recycled drinking water...........

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 20:29
ThreadID: 36291 Views:3810 Replies:20 FollowUps:29
As most of us know the Toowoomba people have voted against recycled drinking water. I hope we get a better result here in Brisbane.
We do a fair bit of paddling in lakes and dams like Wivenhoe and others and I wish all the no voters would see the dead cows and dogs and cats floating in our water storage dams. Plus bird and cow and other shi%$ but they don;t want recycled water.....
In europe they have to recycle water for the last 50 years or more and it is most likely cleaner than what we get right now.
1000 people each week move to QLD ( understandable) and they all need water so something needs to be done. Nobody wants new dams and no recycle water so we have to make it rain more..........hmmmm
I would like to go back and wash my car with the good old, so I will vote yes for recycle water. We have been spoiled here in OZ drinking water that falls from the sky.
But it doesn't look like we get lots of rain soon

Reiner

Reply By: Member - Tim - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 20:35

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 20:35
Hi Reiner,

I have to admit I was pretty stunned by that vote. I am wondering what they think they are all going to be drinking if the rains don't come this summer? Do they think that the rest of Queensland, which will also be suffering, is going to be able to truck or pipe water in to them? I thought that Friday funny about the dangers of Dihydrogen Monoxide was excellent and points out that water is water. Wherever it has been it is exactly the same when purified.

Tim.
AnswerID: 186128

Follow Up By: Member - Traveller (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 20:56

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 20:56
Make no mistake, Toowoomba will never "run out of water"! There are many alternatives, including bore water. The great "recycled waste water" scam, put up by Mayor Thorley and a few of her toadies, at a cost to the Toowoomba ratepayer of almost $500,000.00 ( the "no" case received not one cent) was a blatant attempt to be the "first" in Australia.

The only other municipality in the world using Thorley's preferred system is Singapore, where 1%, yes one percent of waste water is recycled into the island city's water reticulation system. Thorley's model for Toowoomba was based on 25% recycling.

Politicians of all colors at local, state and federal levels over the last thirty years, spooked by what turned out to be an impotent "Green movement" should be held responsible for the water problems in this country.

Thank heavens common sense has prevailed in Toowoomba.
FollowupID: 443159

Follow Up By: Off-track - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 23:01

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 23:01
I think many people in the garden city need to get their head out of the sand. The thing is water recycling is already happening in SEQ, including Brisvegas. Do you honestly think that water from dams is piped straight to your tap without treatment?

Common sense is not that comon, particulalry in Toowoomba it seems.
FollowupID: 443188

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 23:43

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 23:43
We have just returned from Toowoomba just before the referendum and we were shocked by the number of "no" campaigners who have absolutely no idea what they are talking about. As my wife is a senior engineering consultant in Water, we have a relatively good understanding of all the processes involved :-)

I was shocked to see that several of the "no" campaigners didn't even know how reverse osmosis works, considering they were promoting a "desal" option instead!!

As for funding both side of a campaign, who in their right mind would give money to their "opposition" to fund their campaign? And Clive didn't give one cent to the cause??

You are quite entitled to have an opinion on such an important matter, just don't misrepresent the truth. At the end of the day, Toowoomba has voted no.....good to see democracy in action.

FollowupID: 443199

Follow Up By: Member - Traveller (QLD) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 07:23

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 07:23
"As for funding both side of a campaign, who in their right mind would give money to their "opposition" to fund their campaign? And Clive didn't give one cent to the cause??"

If Thorley led a democratic council, of which three councilors were opposed to recycling sewerage, surely funding for the "no" case would have been automatic!

Of course Clive helped fund the no campaign, and why shouldn't he? As a former (and very popular) Mayor and State member he has every right to.

If this scheme had gone ahead, the Toowoomba city council would have been hit with a $150 million class action from irrigators downstream on Oakey creek who rely on the current outflow from Toowoomba. Thorley or whoever is Mayor would have been tied up in the law court for years. She knew that, but didn't factor that amount, plus legals, into her costings!

I'm not misrepresenting the truth, mate! I'm a local, with a vital interest in the outcome. Going by some of the opinions on this thread, recycling sewerage is no big deal. That's just fine! But be possessed of ALL the facts before you mouth off.

Toowoomba voted no to recycled sewerage because we were lied to, and it simply is NOT necessary! There are alternatives!
FollowupID: 443219

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 08:10

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 08:10
Don't accuse me of "mouthing off" and not knowing the facts. My statement was factual, and if you read it again, you will see that i did not represent any side of the issue.

To add heresay like class action threats into a campaign is silly to say the least......there is no requirement to provide treated effluent back into Gowrie Creek and ultimately the Murray Darling System. Water is not taken from the MDS, and is therefore not required to ultimately end up back in Gowrie Creek. How can one factor in a cost for legal proceedings into any cost BEFORE they have started legal action. Wouldn't this be considered some form of acceptance of guilt?

There was no requirement to provide funding to a no campaign as a "majority" of Council were in favour of it......therefore Council had no requirement to go this far. The reason for the referendum was that it was a requirement to gain NWI funding (1/3 Federal, 1/3 State, 1/3 LG cost sharing). As for your statement in regard to the Mayor, and a democratic council, correct me if am wrong.....isn't 3 No's and 6 Yes's a clear majority for Council to proceed with any decision made at a Council meeting.

Of course there are alternatives, and by necessity (to gain NWI and SG consideration of funding) TCC did have to consider these.

BTW it is not recycled sewerage! Obviously another person who doesn't understand the whole process involved in a WWTP. It is "recycled water" we are talking about here, obtained from treating "wastewater", which includes commercial/industrial wasterwater (where permitted) and "sewage" all collected through the "sewerage system".

The problem seems to be the lack of education in understanding the process (this is understandable, as an engineering/science is 3-4 years and even then it take several years of wastewater industry practice to fully appreciate this field). This is one of the main reasons why SEQ will have their referendum in 2008, to give people like yourself, more time to be educated in the process.

You can relax for now, as it will be some time before the issue floats to the surface again :-)

FollowupID: 443225

Follow Up By: Member - Traveller (QLD) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 08:37

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 08:37
"You can relax for now, as it will be some time before the issue floats to the surface again :-)" About the only thing I agree with you on!

I'm very relaxed! And delighted that the "no" case won the day with what in federal electin terms would be called a landslide.

And please be assured, the "threat of legal action" was certainly not heresay!

FollowupID: 443235

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 08:48

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 08:48
Stupid is as stupid does , would seem that the No voters of Toowoomba cant even get a simlpe fact into there tiny brains ,where does your sewage water go right now ? downstream and the people of Dalby ect drink it ,,,ohhh my festival of flowers is TOO important to conserve water or to use recycled ,,wait when YOU are totaly out and have to rely on the stinking bore ,no visitors then .
FollowupID: 443237

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 11:58

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 11:58
=="About the only thing I agree with you on! "==

So you don't agree on:

- Why the referendum was required
- The lovely stuff is NOT called sewerage
- A 6-3 vote is a majority
- there is no requirement to provide effluent back into Gowrie Creek
- to gain NWI and SG consideration of funding) TCC did have to consider these (alternatives)

Don't ya just love debates.....brings out the best and worst in people :-) I understand your reasoning even though i don't agree with some of them personally. Let's just hope it rains over cooby and perso/cressbrook catchments sometime real soon to quell more than just the need for water ;-)

Alloy c/t, your comments seem to me to be from someone who is not either a local or someone without intimate knowledge of the processes being debated. No voters are not stupid.......i believe some have been misinformed or weren't fully aware of the processes involved to make an educated decision. The campaign by the Council was not an education based process, rather it was seen as a threat to those who are not necessarily involved in the water industry and delivering such an essential service.

The fact is that the "no" campaign was successful on the day (or was it that the "yes" campaign was unsuccessful :-)) no matter what people believe in.

A note for all those children out there: "If you want to persue a career after school, it may be smart to choose an profession in the water industry. Water Engineers/specialists are highly sort after and will be for some time" :-)

FollowupID: 443279

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 20:53

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 20:53
Traveller

You are a complete unmitagated liar viz:

"The only other municipality in the world using Thorley's preferred system is Singapore, where 1%, yes one percent of waste water is recycled into the island city's water reticulation system. Thorley's model for Toowoomba was based on 25% recycling. "

Whwn we were in England in 1997 there was an article in one of London's papers describing the water treatment syatem. The statement was made that London's water is recycled on average 7 1/2 times. The rest of Europe also runs on recycled water. Anyone who has has been to Europe has either drunk or cleaned their teeth in recycled water.

You dangerous uneducated types are going to cost this country heaps.

FollowupID: 443420

Follow Up By: Member - Traveller (QLD) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 21:28

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 21:28
And a very good evening to you too, unmitigated ......!
You're entitled to your opinion. I'm sticking with mine!
And so are over 61.5% of my fellow "dangerously uneducated" Toowoomba ratepayers.
By all means slurp on what you will, mate. Just don't presume to tell us what to do. We've already decided!

FollowupID: 443442

Reply By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 20:38

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 20:38
I guess every town along the Murray Darling is drinking recycled sewage from their upstream neighbours already. What worries me about the recycling is this - How many times have you heard on the news that the sewage system went wrong and raw sewage has been pumped into Moreton Bay/Sydney outfall or anywhere else? Can we trust the system not to fail and untreated sewage is pumped straight into the drining system?
AnswerID: 186134

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 22:15

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 22:15
Agree with you there Mike...to a point. It seems we accept failure of the system and don't get to concerned about raw sewage in the waterways. The analogy I'd like to use is at the moment we treat (parden the pun) our sewage system like a car - just an inconvenience if it breaks down.....maybe its time to treat it as though its a plane....

In one of his books. Tim Flannery called Australian cities transfer stations transfering our nutrients from our already depleated land to the sea. From what I have seen of this country so far, I can't argue with that. We have to get a bit smarter soon.

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 443182

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 20:58

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 20:58

When a sewerage system breaks down they know it has done so but have to keep pumping. If a recycling system breaks down they also will know – so they will simply pump the output to where the old sewerage system was pumping to – result – we still have pottable water.

FollowupID: 443423

Reply By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 20:42

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 20:42
Seems like worlds apart when you were a kid and you could have a good play with the hose, wash the car for dad and squirt the dogs and your brother at the same time, spend an hour at night time watering the front lawn enjoying the spring/summer evening... Such a freedom thing as a kid, obviously had we of all known now what we do, we wouldn't have been so frivolous.. but it is sad to think that our kids won't ever get that same sort of fun and freedom with water like what we ever did. How times change.

Jo
AnswerID: 186137

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 20:45

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 20:45
Reiner,
Couldn't agree more my friend.
The most under valued natural resource on this planet is fresh water.

Geoff.

AnswerID: 186138

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 20:47

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 20:47
I am happy to drink recycled sewage - all the water that we drink has been on this earth for millions of years and probably has been in caveman sh*t or dead dolphins or some dead person from Ethiopia and has evaporated and travelled around the globe in the atmosphere. I heard that the water was pure enough to use in renal dialysis. It will happen one day and I would imagine that the risks will be tiny.

AnswerID: 186139

Follow Up By: DaveNQ1 - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 08:34

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 08:34
Fair comment and i agree.

Dave.
FollowupID: 443232

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 14:24

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 14:24
Thank GOD someone has bought this up.... ALL THE WATER ON THE PLANET IS RECYCLED.....Where do these people think water comes from? Made at a factory somewhere?
Ask the people who live in Adelaide, Woomera etc where do they get their water from?
I think the people of Goulburn would kill at the moment to get their waste water recycled instead of having to go without a decent shower or having to limit their consumption to 25 liters each a day...
Naaaaaaaa some ill informed voters in Toowoomba. The "no jobby lobby" held the day & the consequences will now be on their heads. Watch them scream like stuck pigs when the water rates rise $20 a week....
FollowupID: 443302

Reply By: pooley - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 20:53

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 20:53
Hi Reiner
AnswerID: 186142

Reply By: pooley - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 20:54

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 20:54
Hi Reiner Sure was stunned at the vote but the next thing is these bleep s will want water from somewhere else when they run out
Jason
AnswerID: 186145

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 21:12

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 21:12
We have all been drinking recycled water for thousands of years. The day will come when it will become official and recycle plants will become the norm.
Regards Bob
AnswerID: 186148

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 21:22

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 21:22
We already drink recycled water in parts of western Sydney and have for years. I have'nt noticed any two-headed members of the community (tourists from Tassie excepted hahahahahaha) or major outbreaks of various diseases so I can only assume it's OK. I don't think there is any doubt that sooner or later we'll be doing a lot more of it whether we like it or not.
AnswerID: 186159

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 22:44

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 22:44
Two heads might be what got those Queensland Kangaroo's splattered. Too bust looking at each other to watch the road!!

Geoff.

FollowupID: 443184

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 22:45

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 22:45
Try, "Too busy looking at each other"

Geoff.

FollowupID: 443185

Reply By: porl - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 22:02

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 22:02
Me Brisbane yes I will vote to drink recycled water. Though I think it seems it was not sold too well in Toowoomba, but then again who trusts the courier smail (sic not). I think though the issue from the press seemed to be the no vote was based around making industry use recycled water before residents which although I will always vote yes, does seem right to me. I vaguely recall an early Edward De Bono example of lateral thinking where he was called in to solve an industrial pollution problem in a river. His solution stunned everyone apparently, rather than try to purify the water he proffered that the company upstream be forced to reuse their effluent they were pumping into the river. A very quick and effective solution. River then clean. I still go to pubs where before I take a p#ss the urinals flood themsleves to wash into the system clean water where no-one has urinated before. G#d knows how many of those automated systems are out their flushing cleaning water down the toilet right this moment where noone has taken a leak for hours. But i suppose in retrospect would the public rather fit the bill of reforming industry or drink recycled sewerage, i suppose the ecomomics is the real issue. Filtering sewerage is cheaper than re-plumbing every business in brissy but no-one is telling the voters that.
AnswerID: 186172

Reply By: Muzzgit (WA) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 22:52

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 22:52
If not for drinking, what about irrigation??????

I have often wondered why treated sewerage isn't used for irrigation, if not food, then at least plantation timber etc;
AnswerID: 186179

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 23:41

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 23:41
Muzz,
For several decades, Toowoomba's treated effluent has been and still is used by irrigators, and it is what assures them of a reliable, consistent water supply...
This was one of the issues in the re-cycling debate...

The water is already being re-cycled, and as it should be!!

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 443198

Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 00:22

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 00:22
Good to hear that. Here in Perth, as most other places, it is a man made resorce which is not only wasted, but pumped into the ocean.

Also here in perth, there are several pumping stations along the Swan river. If there is a blackout and the pumping station stops, the overflow goes straight into the river!! This is RAW sewerage !!!

Anyhow, at least yours is being used for something other than adding more nutrients and polutants into the ocean and waterways.
FollowupID: 443207

Reply By: Dirty Smitty - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 22:57

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 22:57
The pollies could trial it in Canberra first, like right , sure. I wonder if Johnny would drink it ? (I am guessing probably not). I drank it while I was living in London, tasted a little tainted after it had passed through 7 sets of Kidneys, but in saying that, thats what came out of the tap so you had to drink it.
AnswerID: 186181

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 21:04

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 21:04
And not only that - Co-cola were bottling it and selling it at inflated prices.

FollowupID: 443429

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 08:12

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 08:12
I think the emotional argument won in Toowoomba.

I know a few people here in Brisbane are "anti-sewage".

I wouldn't want to drink sewage water either, but after it has been treated, especially by reverse osmosis, it is cleaner than the water we are getting out of the taps. Nothing wrong with that.

Heard that the Wivenhoe/Mt Crosby weir (weir for the main treatment works) catchement has 7 sewage plants feeding into it from towns like Kilcoy. Also, I don't know how many upstream cattle feed lots there are that just let the manure water run off into the local creek. And we don't have a restriction on cattle grazing right up to the edge of the dam. Then there are the reserves with all that local animal excreta polluting the water.
I am already drinking treated sewage water in Brisbane!

Toowoomba would be the same. Where does the sewage plant from Crows Nest go?
Besides the septic tank and waste water off the farms.

As I said, the emotional argument won.
AnswerID: 186203

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 15:11

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 15:11
==Where does the sewage plant from Crows Nest go?==

The wastewater treatment plant discharge is described on the Shire's website:

=================================================
The majority of properties throughout the Shire use septic systems or self contained treatment systems. In Town of Crows Nest, septic tanks are connected to a Common Effluent Drainage (C.E.D.) system that collects the greywater and septic tank effluent from each property and is pumped to a treatment facility. After a period of processing through aerobic lagoons, the water is used for the irrigation of the Crows Nest Golf Course.

The Highfields Waste Water Treatment Plant was constructed in Browne Road, Highfields in 1999. It provides for new urban residential development in the north west section of Highfields up to a population of 2,500. The plant has the potential for expansion to allow for a future population of 10,000. Effluent from this treatment plant is re-used for irrigation of agricultural land.
=================================================

Not many new treatment plant discharge into waterways these days as EPA regulations etc make it more economical to irrigate golf courses, race courses, agricultural land etc. Also, effluent discharge needs to have a perennial watercourse available to ensure that it meets all requirements.

FollowupID: 443314

Reply By: ev700 - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 08:52

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 08:52
The media have a lot to answer for concerning the 'No' vote in Toowoomba. The CourierMail and others continually referred to 'recycled sewage water' in what I think was a deliberate attempt to make the issue controversial and to embarrass the premier.

I was listening to Malcolm Turnbull this morning who said that water recycling had the support of of local politicians and State representatives vbefore it was put to Canberra where it was also supported. The people we should be getting upset about are those who did not have the intestinal fortitude to stand by their earlier decision.

Malcolm Turnbull was highly critical of people who judge water by its history and not by its quality. If anyone 'Googles' water recycling you will find the commonwealth government supports water recycling.

All that will happen now will be that Toowoomba will be a further drain on Brisbane's water and the Toowoomba water charges will be higher.

Having been on a farm I don't mind reminding people where eggs come from; that their vegetables have been fertilised with dead animals plus excretia; and that milk comes from the modified sweat gland of a bovine animal.

People should get real, their main worries should be heavy metals and other chemicals in the food/water chain.

However I will agree with the "No" vote on one issue - namely that there have been many failures in corporate management in Australia and these have sensitised the public. Similarly the large audit/accounting firms (you know who they are) who contract to 'keep the b*rstads honest" through outsourced internal audits know who signs the cheques and cannot always be relied upon to ensure management controls are in place. - Remember the big chemical fire in a Brisbane suburb?
AnswerID: 186207

Reply By: mfewster - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 08:57

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 08:57
Adelaide gets most of its water from the Murray, so we have had recycled sewerage for years. The rest of Oz is just going to have to adjust- or we all decide we want population levels to stay at 1950s levels. Toowoomba's vote is in the fine old Qld tradition that rejected daylight savings because it would cause the curtains to fade.
AnswerID: 186209

Follow Up By: Member - Traveller (QLD) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 09:49

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 09:49
The Queensland electorate resoundingly rejected daylight saving because we don't need it!

Toowoomba ratepayers resoundingly rejected recycled sewerage because we don't need it!

Toowoomba's Mayor Thorley confirmed this morning on local ABC radio that "Toowoomba will be sustained on bore water into the future"! Pity she hadn't admitted this a few months ago and saved ratepayers half a mill and an unnecessary, divisive campaign.

Spare us the patronizing tripe about faded curtains!
FollowupID: 443247

Follow Up By: warrioroz - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 11:16

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 11:16
Excuss my ignorance but where is all this bore water going to come from? most of the bore's already in use are shallow for surface water that relies on rainfall, the other bore's are drilled into the artesian basin where Toowoomba had to receive special permission to access as taking water from the basin is strictly goverened, due to the fact that it is running dry, farmers are not even allowed to drill more wells to access this water, so what gives Toowoomba the right to use this resorce? Will they just keep drillng, and pumping water from bores till there is none left?
FollowupID: 443265

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 13:04

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 13:04
I still don't see the analogy between daylight savings and water reuse! Daylight savings would affect the whole state with communities affected differently (some communities were highly supported of the idea, some communities just hated it). Water reuse in Toowoomba would only affect a localised area, as it didn't even get much of a mention up in north Qld (except the statements in regard to burdekin dam).

It is not recycled sewerage, it is not even recycled sewage....it is recycled water :-)

FollowupID: 443293

Follow Up By: Member - Traveller (QLD) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 13:20

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 13:20
Had no idea that comments from a resident (albeit obviously poorly educated compared to some) of the city of Toowoomba, who happened to vote no along with 61.5% of his fellow residents, could generate such derision! Smacks of that old "sore loser" syndrome.

Get over it!

I have!

FollowupID: 443296

Follow Up By: mfewster - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 13:50

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 13:50
The connection to daylight savings is that back in the daylight savings introduction phase, a story went around Qld that DS would result in your curtains fading. I think fear of recycled water is oin about the same par. We are all going to have to get used to it. Too many people and not enough reliable water for the population centres. Why are non Qlders interested? Toowomba is seen as a decision we are all (outside of Tassie) going to have to make. Underground water is not a long term option. Water pressure is falling significantly across the basins.
Look at Alice Springs. Yep they have great underground water, but it costs a rapidly rising packet to pump it up. Each year the extra depth raises the cost exponentially. AS is only viable because there is natural gas down the road to run the power station that pumps up the water. In about 10 years, that gas is due to run out. I wonder what it will cost the rest of Australia to keep AS viable? Or if the rest of Australia is prepared to pay the price. But does AS have water restrictions of any kind? Nope.
I think Toowoomba's Mayor should be congratulated and a lot of other towns will be going down the same track.
FollowupID: 443298

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 14:46

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 14:46
=="Smacks of that old "sore loser" syndrome"==

I'm not sure where that statement is derived from.......In no way have i slammed the "no" vote and their desire to look at alternatives. In fact i have stated that it is great to see democracy in action with regards to this referendum.......in the end the Council's campaign was not upheld.

Get over the name calling attitude, as i have always tried to convey the facts i know, without assumptions thrown into the conversation. I would hope you could return the courtesy.

FollowupID: 443307

Follow Up By: Member - Traveller (QLD) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 15:15

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 15:15
There now Andrew, don't be so precious. Who said I was referring to you? There are plenty of other contributions to this thread.
FollowupID: 443316

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 15:52

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 15:52
And i thought we were all alone in this thread :-)

At the end of the day, there was no real winner.......just a messy debate that will take some time to analyse. Time restraints aside, it would have been good to see a similar referendum after more time for educating householders, a well-conducted public consultation process, numerous more reports including EIS's, feasibility, cost-benefit statements, etc etc. However the process was somewhat rushed, and has made a lot of people mad, others confused, whilst there are a large number of the City who now have a better understanding of what happens to water and its' current treatment processes.......i would say that this is a good thing in itself. Water reduction strategies are one of the best ways for all consumers to guarantee water supply into the future. IMO, $500000 is a relative cheap way to further reduce the consumption of this essential commodity. Complacency/naiveness is part of our society and it is becoming harder to convince mass communities to change their beliefs which have been formed and passed down through generations.

Cheers :-)

FollowupID: 443321

Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 09:27

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 09:27
and now we have to wait to 2008 before we can vote yes for recycle water.......wonder what we use in the meantime. Wish our Peter had some bigger balls and go for it now so we can go on with life.

Reiner
AnswerID: 186218

Reply By: Camoco - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 12:51

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 12:51
I for one if I had a vote (I live JUST outside the voting area but use the water when I am not using my rain water) would have voted against it. Not for the technical side of it as I am sure the process would be healthy and sustainable, but for the most missed point of the debate.

What do you do when there is nothing to recycle after spending near $100 million and waiting until 2013 before you can use it?

A large amount of the dammed water is supplied to neighbouring shires at a much larger cost than supplied to Toowoomba residents. You cannot recycle what you give away. I reckon the residents should pay for all the water they use to reduce consumption like we do.
Also Toowoomba has a more unique problem than most likewise places in that the three dams it has are perched near the top of the mountain without much catchment. It has traditionally relied on rainfall rather than catching and the number of residents has grown very quickly in a short period of time.

I believe the solution is education in water use, supply from a number of sources (rainfall, gas extraction, artesion bores, recycling) and paying for what is being used to ensure our kids have a safe and clean future.
Who cares about history when the future is at stake.

Toowoomba in general voted against a single approach to water management to sustain the future. Do not believe the media stories.

As I say this it is sprinkling here. Cheers. Let there be rain.
AnswerID: 186252

Reply By: Robert - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 12:51

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 12:51
Personally I don't blame the people of Toowoomba for rejecting it. The risk of disease should the system fail in any way would have to be the biggest worry. And no system is 100% fool proof. Waste water should be recycled for watering plants and flushing toilets etc not drinking. How wasteful is using pure drinking water to flush the toilet or water plants etc! Recycling effluent for drinking is just a cheap way of avoiding the cost of putting in a dual system that should have been done years ago.
It’s also a case of the authrities wanting to keep increasing Australia’s population regardless of whether we have the resources to cope with it or not. As the population is being increased beyond what our resources such as water supply can handle, our life style only deteriorates.
AnswerID: 186253

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 21:17

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 21:17
Robert

If a recycling system breaks down the operators know – so they will simply pump the output to where the old sewerage system was pumping to – result – we still have potable water.

FollowupID: 443438

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 14:29

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 14:29
Ha ha ha... Our Pollies are having the last laugh... all the faeces and urine from Parliament house is sorted & filtered at the Lower Molongolo Plant and then passed down stream for the rest of Australia to drink.....You guys in Wagga let me know when the curried snags I had last night get there will ya?
AnswerID: 186265

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 18:21

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 18:21
I have to sit back and laugh...we r all being taken for a ride here.....while we debate this, there is a committee somewhere trying to work out how to drought proof oz....what a laugh....one thing is for sure....whatever they come up with...it will have to fit in the user pay guidelines.....mean time...the Ord River dam is overflowing constantly, Kunnunurra has a set price for as much as they can use...because the dam filled up in one wet season (54 Sydney harbours) and it never gets used........
Just to throw a spanner in the works....the earth is a closed system....we have been drinking filtered Urine all our lives :@)
AnswerID: 186336