Extra or dual cab LC or Patrol

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:06
ThreadID: 36646 Views:3026 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
While on our recent 14 week trip to Kimberley etc, wife and I got to discussing our next 4B. It will be a couple of years, but it is nice to plan and chat during the quiet time together.
We like the Ute and canopy set up, but like to have some stuff in the cab with us, so a standard single cab probably won't do the job. A dual cab or extra cab seems to be the choice.

We thought we might go for something a bit bigger next time as we will probably get a caravan some time in the future (but will keep the CT for when we want to go 'bush'). If Toyota or Nissan made a dual or extra cab verson of their larger tray back utes, it would be ideal. We would get a tray back and add a good big canopy with sides that open fully on both sides. I'd set it up with drawers, shelves etc to hold all our stuff.

I did a bit of searching on our return and found this company in Brisbane.
www.creativeconversions.com.au/

All they do is ute conversions, so there is clearly a market.

Looks like they do great work. Ron and Viv Moon had a Patrol converted by them and reckon it is great.

It will be a while before we get to this point, but I thought I'd share it in the meantime.

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:25

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:25
Yep, they have been around a while and an old 100 series I owned got the chop through these guys after I sold it and the second owner wrote it off within a few weeks. The third owner rang me wanting info on why I chopped it up and then sold it so early in it's life. He got a shock when I told him it wasn't my doing, he done some investigating and found the full story. Turned out it was a nice job and it still runs around up in Toowoomba today AFAIK. Much more versatile vehicle with it's size now IMO.

Trevor.
AnswerID: 188245

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:32

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:32
Have a search of the site, Al on this board in Vic does them.. helped him hack the back off a 100 series ( bleep that felt good) for a conversion. he showed me the completed job photos, and I couldnt believe it was the same breadbox as when we started.

Well worth checking
AnswerID: 188248

Follow Up By: crewser - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:58

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:58
Truckster, I know the felling (hacking the back off a 100 s) I also know the felling when the dealer rings up and asks if we have a brand new 100 series, then asks for it back as it was not for us, took ages to convince the dealer that the car was in 2 bits. opps. true story
FollowupID: 445494

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 07:02

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 07:02
"helped him hack the back off a 100 series ( bleep that felt good)"

ROTFLMFAO!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 445523

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:34

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:34
Hi there Norm, sounds a good idea talking an thinking with your wife about what to buy next, maybe while your at it write down the good points and bad points of your hilux and then when its time you can look back and see what was an issue, eg power, xtra room needed, towing capacity, leg room, ground clearance etc anything that might be an issue on your next purchase, although I doubt the hilux would be letting you down on any of these things, looks like a great set up what you have. My wife and I often talk about things like this when we are out and about but I'm a bit of a tight arse and except for power am quit happy with the old lux where as she would like to update to a patrol or some thing similiar to do the kimberly trip next year. We were updating hers this year but have held off at the moment. I think it would be interesting to look back on in a couple of years time and you will think oh yeah forgot about that certain thing that was an issue. Take Care Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 188249

Reply By: Member - Timothy N (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:46

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:46
G'day Norm. I've got a 2004 Patrol 4.2 thats had the full Creative Conversions job done. Had it 2 1/2 years. Trayback with a removable canopy box with 3 sides that lift up. Fitted out the interior myself with storage,fridges, water tanks etc. We've got 2 young kids so the full size rear is great. I use the truck for work most of the year. 15 minutes in the shed and I'm ready to go anywhere. I live in the country so parking is not a problem, but I wouldn't want to be driving around Sydney too much in it. It's very big, but still a bit smaller than a dual cab f250. Next project is to put rooftop tent on, as the good wife gets a bit nervous about big lizards in the northern parts. Comment: Best thing I've ever done.There are rumours that there may be a dualcab version of the next toyota workhorse(78,79 series replacement), so we might be able to get a decent full sized dual cab off the showroom floor!!! If not, the next troopy is meant to have 4 doors and would be a good candidate for the creative boys. Tim.
AnswerID: 188255

Reply By: Turbo Diesel - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 08:40

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 08:40
Norm

Sounds like a good plan to me, dont want to see the rumour thread again, but there seems to be talk that Toyota would bring out a new cruiser ute and troopy nextyear with a possibility of a bigger dual cab styled cruiser. Besides all of that, when i had my 80 series and we went camping etc, i used to fold the rear seats up, behind the seasts i had my engel and clothes etc behind the cargo barrier we had all the big stuff, tent etc. On the roof we had the poles etc, my point that a cruiser is ample for two people plus a ct. Plus you get the bennefit of having everything properly locked and sealed. From memory Ron Moon had some problems with insurance and his patrol. For two people you may not need to chop down a cruiser.

By the way how is lux going, im in need of some new tyres, plus a roofrack, talking to ARB they are bring a new one out similiar style to 100 sereies roof rack for the dual cab lux's.

Aaron
AnswerID: 188298

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 09:01

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 09:01
TD, the Lux is going great. Apart from the minor issue mentioined in my trip report (Post 36597, which has been fixed), it performed fantastic. Has now done 40,000, including the recent trip of 16,000 (over 6,000 off bitumen).

I ran Cooper ST 31/ 10.5s on the trip. No punctures and no sign of the chipping some people were discussing on this forum a few months ago. If I get good life out of them (and the signs are I will), I'll get them again.

As to the 'big ute', we are just talking at the moment. Any decision is a fair way off. But the trip proved that the ute with canopy and some inside storage is ideal for us for extended touring. I like having separate storage outside the vehicle cab and with the right set up, access can be made much easier.

I took the back seat out of the Lux and put a carpeted plywood platform in for the recent trip. Bolted it down through the seat belt retaining nuts. Put some tie down points in it. Some of the stuff we carried in here could have gone in the tray ( space permitting), but some we would always want in the front. So an extra cab would be OK for us rather than a dual cab if the set up is right.

For the future, we will be adding a tinnie, outboard motor, safety equipment, probably a fold up trailer, etc. We don't want to carry any of it on the CT, as we reckon we will get a caravan some time in the future, but also keep the CT. So we want to be pretty self contained in the vehicle and just hook up the appropriate 'accommodation' for the planned trip.

Anyway, I find it interesting exploring these things.
FollowupID: 445546