Boabs in Central West Qld
Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:21
Member - Norm C (QLD)
Anyone know the story on these. I've seen them before and hadn't thought much about them.
On the way back from our recent
Kimberley trip (where Boabs are a real feature), they became a topic of conversation. There are heaps of them from
Longreach down through
Barcaldine,
Augathella,
Chinchilla etc. None are very big or old (compared to
Kimberley) and I'm guessing the oldest is probably not more than 50 or 60 years.
Too many and too spread out IMO to have been planted.
How did they get there? I don't think they are native to the area, but I could be wrong?
I'm sure I could Google an answer, but thought I'd try testing the EO brains trust first.
Reply By: Redback - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:28
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:28
They are native to central Australia and South Africa and by some coinsidence the story told by the native/indiginous people of both countries is very similar, as in the gods thought they were ugly so they pulled them out and stuck them back in the ground upside down.
History is a wonderfull thing eh!!
Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:29
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:29
They all around north west NSW too
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:38
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:38
But why are they so much smaller? The biggest we have seen in Western Qld is probably less than 20% the size of the big
Kimberley ones.
Is it the cooler weather?
Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:43
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:43
Could be the ground, softer and more fertile the taller and healthier the tree, probably why the Gumtrees in Tassie grow so high.
Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:32
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:32
I wondered the same thing when travelling through that area.
Turns out that they are a different tree althogether although they do look very similar. I forget the name, locally they are just called bottle trees, which boabs are too. Just to add more to the confusion.
I found the answer in my treebook I carry in the car.
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:45
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:45
That might
well be the answer GT. We discussed that while travelling as the trunk skin has a different texture. The Qld ones have a discernable vertical stripe effect in them, while the
Kimberley ones are fairly smooth. Other than that (and the size), they look very similar though.
If different trees, they must be related I would think.
Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:49
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:49
Try this
www.
grasstree.com/bottletree.htm
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:33
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:33
From this web site:
Site Link
Boab (Adansonia gregorii)
Boabs can only be found within the
Kimberley region of Western Australia. It is found within rocky areas and has a very distinctive look. Its thick trunk holds root like branches sprouting from the top. It’s real roots stay underground and can spread a distance of about 23 metres across. Boabs are relatively small in comparison to other trees found around Australia, with their height reaching upto about 20 metres
I thought if I found it on the web, it had to be true!!!
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 13:42
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 13:42
Na its not true.
"Boabs can only be found within the
Kimberley region of Western Australia"
We have three growing at Elizabeth SA adjacent to Main North Road.
Mind you, I think these may
well have been transplanted:-), but are growing there nonetheless.
Quite a novel feature I pass every day on my way to work.
Follow Up By: Longreach - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 13:59
Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 13:59
Hi Sand Man,
And some landscaper has just planted a few in front of an office building on Glen Osmond Road. They must be getting trendy.
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:41
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:41
This from the National Museum of Australia web site:
Boab trees are indigenous to the
Kimberley region. Local Aboriginal people use Boab nuts as decorative ornaments by scratching scenes into
the nut's surface. Traditionally Aboriginal people have used various parts of the tree for food, medicine,
water supply, fibre, glue and shelter.
It doesn't say they are not indigenous to any other area of course, but the suggestion is they are originally from the
Kimberley only.
Curiouser and curiouser
Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:42
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:42
Maybe if you read my post above you'll get on the right track
Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:47
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:47
I grew up in north west NSW and we used to call them milk bottle trees, and being smaller maybe they are the same tree but differant species of Boab.
Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:00
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:00
Once again, this explains it
www.
grasstree.com/bottletree5.htm
It sounds like a different species, but I'm no expert.
What I do know is that it is not uncommon for different species to evolve similar solutions and appearances to deal with similar environmental conditions.
Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:21
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:21
And then there's this;
Another unusual feature of the Kimberleys is the boab tree. The boab is also known as the bottle-tree, or by its African name, the baobab. These trees, with their distinctive thick trunks, are also found in Africa, including Madagascar. There are eight species: six in Madagascar, and one each in Australia (adansonia gibbosa or gregorii) and Africa (adansonia digitati). It is said that there is evidence of them in some parts of Indonesia. They can live for up to 800 years.
Les Hiddins, the "Bush Tucker Man", once inferred a connection between these two unusual residents of the Kimberleys. The seed of the boab is edible - it is high in vitamin C - and it was suggested that if the artists of the Bradshaws came to north-western Australia from Africa, boab seeds, also known as "sour gourd", may
well have come with them as a transportable food source. (It has also been suggested that the boab survives from a time when Australia was joined to southern Africa in Gondwana. This connection was severed 65 million years ago, and the boab is a rare exception to the otherwise wide floral gap between the continents.)
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:54
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:54
You seem to have the right answer GoneTroppo. That looks like the tree we saw. Thanks for that.
But keep your shirt on about people reading your initial post. Even if we are all dilligent readers, most of the posts you followed up on were made before your initilal link was posted. Check the times.
Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 12:09
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 12:09
Apologies if it came across that way. It wasn't meant to sound tetchy.
Reply By: Joombi - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:35
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:35
Bottle Tree's here are also known as
Kurrajong's, you can eat the little nuts they produce too in a woody pod surrounded by furry stuff that tickles your throat if you don't get it off the seeds before you eat them
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 12:48
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 12:48
Ji Joombi ,
Where is here ? I am surprised that they would call them Kurrajongs anywhere .
Thanks ,
Willie
Follow Up By: Joombi - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 15:39
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 15:39
G'day Willie,
Charters Towers area, S/W ot
Townsville in NQ, just north of here up in the basalt there are a lot of
Kurrajong trees, a lot of locals just call them bottle trees I think because we don't have any real bottle trees in the area & people are just asuming thats what they are, I call them a
Kurrajong and I call the queensland bottle tree a bottle tree & Boabs (or Boababs) a Boab. I find a lot of people talk about trees with their common names and tend to argue, when you talk about common names I don't think anyone is right or wrong, just like snakes (Mulga/King Brown, Fierce Snake/Inland Taipan) I've seen two women argue over if a tree was a Black Butt or a Moreton Bay Ash, that was funny at the time but who knows where one of them was from, Black butt might have been a common name for another tree as
well, Dunno,
cheers mate,
Rick...
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 17:59
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 17:59
Joombi ,
I misunderstood you . I thought you were calling the bottle trees ( boab type )Kurrajongs . I can see that people could call the Kurrajongs bottle trees as some types do get that look in the trunk .
For some reason I have never been able to fathom ,
Kurrajong trees are nearly always found growing on basalt . It must be some mineral in
the rock that they need . I have two on my land and both are growing in a solitary manner on basalt outcrops .
Charters Towers area is a great place to live - so much history and old mines and new exploration . Lucky your not in
Sydney - none of that here .
I understand what you mean about different names in different areas for trees . Thsame thing happens with native fish all the time too .
Cheers ,
Willie .
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 12:59
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 12:59
Boab's are Boab's, Qld have Bottle trees not Boab's
www.
grasstree.com/bottletree.htm
Boab trees (Adansonia gregorii ) are distinctive features of the
Kimberley region of Western Australia (left). They are also found in northwest Northern Territory. The immense, swollen trunks on older trees can measure over 15m around. Radio-carbon dating of a related species in Africa indicated an age of 1000 years. Given their slow growth rate and the immense size of some trunks, large Australian boabs are also likely to be very old. The large white flowers, which are pollinated by hawkmoths, appear on the spreading branches of the tree when it has dropped its leaves. The name boab is a shortened version of the African `baobab´.
Boabs are a puzzle. In spite of their trunk shapes, they are not related to Australian `bottle trees´ (Brachychiton sp.). Their closest rellies are six species in Madagascar and one on the African mainland. It has been suggested that seeds, or even entire trees, arrived in Australian after floating across the Indian Ocean, but this theory runs into trouble because there are no closely related species in Madagascar, unless they have since become extinct. Alternatively, these trees may have been in Australia since before the break-up of Gondwana. If that is the case, however, why have they not spread further, since they are
well adapted to drought conditions? Possibly the superior root systems of eucalypts have given them a competitive edge. Fire, however, may play a part. Studies have shown that although
young boabs can resprout successfully from the roots after a fire, they bear very few fruits. On the other hand, in areas where overgrazing has led to a reduction of fires, boabs are spreading rapidly.
Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 14:07
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 14:07
Damn.....i thought the subject heading was spelt wrong :-(
Follow Up By: Joombi - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 15:46
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 15:46
lol, we could only hope Andrew :-P
( . )( . )
....).(
.../ Y )
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 18:18
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 18:18
Hey Joombi ,
I just checked my "tree book " and the bottle trees that look like the WA boabs are actually in the same family as Kurrajongs ( brachychiton ) .
They are semi-deciduous or deciduous ( depending on the season ) just like the WA boab .
There is an awful lot of similarities , but they are not related .
Phew !
Cheers ,
Willie .
Follow Up By: Joombi - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:29
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:29
jeez, there you go, same family name!
I love the basalt & black soil country, your boots would grow there.
My wife is camped on the Great basalt Wall NP from today, they got choppered in this morning & get picked up Friday, trapping little furry critters to see whats there. would love to have gone too, to see how many big black stinkers are there for a later date, on the neighbouring station of course!!! (lol)
I'm real glad I don't live in the
Sydney area. a mate of
mine just moved to Gosford & he said its freezing there at the moment, though he is a North Qld'er too & we are all sooks when it comes to cold weather, 20 dec c is cool enough for me....lol
have a good one Willie,
Rick...
Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 18:48
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 18:48
As someone has said the trees that look like boabs are infact bottle trees. A guy at
Roma told me all about them but that was 2 years ago & there is a big mother of a Bottle tree there....You can buy them in the garden centre at
Roma though the one I bought was confiscated by some oversealous plant quarantine officers at
Renmark on my way
home... Probably would'nt have lived in
Canberra anyway....
Reply By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:43
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:43
We have a bottle tree in our back yard. Has been there for about 30 or so years. Great tree to look out and yes does look a litlel like the
boab tree - in fact when in the back yard it reminds me of the trips to both WA and the the driving in outback Queensland.
Jenkie