italian guy moving to Aussie and need advice for 4wd

Submitted: Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 19:52
ThreadID: 36699 Views:6317 Replies:14 FollowUps:49
Hi everyone I'm Vanni from Italy I'm movin to Aussie probably next january, going to Griffith Uni at GC Campus. As soon as I'll be there I'd like to buy a second hand car. Since I'd like to visit some area nearby (Fraser Island, etc) I read that it could be better if I took a 4wd car. So I'll use this car to drive with my girlfriend in the GC area plus some lite camping (with tent, not trail camper). My conceirn woulb be a car that can fits LPG sysstem to break petrol price. Any suggestion are welcome. My budget is around 15K (not Euro, eh eh eh). I'm not really expert in 4wd and in engine motors as well, I'd like a very reliable car/truck with low work to do.
Thanks anyone who'll answer my questions, look forward to coming to Aussie.
Vanni, Milano, Italy

Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 20:28

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 20:28
Hi Vanni, Thanks to Google Translation.

Come siete Vanni.? Esso ’ s il più bene se non attendete fino a che appena prima che venite in Australia prima che cerchiate un automobile. Potete cominciare guardare questi luoghi:

WWW.azionamento.COM.Au

WWW.carsales.COM.Au

Allora dovreste cominciare osservare sotto Toyota e Nissan per il vostro veicolo. Buona fortuna, li aiuteremo un po'di più quando il momento viene.

In English: www.drive.com.au or www.carsales.com.au

AnswerID: 188585

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 20:38

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 20:38
ThanX mate, to tell the truth the translation of Google really sucks(ohps!). Never mind I still understand what you said. I'll try to have a look at the sites you suggested. Could u suggest any particular car by Nissan or Toyota?
ThanX anyway for your fast answer I really appreciate this.
FollowupID: 445840

Reply By: Heefers - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 20:29

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 20:29
G'day Vanni
Yes mate if you are going to visit Fraser or any of the other terrific islands off the coast of south eastern Queensland you definitely need to do it in a 4x4. To give you an idea of what you can get for your $15k you should visit www.tradingpost.com.au . I would suggest a mid to late nineties diesel powered 4x4. Simply for the reason that diesel is readily available at all service stations, however LPG can be harder to find in some remote locations. Also diesel engines are more forgiving for novice 4x4 drivers than a petrol/LPG engined vehicle. When you get to Oz and find a vehicle that you think is suitable for your needs, I would highly recommend that you have the vehicle checked out by RACQ (Royal Automobile Club of Queensland) before you purchase it. They will do a full inspection of the vehicle for around $225. It may just save you thousands of dollars later on.
Happy 4wding Vanni, Hope to see you out there mate,
AnswerID: 188586

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 20:47

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 20:47
ThanX Heefers, I didn't know about the option to have your second hand car inspectioned by this organisation. Are they reliable, I mean they know if an engine head is ok or is about to break? I 'd like to remark that my car has to be reliable and not too thirsty. I tought LPG was really easy to find, at least in the area I'd live. It's so cheap that's why I'll take in consideration a Petrol/LPG car.
Anyway which model would u like to suggest? Is the Rav4 suitable for my needs? Or I'd better choose something like LC (but it's so big and thirsty), 4 runner, Hilux (not sure if I need a pick-up), Holden Rodeo (funny, here in Europe Holden=Opel), Nissan Pajero, Pathfinder etc. Give some clues mate. Hope to read from u soon!
FollowupID: 445843

Follow Up By: Heefers - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 21:17

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 21:17
Hey there Vanni,
LPG is readily available anywhere on the mainland however when you get over to any of the islands there is a good chance that you will have to rely solely on petrol. More to the point, diesels have a lot more torque (low rev power) than petrol engines, if you are an inexperienced 4x4 driver diesel cars will get you into a lot less trouble than a petrol engined vehicle.(especially on soft sand).
As for RACQ, they are an extremely reliable organisation that are located all around Queensland. You can also purchase a kind of insurance with them where they will help you if your car breaks down or you lock your keys in your car etc. for around $160 a year (full coverage). This covers you anywhere in Australia.
Cheers Vanni
FollowupID: 445850

Follow Up By: Heefers - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 21:35

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 21:35
By the way, you asked for my suggestions for a suitable 4x4. I would suggest a mid nineties model Toyota Hilux. You will come in well under $15k, which will leave you plenty of money for some decent camping gear as well as a few fishing rods and a couple of cartons of beer. (essential for the island touring adventure).
FollowupID: 445853

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 22:40

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 22:40
Hey Heefers, RACQ will be surely contact by this italian fellow whe I'll be checking some cars.
Hilux is a pick up right? I wonder how much would it cost me to have an insurance for a car like this. What kind of engine should I look for according to a low fuel comsumption. And how about the kms? Sorry for all this question but to me honestly it's a real world (in all the senses).
FollowupID: 445861

Follow Up By: Heefers - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:13

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:13
Yeah mate, the Hilux is a Pick Up (Ute). They are reliable and common which means parts are readily available. The 2.8L diesel engine is fairly economical and would be ideal for you, if you don't intend on towing a boat or campervan. As for insurance it will all depend on your personal details and driving history.
Average kms for vehicles over here are around 20k-25k kms per year.
FollowupID: 445876

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:24

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:24
Ok, but my driving history will be blank down there! I'll have a look for the one u suggest even though I'm not sure a pick-up will suit me.
Yeah I'm not towing camper, maybe I'd like to sleep in tha back sometimes instead setting up my tent, How much will it cost the cover for the back?
FollowupID: 445879

Follow Up By: Heefers - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:37

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:37
You'll be able to find one with a canopy set up and ready to go without any troubles at all. Throw a cheap foam matress down in the tray and off you go ;)
FollowupID: 445880

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:48

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:48
That what I meant, we're just two we don't need a camper full equipped. Trips will be week-end but not more. And who cares about the tend if we can sleep on the truck in the tray. Thinking about that shoul I need a single cab or I can sleep also in a double cab.
FollowupID: 445882

Follow Up By: Heefers - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:55

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:55
My wife and I can sleep comfortably in the back of our dual cab Hilux with the tailgate down, but we are fairly short. If it's just the two of you go for the single cab tray back that has had a canopy fitted to it. Being a single cab it will give you more space in the tray.
FollowupID: 445884

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 00:08

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 00:08
Can u send me some picture of your Hilux. You have exacly my idea, sleeping in the tray, carrying some camping chairs, a small table and your done, maybe a smal fridge. U can send picture here at this address sonny_mac_70@hotmail.com
FollowupID: 445886

Follow Up By: Heefers - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 00:20

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 00:20
I'll send you some pictures tomorrow of the set-up that my wife and I run. If you are only going away for weekends I wouldn't bother with a fridge as block ice in a good esky (cooler) will be sufficient.
FollowupID: 445888

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 00:27

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 00:27
Ok, fine with the picture. Looking forward to see them!
FollowupID: 445890

Follow Up By: porl - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 21:08

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 21:08
uhm, weekend trip to Fraser Island ? Sorry but having toured Europe myself where you can be in another countery in a few hours, here its like 6 hours to Fraser island and then a couple hours up the beach. It's a big country, fantastic but huge. Point is, a "weekend" to Fraser is like yuou won't see much and you'll be very tired from driving.

Cheers, you'll have a ball. But has someone also said that longer Km on a diesel are less of a worry than on a petrol because of the low stress on engine cause of lower rev driving etc so although i own a petrol i'd happily take a diesel with service history for a lot more than 25k per year.

Apologies in advance if this has been addressed further down.
FollowupID: 445984

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 21:50

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 21:50
ThanX Porl for your advices, I'm a newbie in Oz and everything you say guys to me it could be useful.
There's a lack of experience in what I wrote sometimes. Anyway I think I'll defenetely go for a Hilux Diesel , I'd like a X-cab so the tray will be big enough to sleep in during camping. I saw there are many d cab or single-cabs but these last are almost all for work. I'd like one like this in the picture I link imulitoyota.forumfree.net/?t=7168802

I'd like it automatic diesel

My question is about Hilux, Can I convert a "work Hilux" to a one like what I've linked.
Hope someone could guide me.
FollowupID: 445990

Reply By: Exploder - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 21:15

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 21:15
Is this for real???

If yes then>

Ok here is a brief selection of what is available in real 4WD’s by that I mean they have a transfer case and a decent Low range ratio, If you like you can go throe them and select the type or types you like and would consider buying, then we can give you the good and bad points about them.

http://www.autotrader.com.au/photodisplay.asp

AnswerID: 188596

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 21:18

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 21:18
Arr.. they should of come out as links, I mucked something up, oh well just Cut and past the web address.
FollowupID: 445851

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 21:20

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 21:20
Ok it’s F**ked, Gee you try and simplify it and it backfires..

Ok will give it another go soon.
FollowupID: 445852

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 22:42

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 22:42
Nice try mate, think u got some trouble with your copy & paste! Anyway I got your point and look for this site too. Thanx for helping me!
FollowupID: 445862

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 07:05

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 07:05
Hi Exploder, "is this for real".......This guy's English (Australian version) seems to be better then several of those people who have replied..!
FollowupID: 446009

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 07:15

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 07:15
ThanX mate, well I have studied English for many years and right now I'm preparing the Ielts exam to enter to Griffith Uni.
I'll do the exam on september 23rd, cross my finger!!
After that enroll and then asking for the Visa, hope to land "down under" by the beginning of january. First thing find a cheap flat in Southport close to the campus,
second get a reliable and cheap 4wd (going for Hilux, range 10-15k) eventually try to get a part time job. That's my schedule. Take care mate or what ever you'd say in Oz!
FollowupID: 446010

Reply By: Jimbo - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 21:19

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 21:19
Vanni,

15K should put you into a well looked after Nissan GQ Patrol, 4.2 litre Petrol Motor with LPG ( Liquified Petroleum Gas) fitted. LPG is available throughout Australia, other than the very remote areas. LPG is around 45 cents/litre in the cities and gets higher in the outback, as does everything.

Unleaded Petrol will cost you around $1.40 and diesel $1.50 a litre in the cities.

We have a strong Italian community in Melbourne. For the vast part, our Italian migrants are some of the finest people in Melbourne. Their contribution to our lifestyle has been wonderful.
AnswerID: 188597

Follow Up By: ross - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 21:55

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 21:55
A good 75 series landcruiser can be had in that price range along with the Nissan Patrol.

Personally I prefer diesel. A single fuel is less troublesome and diesels really sip the fuel offroad.
My landcruiser 6 cyl diesel uses about 13 lts per 100klm in the city.

Whatever you buy its need to have enouh top end speed to overtake trucks at 100+ klms.I think 4 cyl diesels without turbo are largely incapable of this.

Most of the roads here are single lane each side outside of the cities
FollowupID: 445856

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 22:51

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 22:51
That would be a nice deal I guess. Does the Patrol 4.2 has any problem with LPG? Going around through some forums sometimes I hit some bad post about LPG and engine head or valves or whatever. By the way I'll study Hotel Management at Griffith and hope this will give myself fully grants to find a good job out there at the end the three years degree. I'm coming with my girlfriend who will take a master in the same area of study. Anyone of u guys in the forum lives in the GC coast (I'll have my flat in Southport,.. when I'll find it). This forum is fantastic, just after 10 minutes there are so many people that are giving me advices, I think it would be a pleasure to move to Aussie.
FollowupID: 445865

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 22:53

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 22:53
LC could be a nice deal too but it looks huge mate, and so thirsty! (not talking about water, eh eh eh)
FollowupID: 445867

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:15

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:15
Patrol’s come in 4.2 Diesel you can’t run a diesel on straight gas being a compression ignition engine, thou you can have gas injected into the intake to give better power and economy.

The patrols also come with Petrol engines in 3.0, 4.5, 4.8 and I think 4.2-litre capacity, basically all of these engines are thirsty when run on petrol and converting them to gas can cause some problems with Valve seats and cracking heads depending which engine it is on.

Better to try and get the diesel Powered one, ether 4.2 NA or 4.2 Turbo diesels

They are available in 3.0 litre TD but the reliability of these engines is questionable, also in 2.8 TD but that engine is Underpowered for the size truck it’s pulling IMO.

Basically anything Toyota or Nissan running Petrol will use more fuel than a carbie fed V8 LOL
FollowupID: 445877

Follow Up By: porl - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 21:14

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 21:14
i love everything Italian except Materazzi's dive in our World Cup match. But I blame Juve, AC Milan, Fiorentina etc for that culture, and of course Ronaldo (Portugal), Robben (Dutch) etc, so it's rife don't take it racially.

But oh my god the Italian community's food contribution to Australia has me mouth watering at the thought.
FollowupID: 445985

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 21:53

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 21:53
Well about soccer, everyone ha its own opinion and it's fine like that.
About food you're simply right! we kick everyone's ass with food, no question!
FollowupID: 445991

Reply By: Sonnymac - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:33

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:33
Things are getting clearer.
Here's your suggestions mates.

Hilux diesel 2.8, low cost, not a great look at first glance
Nissan Patrol diesel 4,2 more expensive , better look

Any other model affordable and reliable for 15 K?
Should I avoid a LPG conversion on a Petrol?
AnswerID: 188620

Follow Up By: Heefers - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:50

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:50
You won't find a decent Patrol for that money. If you want a capable 4x4 for the odd offroad trip here and there, go for the Hilux mate. You won't regret having the versatility of a ute.
FollowupID: 445883

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:57

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 23:57
Hey Heefers I'd like your suggestion, I'm not going to cross the desert or driving in a very hard trail or climbing rocks. Just some lite off-road and maybe some sand in the island. Should I prepare the Hilux in some way? Harder springs, off-road wheels etc. Is it expensive to prepare it?
Hey mate sorry if I bother u but you are so helpful to me. If u have some nice link for Hilux I'd appreciate it. By the way where do u live in Aussie?
FollowupID: 445885

Follow Up By: Heefers - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 00:15

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 00:15
I grew up in Brisbane so I've been to Fraser, Moreton, Stradbroke and all the other good 4x4 adventure destinations around South East Queensland, however I now live south of Melbourne in Victoria.
Hilux's are pretty much capable of doing anything that you sound like you need it to do. The only things that you will need to make sure of is that you have fairly wide tyres and rims for travelling over sand, and you may need a snorkel (for air intake to your engine) if you plan on crossing deep creeks. If you haven't done any 4x4 driving I would also suggest enrolling yourself on a course which will teach you some much needed basics of driving offroad.
By the way (quick language lesson) when you say "Aussie" you are talking about an Australian person. When you say "Oz" you are talking about the country. Example: I am an Aussie, I live in Oz.
No need to be sorry about bothering me mate, happy to help.
FollowupID: 445887

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 00:26

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 00:26
That's my first Australian lesson geek!! I didn't know this particular difference. Good to know. I'd like to see you Hilux and I'll do take your advice to enroll on a 4wd driving course. Sorry mate what are rims, I don't get this word.
Send me some picture here
sonny_mac_70@hotmail.com
FollowupID: 445889

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 15:45

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 15:45
Sonnymac the rims are the things the tyres are mounted on, the steel or alloy wheels are rims.

And I dont think oyu would need to worry about wide wheels for the sand, just drop tyre pressures to around 16psi-18psi and you'll be fine.

There are heaps of GQ Nissan Patrol s around already on LPG in your price range.

If not simply ask: dove sono le chiavi al vostro Nissan? and wait for the keys

FollowupID: 446052

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 17:51

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 17:51
I got it mate. Perfect, one more technical motor vocabular
FollowupID: 446065

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 00:42

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 00:42
Student, young, fun ...
Jeep Renegade ... or a Dune Buggy ...
what do you want with a grand pa truck ?
I am serious .. :)))
have fun
gmd
AnswerID: 188627

Reply By: glenno(qld) - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 06:53

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 06:53
Study this

http://www.koalanet.com.au/australian-slang.html
AnswerID: 188631

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 07:25

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 07:25
ThanX Glenno, I've just had a look. You use so many funny expression, No doubt I've to learn them!.

Any advice for the request in this post?
Good sites to find Hilux. I'd rather want to find a single cab or extra cab diesel automatic. Too many things? Well one more price around 15 k
FollowupID: 445896

Follow Up By: glenno(qld) - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 09:21

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 09:21
TEST
When you get to oz are you going to get on the p!ss ?
ANSWER=

TEST
Will you be visiting any mexicans while in brizvegas ?
ANSWER=

TEST
Are you taking the p!ss ?
ANSWER=
FollowupID: 445908

Follow Up By: glenno(qld) - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 09:40

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 09:40
Watch this video to get a grasp of aussie culture

" target="EOF" class="lbg">www.youtube.com/watch?v=aYS70ZVfItY
FollowupID: 445910

Follow Up By: glenno(qld) - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 09:41

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 09:41
Link didnt work . Just type in KATH AND KIM .
FollowupID: 445912

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 17:29

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 17:29
1) of course I like beer!
2) I don't know if I'll visiting someone from south Qld while I'll in Brisbane, it depend if I'll make some friends by that time!
3) taking-->standing ----> yes bu maybe not as much as you guys

Anyway my p!ss wil be black!! Guinness!
FollowupID: 445962

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 10:20

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 10:20
Hi Sonnymac,

" I'm not really expert in 4wd "

When you arrive here on the Gold Coast and get your 4WD, come and check out the Gold Coast Four Wheel Drive Club. Included in the membership is our Driver Awareness Program which will give you some idea of what to do and what NOT to do!

Meetings are first Tuesday of each month (except January) at Nerang Bi-Centennial Hall, starts 8pm.

Come and say g'day!

Brian.

PS... I'd go the Patrol personally, but I like the point raised above about the Jeep Renegade!
AnswerID: 188646

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 17:08

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 17:08
Here I am, just woke up (9am here). Well I will surely come mate to the place you've mentioned.
FollowupID: 445955

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 01:26

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 01:26
Hey Brian I saw the website and I had a glance at the picture I'll surely join the club.
Is it Southport far from where the club is placed?
Maybe you could provide me some connections with people selling they 4x4 not because it sucks bu just because they are reach and they want to change it!!
FollowupID: 446004

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 06:17

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 06:17
Southport 10-15 minute drive from Nerang..... I don't have any connections with people selling 4by's, but someone else in our club might.
FollowupID: 446005

Reply By: marcus - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 11:35

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 11:35
Hi Vanni,
If you do choose the LPG option this handy site might be of interest.
www.nowwhereroute.com/alpga/LocatorPlanner/searchpageaspx
It shows all lpg locations in Australia and very good for any trip planning.
Cheers Mark

Maybe look at a Short Wheel Base GQ Patrol(Nissan)
1) Plenty big enough for two
2)Many already on dual fuel
3)Very strong and reliable
4)Plenty around to choose from
AnswerID: 188655

Follow Up By: marcus - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 11:42

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 11:42
BTW i always like to check out all the second hand car market on www.carpoint.com.au go to used cars, enter price range and search.
FollowupID: 445927

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 17:31

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 17:31
Hey Marcus your advice is very helpful.
What car do u have? Picture!
What is the exact model of Patrol you're mentioning?
sonny_mac_70@hotmail.com
FollowupID: 445964

Reply By: pt_nomad - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 12:56

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 12:56
Hi Vanni,
I drive a v8 land rover discovery that is on LPG. AS others have said before me, LPG is not often available in remote places. For this reason I recommend that if you go for an LGP vehicle, make sure its original petrol system (including tank capicity) is in place. This means you wil have sufficient petrol capacity when you are away from LPG. I generally run the vehicle on LPG when ever I can. Once you are away from it all you then need to manage fuel use / re-supply points to give you the best range.
Petrol / LPG is good for a lot of things but for extended out back touring the better choice is diesel.

I think a diesel hilux (or similar) would probably be a good starting point. Patrols and cruisers are heavier vehicles and will consume more fuel. You can get a v good turbo diesel discovery for that price, but there is no gaurentee on the reliabilty :)

Enjoy this great country !
My theory on life is that there are good people every where you just have to meet them. Join a local 4x4 club when you get here and there is a good chance you will get a quicker link into Australians, Australia, the bush and 4X4ing. Its all great fun !!

If you get into it, you will be amazed at the freedom offered to 4w4ders in Australia. Its a bloody big place and the public transport is nothing like Italy (read virtually non existant).

If you are the sort of person who likes to get in an enjoy life, buy your vehicle with one eye on spendind a year os so after graduation doing a lap around the island (australia). For this an initial purchase of a cost effective diesel would be the best option.

ciao
AnswerID: 188662

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 17:22

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 17:22
ThanX Pauls I agree with you about people behaviour. Good and bad in everyone and everywhere. I''l take your suggestion. Heefers (previous posts) recommended me to buy a Hilux diesel 2.8 as he said it's reliable an much cheaper than LC. I tell you I will mainly use my car on bitumen and some lite off road to go to Fraser, moreton and all this attractive places in Queensland. I wouldn't do extreme off-road with my truck. I still have an eye on Petrol/LPG for the irrisory price of lpg but the conversion should be already done. Have you seen around Hilux with petrol/LPG?
FollowupID: 445961

Follow Up By: pt_nomad - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 22:24

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 22:24
Vanni,
I don't recall seeing any hilux petrol/lpg vehicles, tho I am in Canberra - not Queensland. We have seen quite a few people come into our club only to have to upgrade vehicles, they buy vehicle X because the don't want to do any extreme offroad driving. From a novice what is initially extreme off road driving quickly becomes routine. So a poor choice first up can leave you with a vehicle the really does not cut it off road.
That said, a highlux is a very capable vehicle but not the most confortable rig for a taller person. But I guess you cant have champagne tastes on a beer budget.
As mentioned buy another author it is worth getting the RACQ to check the vehicle out - its a fee for service thing. They also offer road side break down assistance services that may be worth your while.
Paul.
FollowupID: 445996

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 23:31

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 23:31
You're right I have to be in my budget of 15k. I'll take in consideration the RACQ check
FollowupID: 446000

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 23:40

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 23:40
What would u suggest me?
FollowupID: 446001

Reply By: glenno(qld) - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 18:25

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 18:25
" target="EOF" class="lbg">Site Link
AnswerID: 188688

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 18:33

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 18:33
Thanx I dloaded this paper, did u mean something particular by giving me this link or it was only for reference.
I tell u I'd like to see picture of yours.. and your car guy(s).
sonny_mac_70@hotmail.com
FollowupID: 445969

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 23:18

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 23:18
Don't forget the diff lock for your trailer!!

Geoff.

AnswerID: 188730

Reply By: Member - Dedalus (SA) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 11:43

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 11:43
Io ho una serie 80 (Toyota) del 1993 a gas .... perfetta! Ormai penso che la puoi trovare al przzo che indicavi .... Qui in South Australia il prezzo del gas non e' male pero' a Kangaroo Island (dove vivo) e' ben al di sopra della media!
Se vuoi mi puoi contattare anche per e-mail ... la trovi nel mio "profilo"

Luca
AnswerID: 188747

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 17:49

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 17:49
Ti ho risposto in privato in mail. Sentiamoci.
FollowupID: 446063

Reply By: bockstar1 - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 10:47

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 10:47
G'Day Mate.

The right type of car is one variable (albeit a big one) in the total equation. Please consider doing some sort of driver training and a course in basic car mechanics. Also set yourself up with a good set of tools and the knowledge on how to use them. Also, make sure you pack the commonsense, it's surprising how many people don't.

Happy trails.
AnswerID: 188895

Follow Up By: Sonnymac - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 17:00

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 17:00
your suggestion might be remarkable, but I won't have time to become a mechanic I'll let people doing their job. I'll surely do a 4wd driver training but that's it.
FollowupID: 446250