It's a BIG country

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 17:09
ThreadID: 36283 Views:2483 Replies:8 FollowUps:14
An observation.
O/S tourists are always on a tight schedule for obvious reasons, as are most of the rest of us. But it's a long way between drinks in our country. Especially in summer.
In 40 years of travelling I'd guess I've seen maybe 10% of what I want to see, and I haven't seen that bit very well. (Despite 2 trips right around the place etc etc etc)Times and places change.
So if you're wondering if you have enough time to see this and that, be aware that in 5 years time this and that will probably be quite different experiences, so don't sweat the timetable. Savour it as you go.
Such a huge country. Such beautiful and diverse areas. Deserts, mountains, rainforests. Rapid changes in weather, desert one week and a lake the next.
Then there's the people. I find people outside of capital cities often behave differently in some ways to their city cousins. But most of us seem to share common values, aspirations and language.
Certainly we're not perfect. Sure, some things could be done differently. But as a huge melting pot we haven't done too badly. And if we don't like something we can peacefully protest and complain as loudly as we like without fear of a knock on the door in the night.

Contrast this with some other places in the world.

Reply By: Notso - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 17:30

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 17:30
Met a little asian bloke on the Nullabor at one of the roadhouses. He jumped out of the car after driving in from the East, and shoved an A4 sized map of Australia under my nose.

He pointed to Eucla on the map and said "Where Is". I pointed out to the East and said, "That Way", He said "HAAAH, How far", I said, about 600 kilometres. He with surprise said "600 Kilometre"?? I said yep, whereapon he did a U turn and headed back East. Well I reckon he'd got off the plane in perth and hired the car and with is A4 sheet of paper he headed off. Had no idea of distances out in Aus. never saw him again so obviously he got where he was going??
AnswerID: 186084

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 17:34

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 17:34
I can quite believe it.
When on holiday in the UK years ago, I looked at the distance of the place from one end to the other and thought "should take a day or so".....yeah right ! I was thinking of the distances here, not there :))
FollowupID: 443085

Follow Up By: Exploder - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 18:01

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 18:01
Mate just came back from the U.S, some of the more funny questions he was asked

1. Is it true you government pays for every citizen to have year long vacation in Europe.? "No mate other way around, we pay for the government to have year long vacations in Europe" LOL

2. Where about's in Europe is Australia?!!!!

3. Is Australia very big?, "Are you serous, it’s F**king huge."

Another tip he reckons, If you think you are about to be mugged or somebody a bit shifty is watching you, Just walk up to em and ask where something is and be sure to use lot’s of Australia slang and they will leave you alone.

They even got into a Club in New York where the entry fee was $300 for just $20 just by telling the bouncer at the door where they we from, the owner of the club even came down and talked to em LOL.
FollowupID: 443096

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 18:07

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 18:07
Young friend was in US on holiday and asked where she was from.
Australia.
"Oh yeah, lottsa mountains, huh ?"
She's puzzled for a moment. Mountains ??
"Australia, ya know. That's where they made that Sounds of Music movie ?"
FollowupID: 443098

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 18:13

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 18:13
Funniest thing I was asked about in the US was "are there crocodiles where you live?"

This was in Florida, where you can see alligators as roadkill in the leafier suburbs.
FollowupID: 443100

Reply By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 17:42

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 17:42
I used to live in Darwin and there was a procession of usually young Japanese men arriving with plans to ride or walk or even push a supermarket trolley to Alice, Sydney or right around OZ. They were dutifully reported in the NT News, locals fitted trolley with better wheels and we never heard any more about them. It really is a big country.
AnswerID: 186086

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 17:53

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 17:53
My goodness. Bet they wouldn't attempt that with any trolly from my supermarket. I'm flat out controlling them as they veer towards the Yuppy "I've scheduled 15 mts to do this and then pick the kids up" types.
FollowupID: 443089

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 17:43

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 17:43
So very true Footy,

On reflection tho' a lot of the places that we were lucky enough to see, some 20 years ago, are either off limits or too commercialised to make the effort to go back to.

Still, given this country is so huge there must still be plenty of places to go, just have to get off the regular tracks I guess.

BTW I was trying to dig out some photo's today of Redbank Gorge, near Alice. It was a magic place where you could stay for the weekend (or week if you had the time) and be just about the only people there, and we could take our german shepherd without fear of retribution.....and it cost zip! Good ole days......yep

Michael

AnswerID: 186087

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 17:57

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 17:57
Agreed. But commercialization has its advantages also. There are now signs telling you what's there, and the locals don't just want you to open your wallet and leave.
They actually welcome you ! There are heaps more facilities, and even the tiny towns are cleaning up their act for the tourist dollar.
You can still get away from it all but as you say, it's just a longer drive :)
FollowupID: 443091

Follow Up By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 18:22

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 18:22
Michael et al,
I agree. I travelled around Aus extensively by 4WD in the 60s, 70s and a little in the early 80s. Life got too busy after that - perhaps my priorities got changed! I wore out a series 2A and 3 LWB Landrover and finished with a G60 Patrol which did a few trips but mostly towing trailers & boats.

Like you said in the early days you could go to so many places and see few people and have few restrictions. A few idiots did silly things, but on the whole those that travelled in the bush appreciated and respected it.

Bought a Pajero about 10 years ago and started travelling again but not to the extent I hoped. Plan to retire at the end of this year and am going to get out there again. I am going to try and avoid going back to the special places I knew well because I don't want to spoil the memories - I am sure so much will have changed.

I worked for a couple of years in the Kimberley and had an aboriginal mate who took me to many places that few knew - absolute magic. Still find that if you have to walk more than 15 mins if deters most of the yahoo crowd.

I worry about the speed that some of the time limited folk travel at on bush roads. Had an incident a few years ago when I had a near head on with a guy in a top of the line Landcruiser on a narrow track through heavy scrub. He had the attitude that you travel as fast as the vehicle can go in the conditions, which in his case was about 80ks. Came around the corner and found me coming towards him at about 30ks = closing speed of 110ks !!. I headed into the scrub and we missed somehow, me with a lot of scratches and a broken headlight, he with virtually nothing. He abused me for getting in the way, his kids looked embarrassed and his wife said nothing. He jumped back into the rig and roared off again. I changed my undergarments !!

We tend to travel at moderate speed because we like to be able to look at things, but I do keep an eye out so I don't hold others up. Used to find that I often caught up to people when they had punctures or got stuck and helped them out. Wonder why I don't get many punctures and get quite good fuel consumption? Not a boring old F@&%, just prefer to keep my adrenalin times to when I can race my sports car on the track and not put others at risk.

Sorry didn't mean to go on, got on a thought roll.

alastair
FollowupID: 443107

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 18:28

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 18:28
I dunno Footy, perhaps we look for different things when camping. We prefer to be away from crowds and the commercial activity that seems to follow.

Years ago when we first went to Mataranka maybe one or two other families would be there and camping was available anywhere.

Some years later when I took my mum and dad, we were stopped by a boom gate and directed to a small area that was set aside for tents...tour buses were in another area and caravans yet somewhere else.

The hot springs were still there, but had lost all its attraction for me at least. Almost had to queue up to get in..

If that is the benefit of a commercial activity, I'll go elsewhere.

Same with Ayers Rock, when we first went we were able to camp at the Olgas, with the Rangers permission, don't think that would happen now:(

Cannot live in the past I know but I still object to a lot of the restrictions placed on some places.

Sorry but it is a sore subject.

Michael

FollowupID: 443110

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 18:41

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 18:41
Michael, yes I remember those times well. The thought of boom gates at Mataranks is just....plain wrong !
As I get older I enjoy my comforts more. Motels are now an OK change from lying on the floor. Maccas brekkys mean no fire, no cooking or washing up. BUT I still don't like crowds or big cities.
I'm still amazed by the number of travellers out there, even on remote tracks. Not huge numbers but they're there.
FollowupID: 443114

Reply By: MartyB - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 17:48

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 17:48
Years ago my mother used to work in the Tourist Information Centre in Rockhampton. She was constantly amased by the number of Japs with pushbikes or trailbikes who would come in & ask "Which way to Desert?".
I was working in Longreach at the time, quite often on the road between Rocky & Longreach I would see them pedalling west.
I often wondered what they would have thought first time a Road Train went past.
"What the #$%& was that?"

Marty.
AnswerID: 186088

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 17:58

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 17:58
hahahahaha. When one passes me I think the same thing :))))
FollowupID: 443093

Reply By: Notso - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 17:50

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 17:50
You know a few years ago they flew a Boeing 747 non stop from London to Sydney a total of about 20 hours flying, of that 20 hours over five and a half hours was travelling over Aust territory.
AnswerID: 186090

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 18:00

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 18:00
Yep, my recent trip was 12000km, around half the distance between London and Sydney. It's a long way.
FollowupID: 443095

Reply By: Notso - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 18:14

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 18:14
Another little story, Babysat a 550,000 acre cattle station over the wet season before last and it is part owned by a texan who also owns a large ranch of 17,000 acres. We reckon he only bought into the Aussie Cattle station for bragging rights
AnswerID: 186097

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 18:18

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 18:18
I asked how big one station was. "A million "
"But we just bought the place next door" How big is that one ? "Oh it's tiny, around 250,000 acres. "
FollowupID: 443105

Follow Up By: Exploder - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 19:31

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 19:31
Yeah I got a mate and his parents have a Million acre station up in the Gascoyne, But Don’t live on it, just have a manager to run the day to day operations and they live down in Perth.

Not a bad way to do things.
FollowupID: 443135

Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 17:34

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 17:34
We had a Pommy exchange student that had purchased a 5 day Aussie bus pass to see Australia. His plan was to travel at night and sight see in the day.
Itinery was night 1 Kojonup (300klms sth of Perth) to Broome, night 2 Broome to Cains, night 3 Cains to Sydney, night 4 Syndney to Perth. He had one spare day if he needed it along the way.
The trip never started as he could not find a fast enough bus to get to Broome in 1 night. It is criminal that a travel agent in England sold him the pass. They knew his plan as it was written on the ticket. Maybe this is why travel agents are sent to various counties to look for themselves.
He ended up OK as we took him on a trip from Kalgoolie to Alice Springs for 2 weeks and then he hitched with trucks to Dawin and back to Perth. Got a real idea of distance and isolation in Australia and thoughly enjoyed it. So much for organised travel Plans.

Neil
AnswerID: 186322

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 17:47

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 17:47
A 5 DAY pass to see Australia ? I'm speechless !
FollowupID: 443373

Reply By: Bilbo - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 21:15

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 21:15
I remember when we first came to "Oz" in 1974 and Cyclone Tracy flattened Darwin the week after we arried. My mother rang me from the UK and we were IN PERTH! She rang to see if we were OK! I said "Yes, why Mum?". She replied that she'd heard about the Cyclone on the BBC news and was worried that we'd been injured!

"Poms"!! They never cease to amaze me! ;)

Bilbo
AnswerID: 186377