1984 patrol 6cylinder diesel and mitsubishi triton 2.8 diesel
Submitted: Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 22:30
lenni
Hi I asked a couple of questions yesterday and now have another one or two. How many km is too much for a 1984 patrol 6cylinder diesel traytop? is 460 really risky.The car has been
well looked after serviced etc. Also fuel consumption, is it very high compared to smaller diesels. Also how are triton diesel motors 2.8 1992?
We have looked closely at a rocky and a swb patrol and the vehicles mentioned above . We just want something to tow a small boat and a bit of driving around the local area, no long hauls. Any coments? Last night Trevor was very helpful regarding the rocky and the patrol. However the other two vehicles are closer to home so worth considering.
Thanks lenni
Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 22:50
Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 22:50
Cant comment on the patrol motor al though I would imagine you would get another 100k if its been
well serviced but in regards to the triton, my mate swears by them, we have a big company here in Penrith
Sydney they are called J K Willams and that is all they use in there small comercial vehicles and when they come up for updating them he buys 1 every time and sells his old one. Now these vehicles have a hard life used in 4wd alot and are 2.8's although I believe the next one he gets will have the bigger motor, but he loves them has had no problems with them tows quit a big boat as
well as off roading never had any problems and as said cop a flogging as most company utes do with 200k plus on them before they update them so that must be a pretty good rap for them or the company would change brand and yes they would be cheaper than toyotas to buy in the first place but if a big company like that with a bleep load on money had continuous problems with the mitsi's they would be looking at some thing else and as of yet havnt, Regards Steve M
Reply By: ross - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 23:39
Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 23:39
Those are very vague questions and at those ages and mileage the price would want to be low.
With an old diesel its best to see it started dead cold after it hasnt been run for at least 12+ hours.
Feel the manifold before to make sure the seller hasnt started it 10 mns before you get there.
If they start easy and and run smooth without huge clouds of smoke you should get a bit more life out of them.
An old diesel that wont start easy is likely to need repairs that will run into $1000s
The old patrol will use about 13lt per 100 klm,less on a long run
Reply By: adamj1300 - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 10:50
Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 10:50
are u sure its a 2.8 6 cylinder because the mqs i don't know what yr they started lasted untill 86? (around then) but only came out with the 6 cylinder 3.3 with the later models turboed.
the 2.8 came out in the GQ's 87 & on wards
Follow Up By: lenni - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 18:43
Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 18:43
Thanks for the info. I was wondering if it was a 4.2 litr or a 3.3. However by the sounds of things it is a 3.3. I guess that would make it more economical? How do they run on the highyway?
Lenni
Reply By: adamj1300 - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 20:00
Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 20:00
its acturally down on power compared to the 4.2 i think i got 11to 13 mixed hwy & town
it use to over heat if i ran it at 110kms for a long time but just backed it down a bit & it cooled down, i don't know wheather it was just my car or that motor in general
Reply By: sandmanvanman - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 19:45
Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 19:45
stay away from diesel triton , my parents bought new and in ten years they replace the 5speed twice, the turbo, the cylinder head droped a pre combustion chamber and a injector pump . the vehicle was serviced and did nothing out of the ordiary. it just cost them heaps . it was nicknamed misinbits
Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:14
Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:14
I'll just make a comment on the Rocky as I owned one for many years.
Brilliant.
(enough said).
Sure they are hard to get accessories for like snorkels etc (you would need a custom made one) however the part for the engine are easier (it's very similar to the hilux 2.8 with a turbo bolted on as Daihatsu are owned by Toyota).
The only reason I sold
mine and bought the surf was that we had another munchkin comming along and we really needed the 4 doors.
Just as a tid bit, there is a local boat repairer/rental place that uses a 2.8td Rocky purley for lugging the massive boats around here in
Perth, so I reckon if it does that job
well than towing a small bout around will be easy peasy. The fuel economy out of the rocky beats the surf hands down even though the rocky has a higher tare wright (2.1 tonne). IMHO if you just want it to tow the boat that would be a great cheap alternative both purchase price and running costs wise. They are also very comfortable on road (if you get the wide track 1994 onwards model that has coils and torsion bar IFS instead of front and rear leafs). The 1994 onwards also came with a factory intercooler and a much nicer interier. You can get them wtih leccy windows, sunroof adjustable thermostate aircon etc etc, they are a great buy if they have been looked after.
They do go
well off road, but like alot of modern 4wd's they are pretty low to the ground and would need a 2"
suspension lift to stop it bottoming out in rough terrain off road, but in saying that
mine bottomed out for YEARS and it still trundled on everywhere we wanted her to go. My mates used to call it the catipiler decapitator or the grader. It used to grade the sand tracks in the dunes and make it easier for everyone else to get through! LOL It still kept going, even with sand pushed up over the bullbar covering the headlights. I reckon you could drive one of those old beats into a brick wall and the engine would just keep ticking over!