lift to Birdsville

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 13:47
ThreadID: 36386 Views:2293 Replies:3 FollowUps:9
G'day I'm looking for lift to Birdsvill untill 15 August from any town in SA, VIC, NSW or South-East QLD

I will share the fuel expenses.
Michael

Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 20:38

Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 20:38
Check out the Mail delivery runs !!
AnswerID: 186804

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 00:21

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 00:21
Do what every body else here does, get a job and buy a car.
AnswerID: 186844

Follow Up By: j100 - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 09:05

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 09:05
Or catch the bus and hike the last bit
FollowupID: 443933

Follow Up By: michal - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 14:51

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 14:51
hi smart guys,
not evrybody here is an overseas student who will leave Australia very soon.
So don't be so clever because I'm working hard enough and I have a car (2WD).
I will catch a plane - do not need your help - the only reason is to enjoy the overland trip instead of flying.
And what I will do with the car when I want to walk through the desert?
bye
Michael
FollowupID: 444035

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 15:17

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 15:17
Mate, if your car's half decent, drive it to Birdsville. Don't need 4wd for that trip, just reasonable clearance,
I'm sure you could do a deal with Ruth at the caravan park to park it there for a few days while you walk in the desert. Wouldn't be the first time they've stored vehicles/trailers etc......
FollowupID: 444043

Follow Up By: Patrol with it all - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 21:15

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 21:15
Well nice to see we are all being nice, friendly 4WDrivers on here! Makes you wonder why we all have a bad image as 4wders dosen't it with really good attitudes like this.
Way to go guys,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,keep up the bad attitude (NOT) and then dont sook when someone has a bad thing to say about people who drive 4WD's.
FollowupID: 444133

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 21:19

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 21:19
Don't hold back now Pezza.Left jab followed by the classic Right hook,flush on the chin.Lol.
Cheer's Bob.
Ps my thought's as well.
FollowupID: 444137

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 23:25

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 23:25
What's your problem Patrolwithitall, just because I have worked hard all my life and have never been without my own transport and won't give some bum a lift, makes me someone who gives 4wders a bad image does it ?
I also drive a commodore, ride a bike and drive a truck, and wouldn't give em a lift in any of them, suppose that would give family cars, bike riders and truckies a bad image now too does it ?
As for my bad attitude, I only have it for twits like you who come on here out of the blue and have a go at me AFTER ol' mate comes up with an explanation of why he would like a ride. ( Being a uni student you reckon he would've been smart enough to explain it straight up instead of coming on like a bum hitch hiker )
Mate, you wanna go round picking up bum hitch hikers that live on our taxes and couldn't be bothered buying a car, go right ahead, but don't be dribbling crap about me giving 4wders a bad image and having a bad attitude if I refuse.

Pezza
FollowupID: 444164

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 23:40

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 23:40
Michael,
Had you explained yourself a little better to start with you might not have copped that little bit of flak.
Full credit to you for wanting to see, feel and smell this wonderful country from the ground instead of through a plane window like a lot of others.
As for walking through the desert, rather you than me :-))
Hope it all works out for you and enjoy the experience.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 444169

Follow Up By: michal - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 18:14

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 18:14
I think you wrong Pezza,

you have bed attitude, that is for sure - because I'm not asking you for a ride, I asked someone who is going to Birdsville and don't mind for company. So you shouldn't answer my thread - but you did, and you did it in wrong way.
And I'm hitch hiker and I hitch hiked in over 70 countries, but when I'm standing on the side of the road I never ask for help, I just wait for someone who need company and give me a lift with pleasure. And I always do and love picking up hitch hikers.

And I don't mind if someone doesn't stop for me, they might have different
reasons. But I mind if someone showing me a middle finger or laugh, what usually happen from expensive cars (4WD included). And you think I live from your taxes - that is bull bleep - I do not live from your tax and I do not need a ride from anyone like you. You give a bad reputation what many people here with 4WD shouldn't have.

And why I hitch hike - because the more you know the locals people the more you know the country. Saving money - as well but not realy - hitch hike cost you a time, and time is a money. I hitch even in cheap countries like Iran, Salvador, Bolivia or many others, not for saving money, just for adventure. Australia is one of the best country to hitch hike and I did it many times. But I keep in mind that road to Birdsville is usually used by overload cars, so I don't hitch hike over there because I don't want to forced anyone to stop for me only because I'm in the middle of nowhere.

Why I don't travel by my own 2WD car - it's cheap old car which I'm afraid to travel behind Sydney, and I have no car fixing skills. I used it only to work here. Why do not buy better more expensive car - try to be a international student who regarding to his visa is allowed to work up to 20 hours per week and have to be in college 20 hours per week. You broke the Australian low and you are deported. Try to save a lot this way - with my English and visa restriction. If I stay in Poland - as a sport teacher I would be earning around $100 per week - no chance to make your travel dream come true.

So it is no wonder why I at least tried to find someone for a ride. I wrote I need a ride from any town because I could hitch hike from Sydney anywhere the main road leads. No worries, I will fly (and will be more taxes for you Pezza from my ticket, oh, did I offered to share the fuel expenses, yes I did, and tax is including in petrol, is it?).

Now I just do my final preparation and on Tuesday I will hitch hike to Brisbane to catch the flight to Birdsville on Thursday. Would be good if I can get lift from Birdsville to the Poeppel Corner from I could walk off the road (210 km crow flies distance) to finish in Birdsville around 10 days later. I fnot I will walk the loop. I know from the owner of property where I can find the water, but anyway, I will be carry 24 litres with me. I have navigation skills, topo maps, compass, GPS, emergency beacon IPERB - and experience from many remote places in the world. Last year I hike a bit in Canning Stock Route, this time I want to enjoy Simpson Desert, as simple it is.

Just let people do what they like if that doesn't bodder you Pezza, because my ask for ride shouldn't. Stay with your narrow minded views.

Thanks all others for normal reactions and advices.
Good luck in your crazy 4WD adventures,

Michael

FollowupID: 444348

Follow Up By: Patrol with it all - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 19:04

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 19:04
Good on you Micheal. I hope you have a lovley trip for the rest of the time you are in Australia, and as you can see there are SOME nice Australians here. Pity I cant say on this forum, but anyway you get that. I hope you get to Birdsville safley, and I'm sure Ruth and Ian will make you fell very welcome. They are nice Australians, and very sincere people. Ignore the idiots on here who have given you a hard time, the ones who like to get out in the bush on their "motorbikes" and tear it up, they are not even worth acknowledging. Dont let them put a damper on the rest of your time here, ignore them.
All the best Micheal!
FollowupID: 444363

Reply By: robak (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 15:07

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 15:07
Michal

Don't give up so easily, they're just having some fun. If you specify where exactly you want to go from you might get some replies, or are you willing to go from anywhere and you'll fly to the starting destination. Is that right?

Like steve said check out the mail runs, if that's an option, or get in contact with some truckies. My guess is that most people that travel to birdsville for a holiday / tour are already so loaded up with gear that they couldn't possibly sqeeze another thing in.

Also try contacting the Birdsville caravan park. They might know some regulars that go there that would love some company for the trip.

All the best with your journey.

R.
AnswerID: 186929