12v camping light

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 18:05
ThreadID: 36593 Views:12779 Replies:11 FollowUps:22
Hi all. Anyone got some good info on 12v camping lights. LED or Fluro. I've been caught out before spending quite a bit of money on a light and was disappointed with the brightness. I would be keen to hear any recommendations. Cheers

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 18:40

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 18:40
Hi Wildwest,

The Torpedo light by Evakool is very good and we sell heaps of them.

The tested load is 0.34 amps and the 13W globe is very bright.

I am not sure if Evakool fixed the typo yet where it lists the globe as 13 amps but it is infact 13W.

Regards Derek.
AnswerID: 187902

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:24

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:24
I must be having a slow night, so here goes my earth- bleep tering question:

How can a globe rated at 13W (and assuming 12V nom.) consume 0.34 amps??

FollowupID: 445150

Follow Up By: Redeye - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:30

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:30

I am on my third Scotch and I like you can not see how a 13W globe can draw less than an amp. (???)

Garry
FollowupID: 445153

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:36

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:36
HERE WE GO AGAIN !!!

IT IS A FLORESCENT GLOBE !!!!!!!!

READ PostID: 33039

I HAVE BEEN THROUGH THIS BEFORE GUYS. SCOTCH WON'T HELP, BUT IT WILL EASE THE PAIN OF SAYING SORRY.

Regards Derek.
FollowupID: 445156

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:39

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:39
Link to old post
FollowupID: 445158

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:43

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:43
Derek,

There is no need to "shout" at us/me as i was just asking a simple question. You will notice that i did not attack you, propagate rumours, rubbish your business etc etc........i was only asking a simple question.

Not everyone here is out to get each other. I would ask you to please don't jump to conclusions.

BTW i'm off to the supplied link thanks to do some reading. We could all do with a scotch :-)

FollowupID: 445159

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:48

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:48
Just replied !!! to ???

Not shouting... just explaining.

Take note I see Evakool still have the typo with the 13 amp globe !! Not my fault.

Regards Derek.
FollowupID: 445160

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 20:17

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 20:17
==Not shouting... just explaining. ==

That ok then :-) Though my undertsanding is that the use of capitalisation, together with excessive exclamation marks conveys a stronger feeling than "just explaining"

Remember that not everyone reads ALL threads/postings. I had seen the start of that thread and given up, only to see now that you and a limited number of others have discussed this issue. Now that i read it carefully, it seems to me that Mike has somewhat answered the question, though it doesn't sound as clear as one might first think.

It looks like a good product, very schmick......though the 13W globe statement with 0.34A usage is just asking for queries. It might be better to just leave the globe rating out of it and just state your measured amperage.

FollowupID: 445173

Follow Up By: Redeye - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 20:34

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 20:34
Derek,

Watts = power consumed.

Candle power is the light amount given off by a light supply.

I know I can get additional light (candle power) from a fluorescent by changing it from a normal globe to a TriPhosphor globe. That is increasing the candle power NOT the watts. I also know that an incandescent light gives less candle power than a fluorescent lamp for the same watts.

Maybe the marketing section needs to be updated

Not sorry and having another scotch

Garry
FollowupID: 445179

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:08

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:08
>How can a globe rated at 13W (and assuming 12V nom.) consume 0.34 amps

It's complete gobbledegook isn't it.

I think it means the equivalent light output of a 13 watt globe.
FollowupID: 445282

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:47

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:47
Nooooooo.......

Buy one and test it !

0.34 amps from a 12V 13W Flourescent lamp. (Bright as a house hold 75w 240v)

FollowupID: 445334

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 09:47

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 09:47
Also consider Inverter efficiency - see my REPLY 4 below.
FollowupID: 445558

Reply By: junior - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:15

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:15
Gday wildwest- we use the Piranha fluro (same as versa-lite), draws just under 1amp/hr- but gotta say, that evakool light looks like a ripper at the same price as versa-lite/ piranha but half current draw!
AnswerID: 187912

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:28

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:28
I've got a primus (same as versa, arb, piranha etc) and at 1amp/hr you just could not ask for better light output, bloody amazing IMHO. I've had several cheap fluros before and thought they were great but if you fire one of the old ones up next to the Primus you scratch you're head and wonder if it's actually on!? The primus just wipes the floor with them.
FollowupID: 445151

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:41

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:41
I also have a couple of the Primus version of the Versalight, every bit as good & unbeatable value, comes with a bag too.
FollowupID: 445223

Reply By: Redeye - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:36

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:36
Hi Wildwest

I have purchased some festoon LED (bulbs) for the vehicle which draw very little current. These are available from Dick Smith. This allows us to leave the doors open with interior lights on for extended periods.

Have a home made fluro for the cooking area ( 1 amp draw) and LED lights for the inside (bedroom etc) area.

Garry

AnswerID: 187919

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 20:07

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 20:07
If you want the most light from your DC power, then use a Compact Flourescent lamp - nothing is more efficient in converting electricity to light.

At 13 volts, ANY load rated at 13 watt will draw 1 amp, that's the definition of "watts".

If you had a very efficient Inverter, you might be able to get a Fluoro, (that uses 13 watts at 50Hz), to put out nearly as much light, using less than 13 watts of DC.

A 13 watt fluoro may put out as much LIGHT as a 60 watt filament lamp, but that's to do with the light's efficiency.
AnswerID: 187931

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 20:20

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 20:20
You won't get an argument from me about VersaLite and so forth, my two (a V.L. and a clone) have done sterling service. But I think everything is going to go LED. We have gone that way for all our torches and headlamps (the one that clips onto the cap is a cracker) and there are some lanterns and lead lights starting to come on the market. The kid tried out a 17 LED lantern I got off eBay (4*C batteries) on the last trip and said it was OK but not as good as thier previous Coleman "Brick" fluro. They only went through 1 set of batteries in a three week trip though. They need to come out with some with either more or better LEDS but I'm sure it will happen.

OT
AnswerID: 187937

Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 20:57

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 20:57
OT, like you I think the LED's are getting better all the time. I remember a post here a few months ago about the Dorcy "luxeon" LED torch sold by Dick Smith and there was also a link where someone had done a comparison with a similar sized torch with standard type globes. Well, to cut a long story short I thought at the price (approx $40) I'd give it a try and in a word it's fantastic. It's a 3 "D" cell torch and when compared to my similar sized Maglite it kills it in every way except for build quality. That's not the say the quality is poor, it's just not as nicely built as the Maglite, but the quality of the light produced is far better and battery life should be much longer seeing it's an LED light.
Regards Andrew.
FollowupID: 445188

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:22

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:22
I've got a 1 watt LED headlamp - because no-one makes a 1 watt Fluoro and it wouldn't focus the light as well as an LED does.

But if you want a camp light you generally want to light a large area. See how much a 13 watt LED light costs !!! It still won't produce as much light as a 13 watt Fluoro light.
FollowupID: 445192

Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:35

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:35
Yep Mike, I've got the headlamp too as well as the VersaLite for the camp area but for general torch work when you're wandering around outside of the camp area I don't believe you could go past the Dorcy.
Regards Andrew.
FollowupID: 445197

Follow Up By: junior - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 02:38

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 02:38
On the subject of headlamps- these things have changed our camping forever. No more handheld torches. I use headlamps at work (roofwork, underfloors) and have used the 1 Watt Luxen LED headlamp like Mike, but find that they CHEW through batteries in a couple of hours. The very best headlamps you can buy are the PETZL brand- the Tika Plus is a great little unit (available at camping stores), it uses four 5mm LEDs and the batteries last AGES!!!
FollowupID: 445521

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 09:46

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 09:46
If you're using torches on a regular, basis it's well worthwhile running them off NiMH rechargeables.

Jaycar sell chargers which can charge three AAA cells off 12 volts or 240 volts.
FollowupID: 445557

Reply By: Eza - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 20:20

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 20:20
i have a versa and the evacool one, the versa is a lot brighter than the evacool. I use the evacool inside the camper and gives enough light for that and the brighter versa in the annexe. I used to have a primus until it clayed itself and it was on par with the versa at half the price.
AnswerID: 187938

Reply By: RosscoH - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:42

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:42
Get a $29.00 string of 240 volt party lights from Big W cut the 240 volt plug off, replace with cigy lighter plug as there are only 2 wires, go to Bunnings and buy 12 volt compact fluro's with bayonet ends. We just put the string of lights up where we want under the annexe of the camper and you have ten outlets, you can put as many bulbs as you need or just run a couple and shift them like we do. excellent light, doesn't use much power and cheap.
AnswerID: 187982

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 23:32

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 23:32
Hey Rossco,

We have played with a festoon lighting setup using a similar arrangement and gear, though if we are talking about those $30 CF's from bunnings etc......i wouldn't call that cheap by any stretch of the imagination ;-)

FollowupID: 445239

Follow Up By: traveller2 - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 08:10

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 08:10
A cheap ($10-$15) 240v trouble lamp from bunnings or supercheap, Nelson 12v compact flourescent with bayonet or ES to fit trouble lamp ($25 from bunnings and about $10 less from electrical wholesaler), change the plug to whateever you use and voila a light that throws heaps of useable light for under $30.
FollowupID: 445269

Reply By: Mazdan - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 08:12

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 08:12
I use a normal everyday 4 foot fluorescent light running off my inverter and it does a brilliant job as you would expect.

If you need a light for moving arround just buy one of the LED lamps that you stick on your head.
AnswerID: 188041

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 08:41

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 08:41
The definitive solution on 12 volt Camping Lights. (IMHO)

I have a Versalite Fluro (about 1 amp draw) which is a very good light. The accessory bracket you can get for it is ingenious too. It "wraps" itself around a tent pole and the light slides into it, allowing a very flexible mounting solution. The height is adjustable by sliding the bracket up or down the pole.

I also have the EvaKool Torpedo (compact Fluro) and it's also a very good camp light. This light has a hook to mount the light by which slides along the cable.

Both these lights retail for about the same price.
Both lights are enclosed in a weather and oil proof enclosure. The Versalite is more of a wand style, but not too long, while the Torpedo uses a compact spiral type fluro in a squat shaped enclosure.
Both put out about the same lumens, with the Versalite perhaps a shade brighter.
Both lights come in a weatherproof storage pouch and have cigarette type plugs to connect to 12 volt DC and an adaptor to enable clamp style connection to a battery.

Out of the two.....line ball. You would be happy with either.

Now, here's an alternative, but depends on what you want out of the camping light.

I also have a "Super Bright" branded LED Lamp. The shape is similar to the Veralite and has a hook at the top to suspend it from. The rating of this lamp is 2.4 watt, 8000 MCD LED. (whatever that means)
It has 20 rows of 3 LEDS, or a total of 60.
It is NOT as "super" bright as either the Versalite (or its clones) or the Torpedo.
In fact I wouldn't recommend it as the only light. (It costs about the same as the others)
It does however have one distinct advantage. It does not attract insects.

Both Fluro type lights will have a cloud of moths, etc. around the light given the right conditions. (most of the time?)
With the LED Lamp, I have not had more than one or two smaller insects hovering near the LED light and for this reason, I use it over, or near the cooking and food preparation area of my Camper Trailer annex.

All three of the lights have made the Gas Lantern redundant.
All three of the lights (or any one of them separately) require a 12 volt light source.

I have found the most practical solution to be a portable battery system, which powers the lights and the fridge and can be recharged by the vehicle alternator on the go, or a 40 watt solar panel while stationary.

If you were only using the portable battery for one light, you can buy a 17 Ah "booster pack" for under a $100 from Repco or Super Cheap. This will last a fair while, depending on how long you wish to run the light for and has a further advantage of providing a Jump start to the vehicle battery if you find yourself "in the poo"

Alternatively to the above of course, you could connect the light to your vehicle's power source, but you need to ensure you don't flatten the only battery and can't get the vehicle started in the morning. (recommend a dual battery system here)

AnswerID: 188050

Reply By: Redback - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:24

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:24
12V Nelson globs then put them in a work light holder and done you can but 3 globes and 3 work lights for the same price as a Versilight/Narva/ARB fluro, they are as bright if not brighter.

Or do this using a lamp fitting, i got mine from Vinnies

AnswerID: 188059

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:32

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:32
I forgot to put the prices in, the Nelson Globes are $29ea and the work lights are $5ea from Bunnings the lamps i got from Vinnies were $5 for a 3 lights in one on a stand, all i did was put a 12v plug on them.

the Nelson globes come in bayonet or screw fittings makes it easy to use the 240v lamps.

So there ya go 3 lights for around the price of one Versilight.

FollowupID: 445286

Reply By: Wildwest - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:45

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:45
That's all great info! Thanks for your input! I've got a bit of thinking to do now.
It has raised one other question though. If I plug in a 240v fluro through my inverter, that will use even more amps to power the inverter won't it?

AnswerID: 188071

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:00

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:00
Oh yeah, alot more as you will have to take into account the power draw from the inverter, i would amagine no more than a couple of hours if that.

A Nelson globe draws 1 amp per hour as does a Versilight or Narva light.

FollowupID: 445295