Travelling on Census night?

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 20:28
ThreadID: 36517 Views:4548 Replies:4 FollowUps:1
Travelling on Census night?

The 15th National Census for Population and Housing will take place on 8 August this year. Wherever you are on Census night, you need to be counted.

Why is it so important?

Census data helps organisations and businesses plan for the future and provide appropriate services for their community.

Census data on the number of people in an industry can be used by organisations to support funding submissions. For example, the Transport Workers Union has used such information to support their funding applications for OH&S training and research into fatigue amongst industry workers.

What if you’re not at home on Census night?

If you are not going to be at home on Census night, you still need to make sure you fill out a Census form.

Do you know anyone who won’t be at home?

If you will be staying overnight in paid accommodation such as a hotel or caravan park, you will be given a Census form and instructions on how to complete it.

If you will be on the road, you can pick up a form from various locations across South Australia, including:
Blanchetown: BP Roadhouse; Sturt Highway
Bordertown: BP Truck and Bus Stop; Dukes Highway
Ceduna: Roadblock and BP Roadhouse; Eyre Highway
Coober Pedy: Ampol Roadhouse; Hutchison Street
Copley: Copley Petrol Station; Railway Terrace
Glendambo: Hotel, Stuart Highway
Innamincka: The Trading Post
Nullarbor: Roadhouse; Eyre Highway
Wingfield: BP Truck Stop; Grand Junction Road
Mt Gambier: Mobil; Jubilee Highway
Pimba: Spuds Roadhouse, Stuart Highway
Port Pirie: BP Bungama Roadhouse and Mobil; Highway 1
Port Wakefield: BP Roadhouse; Snowtown Road
Port Augusta: BP Truck Stop; Highway 1
Tintinara: Mobil; Dukes Highway
Yamba: Caltex Yamba Roadhouse and Roadblock; Sturt Highway
Yunta: Ampol Roadhouse; Barrier Highway

For more information about the Census, contact the Census Inquiry Service on 1300 362 883. If you will not be in Australia on 8 August, you do not need to fill in a form.

On behalf of the Census Managment Unit,

Pas ACBRO 26, Vice-President
Australian Association Of Citizens
And Band Radio Operators Inc. 1980
Visit ACBRO at www.acbro.org
============================

Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 22:11

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 22:11
hmm......we did ours this morning and beamed it off.........but we promisse we stay home on the 8th :-)

Reiner
AnswerID: 187518

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 22:50

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 22:50
LOL, which box do I tick if I'm abducted by aliens?
I suppose I also need to decide in the next two days if my religion is Jedi or Pastafarian :-P
FollowupID: 444805

Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 23:09

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 23:09
mate....if you don't take this serious how will they ever find out where they forgot to charge us more for a service we don't get.
It's all for our best...... or don't you trust our pollies?

Reiner

PS the spellcheck doesn't know what pollies are..........hmmm he said " please explain..."
AnswerID: 187530

Reply By: Ozboc - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 18:11

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 18:11
I will proberbly be working this night - In newcastle( im from sydney ) trying to commision a crane - will be there from 7 am and maybe finishing at 7pm + travel time back to sydney ----- should i just let my partner fill it out on my behalf ?

maybe is should leave my work ute at home and take my 4x4 and camp on stockton beach :) - maybe pick up a form from the service station of tomago road ?? :)

Boc

AnswerID: 187679

Reply By: Pas, ACBRO 26 - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 20:19

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 20:19
G'day Boc,

If you are not going to be home on that night then you will be in need of picking up a form from one of the designated locations.

Pas ACBRO 26, Vice-President
Australian Association Of Citizens
And Band Radio Operators Inc. 1980
Visit ACBRO at www.acbro.org
============================
AnswerID: 187711