Reflections on the cost of 4wding

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 10:45
ThreadID: 36406 Views:3700 Replies:14 FollowUps:34
On my recent travels I couldn't help but notice the huge difference in types of rigs. From the giant motor homes through to the humble series 60 Landcruiser, from camps which wanted for nothing through to the humble swag and ute.
Holding its own in numbers is the almost new Landcruiser or Nissan wagging it's C/T tail. This was often observed at higher speeds, apparently on a time poor assignment.
I guess the above observations merely reflect the obvious, that some of us have more $$. Or does it ? I wonder how many of us owe big money just to have the latest and greatest ? How many of us are indeed spending the kids inheritance ? How many of us have forgone home ownership to buy a rig that costs almost as much as half a house ?

Yes, I know that it's your personal choice. But as one of the new rigs flashes by, I still wonder.

Reply By: Member - Clay G (WA) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:12

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:12
Thought a similar thing on my most recent desert trip. Here was me chugging along in my 20K's worth of HZJ75 with swag and old 40L Engel in company with my mate with his 130K Sahara with all the fruit, top of the wozza 8 room tent and a Waeco fridge that was bigger than my home Westinghouse. We still had a great time both of us and sure he arrived at each stop looking pristine and springing from his vehicle while I crawled out to find my shaken loose false teeth but at the end of the day was there really 110K worth of difference? Still with him being a Cardiologist and me a salaried Hospital doctor that probably was in parity with the discrepancy in our income! Each to their own I say.
AnswerID: 186893

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:19

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:19
I can appreciate differences in affordability due to different incomes. But your cardiologist friend was probably way down on say, some plumbers. I think what I'm asking in a very roundabout way is, are we seeing more financial inequality now than say 20 years ago, and is this being reflected in our rigs ?
I still think that the size and cost of the rigs bear no relation to the amount of fun and satisfaction that one gets.
FollowupID: 443974

Follow Up By: Member - Clay G (WA) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:38

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:38
No I don't think that income and rig size necessarily correlate...certainly not in my experience. It just depends on your outlook and priorities. I love my old banger and it makes me feel that I am really "out bush" when I drive it. Sure it is not a black top vehicle but that is not why I keep it. You really hit the proverbial nail on the head with your last sentence I think.
FollowupID: 443982

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 20:10

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 20:10
Footloose, I think the gap between those on a basic wage and everyone else is getting larger, but the way the income is spent is different. People on 'good' money may take out a mortgage on a nice house, put kids in a private school, have full health insurance etc but then need to live on a tight budget to cover it. They don't have $100,000 in the bank to go and buy a new rig outright and add all the mods; they take out another loan or tack it on to the mortgage. Of course this is generalisation, but the more you earn the more you spend and still find the week to week living a bit of a struggle. And let's not forget the magic credit card; buy what you can't afford now and figure out how to pay for it later!

I also agree with Clay G. I have a 'simple is best' view of things but I think we are in the minority on that one.
FollowupID: 444120

Reply By: Rigor - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:23

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:23
Yes Clay , no one is right or wrong , just what you want if you can afford it.
I personally like to keep things simple and cheap although I can afford better,
I suppose I am a conservationist at heart , can't stand waste, money or anything for that matter.

Cheers Dave L.
AnswerID: 186895

Reply By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:25

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:25
I think the baby boomers are now retiring and they are fortunate to be the most affluent generation in history. That little workers cottage in Subiaco / Prahran / Paddington is now worth $1 - $2million, the holiday block in Yallingup / Hawkesbury River / Great Ocean Road purchased in the sixties for 2 grand is the same. The ones who were fortunate enough to not have their parents great depression era values thrust upon them have probably killed the pig in real estate and the stock market has seen some spectacular action with Australia's current resources boom, allowing us the opportunity to ride on the coat tails of China / India etc.

This retiring baby boomer generation had the luxury of full-time, permanent employment. Heck, you could get a job in the civil service, stick it out for a few years and be made 'permanent'. Set for life with weekends off, 40 hr week and superannuation at the end of it all. Try getting a permanent position these days. 3 yr contract max.

The other factor is the 'Ski Club' (spending the kids inheritance) mentality is more popular these days with the old values and religious beliefs becoming less of a force in lifestyle choice.

Consumerism has definitely gone mad though. There has always been the 'keeping up with the Joneses' thing, but now with the average Australian being a far more culturally aware and having access to a world of new information via television, internet and glossy magazines, the 'wish list' is going crazy. We have always led a fairly sheltered existence in Australia, but the world is rapidly changing and our nation with it.

I see runaway consumerism on these forums daily. The amount of rubbish sprouted about all the 'must haves', 'essentials' etc for 4x4'ing / camping is crazy. But......it's BIGGGGGG business and the sales reflect it. There'll always be a dozen 'experts' telling everyone you can't do anything without all the gear. I used to earn my living in remote exploration and we didn't have half the stuff. The station owners and worker have NONE of it.! Len Beadell MADE the tracks with an old Land Rover - running on petrol, with skinny tyres (no MTR's / BFG's / Coopers), no GPS / Laptop / PDA / OziExplorer, no camper trailer, no Oztent, no deep cycle batteries, no Engel / Waeco fridges, no snatch straps, no rated recovery points.........etc etc etc
AnswerID: 186897

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:41

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:41
Have to agree with the minimalist view of real world 4wding. The more I travel the more stuff I pack in, just in case. How the devil I used to get the family in years ago is a mystery to me now.
FollowupID: 443983

Follow Up By: cackles - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 13:17

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 13:17
Not to mention that the parents of the baby boomers looked after their kids if the wife worked, it saved my oldies a truckload and allowed them to concentrate on working 80 hrs a week building thier business.
Having said that I am amazed at what some people spend, I know many who can afford more but spend less and many that can afford less and spend more.

cackles
FollowupID: 444014

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:28

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:28
One the the most endearing things about 4wd holidays is that people who are pretty hard up can have just as much fund as the wealthy types. When you sit around the campfire at the end of the day you are all equal - does't matter whether you are in a Porsche Cayenne at one end of the spectrum or a Patrol at the other ;-))

I must admit that what I find amusing is two elderly people in a huge motor home where the five of us squeeze quite happily into our camper. Not sure why they feel they need so much room but when I am old and grey like.........some of you then I will probably be the same.

AnswerID: 186899

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:36

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:36
" When you sit around the campfire at the end of the day you are all equal - does't matter whether you are in a Porsche Cayenne at one end of the spectrum or a Patrol at the other ;-)) "
Yes, a good point. Perhaps we are all at peace with one another when sharing the campfire. Pity the Porche owner would probably cut your financial throat in the city :)
I wonder if that's one reason we go bush, to disconnect with our daily grind and reconnect with strangers ?
FollowupID: 443981

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:44

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:44
Part of my work brings me into contact with families who are having difficulties and one of the recurring themes is disconnectedness. So many of them have moved into the city and are away from their families and friends and the disconnectedness is at the core of their struggle. The people you run into are the highlight of my bush experience.
FollowupID: 443984

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:48

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:48
Totally agree. It's the people and the places.
FollowupID: 443986

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 13:25

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 13:25
Andrew, can you expand on that a wee bit....disconnectedness.....are you saying lack of support ?
FollowupID: 444018

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 13:41

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 13:41
A recurring theme that I see is a young couple that come from the country or interstate to work in Melbourne. The common thing that changes is that the girl gets pregnant and then she leaves work and has a baby and then she finds that she is all alone in a big city. Doesn't have work friends that she can catch up with because of the baby, previous friends are a long way away, family is in the country. No baby sitters, husbands working long hours. This disconnectedness is quite a new phenomenon - much different than it has been over millions of years. I also think there is a similar thing happening to the elderly now - they are being disconnected where previously they lived with family.

FollowupID: 444021

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 13:47

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 13:47
I would have thought that there are many organizations and groups that would target such matters. Women's groups, play groups etc . Not many of these orgs in the bush.
FollowupID: 444023

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 13:56

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 13:56
Surprising to me as well Jim. Wife and I arrived in Oz knowing not a soul but through work, playgroup, kinda, school, and internet have build a wide circle of close friends, too many at times :)
FollowupID: 444025

Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 14:35

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 14:35
Must say wonder sometimes about "disconnectedness" of the Gen Xs & Gen Ys. I moved a number of times in my job, including New Guinea, New Zuland (two cities there), and we had moved from Adelaide to Sydney as soon as we married.

Each move my wife had to deal with my working long hours (the 80 hour week is NOT a modern innovation), and knowing nobody.

She worked out ways to cope - volunteer to join the P&C committee, Guide leader, church organisations etc... We also made time as a family to go on caravan or camping trips.

We all survived. And we got it easy - migrants came by ship and did not get back to UK / Europe for ten years. They made friends (as per post below) one way or another.

I wonder if the real problem is that people have become used to "everything that money can buy", and don't know that you have to work at the important things in life.

Perhaps too they don't realise that some of the people in flash motor homes on the big trip actually started off with a card table and a couple of grandma's old chairs as dining furniture, and beanbags in the lounge, and did not buy a car till they had the house.

Old and Grumpy aren't I

Max
FollowupID: 444031

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 14:56

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 14:56
Max, old and grumpy ? Naaah. Anyway, you're allowed to be :)
I'm sure that there's a good point in having to work for the important things. These days its instant everything. Out with the old and in with the new, whether it's objects or relationships. I call it the "me now" generation.
FollowupID: 444037

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 21:16

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 21:16
Let's get the facts straight.

Andrew is already "old and grey" LOL
FollowupID: 444136

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 22:17

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 22:17
Thankz Jimbo for pandering to my insecurity. Went to a trivia night and found that I was the only on who remembered 'All in the Family' on TV. Now your saying I am old and grey, my son asks why some of my whiskers are coming out white?

Something got me thinking - where is Willem?

Andrew - born in 1961 which I guess is quite a long time ago now you mention it......

On the mothering stuff - I must say that it pretty hard when you are new to a place, have a new baby, are feeling uncertain about how you are doing as a mother; you are tired; you are responding to the babies agenda all the time; feeling that you cannot get everything done that you should be able to do as a perfect mother. Hard to then go out and be in a perky and engaging frame of mind to meet new people who you are scared will judge you...... Just my thoughts.

FollowupID: 444150

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 12:58

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 12:58
1961, a fine year to be born. Just not sure which of us is the older of the two farts?

Mine is 9th of September.
FollowupID: 444233

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 21:30

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 21:30
We I have been taught to be polite to my elders so I will have to be kind to you Jimbo. Mine is 2nd November old fella
FollowupID: 444397

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 10:24

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 10:24
A little respect wouldn't go astray junior.
FollowupID: 444456

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:48

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:48
I have wondered at times how people can afford there respective vehicle and then all the stuff to go with it. But i guess if you got the $$$ and you want it get it.

As for me my rig is quite simple single cab ute nothing flash but it suits me and I own it :) ........ Not spending the kids inheritance but I have a plan in place for my retirement to get a bigger rig and caravan and just travel, if that dips into the kids inheritance so be it.

I don't need the biggest and best to enjoy myself but as long as i'm comfortable it will be fine.

My preferred vehicle at the moment for touring would be a 80 series cruiser

AnswerID: 186901

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:54

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:54
How could I argue with an 80 series, I've owned one for years. And for me also, they are the bees knees for touring.
FollowupID: 443989

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 16:44

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 16:44
Brian - agree. I don't owe anything on my rig - she's rough - got a bunk in the back - however I love travelling in it. She may be a bit slow - but it gives me time to look at the scenery.
FollowupID: 444074

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:56

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 11:56
Good post Footy.
On my recent trip I wondered almost exactly the same thing.
I guess it's just a reflection the things said above, basically a more prosperous society.
This society does not seem to be as intent on traveling overseas as much as they used to, perhaps a result of the current state of the international world that we live in.
In the end its their money and I guess they can spend it as they please, but $hit there is a lot of it driving around the remote areas of this country.

AnswerID: 186902

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 12:17

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 12:17
One guy I met had been a driller and opal miner. He wore an opal ring that was HUGE. No way would I have worn that, even if I had it. That's the sort of thing that you get mugged over. He seemed prosperous :))
I wonder if the general population is as prosperous as the press would have us believe ? Or am I just hob nobbing with the rich ? :)))
FollowupID: 443996

Reply By: Member - Big Al. Gold Coast - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 13:02

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 13:02
Like most of our age (over 65's) we are SKI and the kids want us too. In the 70s I use
to take the kids away in an old Lwb Landy and camp in a 6x6 tent, over the years we have slowly improved our rig's and now looking forward to the new arrival.
Yes some do spend a lot but you can't take it with you and life is too short not to make every moment count doing what ever makes us happy. We owe it to the previous generations who made this country (the lucky country).

Big Al
AnswerID: 186917

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 20:36

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 20:36
Big Al do you get down to the Tweed Coast/Murwillumbah much? I'm sure I've seen a rig like the FJ40 'round here.
FollowupID: 444125

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 15:22

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 15:22
What a great guilt trip "spending the kids inheritance ", "SKI CLUB "

My kids can get off their arses and work to make money like I did . They will have a decent deposit on a house from me , but apart from that I have no qualms about my wife and I enjoying the rest of our life to he hilt , with the money that we worked our bums off for .

If there is plenty left over they can have it , but I am not losing any sleep over it .

Willie .
AnswerID: 186933

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 15:27

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 15:27
Don't be too harsh on your kids, mate. They are often the ones who determine which nursing home you end up in :((
FollowupID: 444046

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 15:31

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 15:31
So I should buy them off ?

When it's time for me to go into a nursing home , I will say goodbye , and I will drive out into the desert until I run out of petrol .
FollowupID: 444047

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 16:03

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 16:03
Xaviour Herbert always rekkoned he'd just crawl inside a cave and die. He ended up dying at a friends place in Alice Springs.
I can't buy mine off....they have more money than I do :(((
FollowupID: 444056

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 21:26

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 21:26
Bang on Willie.

Inhertitance is not a birthright, just a bonus.

My parents are now into their 60's, have worked hard and are quite comfortable. Buggered if I expect them to to sacrifice their glory years for me. I encourage them to spend and enjoy life.

The GLW and myself enjoy a fair lifestyle because we have earned it. Our boys will do the same.

My parents will not be put into a home, but will be looked after by us, not because they bought us off, rather because we love them. They paid for that right, not with bribery, but for taking the time to raise us.
FollowupID: 444140

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 10:44

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 10:44
Jimbo ,
NOW I'M WORRIED ! We have never agreed on anything before !
Willie .
FollowupID: 444208

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 12:56

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 12:56
Look on the bright side Willie.

You're right for the first time in your life LOL.

FollowupID: 444232

Reply By: Doodle - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 15:49

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 15:49
I think most people start the 4x4 days with a tent or swag and gradually improve their comfort level over the years. We have gone the other way.

Once upon a time, I reckoned traveling with a good caravan would be the way to go. We hired one as a trial and did a great trip. With our 3 kids, and a new Pajero, we went from Qld through the Vic high country and on to visit friends in Melbourne (no off the black stuff). It was a great trip but towing a heavy van was not my wife’s cup of tea and I hated the reduced range between fuel stops. Fuel cost was not the concern – just the poor range.

Later we purchased a Cavalier C/T; set it up with some mod-cons and have had some great holidays in remote areas carrying loads of unnecessary crap in the trailer. But it was still a bit of a pain sometimes trying to get parking going through larger towns and keeping everything stashed properly on long heavily corrugated roads.

I still have the C/T but bought a canvas center pole touring tent. Now most of the time we leave the C/T at home and just take the tent. This means we travel with a fraction of the gear but we both enjoy it better. We only take the C/T if we plan to stay in one spot for more than a couple of days.

We have all the creature comforts at home and a good offroad van would not break the bank but it’s different strokes for different folks.

Doodle
AnswerID: 186939

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 22:14

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 22:14
Me too Doodle, had the caravan with solar panel on top and other good gear, tow here tow there, too bloody complicated so thought I'd try a camper, tow here tow there too still complicated, sold the lot and brought a tent, ditching the tent soon for a swag. So I'll have my ute, tent, swag and Engel...nice and simple. I'm 52, fit and think young, most on here appear to be shagged at 50 and feel 150 :)
FollowupID: 444149

Reply By: Member - Garth J (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 18:52

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 18:52
Footloose and all,

What a great bunch of replies and this is what we are all looking/striving for.

We do it cause we can and we do it in the best way we can cause that's what we want to do.

I reflect everyday on the same things.
I've spent the money on the 4by two years ago and now waiting for delivery of the new Kimberley Karavan.

Apprehension and excitement all in one!

Did I do the right thing spending the money? Petrols going up!!

Could fly and then drive maybe.

Wouldn't have 60k sitting in the driveway waiting to go somewhere.

But you know what. I want to do that and go and see the places and meet all the great people that are out doing the same thing in the way that's best for them.

Sitting around the fire at night with all those stars and sharing that experience.
Its about the experience and at 50years old nearly I can't wait to get into it with my friends and whoever else we meet on the journey.

But you know apart from all the material things of what you do it with none of them
can compare to

who you do it with........and that money can't buy.

Now I'll get of the soapbox or is it a hole I'm in!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Garth
AnswerID: 186968

Follow Up By: Member - BBB - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 22:30

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 22:30
Garth

Well said,

All the money in the world is not worth a cracker if you are not happy with your self or who you are with.

The biggest problem I have and worry about know is what sort of society are we leaving our kids and grand kids.

Not the money we can give or leave them but the dog eat dog or every man for himself attitude that the Howard government is promoting.

They are only interested in the multi national corporations that are controlling the
world markets at the expense of the small business and workers.

Small business and workers Under the new Industrial Relations laws and corparations act are entering a race to the botom to non existance and poverty controled by the multi national corporations.

This may sound harsh but after reading this post and the follow ups.

I feel that the concentration on the material things of life and money is way to prevalent and we should reflect on what we are leaving our kids in the way of attitude morals and the way we help each other.

Or our grand Kids will only read history books about our prosperity and camping trips. If they are fortunate enough to have a education and are not out working to held Mum and Dad put milk and Bread on the table.

That my winge for the night.

BBB

FollowupID: 444155

Reply By: HGMonaro - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 22:50

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 22:50
People spend their money in different ways... some burn it between their lips, some piss it up against a wall, other pay people to feed them 'fine' food and finer wine. Some of us save our pennies.

Being somewhat younger than the implied demographic, hopefully where giving our kids (8 & 5 by the time we go on our Trip) an education.

regards, Nige
AnswerID: 187010

Follow Up By: Member - BBB - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 07:29

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 07:29
Nige

"People spend their money in different ways... some burn it between their lips, some piss it up against a wall, other pay people to feed them 'fine' food and finer wine. Some of us save our pennies".

You forgot to mention two other categories and that is;

Mums and dads that have to be working 6 days a week now to support their families and have 250k to 400k mortgages or rents of $200 to $450 and or credit cards.

Small that have had large corparations move in witch can produce products over seas import them and sell at reduced prices that small based can not compete with and in a lot of casses are not even wages and are forced to close. The corparations will have very little computation in the future.

On your other statement you are 100% on the money.

Do IT, Do IT and Do it as soon as you can you will give your Kids more education in 12 months on the road than they will ever learn in a life time of institutionalised education.

I am only 39 and have a 16 and 14 year old kids and wish we would have done the big trip with them when they where younger.

Good Luck hope it goes to plan.

BBB

FollowupID: 444177

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 12:46

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 12:46
BBB, we fit into a sub-category of your 'mums and dads that have to be working 6 days....' I'm a casual in hospitality doing 3 nights a week, renting, a baby and a boy just under 5, a wife who makes jewellery at home and does weekend markets. We get 'parenting payment' from the government and subsidised day care for the eldest child due to low income. If I pick up an extra shift or two, whatever extra I earn we lose dollar for dollar from the government so there isn't actually any extra money coming in; in fact, we would be worse off after paying for the extra fuel to do those extra shifts. If my wife picked up some part time work we would need to put the baby in day care as well, yet lose the subsidy therefore her wage would be eaten up in day care fees and fuel to get to work = no extra money coming in. If we want to get ahead financially, we have three choices; find extra work that pays cash, both work six days, rob a bank. If it was even possible for both of us to get full time work, the extra money would not result in improved lifestyle; I'd be working nights and weekends and we'd never see each other. Less time with the kids, always tired etc. The things we can't afford to do now, we wouldn't have the time to do. The extra money would be spent on a nice bottle of red or two as a treat for ourselves, takeaway meals to make life a little easier etc. So we've chosen less money and more time. I want to see my kids grow up, not hear about it second hand. It's a strange system that dictates that you have to work your guts out or do the minimum you can; anything in between wont earn you a cent.
FollowupID: 444229

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 11:23

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 11:23
I know what you mean. It's interesting readin though. Personally I'm not sure what category we fit into.

We have an 11 year old Grey import Toyota.
It is a Turbo diesel
It is comfortable (very) with all the mod cons
It has proven to be very reliable
It is extremely capable
We have running water
Electric blankets
good food
a $300 compressor fridge that keeps my beer nearly frozen
Great camp lighting
All the bells and whistles you can think of.

I reckon if you added EVERYTHING including camping gear and vehicle/mods we would have spent around $35,000 if that.

The time, however, that I have spent on it, I would not be able to put a price on.

I think that's the difference isn't it. Some people have the time, some have the money. It's just two different ways of looking at it depending upon your chosenn life style.

Of course then there are the people that just don't give a crap about that stuff and head out in the stock hilux or 60 with the esky with no lid on it in the tray and a swag for a seat around the camp fire which doubles as a bed for night.

I don't know about you guys, but even though I may shake my head at the guy with the $95k landcruiser with the $100k caravan on the back in amazment wondering "Where do they get the money" or shaking your head at the two blokes sitting on their swags drinking luke warm beer eating baked beans out of a can round the fire thinking "How do you do it" you have to have respect for both of those scenarios because they are happy, they are out there and good on em'!
AnswerID: 187065

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 11:24

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 11:24
Funny how when you're travelling hour after hour your mind takes to philsophising.
Like others I too have pondered this. My conclusions was this.

You can't buy experience, but often you have to pay to experience the sitiation which then becomes the experience.

However the biggest payment does not guarantee the best experience, your personal outlook and approach to things does that.

Sorry if that's a bit deep, but as I said I spent a lot of time thinking about it.
AnswerID: 187066

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 13:02

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 13:02
That's not too deep, mate; that's perfect :-)))
FollowupID: 444235

Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 01:22

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 01:22
Hows it going Footloose,

In 2004 we went around OZ, We hardly ever ate out and slept in a swag 95% of the time.

This was a big lesson to me . 99.9% of the time the thing that you are hanging out for isnt essential . This has to be right if you can fit everything you and your vehicle need to get by , except for fuel , in the back of a Patrol.

This doesnt necessarily reflect my income.

However there has to be a sensible approach in everyday life, I hope to own my house , and if I save a bit to give my kids a bit of a headstart so be it !

Glenn.
AnswerID: 187211