Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 17:49
nowimnumberone
gday jimbo.
a guy at work is looking at an 80 litre waeco and wanted to know the actual current draw.
engel dealer told him waeco 80 10 amps engel 80 2 amps.
im pretty sure you know by now how much it uses lol.
thanks matey.
Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 17:52
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 17:52
Sounds like bs to me.
Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 18:03
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 18:03
Average over last 2yrs ,,64amps per 24hrs ,used as fridge and freezer ,freezer = minus 15/18c , fridge section 2/4c ,dairy 4/7c ,,,,,64 divided by 24 = 2.66 ,,, brotherinlaw has the 80 Engle ,he tells me that his average per 24hr is so close to the same that he was thinking of changing to a Waeco as they need smaller freezer area with larger fridge area, did not mean to h/jack Jimbos thunder ,,LOL.
Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 18:06
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 18:06
Im sure Jimbo will know,
I think from memory my 110 waeco uses about 4.8a, with an hourly average of about 3.5a, less in winter and more in summer.
Suspect the engel dealer is talking craap, as the 2 units use a similar compressor.
My old chestcold used 10a and the compressor units are much more efficient.
How ya been anyway Mr D ?
Cheers Pesty
Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 20:14
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 20:14
Engel uses a Unique 'Sawafuji Swing Motor' is the world's most efficient AC/DC compressor and uses less power than any other portable fridge-freezer compressor.
Waeco uses the Danfross compressor, either BDF 35 0r 50.
To my knowledge they are different designs, but as you say, similar in principal of operation.
As to curent draw, I cant comment on the Engel, but my Waeco 70 uses about 64 amps per 24 hours.
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 08:46
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 08:46
" 'Sawafuji Swing Motor' is the world's most efficient AC/DC compressor "
Not worth measuring.......if it even 5-10% more efficient all manufacturers would be using similar designs....Most of the increased efficiency comes from less mecahical friction. thats why scroll compressors and rotaries are more efficient...but they only make these in 240v and as they require an extra energy consuming device such as an inverter, they are not so efficient for 12v operation
The major benefit of the swing compressor was that they were frequency driven to suit the various size fridges...else the smaller fridges would have a oversized compressor or vice versa.
But that was when the danfoss compressor was a single speed only....now they have different speeds to which can be selected to suit the duty requirement
Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 18:21
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 18:21
It might be time to pull out the (UK) link that was thrown around EO the other day and test its figures :-) Seems to be somewhere on the ball with the figures quoted so far. BTW, the link was to here ==> Site Link
Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 18:43
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 18:43
Yes 58 to 60 amps / 24 hours is what I get with
mine. The cover helps and good thick cables.
Reply By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:16
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:16
Jim,
The Waeco 80 _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx 5.5 amps when running. It can draw 7 amps on turbo setting, not that there is a sensible reason to use it.
10 amps is a blatant lie as is 2 amps for the Engel. The bloke who told him this is a deceptive wanker.
When we were away at Christmas in the stinking 40 plus heat (you must remember it), the Waeco ran almost non stop during the day. I reckon it pulled 70 amps during the daylight hours. Last weekend in the cold it hardly cycled, lucky to use 45 amps in 24 hours.
It's a big fridge and _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx plenty of power. I do run
mine extra cold. When running as all fridge it operates at -2 down the beer end and +4 at the other end. This is perfect for me, I like my beer super cold and stuff that I don't want to freeze goes down the other end (vegies etc), with meat in the middle at about zero. Stuff like lettuce and tomatoes goes in the "Dairy" section which holds at about 8.
Fair Dinkhum, you don't get anything for free. A compressor fridge is essentially a compressor fridge. A certain amount of electricity produces only a certain amount of cold, give or take a bit. Insulation may vary between brands, but it can't make a world of difference.
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:13
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:13
The instantaneous flow of current you would see on a current meter is amps, so this statememt is correct.
"10 amps is a blatant lie as is 2 amps for the Engel."
The total current consumed over a period of time is amp-hours. You need an amphour meter to read this or you need to multiply instantaneous current readings by time. To avoid confusion with instantaneous current, this sentence should have read
"I reckon it pulled 70 amp-hours during the daylight hours. Last weekend in the cold it hardly cycled, lucky to use 45 amp-hours in 24 hours."
Many people are struggling to understand the technical complexities in understanding electrical calculations, it will help if everyone tries to use the correct units.
Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:31
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:31
"70-amp hours" may suggest it uses 70 amps per hour.
I agree it is all a little confusing and perhaps I should put it a bit "simpler".
However I'm not sure you are making it any easier Mike.
Your suggestion "I reckon it pulled 70 amp-hours during the daylight hours. Last weekend in the cold it hardly cycled, lucky to use 45 amp-hours in 24 hours." is ambiguous. You have suggested two different things.
Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:34
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:34
We will be testing the 80l waeco again this week. Last trip we got 50 hours our of the battery and it still had 12.2v in it (exide extreme). I think we fluked it a little - ran as all fridge, but had a couple of frozen items in it, and on the 4 hour drive out to
the spot we cranked it up (down) quite a bit so everything was almost frozen when we stopped, so it wouldn't have to cycle very much for a day or so.
This time we can cheat, as we now have a 3rd battery in a portable box in the back....
well we have the box and I'll take the card to the shops tomorrow....
I will try to document the
battery power and fridge settings/temp for the 3 days we will be gone
Cheers Andrew
Reply By: Member - Rob G (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 23:59
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 23:59
G'day all,
Nothing for nothing but buggar all this talk about which is better Waeco or Engel...why not stick to a bloody good Aussie made fridge that has better insulation and still has a Danfoss compressor...Evakool? Proven, reliable and Australian, you couldn't ask for more!!
Rob
Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 13:55
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 13:55
Waeco and EvaKool use the same brand of compressor !!!
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 07:57
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 07:57
Sounds like a bit of a porky pie from the "guy at work..."
The dealers I have visited sell both the Engel and the Waeco, so would be more acurate on technical details and equally positive on both brands I'm sure.
Rays Outdoors sell both.
Discount
Camping sell both.
Snowy's Outdoors sell both.
TJM sell both.
See!.....no Engel vs Waeco, "
mine is better than yours" argument from me:-)))