Trip Costs

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:28
ThreadID: 36615 Views:2819 Replies:9 FollowUps:7
HO HUM gone are they days of going on a trip and bugeting simply covered BEER food, camp fees (if anyany) and how much fuel to take for the boat, not what it cost. What am Ii talking about I never used to budget LOL .......... just tossed it in and went

Now!! for me Fuel is the first major expense that MUST be looked at. I mean for my planned trip next year Simpson Desert and areas I'm looking at about $1890 (average cost 1.80 per litre) and a all up budget of about $4100 for about 4 weeks. That may not seem a lot to some but on a one income house its right up there in the Sh&tloads area. Out side of that I want to have a 2nd spare and a new fridge is required so i'm guessing there is another $1500.00 but they are long term investments and just bad timing lol

The budget is something like this

Fuel $1890
Desert pass $100
Accomodation $600
Food $600
Spending / monies $1000

Of course I hope not to spend all that as whats left over will go to other trips.

As it is the other vehicle I was travelling with has pulled out over fuel costs and preferred to put it to our 2008 trip to the Kimberly region. Even this trip I'm looking at $6.800 in fuel costs (average cost 2.20 per litre) of course this will change as prices increase. The trip is about 3 months (hopefully) and about 15000 klms not fully planned out as yet or estimated costed.

Don't get me wrong I believe the trips will be great and I'm sure I will not be disappointed I do any of them.

However I was wondering how do you plan your trips do you work on a budget or just toss everything in and go ....... fix the bill up later, or do you estimate costs and work from there, does fuel enter into your planning or is it what ever it cost it costs?

I figure some people just put it off to another year I wonder how this effects the locals say birdsville, Mt Dare etc etc do they feel any drop in vehicles and people over increasing costs.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:42

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:42
>>> I was wondering how do you plan your trips do you work on a budget or just toss everything in and go ....... fix the bill up later, or do you estimate costs and work from there, does fuel enter into your planning or is it what ever it cost it costs

I think its a bit of both.

You need to know if you can afford it (EG. cleared the VISA card for emergencies) - once you have done that, I think just go. If you work it out $ for $ like you have - its scarey and puts people off.

I know people in my club have pulled out of numerous trips because of the costs, and are picking only 1 "big" trip a year, and no weekenders now.
AnswerID: 188067

Reply By: Redback - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:42

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:42
Mate i would think that you have already been spending around this on previous trips, it's just that you haven't realised it until now when you've decided to make a budget for this trip you have planed.

AnswerID: 188068

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:22

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:22
No not really most of my trips have been 4 - 5 hours away set up camp fish for a week come home ......... not on the road travelling all the time so to speak.

The trip to The Cape last year opened my eyes to the cost of long trips, while we had a fantastic time I have learnt to set or get some idea of what it will cost.

I only estimated my fuel for that trip which was $1400 I came in just over $1100 but lots more $$$ went in other areas I did not really consider but in the end it amounted up to a lot.

Still loved it and will do it again.

FollowupID: 445324

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:31

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:31
OK thats differant i understand your shock now, we do a budget as well and have done for every trip we've done over the last 10yrs, changing from a 4.0l V6 petrol to our 2.5l Turbo Diesel has eased things a bit fuel wise gives more money to spend on things to buy when away.

QLD then the high country is our next big trips this year with the occasional weekender thrown in, we refuse to let petrol prices effect our trips away, for sanity reasons more than any other reason!!!! ;-))

FollowupID: 445326

Reply By: chump_boy - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:44

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:44
Brian,

I will be watching this thread with a bit of interest, as we ended up flying from Sydney to Darwin earlier this year as we just couldn't justify the cost of driving.

We are in the process of planning an extended trip later on next year, from Sydney, via Darwin and Kalgoolie, then back to Sydney (we'll go more places than that - thats just where the relos live....lol), and it is hard..

Chump
AnswerID: 188070

Reply By: ev700 - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:00

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:00

All families on middle or lower incomes are being hurt by increased fuel costs. However food and many other increases are also biting into the budget. So it is not just fuel although fuel is getting the publicity. It was not the price of bananas that caused the RBA to increase interest rates. Many of those on fixed incomes would be feeling the pinch.

So for many/most it would be foolish just to flash the plastic and hope the future takes care of itself.

I think this is why questions about trip and daily budgets are popping up more frequently in 4X4 and caravan/trailer/camping sites.

We estimate the big costs- fuel, accommodation, food and any known 'user pays' (delightful how these imposts keep on increasing in application and price). But we don't sweat about the fine detail. After some trips a sort of average expenditure appears.

Some might say they do not count the cost but maybe they have different life circumstances.
AnswerID: 188079

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:13

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:13
Hi Brian,

I think that the household budget needs to come into play here as well.
What I mean is that you would already be spending a set amount on yourself each week, just by staying at home, so the trip costs needs to be worked out in a "over and above" home living kind of way. By doing it this way you may find it is a relatively good value pastime when you consider the benefits of relaxation on your health.

Cheers and regards,
Trevor.
AnswerID: 188082

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:14

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:14
A fair comment home budget does come into play to some degree but the wife does not come on trips anymore so for her to get around while i'm away is by taxi which on a whole is cheaper than a 2nd vehicle.

My workplace is about 5 klms away so house budget works on this which I feel i'm better off than most in this regard.

As for the benefits and health yep I agree but no point being broke at the end as that just puts a strain on other parts of life.

I will travel but will get smarter about how I do it I guess.

FollowupID: 445320

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:35

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:35
I could refine the budget I'm sure like accomodation I'd be happy to camp out and not in camp parks etc but with the daughter she does not mind a shower after a day on the road so to make it enjoyable I factor in these things as she must enjoy the trip as well.

AnswerID: 188103

Follow Up By: Moose - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 13:13

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 13:13
G'day Brian
Have you considered carrying your own shower to enable more bush camps? Something like a bilge pump, shower tent and bucket would cost you bugger all and your daughter should be fine with that type of shower (mine is). Obviously you can't bush camp everywhere but there are heaps of places where you can.
FollowupID: 445350

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 15:34

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 15:34
Yes I have and its one other thing I am looking at getting. I spoke to Trevor at his place about his set up. My daughter is a great traveller and would be fine with a camp shower, without one i was just wanting some comfort for her. Your idea is well worth looking into :)

I have a longgggggg list of wants strangely exceed my list of must have lol figure i'm not alone there.

At the moment long range tank, shower, 2nd spare and fridge are up there with must haves for long trips.

FollowupID: 445383

Follow Up By: Moose - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:05

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:05
Don't get too carried away with gear you may not need. For example I've travelled heaps and, whilst others may not agree, I've never taken a second spare - just the equipment and bits to fix a flat. I think that if you're careful with pressures and speed the chances of destroying 2 tyres is small. Sure it could happen but so could lots of other disasters.
Also I don't know what your vehicle's consumption will be but have you considered a jerry or two - a huge cost saving over an auxillary tank.
I see you want spot lights - unless you intend to travel at night they are bloody usless - I have them and rarely use them. I prefer to be in camp before dark. Sure you might get caught out but you'll still get there using standard lights - just travel slower.
High lift jack - not essential.
Fridge - that's one that probably is important. Spoilt food is not nice, nor having it swiming in cold water after the ice melts. Never used dry ice but that may be a viable option (depends on availability).
Fridge slide - MYO, it's lots cheaper. I assume you've worked out that a slide is essential. We have a wagon and the fridge stays put. Just climb up on the tailgate (horizontal type obviously) and works fine.
You're on the right track with your wants versus needs comment. Just work on that list a bit more.
Incidentally - getting back to your original question. We decide where we want to go for holidays then make it happen. Our accommodation costs are usually negligible (eg our last 2 week NSW north coast and outback jaunt cost us $30 for accommodation [being one night in a caravan park due to bad planning!]). Always bush camp (wife and 2 teenage kids). Food - we incur that whether travelling or staying at home. So the only real extra cost is the fuel (80 series petrol so it does drink a bit). We find that the financial impost isn't that great. But that's because of the style of holiday I guess.
Hope that helps.

FollowupID: 445388

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:46

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:46
Brian, You might be overstating fuel costs. When I budgeted for my Kimberley, NT etc trip I used an average of $1.70. Actual average was under $1.50. You are using $2.20 for Kimberley average. Most expensive we saw was $2.05 at Drysdale. Barnett River was next at $1.99. We only paid over $1.70 once. But I carry 200 l (140 in tank plus 3 gerries), so can bypass the real expensive places.

We were well under budget on fuel, but over in a few other areas. Total cost for 95 days was a bit under $12,000, including a fair bit of entry fees, scenic flights etc.

I've posted some details in a follow up to a question on the thread on my trip.
AnswerID: 188106

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 15:20

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 15:20
Yes i agree I have at this stage over budgeted for the kimberly but I figure if I set it at that by 2008 I may have less of a catch up of $$$. Even if I look at your spend which I figured it would cost about that anyway ........ its still $500 a month for 24 months to set aside for that trip alone which gives me something to work at.

Currently I'm trying to set aside $400 a month for my trip next year, aot all that easy.

Don't get me wrong .............. I just wondered how people work out for a big trip. I plan to do a lot of travel but i'd most likely look at working holidays as a carpenter I figure i'd find bits of work here and there or go to one area and set up for awhile then move on to the next place.

FollowupID: 445379

Reply By: Shawsie (Bris) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 14:04

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 14:04
Hi Brian, going away for a week on Fraser is a lot different to doing a 30day trip across the Simpson. You HAVE to have a good idea of what it's going to cost you so you can save up/budget for it. You're doing all the right things so far and maybe you can cut down here & there to make it cheaper, but basically once you've estimated your trip costs, then have to decide weather you can either afford it or not. It's just happens that it's getting more expensive these days :o( don't despare tho Brian, if you decide to go, you'll have a fantastic time :o)
AnswerID: 188135

Reply By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 23:20

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 23:20
Hi brian. My wife and I never used to do a budget for our travels but that was when we were on two incomes and before the kids materialised out of nowhere LOL. Now we are wondering how to attend a wedding later in the year that requires accommodation, 1400km worth of fuel, hire of a suit etc and, that the money spent on a few hours at a wedding would cover a week away camping.

Fuel costs have stopped me attending my brother's 40th this weekend for similar reasons. We considered flying, but the destinations aren't in capital cities so the flights aren't cheap and we would need to hire a car as well.

It's more than fuel, though; accommodation(including N.P.'s), food-stops etc. Everything is more expensive

I agree with the post that says 'only above and beyond' your normal expenditure'. You will buy groceries at home, less on the power bill while you're away, etc, but for a good budget you need to sit down and think about every cent you spend and if you already do this it will be easier.

What is you're mobile plan like? Will you incur costs by going over the plan free calls limit by making calls that you normally would make on your home phone?

Even though you're not at home you are still charged - rent, connection fee for phone, water rates, internet connection, austar, etc

Being employed as a casual, any time off needs to factored in as 'loss of wages' :-((

AnswerID: 188270