Cooper Tyres
Submitted: Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 09:26
Member - Brian H (QLD)
Currently I have ATR's on my vehicle which have about 25000 on them and they still look great with heaps of tread. This is not a question of which is the better tyre / brand.
I figure when I look at tripping around next year they will have about 50000 on them. Which may put me in the area of new tyres with plenty of tread. Now I'm looking at getting an extra spare giving me two. If I stick with my ATR's I will be able to rotate 6 tyres so should get plenty of life out of the current tyres.
My question is will my ATR's be ok for a simpson trip or is it wise to start looking at say the STT or the ST.
I'm happy with the coopers so am not looking at a brand change. I figure if its not broke don't fix it.
Of course budget wise just getting one more ATR at $300 and rotating against buying 6 new tryes at about $1800 must also be considered.
Anyone used the ATRs on a desert crossing if so how did you find them? No smart ass comment of OHHH i just got out of the car and yes I found them on the rim :):)
Thnaks
Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 10:18
Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 10:18
Hi Brian
If you are doing the normal Simpson Tracks, you will have no troubles at all with the ATR's, trust me, I have had many trips across the Simpson.
The most important thing to remember is to DROP YOUR TYRE PRESSURE!
Even if the sand is firm, run about 18psi up front and about 20psi in the rear. If the sand is very soft, like the start of this years season, you would start at about 14psi front and 16psi at the rear. You will get many arm chair travellers telling you should do this and you should be using this type of tyre.
The normal travelled ways over
the desert, eg French Line, WAA Line, or the
Rig Road, then the QAA from
Birdsville are easy from both directions if you know what you are doing. I prefer starting from
Birdsville and going west over
the desert, but first timers will find it easier coming from Dalhousie and going east. The tracks are all sandy and your usual speed is about 30kph to 40 kph and slower in
places. There are only a couple of rocky sections that you would take slower and that is near the Knolls.
As the tracks have many vehicles travelling on them, you should have no tyre problems. On your way to
the desert, either the
Birdsville track or Coming in from Mount Dare, again keep you tyre pressures low. On the rocky tracks from either direction, I run 24psi front and 26psi rear and you will not have any tyre chipping, but having said that, you do not drive like a mad man at these pressures, keeping to about 80kph. Sure there are great sections of outback tracks that your can travel at much greater speeds, but when you speak to people that have tyre trouble on say the
Birdsville track, it is usually speed and high tyre pressures that cause tyre failure.
If you are going very remote, off road driving where there are no tracks at all, them you may want to look at a different tyre.
Your Cooper ATR's will be great for your outback trip.
Reply By: jdpatrol - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 10:23
Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 10:23
ATR is closer to a road tyre than STT or ST, so ATR should be a better sand tyre.
Be interesting to see if anyone has a different view though.
JD
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 12:50
Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 12:50
JD,
I reckon any tyre is OK on sand - doesn't matter whether its road/AT/MT or whether its fat or skinny. Bigger diameter does help though. Just lower the pressure.
phil
Follow Up By: jdpatrol - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 13:12
Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 13:12
I take your point Phil.
Ive never owned a muddie or something even as nobbly as a Cooper ST so I couldnt say for sure from my own experience.
The one thing that I will swear to though is that my old 4 ply(?) Japan made bridgie 693 was a better sand tyre than 8 ply bridgie 694's (which rated very highly on sand in that 4wd monthly AT test a few months ago). So I feel tyre stiffness is a key factor, which I thinks comes into the equation with your better off road tyres.
At the end of the day though Id go bush with a ATR, ST, STT tyre but not with a 4 ply 693.
Regards JD
Reply By: Landie - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 10:29
Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 10:29
I think the STT is the mud terrain in tjhe Cooper range. Mud terrains are less suited for desert/sand travel. You's be better with the ATR or ST under the circumstances you are describing.
Follow Up By: pilbaradisco - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 11:29
Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 11:29
Suprisingly my Goodyear MTR's are the best tyre I have ever driven in sand. Much better then previous AT's and road based tyres. The MTR's just seem to have more traction on most surfaces, except maybe wet roads were you just drive to the conditions. The STT should give similar performance to the MTR.
Glen.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 12:03
Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 12:03
Hi Glen,
For sand work you do not need an aggressive tread pattern, as this will dig in, and you do not want this for sand driving. As you know, you want to float over the sand, so the ideal sand tyre, is a road based tyre or one that is not as aggressive. Sure the MTR and the STT are great for their intended use, rocky roads and in Mud situations. I have driven in the Simpson with road tyre tyre, ATR and ST 'C. For me the less agressice tread, the easier travelling through the sand
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 13:00
Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 13:00
I think Muddies are good for desert travel because when it rains, you may have to deal with mud. And a muddie is OK in sand, but a road tyre is useless in mud.
Having said that, I changed back to A/Ts for no particular reason apart from the fact that I wanted to try something new.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 16:00
Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 16:00
I agree wilth
pilbara disco, the MTR's are suprisingly good in sand, being a WA boy I do my fair share of sand driving and compared to to other tyre's I've had including H/T's they go pretty
well. In REAL soft stuff you have to be a little lighter on the right foot at low speed otherwise you can tend to dig trenches though.
I also STRONGLY AGREE with phil. Having been caught out in Yellowdine in a massive rain fall I know all too
well how bloody slippery that red dirt can get after a bit of
water hit's it! Also the other point is that Muddies generally have stronger sidewalls, which may not be an issue on major tracks, but if you are venturing off the beaten track the AT will be more prone to staking.
Only takes one stick to say goodbye to one tyre...
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 18:47
Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 18:47
Hi Jeff,
The real issue here is not on the STT or the MTR tyres. Brian asked if the ATR tyres that he has would be suitable for The Normal
Simpson Desert crossing. We are not taking about MUD OR ROCKS!!!! Also as I have stated, the MTR and the STT are a MUD/ROCK tyre. If one is venturing real off road they are also great tyre there as
well. As for the normal Simpson Crossing, these tyres are not requires. In the real world, the ideal sand tyre, is a tyre with no or little tread and wide.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 19:31
Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 19:31
Thanks Stephen for poitning all of that out. Yes I know the best sand tyre is one with little tred, hence my comments on the MTR digging in at low speed and being "suprising good in sand".
I don't recall mentioning ANYTHING about rocks. Mud is a possibility in
the desert, as I stated above. I'm not sure what a "normal
simpson desert crossing" would be like as I'm sure each person does things slightly differenty. I was suggesting that the MTR would be better if you were venturing off formed tracks as they have tougher sidewalls, yes it may not directly be answering the question but I was following along the lines of other replys to this post. It is also a good thing to know when you are making your decisions about a trip.
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 10:29
Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 10:29
Brian, I can not answer your specific question, but had a similar dilema before our recent trip.
I had ATRs on the vehicle, with one spare and Hankooks on the CT with one spare. ATRs had only done 20K and I was happy with them. Given the trip we were about to do, after some consideration, I traded the lot in on nine 31 inch STs. Six on the road and 3 spares, all interchangable between veh and CT. Bob Jane gave me a good deal on the changeover (including 100% refund on the unused ATR spare), so I bit the bullet.
The STs were great on the trip. A bit more road noise on the black top, but very good off road. Good self cleaning in mud. No chipping that others have mentioned occasionally. I had no punctures, so the 3 spares have not had a run yet.
The ATRs would probably have been OK, but I felt better with all tyres the same and wanted to move to slightly bigger tyres anyway.
I came across a couple of guys travelling together on ATRs on the GRR. They showed me some chipping and small delamination on both vehicles. When I asked, they had been running at 45 psi the whole trip, including on the dirt. Said this is the advice they got from the tyre seller. So not sure if their problem was wrong tyre or wrong pressure.
I ran 38 front and 46 rear (due to weight) on bitumen and 28 front and 34 rear on dirt.
Does't answer your question, but hope it helps.
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 11:43
Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 11:43
I did the Simpson with the original Bridgestones that came on the Patrol from new. They were far more worn than I should have had on for that trip but I still had no problems on the sand or rocks.
I did have trouble at
Lake Poeppel where I simply lost traction in the mud. There was about an inch of rain the night before and things were a bit sticky. I did drive out of it under my own steam but there was a worrying moment when the car stopped going forward.
The AT's should be fine. As was suggested earlier sensible use of the pressure gauge and the right foot are the safest bet.
Reply By: Member - youknowyouwantit (WA) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 11:54
Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 11:54
Are your ATR's the passenger rated ones or the 10ply LT rated ones. Big difference in wear, strenght and stiffness of ride.
I just did GRR and had to let the pressure down for ride comfort. 40+ psi wa just too hard with stiff side walls.
Sand will be different of course but I can say the ATR LT's never let me down on the trip.
Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 12:59
Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 12:59
Well not sure where to look for that. But
mine say M+S 225/75/16 LT and have a load rating of E
I had these reccommended to me for my Cape trip last year.
Reply By: kimprado - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 12:54
Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 12:54
Hi Brian,
As other have alluded to, ATR's are generally better in sand. In rocky country I change over to ST's.
In "stake" country, particulary after a bushfire, I don't think it matters what tyre you run. It all comes down to luck and, driver experience.
Kim
Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 13:01
Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 13:01
OHHHHH GREAT i have NO luck and Inexperenced LOL ....... better get 6 spares LOL
Follow Up By: kimprado - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 18:29
Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 18:29
Hi Brian,
Now your being silly. Six spares take up a lot of room. The wife won't take nicely to a 40Kg+ wheel sitting on her lap over corrugations.
In addition, there other factors:
1. The additional weight of all that air contained in six spares has to be considered.
2. Most important of all, where are going to store the grog? Changing and plugging tyres is very thirsty work. Therefore, as a general rule, two thirds of your carrying capacity should be dedicated to refreshment.
Kim
Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 18:36
Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 18:36
LOL who was taking the wife?? but very good point about the grog eeerrrrr refeshments.
Wife only travels via 5 stars ............ I prefer the millions
Follow Up By: kimprado - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 19:03
Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 19:03
Hi Brian,
Sometimes I get philosophical and sentimental when the issue of tyre choice appears on this site. I'm a very emotional person!
Being serious now. I've read your rig profile. What have you done to the car since that original post as a Member?
Kim
Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 06:40
Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 06:40
I have not done anything apart from gather information and one of the reasons for this thread. As I see it the collective knowledge and experence on this site is more than I will learn in a lifetime so I ask .. to learn.
I don't have a 2nd set of tyres to change around for various driving conditions so on the info I have I will purchase another ATR as a spare giving me two. I have a fairly good recovery kit and good box of spares and
tools inclusive of a workshop manual for the vehicle on my trips.
My next project is the under tray slide which I am in the process of doing just sorting out which way to do it and keep it dust free or close enough to. I will then work out which fridge I will get and build a slide. Or it will be a roll out shade for the side and rear of the ute.
Other than that depends.
Reply By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 13:15
Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 13:15
If you are doing the "standard" type of Simpson trip, ATRs should be fine.
As others said it is down to luck and tyre pressure...
Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 18:39
Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 18:39
I assume you mean a "standard trip" as in like the french line, rig rd etc etc and not a cross country run.
If the former yes i was looking at poppel corner to the rig rd, waa, to the french line kinda way.
I am also not in a rush i was allowing 5 days so speed was not a concern
Follow Up By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 10:37
Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 10:37
Brian,
As you might know, there is a increased chance of tyre stalking with the tyre wear,
so 50% worn tyre got about 4 times higher chance of beeing stalked...
Most of tyre problems happens on the way to/from
Simpson Desert,
i.e. Oddandata/
Birdsville Tracks, so theoretically, your tyres will have a higher chance of beeing stalked. Having said that, providing you got a kit to plug your
tyres and 2 spares, you should be OK. I know people who done these
kind of trip on "road" tyres without any problems/punctures.
Stan
Reply By: RichieK - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 11:27
Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 11:27
I'm planning a Simpson trip for 2007. I have Cooper AT/Rs on my Prado at the moment but also have 4 x spare rims with Goodyear Wrangler AT/Rs which according to this thread and others are a very good sand tyre.. The
Coopers are great as an everyday tyre but I think I will throw the Wranglers on for a desert trip - does this make most sense?
rich
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 12:53
Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 12:53
All tyres are good sand tyres - just run the lower pressures and you'll be fine. Its the tracks either side of the Simpson that damage tyres - just take the common advice about lower pressures which Stephen gave above.