Caravan ban

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 08:02
ThreadID: 36344 Views:4679 Replies:22 FollowUps:35
Caravanning 4WDers may wish to know that caravans have been banned from using rest areas and reserves in Lake Macquarie Shire, NSW. Signs invite comments from interested parties. I would encourage all caravanners to send their thoughts on the ban to the council so this silly ban (which, incidentally, does NOT apply to motorhomes and campervans) overturned when the trial comes to an end next June.

Dennis
25ft Boroma full van
4.2L TD Landcruiser
www.damor.net

Reply By: Mazdan - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 08:19

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 08:19
Can you supply a reason??

AnswerID: 186439

Follow Up By: JJ - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 18:10

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 18:10
How can they isolate familes travelling with a caravan to those with a campervan or motorhome? Ban one; ban all or allow one; allow all. Doesn't make sense.

About a year ago it was illegal to camp within 15 kms of any town/caravan park in WA which is fair enough as they need to make a living & we all need to frequent them.
although when possible we do go off on microwave tower tracks, gravel pits etc. to camp.

Slightly off topic, but we did notice in WA that most roadside stops providing toilets and fire-places were sign-posted 'No Camping'.
IMO, a toilet is much more important for o'nighters than lunch or coffee breakers!
FollowupID: 443610

Follow Up By: Wizzy - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 17:40

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 17:40
There's a story in this month's Caravanning News giving details of where to comment on this latest infringement on caravanners' freedom. You can write to Lake Macquarie Council in NSW or phone them on 02 4921 0333. Good luck.

Dennis
www.damor.net
FollowupID: 444090

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 08:55

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 08:55
Dennis...

Can you please supply contact details of who to "send their thoughts on the ban to "???

AnswerID: 186446

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 09:22

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 09:22
Is this possibly enforceable?

Sounds the most rediculous thing.

Perhaps they could specify no camping incl. in caravans ... how many of the local Caravan Park owners are on the council? Or does the council own all the parks?
AnswerID: 186453

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 09:30

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 09:30
you should have a 15 min power nap......oh you're towing a van.....please move along...

Leroy
FollowupID: 443509

Follow Up By: Notso - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 09:45

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 09:45
Yes, I can imagine the Ranger telling me to move on then wondering what to do when I tell him I just pulled over to have a sleep because I am soooo tired I thought I may have an accident if I didn't have me power nap.
FollowupID: 443511

Reply By: Off-track - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 09:59

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 09:59
I have read about similar councils doing the same over the last couple of years. Many roadside rest areas close to towns have been closed to basically stop travellers using a free overnight stay and force them to spend $$ at the local caravan park. In some ways I can see why they do it when (from what I have seen) a very very small minority camp there for days/weeks, but really it is just another restriction of our freedom.

Cannot see how they can enforce this if you say you are too fatigued to drive on. If a ranger/policeman attempts this ask for their name and details so that you can follow it up in the morning, when you wake up from your roadside rest.
AnswerID: 186460

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 10:12

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 10:12
And what if while in that free rest stop you had had a couple of alcoholic drinks and who would then be able to force you to drive on. Methinks nobody would be prepared to accept that liability in those circumstances.
FollowupID: 443517

Follow Up By: Off-track - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 10:34

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 10:34
Aah good one!
FollowupID: 443520

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 11:05

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 11:05
Who the hell would want to stay on the roadside for days/weeks!?

Drinking in a roadside stop - they'd probally do you for street drinking, soon you'll have to get a ranger or cop to hold your willy for you while you take a bleep ...
FollowupID: 443522

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 11:49

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 11:49
...and you can also be done for drink driving beacuse you are still "in charge" of the vehicle.
FollowupID: 443532

Follow Up By: Rokkitt - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 12:59

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 12:59
Robak, is that true if the keys are removed from the ignition???
FollowupID: 443547

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 13:04

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 13:04
As far as I know, yes, because when you're drunk you don't think straight and do stupid things - like drive a car.

I heard there were cases of guys sleeping in the back of the ca after a party, because they didn't want to drive, and got charged for DD.

So when on the side of a road, always have at least one person with you who is responsible for the cars and is not drinking.

R.
FollowupID: 443551

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 17:36

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 17:36
I doubt it - they can only charge you for DUI if you are operating the vehicle. If they started booking drivers because they had pulled over, I would imagine there would be a hue & cry about it...
FollowupID: 443601

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 18:54

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 18:54
A mates father was done for DUI when he went out to his car to get his phone(he was getting it do call his wife to pick him up)... He challenged it in court and lost. As far as the law was concerned, as soon as he opened the drivers door he was in charge of the vehicle... End of story. This was about 10 years ago in Maryborough(Vic) so I don't know if things have changed.
FollowupID: 443618

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 19:43

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 19:43
For a copper to charge you with DUI, you must firstly have been drinking. Then, if the keys are in your hand and your sitting in the drivers seat, the copper can book you. Also if you are the only person in the car and the keys are in the ignition, then you can be booked.
If you have the keys in your hand and are sitting in the passenger seat, they cant book you,,,,unless you can drive form the passenger seat...lol.
You cant be booked in you are drunk, asleep in the back and the keys are on the floor, but if the keys are in the ignition,,,you can be booked.
If you are standing at the passenger door with the keys in your hand they cant book you,,,,but at the drivers door the can.
It all comkes down to positioning of your lil ole body, and where the bloody keys are,,,,,so just leave them on the floor, or the camper, and then get to the drinking......:)

meow.

rick.
FollowupID: 443630

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 12:24

Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 12:24
Transport Operations (Road Use Management) Act 1995

s 79
(1) Any person who whilst under the influence of liquor or a
drug—
drives a motor vehicle, tram, train or vessel;
or attempts to put in motion a motor vehicle, tram, train or vessel;
or "is in charge of a motor vehicle," tram, train or vessel;
is liable to a maximum penalty of 60 penalty units or 18
months imprisonment.

What "in charge of a motor vehicle" means is to be interpreted by the judge with advice from two opposing and very expensive lawyers.

However;

(6) (edited)
Where upon the hearing of an offence, the court is satisfied that the defendant had an intention of refraining from driving that motor vehicle, the court shall not convict the defendant of the offence charged.

Clear as that goo you tried to drive through last weekend?

If the law was black and white we wouldn't need lawyers, and where would the world be without lawyers?

R

R
FollowupID: 443760

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 15:32

Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 15:32
"where would the world be without lawyers?"

A far, far better place with a few million scumbags less :)))))
FollowupID: 443793

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 15:50

Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 15:50
Not really related to DUI but still a silly interpretation of the law nonetheless.

A mate of mine had run out of petrol and was pushing his motorbike to the petrol station, rested his helmet on the mirror and pushed away. He was deemed to be in control of a motorbike whilst not wearing a helmet, Now that's common sense for you.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 443799

Reply By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 10:08

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 10:08
Just looking at our local rag and low and behold is an article from the South Australian Caravan Parks Association where it is highlighting that free roadside camping as a major threat to the industry and is seeking assistance from local and state governments. The threat is discussed in a report entitled "Roadside Camping: A Policy Paper Developed by Caravan Parks Association of South Australia. You may be able to read the article on www.murraypioneer.com.au after 5.00pm tonight. (It doesn't come on line until we have the opportunity to go out and purchase a hard copy LOL)
Obviously it is part of a national push to restrict roadside camping within 50k's of a caravan park.
Perhaps we need to get our relevant associations (4WD and Caravan Clubs) to lobby on our behalf to nip this money grab attempt in the bud.

Dessy
AnswerID: 186463

Follow Up By: scoof - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 11:58

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 11:58
You beat me too it Des, they are not getting a lot of support in the loacl rag , and not from me either.
FollowupID: 443533

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 10:49

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 10:49
From memory, you can legally stay for up to 24 hrs virtually anywhere. Fatigue is the best excuse and cannot be legally be made to continue driving. I think you are not allowed to erect any structure, which could make for some interestion definitions on what is a structure. - tents not allowed, swags OK, when does a swag with a small pole or built in mozzie dome become a tent. Not allowed to put an annexe up on the side of the caravan, but what about a fixed awning with no poles.

Generally, a lot of caravan parks have brought any risk to their business upon themselves by overcrowding, overcharging and generally ripping people off. (not all, I have stayed in some good parks)

Maybe a better option is to have decent roadside stops with basic dunnies etc, and a basic charge similar to camping in a National park (note: I haven't done this for a while, so you may not have that option anymore). Either book or honesty box, but have penaltios for evaders??

I drive past the local parks (KNX) and crack up at how close the vans etc are packed in, not my idea of getting away from it all, more like getting closer to it all. 'hope the neighbours don't cook a curry.........

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 186473

Follow Up By: Gu_Patrol - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 19:03

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 19:03
"you can legally stay for up to 24 hrs virtually anywhere" a long as your vehicle is not attached to your caravan and the length is not more than 7 metres.
That law might have changed over the years in SA
FollowupID: 443620

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 11:56

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 11:56
G'day, As most of us own and travel in some sort of off road vehicle, yes we need to stop and rest, like everyone else. At one time or another I have used rest areas to have an overnight stop(mostly in QLD). During our other travels around this wide land my wife and I, when getting near time to stop for the night, look for an interesting side road or bush track, turn into it drive a little ways, find a spot and set up camp,. I understand that this may not be convenient for all but it's just a suggestion. We have never had any trouble and met some interesting people.

andy
ps I should have mentioned that we have a campervan(Jayco)
AnswerID: 186482

Reply By: Hairy - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 12:51

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 12:51
A recent Alice Springs news paper had a article about this.
The reason for the request of baning caravans in these areas in the NT are Caravan park owners ( Mac Donald Range) complaining they are loosing too much money because people are staying in road side stops not in their parks!
Pretty selfish and dangerous I think!
We're constantly being told "Stop, Revive, Survive" and then being told you cant!!!
AnswerID: 186490

Follow Up By: Member - John R (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 13:26

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 13:26
I agree that doing any sort of activity (operating any machinery) when tired is dangerous. I could see an easy out to the caravan park operator's whinge, Hairy.

"Sorry ossifer. I tried to stop at the local caravan park, but we arrived pretty late and the office was closed. In the interest of road safety, we decided that we are too tired to continue on any further, and therefore are having a rest here" :-)

It might work....

I'd be interested to see what the occupancy rate is in that park. Perhaps people don't want to stay there for some reason?
FollowupID: 443557

Follow Up By: Hairy - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 19:20

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 19:20
The caravan park I spoke of is a really good one ( probably the best in Alice) and the owner is worth a squillion dollars. Just greedy I think!
As far as excuses it probably wont be the police you come across, and the council dont venture far out of town anyway, but yeh, anyone who did chat you about parking there would probably only give you a warning If they were any sort of reasonable person and an excuse like Im too tired to travel any further would work! If not ! Id give him a mouthfull and reality check he'd never forget!
I agree with not useing truck parks as they dont have too many places they can get off the road but as for car parks, that is what they are for!!
I see overseas back packers ( trying to not spend too much money in our country)camped in illegal places and ending up in all sorts of stupid predicaments and the Gov. seems to to nothing about it, but pick on Aussies spending their hard earned money in our own country!
Thats my bitch!!
FollowupID: 443624

Reply By: gottabjoaken - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 16:33

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 16:33
Unfortunately, if the council have done their homework, and have the appropriate regulation/by-laws or whatever passed and enacted, then it is "illegal" to stop if the sign says "no caravans" or "motor homes only" or "trucks only" or whatever.

Taking a faceful of alcohol will not alter the fact that you stopped where you are not allowed to.

Sorry!

Ken
AnswerID: 186520

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 22:07

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 22:07
You are probably right Ken, but I would think Fatigue would over ride all laws, we are constanly reminded to rest if tired, and some people can get tired in 4 hrs and others in 8,10, 12 etc, or what if you couldnt sleep the night b4, there are a dozen reasons you would need to rest, what if you are diabetic? and I for one would need to be towed.
My father in law has tavelled for 15 years around oz, and sometimes has gone 9 months without staying in a park, and has been challenged by some real __ssholes, usually people without any clout, but he is a fighter and he has suffered migrane headaches for most of his life and as soon as he hits them up for a "signed and dated written notice to move on", they make feble excuses and leave.
Never has he had to move, and he isnt a drinker. Yes the caravan parks need to make a living, just like any business, so isnt it up to them to market themselves properly, just like the other businesses in town?
Why should they get a free ride?
There are heaps of travellers who wont stay anywhere else but a park , and plenty now who dont tow so they are always in cabins etc.
They tried this crapp in Qld, and then all of a sudden the parks were over full and they were turning people away and out onto the streets again because they couldnt cope!
I like to look for an outa way place up a back track or side road, and camp next to a farmers back paddock gateway or some other sort of clearing.
See you there.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 443660

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 22:43

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 22:43
What Pesty said!!!!
FollowupID: 443674

Reply By: Off-track - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 16:46

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 16:46
I would still bet my lefty that they could not force you to move on if you stated you were fatigued...as long as you moved on the following morning.
AnswerID: 186523

Follow Up By: kev.h - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 17:22

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 17:22
if you ask the officer to sign a declaration that he has requested you move on after you explained that you are fatiqued and suffering a migraine and do not feel safe to continue then point out that he has then to take full resposiibilith for your safety i'll bet he says have a nice sleep
kev
FollowupID: 443600

Follow Up By: Robert - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 14:09

Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 14:09
I would bet that you would be told to take a power nap, and if still parked when they later returned, fined!
FollowupID: 443786

Reply By: dj Patrol - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 17:30

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 17:30
I have also encounted this problem when travelling,A couple of years ago QLD closed most of there roadside rest areas when I was travelling through to the Gulf and found that there were Big Signs errected at these sites or they had Graded the side so you could not get into them, long hauls every day ,Van parks full like Sardines, It was a not a plesant journey and I vowed NEVER to return to QLD so my buck stops at the Border now.
PS .Yes I did stay in Caravan Parks but also stayed in some rest areas.

dj
AnswerID: 186529

Reply By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 17:39

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 17:39
some of the answers here seem a bit rediculous Im sorry (call me the devils advocate or worse!)
What would happen if you stopped in the middle of Sydney/Melbourne and said you were too fatigued to go on? or if you could get away with this wouldnt all parking fines be obsolete-Im too tired to drive further? or knocked back a couple of coldies for an excuse?
AnswerID: 186531

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 18:16

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 18:16
no, you would still pay the fines - no parking metres out on the highway, and no parking attendants.
FollowupID: 443612

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 23:43

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 23:43
my point exactly, just cos there are no meters doesnt mean it is less illegal?
Im not saying it is right to move people on from camping, but there are some pretty silly excuses here. If I was a copper and went to move someone on who was illegally camped, and they said "Im a diabetic and cant drive (even though they just went past a caravan park)" then I would be thinking "maybe you are not medically capable of having a licence then?"
FollowupID: 443688

Reply By: Gu_Patrol - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 19:07

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 19:07
You could pull over and lift your bonnet and say your car is broken, and waiting for help. this will only work for a few hours, maybe longer
AnswerID: 186556

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 19:54

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 19:54
When it comes to fatigue, there is a very fine line that is drawn in the sand.
To prove fatigue, you would need to prove where you just drove from, and how long you have been driving for a start.
Then, if you can prove it, there is absolutely nothing a ranger or copper can do to make you move for at least 8 hours,,,the minimum time that a driver should rest between driving stints. As has been stated above, the ranger/copper would be 100% liable under a number of different laws for anything that happened to you, your family or your vehicle, starting with the good ole, Occ Health and Safety laws, then just go from there.
Studies have been done to assertain the best and worst times for drivers to be on the roads,,,,, go to your state's Main Roads department website, find the heavy vehicle section, then go looking at the fatigue stuff.
All of it is directly related to drivers, no matter what you are driving, tho for us truckies, we can get a real good rap over the knuckle's if we disobey the rules.
Start with that little lot, then have a real good case to discuss here and with the local council.

meow.

rick.
AnswerID: 186572

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 23:49

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 23:49
come on mate, people who have heavy truck licences (any licence for that matter) should have a degree of intelligence that tells them to plan ahead and not just drive 8 hours and stop anywhere they bl..dy feel like it.
And they dont need to move you on, just give you the fine as you have already broken the law whether you move on or not.
FollowupID: 443689

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 00:32

Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 00:32
Actually if you had bothered to go to one of theMain Roads Department websites, you would have seen that a operator of a heavy vehicle can drive(in W.A. at least) a max of five (5) hours before a mandatory rest break, and then may continue for another five (5) before another rest break, up to a max(generally) of 12 hours. There are exceptions to this rule however that must be taken into consideration.
Heavy vehicle runs are usually pretty well planned out before departure, but it doesn't take much for the best laid timetable to go awry, so there are provisions along the road for trucks to stop, and the driver get the full required rest every night.
It has been proven that the worst time for a human being to be driving is when they are most fatiqued, generally between the hours of midnight and 6am.
Once again, there are provisions in the rules, because not everrybody runs on the same body clock.
Basically, if you are tired, or have had aful day behind thewheel,,,,,pull over and save yourself the grief of having a accident. Over here, the police regularly target Driver Fatigue, especially during holiday periods, so there is little doubt in my mind that if you inform a copper that you are in fact tired, they WILL NOT book you for parking in a rest area.

meow.

rick.
FollowupID: 443692

Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 00:48

Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 00:48
Not true Fisho. A truckie (nor anybody) cannot plan to be at a certain place to rest at exactly 8hrs time (or whatever the mandated driving limit is). He is certainly not going to waste an hour of legal driving time just so he can pull over in a 'designated' spot because the next one is a couple of hours down the road.
FollowupID: 443695

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 02:00

Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 02:00
get real. The rest stops are not 5 or 8 hours apart. mostly they are 1/2 hour maybe 40 minutes apart. Its up to the truckie if he wants to break the law by going over exactly the same as if a pallet of (say) 1 tonne puts him 100kg over, does he waste 900kg of load space or risk it.
What are you saying, that he just stops where he gets to at 8 hours no matter what? then he is an idiot. If you read the letter from the minister it is eay to see that they are trying to stop people abusing what is available by using common sense, not by legislating against everything.

Anyway WTF are you arguing about what truckies can and cant do? My understanding is that part of this is to ensure that they DO have somewhere to pull over, not blocked up by some idiot parked in the middle of the roadtrain stopping area?
Common sense that (apparently) needs the law to back it up?
FollowupID: 443698

Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 09:46

Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 09:46
Er, maybe because you brought it up in the first place??? Yes a truckie will often pull over at a non-designated parking bay if it is safe, firm and big enough to do so. Have a look at the crests of hills next time you are on the open highway and you will see what I am talking about. He is not breaking the law so no he is not an idiot, but your argument on the other hand could have been written by one.

Agreed that this new council by-law may assist truckies in finding space in truck parking bays but remember that they are only talking about camping within close proximity of a town, not out in the sticks.
FollowupID: 443728

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 10:08

Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 10:08
"All of it is directly related to drivers, no matter what you are driving, tho for us truckies, we can get a real good rap over the knuckle's if we disobey the rules. "

go back to where the followup started and you will see where truckies were brought into it.

FollowupID: 443737

Reply By: chips59 - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 20:12

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 20:12
i have traveled all over australia and have never not found somewhere to sleep. If the signs say no caravans its no caravans,but there is nothing to stop you pulling off the road up further as long as it is safe to do so. I do have a 4x4 and off road caravan though but my mate who often comes allong just has a normal car and van. I regularly drive Sydney / Melbourne/ Adelaide/ Port Augusta/Broken Hill and have no problem with police or anyone else when stopping off the road. Some time I find people stopping and asking if they can join me.
AnswerID: 186580

Reply By: eerfree - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 20:14

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 20:14
Apparently the council in question owns FOUR Caravan Parks in the Shire.
There is a reprint of the article on the Caravaners forum website.

eerfree

AnswerID: 186581

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 21:41

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 21:41
I cant believe it.. anything to get mobile roadblox out of the way is a MASSIVE + for the other 99% of road users.
AnswerID: 186605

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 22:31

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 22:31
Aaaaawwwww Truckie, don't start that one again :))))
FollowupID: 443670

Reply By: angler - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 22:26

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 22:26
I have put a letter from the Qld minister on my web site

www.bycompass.com

click on the "of interest" page and it's at the bottom of the list.

Pooley
AnswerID: 186627

Follow Up By: Hairy - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 22:49

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 22:49
Problem Solved!!
Well done mate, common sense prevails.
Good bit of info.
Might be worth coping to some folder on this site if possible?
FollowupID: 443675

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 00:00

Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 00:00
Great website you have there!!
About the letter, I thought that was a great response.
To try to hammer out an exact definition of any of that would be to try to eliminate common sense so I think to pursue that avenue is detrimental.
They have put something in place to combat people who take up truckies parking bays and people who want to abuse the priviledge, without banning everyone which is the easy way.
FollowupID: 443690

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 00:26

Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 00:26
Camping is 'a row of tents'. I can't see how anyone could differentiate between a towed caravan and a self powered caravan.

These communities need to consider the benefits of the "free campers" and what they do bring to the community. Tasmania had some wonderful examples. Free campsites along the east coast north of St Helens encourage tourists to stay a while in the area, where they shop and buy fuel. Some leave the van for a while and do day trips, returning to purchase more fuel in the town. There are other many other areas of Tasmania which similarly benefit from the free campers. If we stay in a pay caravan park, it is rarely for more than one night, then we move on, hence spending little in the town other than the cp fee.

When we need to stop (my husband does all the driving with the van, so when he looks tired or gets a headache, i look out for a place to stop), we will continue to pull off the road for the night in a suitable place. If we get moved on in the morning - we were going anyway. If we get fined? - it hasn't happened yet, i would argue we were not camping by definition, but we resting overnight for safety. We have stopped overnight in some lovely bushland settings and enjoyed the beauty of 'getting away from it all' it this beautiful land of ours, and will continue to push our luck by doing so. Let's keep living the lifestyle we want and camp clean, do no harm and leave minimal trace.

AnswerID: 186642

Reply By: Gu_Patrol - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 08:08

Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 08:08
Are these rest stops funded by the Federal Govenment or State, If it's national road then local council have no say. Othewrwise the Caravan Council of Australia can ask for Rest stops for Caravans.
AnswerID: 186662

Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 18:04

Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 18:04
I suppose we're not comparing apples with apples. Lake Macquarie Shire is a pretty built up area whereas out in the Gulf you sometimes have little choice.

Still, an interesting one. I'm with Motherhen though, and do likewise meself. Never had a problem so far. At first we thought we might get some interesting questions if the local farmer/landowner came by but all we ever get are friendly waves.
AnswerID: 186769

Reply By: Wizzy - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 17:43

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 17:43
There's a story in this month's Caravanning News giving details of where to comment on this latest infringement on caravanners' freedom. You can write to Lake Macquarie Council in NSW or phone them on 02 4921 0333. Good luck.

Dennis
www.damor.net
AnswerID: 186959