Just finished GRR and places nearby...

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 19:26
ThreadID: 36514 Views:4066 Replies:6 FollowUps:9
Derby, Winjana Gorge, Tunnel Creek, Fitzroy, Halls Creek, Kununurra, Wyndham, Elquestro, Zebedy Springs (and most places around Equestro) GRR of course! Mitchell Falls, Bells Gorge and heaps of other stuff.

All in the MIGHTY 3.0tdi Pootrol!!! 3 kids all the gear and towing a camper trailer...not a single problem. I'm just about to ticked over the 100,000k mark.

Any questions? ask away...saves me writing a whole lot of crap no one wants to read.

and...brilliant trip.

Reply By: Member - Chris D (Newcastle) - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 20:33

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 20:33
Andrew,

Did you venture as far as Kulumbaroo and if so, was it worth the effort?

What was the traffic like?
AnswerID: 187486

Follow Up By: Member - youknowyouwantit (WA) - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 00:03

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 00:03

We didn't go to Kalumbaru based on what we were told by other travellers. We were told it's not worth the effort unless you have a boat and want to fish, THEN IT'S WORTH IT. Time was also a factor though...a few days up there would have meant less time somewhere else so based on what people said we opted not to go. We travelled with 2 other families and all had to cater for kids in our travels.

Traffic was no worries, often seeing no one for many miles then passing plenty in other spots. Camping was never a problem, always space for c/t. Some places like Elquestro were busier some nights that otheres (we stayed 5 nights I think) sometimes hardly anyone then another day much busier. No spot we stayed at I would describe as full, always room and nice and quiet.
FollowupID: 444816

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 08:08

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 08:08
Just a quick note on Kalumburu, I would agree its not worth it if you don't have a boat, although some would disagree - a day or 2 relaxing at honneymoon isn't bad. If you have the time and interested in that sort of thing, a day trip in on your way back from mitchel falls to tour the mission and museum would be well worth your while. I'm not really into that sort of thing, but found it really interesting and a highlight.

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 444843

Reply By: Keith_A (Qld) - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 21:12

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 21:12
Hi Andrew - we are planning a similar trip 2007 from Brisbane.
Did you stick to designated camp grounds or road-side stops?
Any 'do not miss this spot' recommendations?
Any 'try and avoid this one' ?
Was the GRR well graded or rough when you travelled it?
How many days did you cover the GRR, and was it enough time?
Best barra fishing spots?
Depth of water crossings ? (and did you stop long enough to cool the diffs before crossing?)
What the hell - just write a full report!! Thats why we are on this forum anyway.
.......................Keith
AnswerID: 187497

Follow Up By: Member - youknowyouwantit (WA) - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 01:12

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 01:12
OK Keith..here goes.

1. We stuck to designated camp spots. No reason not to really as they are plentiful and offer toilets, water, showers etc. Some are better than others but all surprisingly good. A dunny always keeps SWMBO very happy...throw in a shower and BINGO...life's good.

2. 'Not to miss spots?' very hard question. It's all good. But, Go to the Bungles if you can and see Cathedral Gorge and Echidna Gorge. Both easy walks and well worth it. Good 4wheel driving into the bungles...it's 50km's off the hwy but a 3 hr drive, beautiful in spots and water crossings.(up to headlights on the Patrol)
allow 3 - 4 days in Kununurra. There is plenty to see here (Ord river, Argyle Dam, Ivanhoe crossing and a day trip to Wyndham. It's a 'chit hole' but the 5 rivers lookout is breath taking. Kununurra is also a great 'break' if you camping. you'll need to do some washing, restock supplies etc..it can all be done in Kununurra.
Elquestro is a must see. You have to have about 4 days here, more of you can. Great amenities at the camp or you can opt for a 'private' camp spot along the river. The private camps have toilets but not other amenities...if you want a shower you have drive back to the main camp area which isn't a hassle and not that far from the private spots anyway. We opted to stay close to the showers and other amenities and it was fantastic. From Elquestro, day trip options are plentiful...walk the gorge, do Zeberdy hot springs, Bronco's lookout is brilliant and so much more. All just a short trip from base camp. If you have the time, there is a 4wd day trip you can do out of Elquestro along a track called 'The Karinji track' you have to drive a bout 40k's along the GRR until you hit the Penticost river. without crossing the river you turn right and follow the track along the river. River on one side and Coburn Ranges on the other..magnificent 3 - 4 hr drive that loops all the way around the Coburn Ranges and into Wyndham. From Wyndham back along the black top for 50k's then 50k's on the Gibb and your back to Equestro.
Also.. YOU MUST take a chopper joy flight while at Elquestro...it will be the highlight, I promise.
For us, after elquestro, the rest wasn't as good. It's all great but you begin to start seeing more of the same things. We went onto Mitchell Falls and they were great but boy that road in is a shocker...good fun though..more genuine 4 x 4ing with a big mud hole to negotiate and water crossings a plenty...deepest was still only around headlight level, no water over the bonnet. I also noticed that it always looked deeper from inside the car...reviewing the video shows it at about top of the tyres level.
In a nut shell I recommend these places...Bungles, Kununurra, Elquestro, Emma gorge, Mitchell Falls, Winjana gorge, Tunnel Creek. Bell gorge if your not stuck for time. Remember, after you start seeing so many Gorges, you really only need the good ones..others seem to become a let down after a long walk...except for the swim.
4. The GRR was a highway in some places and a goat track in others. We saw a few people doing repairs in various spots. The worse was a guy stuck in the Mitchell Falls camp ground who had put his fan through the radiator on a water crossing. He wasn't going anywhere. Also spoke to a guy who almost ran over his own bull bar after it rattled loose and fell off, only held on by a another loose bolt.
The road into the Mitchell falls, Winjana Gorge and Elquestro were all equally as bad, the worse I have ever driven on. These conditions change constantly depending on weather, usage and grading.
5. Barra spots...throw a line in the Penticost River and the Chamberlain river but watch the crocs. You won't be disappointed.
6. We travelled the GRR over over a 3 week period...found that to be comfortable and adequate.
7. Cooling off the diffs...I never gave the diffs a thought. There were so many
crossings, it would have added a week to the trip if I stopped for 20 -30 mins to cool them off. I did let the turbo cool for 5 - 10 mins though before the deeper crossings and didn't use a water bra, although depending on your vehicle it could be very cheep insurance on the deeper crossings.(I never saw anyone use one) The guy I mentioned with fan through his radiator was in a dual cab ute 4 x 4 (not sure of the type). Chopper pilots from Mitchell falls told us 3 Lancruisers in 3 weeks had done the same thing. It's not cheep getting a new radiator and fan flown into Mitchell Falls!!!

We travelled on Cooper ATR's LT 10 ply...no probs. A friend we travelled with had good year Wranglers and lost two of them in the space of a few hours. They were pretty worn though before we started.

I averaged @ 6.5k's to the ltr towing the c/t and all the gear over the trip.

So there you have it, some of it anyway. If you want some pics or more info, let me know your email and I'll send it on.

Now i'll put this spelling checker to the test.

You'll have a great trip, worst enemy is the dust!
FollowupID: 444822

Follow Up By: Member - Howard P (WA) - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 23:10

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 23:10
Thanks youknowyouwantit
We're off to GRR in September and your info was a great help with our planning. Thanks
Diana and Howard
FollowupID: 445030

Follow Up By: Member - Steve & Paula - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 13:23

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 13:23
Hi Guys - a comment from us on the diff. We have a Nissan Patrol 3.0td and returned from the GRR last weekend. We too didn't worry about the numerous water crossings, but during a car check one day I noticed that the breather hose had slipped off from the pipe running into the chassis on the rear diff. I checked the diff oil and unsurprisingly found it to be milky! No problems - we had diff oil with us, drained it and replaced it (twice to be sure) and replaced the breather hose - it stayed in place after this. The drivers of the other two cars suddenly decided to check their diff oil after my experience and all was well for them. It does pay to keep an eye on these things!

PS We went to Kalumburu for a few days without a boat and really enjoyed it. The road became a track, but it was worth the effort in our opinion.

FollowupID: 445595

Reply By: South - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 21:53

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 21:53
*Tongue in cheek*

You've got Cooper ST's you must of had a problem ;o)

Did the same trip on Cooper ST's last year, no problems at all either... On the other hand, BFG + Bridgestone + Hankook all bit the dust on the same roads, tsk tsk

Awesome trip none the less
AnswerID: 187511

Follow Up By: Member - youknowyouwantit (WA) - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 00:05

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 00:05
I actually travelled on Cooper ATR's in the LT 10ply...still had no dramas though. And...I much prefer them over the S/T's for ride comfort and quietness. Little stiff though in the 10 ply.
FollowupID: 444817

Reply By: PatrickW - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 08:20

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 08:20
Andrew, did you tow the Camper trailer into Mitchell Falls? I've read that most people leave trailers at King Edward River. Great thread this, heading up there for the month of September. Counting the days!
AnswerID: 187556

Follow Up By: Kumunara (SA) - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 10:11

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 10:11
Patrick

I went to Mitchell Falls in 2005 with two other couples. We all towed camper trailers and had no problems. I would love to go back there again.

Hope you have a good trip.
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 444866

Follow Up By: Member - youknowyouwantit (WA) - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 19:35

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 19:35
Yep...towed the camper in. If you leave the camper at King River you're under pressure to get to the falls, see what you can and get out all in the same day..that's no fun.

Take the camper and take your time.
FollowupID: 444970

Follow Up By: PatrickW - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 20:17

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 20:17
Thanks guys, that's great. We've got a Kimberley Kamper and a fully kitted Discovery TD5 so it should make the trip now worries. Cheers.
FollowupID: 444980

Reply By: Slapnut - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 13:04

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 13:04
Sounds exactly like the trip we finished a couple of weeks ago also with no dramas (Nissan Gu Patrol 4.5 petrol with Bridgestone Dueller A/T's, towing a big camper trailer), you were probably there when we were there. We did'nt do El Questro as we had heard so many bad reports about it...but.

I rate the Upper Manning Falls as one of the best spots, we had the place to ourselves and were jumping off the top into the water...unreal.

Five rivers lookout is sensational as well.

AnswerID: 187616

Reply By: Member - Tony T (VIC) - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 21:44

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 21:44
..and if u want to bush camp (as we have just done for 6 weeks doing the Kimberley circle- just got back to Melb.) that's no problem either- Derby, Broome very busy for c'park accom. during season, but they have 'overflow' areas organised for people like us who don't book but turn up hoping...we didn't find the roads as "bad" generally as Andrew, but that may just have been our peception. we were'nt towing. Have a great trip.
AnswerID: 187741