Trickle charger

Submitted: Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 18:49
ThreadID: 36771 Views:2749 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
G'day,

I've a Pirhana dual battery system installed and am likely to add a trickle charger so that I can keep the system running (fridge, radios etc .. ) when the wagon is parked for a few days.

Considering only the second battery will be drawn on when the vehicle's stationary, do I wire the charger to the main battery, or the auxillary?

Thanks, in advance.

Reply By: Notso - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 18:51

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 18:51
I use the same system with a 2.5 amp charger and I hook it to the second battery. beats all the other ways. I just leave the fridge hooked up to the 12 volt the whole time and when I have power I plug in the trickle charger, it provides enough to keep the battery chockers without too much gassing.
AnswerID: 188980

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 22:58

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 22:58
I'm with you - use the same system - except I use a regulated 13.8volt power supply so the voltage is never too much for the battery.
FollowupID: 446367

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 18:53

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 18:53
Hi John,

Wire it to the Auxilliary Battery.

You will need bigger than a trickle charger. You will need at least a 7 amp unit to keep up with the fridge and also have power the charge the battery.

Look at the Ctek XS7000 or the 15amp Smart Charger.

Regards Derek.
AnswerID: 188981

Reply By: Old Scalyback & denny - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:22

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:22
if your pirhana system is the same as mine you have to go to the second batteryas the power does not get thru until main battery is full and does not cut in until the motor is started

AnswerID: 189008

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 22:21

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 22:21
Connecting the charger to the Auxiliary is the simple thing to do - there won't be any discharge from the main battery anyway.

Assuming the Piranha is a voltage sensing relay, then if you connect the charger to the Main Battery it will charge both batteries. Any charger that works will put out out at least 13.8 volts and that is enough voltage to activate the Isolator to connect the Auxiliary Battery to the Main Battery.
AnswerID: 189032

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 22:29

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 22:29
I agree with you Mike but the gent wants to leave it on for 3 days. I don't think is a good idea to leave the isolator engaged for 3 days. This will cause un-needed heat and wear and tear on the isolator.

Regards Derek.
FollowupID: 446350

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 23:09

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 23:09
Glad I have my ute Moses with me or I may get an identity crisis. Me in Vic, one in NSW and another in SA now. Fair dinkum guys. Why isn't the handle Smith. LOL
AnswerID: 189046

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 01:11

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 01:11
John,

I'm going to look at your requirement from an entirely different angle mate.

You say the vehicle will be stationary for a few days and you wish to run your fridge.
If you are going to use a battery charger, one would assume you must have access to a 240 volt supply. Why not connect your fridge direct to the 240 volt supply?
A lot less hassle and the drain on the auxiliary from the radios, etc. would be minimal.

If you wish to use a charger, connect it direct to the auxiliary battery, but also ensure it is a "smart" charger which provides an automated multi-stage process to charge and maintain your battery, without overcharging it.

AnswerID: 189055

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 09:50

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 09:50
hey...how did you know i was going to say that....
FollowupID: 446425

Reply By: John R (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 08:48

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 08:48
Thanks everyone for your thoughts.

Sandman it's a valid question, and something I've thought about. Aside from the fact that I've also got a grn and a couple of other bits dragging power (they can be turned off), the fridge is mounted in such a way that it's a bastard to access the rear cord ports to change them over (it's an engel).

I did think about making up a combined 240/12v lead with an isolator switch on the 12v side so I could just throw that and plug in the mains, but haven't got too far down that line just yet.

There is no wonder really that there are so many of us about John. Such a fantastic bloody name.
AnswerID: 189074

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 23:41

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 23:41
John,

The Engel fridge is auto sensing, so you can have both 240 volt AC and 12 volt DC cables plugged into the fridge at the same time.

As soon as power is applied to the 240 volt circuit, it takes preference and will switch over to 240 volt input.

So, as long as you have the end of the 240 volt cable accessible then, that's all you need.

FollowupID: 446683