeah! it's all the way you want to hear it, as for us we have a Satellite Phone on a GlobalStar plan. We have travelled extensively in the north,west and east no problem with my phone.
The phone is the better of the communicators and I don't have to listen to anybody I don't want to, cheaper too!
andy
ps even when there were drop outs I contacted GlobalStar they refunded my calls and paid for an extra months rent plan, yes obviously you need to talk to the service provider
AnswerID: 185702

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 21:23

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 21:23
Hi Andy. Appreciate your point of view, but see my above reply for problems. Yes I will contact the provider...but if I'd of had an emergency then what ? No radio, no emergency alarm for the RFDS and no selcall for the 737 guys.
Sometimes I dont want to listen to others blabbing away on the radio also...that's why the selcall mute was invented :))
As you say, horses for courses.
FollowupID: 442582

Reply By: Steve - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:24

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:24
What has a CODAN NGT got over a Barret 950 Series ? ....which one would be the easiest unit to operate for a non techo couple ????????..(read ones who have not mastered how to use a VCR !!)

and i don't want to know which one is more expensive than the other..
AnswerID: 185719

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:33

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:33
Steve, Barrett don't supply the 950 any more. They supply the 2050 which has a similar setup. The 950/2050 Barrett has the more traditional radio type interface. i.e. It looks , feels and works like a radio. The Codan NGT has a different design concept, it is operated by using the handset which is like a mobile phone. It looks , feels and works more like a phone than a radio. i.e. You know who you want to talk to, just press the buttons and go. The downside is that the NGT's software profile has to be programmed properly by a competant tech so that you can get the most out of it.
Other than that they have very similar features including noise reduction technology (DSP) etc etc
FollowupID: 442597

Follow Up By: Turist (The Original One) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:32

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:32
I have just upgraded from a Codan 9323 to a Codan NGT Voice.
The NGT is extremely operator friendly provided that it is programmed correctly.
When first installed from with the factory program I was a little dissapointed as the set was no easier to use than the old 9323.
Then Wayne from Reids data reprogrammed the set and now, BRILLIANT.
Even SWMBO can use it, and find all the channells quickly and easily.

bob
FollowupID: 442756

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:30

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:30
Nice to have both. But I'm still a HF fan, and also subcribe to a HF telephone network, so I can phone home thru the radio.
AnswerID: 185720

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:50

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:50
Phil, have to admit that I'll always be a big HF fan. This time I needed to ring home and check on things directly whenever I was in a position to do so, hence the satphone....or so I thought.
FollowupID: 442603

Reply By: pilbaradisco - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:38

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:38
I have a Motorola 9500(one of the older type) on Telstra Iridium service. It cost $995 for the phone and I'm on the $28/month plan. I have had it for 4 year now and never had any problem using it. Ocasionally it will drop out but I just ring straight back and it is ok. It has got me out of trouble on the main Hwy between Karratha and Carnarvon on the way to Perth a couple of times. I even rang LandRover Assist and go towed 400kms back home and only had to wait 5 hours for the tow truck to arrive.
On the other hand at work the Locomotives have at Sat phones on some other Telstra network which picks up satelites in either the Indian Ocean or the Pacific Ocean. These sat phones have an antenna the size of a dinner plate and about 75mm thick. These sat phone are one of the worst I have used, makes the Iridium sound like a land line! Also at work we have Globalstar and I've never actually got one of these to work. They always seem to be off getting repaired. Maybe it is just battery problems are somthing.
On my recent desert trip I bumped into a few people that had HF radio's but didn't actually know how to use them.

Glen.
AnswerID: 185722

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:44

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:44
Yes, I have heard that the Iridium network is pretty good.
Interesting comment about people not knowing how to use their HF.
FollowupID: 442600

Reply By: Member - Ian S (NT) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:55

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 22:55
Hi Jim,

I had an Eriksson R290 with GlobalStar before my current Qualcomm 1600. Huge difference, the GSM/SAT R290 had all sorts of problems finding and keeping a signal. On the Anne Beadell it took 2 calls and $21 to eatablish a support call for shocks.

The CDMA/SAT Qualcomm acquires a signal in about 20 secs whereas I would be standing on roof racks like an idiot trying to get a signal with the R290. Worked well on the Qld coast though, Canning and Western Deserts a diferent thing.

Dave at Mt Dare hires out satphones all the time and we show hirers how to use them before they leave. Only once has it taken more than a minute to acquire a signal. On this occasion it probably to 10.
I haver used it from all over Australia but particularly the Simpson with only one drop out.
A satisfied user except for their non-existent fast data connection. Available from Telstra but not GlobalStar.

Sounded a terrific trip and interesting pics.

Ian@Mt Dare
AnswerID: 185726

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 23:06

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 23:06
Hi Ian, yes it was a terrific trip. Would recommend it to any experienced traveller.
Interesting comments re satphones. Another source tells me (Govt agency) that there are "black holes" for their sat service, they have a list of em on the workshop wall !
My observations about the R290 mirror your comments, Ok on the east coast but &rap in the Western areas.
BTW your supplies truck driver was spot on about the Plenty..it was pretty "ordinary" :)
FollowupID: 442609

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 23:59

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 23:59
Jim

When you had the troubles at Coopers Creek, were you under trees ?

It's hard to compare with GPS, because with GPS you usually have several sats to choose from - with Satphone there is mostly only one. If there's a treetrunk or lots of leaves between the antenna and the sat, it will drop out.

You also need more signal strength to transmit to a satellite 1000km away (or 2000km away for Globalsat).

My Iridium Motorola 9505 doesn't usually get dropouts - but I wasn't surprised with the dropouts over the June long weekend. I was in a deep valley where the sun disappeared behind the horizon at 3pm. The satphone was 1 meter below a 10 watt solar panel which also would have shadowed the sat signal.

AnswerID: 185734

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 08:24

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 08:24
Mike, there were trees on one side but a good view of a clear sky. Took it up the road to a completely tree free area and same problem. Other no service areas and times were in very open areas of desert.
Yes, what I was trying to say was that the GPS system was more user friendly :)
FollowupID: 442658

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 09:11

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 09:11
"Other no service areas and times were in very open areas of desert. "

- you can't ask for better satellite location than that !

Keep in mind that Iridium has 66 satellites in a 700km high orbit and Globlstar has 44 satellites in a 1400km high orbit.

The Motorola Satphones provide an extendible and tiltable antenna so that it above the users head and vertical in normal speaking position.

FollowupID: 442676

Reply By: Member - Jerry C (WA) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 00:13

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 00:13
Hi Footloose,
I had an R290 to keep working a couple of years ago, getting batteries for it was always a problem and expensive as well. The users were always complaining about the frustrations of getting it to lock on and then the dropouts, finally when the agents in Perth said that they didn't service or support that model any longer it was a good reason to put it in the bin. Since then we have been using 5 of the Globestar CDMA/SAT model mounted in car kits in aircraft, with reasonably good results considering the number of users that press the buttons.
I can only agree with your comments about the HF.

Cheers, Jerry
AnswerID: 185737

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 08:42

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 08:42
Jerry, interesting that you use them in aircraft. What areas do the aircraft service ?
FollowupID: 442665

Follow Up By: Member - Jerry C (WA) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 23:37

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 23:37
Hi Footloose, West of a line between Eucla and Darwin.
Jerry.
FollowupID: 442882

Reply By: traveller2 - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 08:11

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 08:11
On our recent trip out through Qld and then down the Hay to Poeppels, Birdsville, Walkers crossing, White Cliffs and back to Sydney we had both HF and Telstra/Iridium satphone.
The HF was used daily to call in to VKS skeds, we also received messages via VKS to call another group on the phone as they were unable to call us as they had lost our phone number!
Their hired phone was never on when we tried to call!
Our Motorola 9500 was on all day and often all night (forgot to turn it off!) with an external antenna always had coverage, biggest problem was anwsering incoming calls when sitting around the fire and the truck was 20 yards away, it always stopped ringing after 3 rings usually before we could get to it.
Must follow that up to see if it can be made to ring for a longer time ;-))
No I didn't have any diversions turned on either.
As a group we all came to the conclusion that there is still plenty of life in the HF for remote travel with the phone purely for that call home to elderly parents or similar.
AnswerID: 185755

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 08:46

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 08:46
I totally agree with your conclusions. Thanks for the contribution.
FollowupID: 442667

Follow Up By: Dean (SA) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 12:31

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 12:31
Traveller,
In my 9505 you can change the setting so the phone rings continuosly, you would reckon yours might be the same.
Dean
FollowupID: 442725

Follow Up By: traveller2 - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:02

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:02
I've had a pretty good look in the 9500's menu and it doesn't seem to be adjustable.
You can change the actual ring tone and volume but not the "quantity" as far as I can see (which isn't far for an old fart)
FollowupID: 442750

Follow Up By: Dean (SA) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 11:47

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 11:47
Perhaps try turning off call forwarding, see if that works.
Dean
FollowupID: 443061

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 08:31

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 08:31
Morning Footy,

Interesting observations and comments.

I totally agree that HF would have to be one of the best forms of insurance when travelling far and wide, especially in remote areas and when on your own. EPIRB of course for life or death situation.

In another life I used HF every day and whilst it can be a PIA due fade-outs etc there is no doubt that someone, somewhere, can be reached in an emergency.

Years ago I worked an aircraft in Alaskas airspace from sunny Australia, the pilot had been out of comms with anyone for a considerable time, –and the rad-phone was very handy one sunny afternoon sitting in a boat fishing for barra when a mate had to call work to say he was ‘sick’….lol

Apart from a lot of people seeing it as a ‘dark art’ and difficult to comprehend, probably the main reason it is not used more is cost….yep I know they can be hired but a lot of travellers making one or two trips per year would find it hard to justify the kind of money needed to set up a good HF unit. Most are about travelling not communicating. Until the chit hits the proverbial….

Have every intention of getting a sat phone before serious travelling, HF???? Would have to be the icing on the cake I guess.

Michael
AnswerID: 185758

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 08:45

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 08:45
For the serious remote area traveller I'd suggest that having both is the bees knees. Especially if its a reliable satphone service.
Of course it depends on your health, whether travelling alone, what areas you are in etc.
FollowupID: 442666

Reply By: kesh - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 09:12

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 09:12
Footloose, that was a most interesting thread.
As a bloke who works some of the year in remote areas reliable communication is an essential.
For the past 7 years have used a Westingouse unit which accesses the Optus geostationary satellite above the Pacific. Whilst there is that initially annoying slight time delay (which one quickly gets used to) the service is a genuine 100% reliable in all weather and at all times. Also by cable connection to the laptop for email communication.
As you so correctly point out, communications are next to useless without 100% availability.
kesh
AnswerID: 185767

Reply By: time waster - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 20:52

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 20:52
We have just bought the NGT after many months looking for second hand and between sat phones, at $3190 we thought was a good price and it has the latest 5.3 software which makes it very simple to use. We have also joined radtel and takes no longer making a call than it does the mobile. After listening to the skeds this week with a guy snapping is tow bar off on the canning the vks were there helping out its great to have the choice of listening to where everyone is in the outback.
AnswerID: 185905

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 11:13

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 11:13
People will always want to make contact with other travellers. In the outback there's a good chance that there will be NO-ONE in UHF range.

HF radio is the only way to do it. Even the army and emergency services recognise this.

There is no technology that can conceivable replace it.

In fact there are no plans to replace the ageing satellites used for satphones - it's just too damn expensive.
AnswerID: 185965