Fuel

Submitted: Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:03
ThreadID: 36775 Views:3117 Replies:16 FollowUps:26
I know fuel costs a bit, but how many of us are really worried about it in the end, we still go on our trips and I still see people buying computers for there trips away, how the hell did we ever navigate before them or other peices of equipment we all buy for our fourby, do we really need them, what I am saying is if we can still afford all the fancy things for our vehicle and some people go over the top with the s*#t they carry on there trips then fuel aint that bad...........this should get some people going.

cheers Pete

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:16

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:16
Peter Hi,some people are not happy unless they have some thing to gripe about.But having said this i am still working & still cannot afford half the stuff some put in/on their rigs.sometimes i think about them(thingies) & having them but will i ever use them to justify there existence.To each there own though.Just my thoughts.
Cheer's Bob.
AnswerID: 189006

Reply By: djm67 - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:21

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:21
If you think fuel is dear...................

A litre of fermented sugar cane juice is over $40, and the common name for this precious fluid is rum
AnswerID: 189007

Follow Up By: Hairy - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 21:26

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 21:26
Yeh mate, but an overnighter costs me about 160ltrs of fuel and only 2ltrs of rum???
FollowupID: 446328

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 02:54

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 02:54
Excellent point, Hairy; it's all relative isn't it? I don't drink rum but 750ml would last my wife 3 weeks. What's the price of 3 weeks of fuel?
FollowupID: 446381

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:43

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:43
Panics suit newspapers and TV and radio "hosts'. It all happened in the late 70s and early 80s, and the bogeys then were nasty V8 Holdens and Falcons.

Then fuel prices went down again as they always do.

We were told there was only 30 years supply of oil left - guess how much we are told now?

Max
AnswerID: 189012

Reply By: Exploder - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:44

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:44
I will say it’s not high on my list of problems or concerns.

How I am going to be able to buy a nice house in a good Aria that is close to the city, wile still being able to do and afford the things I want and enjoy is of more concern to me at the moment.

To archive this I will probably find my-self working out on remote mine sites with-in a few years, for 10 or 15 years.

AnswerID: 189013

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:47

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:47
G'day Pete,,,,

If you can pick on us then that must mean you are fair game so i wont feel too bad when i say,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

You have won the 1st prize of impractical purchases......
A Jet Black Grande.... Well done mate.....

We will hard pressed to top that one.....

AnswerID: 189014

Follow Up By: Member - Peter A (VIC) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:56

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:56
Voxson,
Now, Now no-one is picking on you.
cheers Pete
FollowupID: 446319

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 21:00

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 21:00
I was just throwing the lure out to see what was swimming around....
You caught one with your cast,,, i was just trying to catch up...

Good post...
FollowupID: 446321

Follow Up By: Member - Peter A (VIC) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 21:08

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 21:08
Voxson,
No worries, see you on the tracks

Pete
FollowupID: 446325

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 18:18

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 18:18
HAHAHA, sorry this is completly off the topic, but I just had a closer look at Voxon's rig pic and it looks like the dude taking the photo is standing on his roof rack during the water crossing!

He's obviously not, but at first glance it looks quite funny.
FollowupID: 446565

Reply By: glenno(qld) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 21:09

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 21:09
Well i am not worried about the price of fuel . However the shops and accommodation places on fraser island where i usually spend my holidays and spend my money might be worried .
AnswerID: 189017

Reply By: Hairy - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 21:29

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 21:29
Obviously you mob dont have to drive a 180km round trip to go to a pub other than the local!!!!!
AnswerID: 189023

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 22:41

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 22:41
While away I asked the owners of tourist establishments if they thought that their tourist numbers were declining due to the price of fuel. Most said yes emphatically.

However there's a difference between running around town all year and doing a one off trip occasionally. Your one off trip might be say 6K km and the average motorist would do around 20K km per year.

Fuel is a highly visible component of many budgets. If you don't believe me, ask Little Johhny, even his party machine is nervous of that one.

Unlike many European countries we just don't have the infrastructure for people to use alternative transport. Just hopping on your push-bike isn't an option for people who live away from city centres.

Mind you, there's a certain person in Sydney who should get on his bike and just keep going until he runs into a roo :))

Yes the price of fuel is of concern to me, it means that I can't travel as far and as often as I'd like to.
AnswerID: 189037

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 23:04

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 23:04
F'loosie, one thing for certain is that Rambo Kimbo wouldn't or couldn't do anything different. I guess we could pay for fuel what the Europeans do. It is comparitively inexpensive here.
FollowupID: 446368

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 23:27

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 23:27
John, yes fuel is comparatively cheap here. But our needs are greater, hence the need for forward thinking instead of just in time policies.
Ello Ello *knocks* Biodiesel, Ethanol etc etc.
FollowupID: 446370

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 08:00

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 08:00
one pound a litre in England at the moment - thats about $2.50 or so.
Ouch.
FollowupID: 446391

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 08:26

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 08:26
Don't disagree mate, with the needs for longer distances. I have a decent hill each side of our property so I never got much into bike riding with the pressures of keeping work rates up round the farm. Some ways I would look forward to a move to greater motivation to go from place to place by bike. You getting a trike?

Our marketers here have pushed us to bigger cars, aside from the 4bys but last shift for us was an 1800 cc car, comfort and stable to a tee. To Warrnambool and back on about 8-9 litres. Happy with that move in reterospect. Moses has his uses but would double that fuel useage and more so have to combine the needs there.

Oldplodder some dis-incentive to travel, eh? I thought that when we were last there but mostly used diesel engines that time, Peugeot, Rover and then a Citroen people mover. The time before a Passat diesel in France and Spain
FollowupID: 446395

Reply By: Sonnymac - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 00:31

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 00:31
Hey mates here in Italy unleaded i 1.40 € /L that means 2.34 Au$/L.
So don't complain about the cost of petrol!
AnswerID: 189054

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 03:33

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 03:33
You are right, Sonnymac, but whether visiting relatives or going on holidays, we travel alot further. Australia is big.
FollowupID: 446383

Follow Up By: Hairy - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 12:43

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 12:43
Yeh, and you could probably cross Italy and back on a tank full!
FollowupID: 446477

Reply By: brian - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 08:00

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 08:00
The cost of fuel is the most visible running cost to most people however i suspect that the depreciation as a result of high fuel prices will be much more than increased fuel bills.People just dont think about it until sale time,anyone noticed prices for petrol disco/cruiser/patrol lately????????
AnswerID: 189064

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 08:25

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 08:25
Still cheaper than water/ beer/ rum / scotch ,even cheaper than DanMurphy $1.99 red/white cleanskins !!
AnswerID: 189070

Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 08:50

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 08:50
After reading all the replies here no wonder we get taken for a ride where ever we go. How can you compare Petrol prices from England or Italy with ours?
What is the average income of a worker in Italy? how much do people travel in England per year?
What about feeling for the family with 4 kids who might like to go to the beach and can't pay $100 to fill up the car every week.
Not everybody can buy a new 4WD every two years.
My kids are gone the house is paid off and I don't have a problem filling my cars up either but I do feel sorry for the young people who have no chance to get a deposit for the first home or get rid of the car loan while the petrol companies and banks make record profits and company directors get paid millions.
And we think that's ok ?

Reiner
AnswerID: 189075

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 09:14

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 09:14
Many people are on a fixed income and a lot of that goes into the weekly fuel bill, because they have no other way to get to work.

They might have been putting aside $100 a week to build up the deposit for their first home. With fuel price increases that will now be less.

Once fuel cost increases flow onto the cost of all goods that need transport, that will cut even more into any spare cash a worker had.
FollowupID: 446409

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 09:18

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 09:18
No ,perhaps its not "OK" ,but where is it written that everyone has to have 2+cars in the driveway ,a 4/5 bedroom house on a 1/4 acre block and a trip to the beach every w/end ,, perhaps that if we as a nation lowered our expectation of "must have now" [the car/house /furniture/holiday home /ect] the problem of affordability would also lower. ,,remember your superannuation is paid for by ?? the record and obscene profits of those you wish to denigrate.
FollowupID: 446411

Follow Up By: oldmagpie2 - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 09:53

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 09:53
the record & obscene profits are their because of the BILLIONS of dollars WE put into it.cheers
FollowupID: 446427

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 12:57

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 12:57
Reiner and Mike well put.

The great aussie dream is getting further and further away from the young people. My son is 6 and daughter 2, cant imagine how much a house, bread and milk and fuel will be in 20 yrs time when they are shopping for themselves
FollowupID: 446485

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 12:59

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 12:59
Jeez, Alloy, maybe we should aspire to be a 3rd world nation?
FollowupID: 446486

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 13:53

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 13:53
For many people the Aussie dream has already been adjusted to a house that's 90 minutes travel from work and every five years updating to a more reliable 20-year-old car.
FollowupID: 446500

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 16:26

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 16:26
Again Mike, so well put..
Respectibly priced suburbia is getting further away from the CBD and work, and making it harder and more costly for those that cant afford it to exist.
EG Campbelltown, and scum areas surrounding it - and work in the CBD, or eastern suburbs. You just wouldnt bother.
FollowupID: 446528

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 17:14

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 17:14
Bware... when you think about it, we are heading that way... Look at China, and tawian 20 years ago, all broke, no work. Look now record exports, more jobs than they can handle, factories going up everywhere, aussie companies moving offshore over there..

And in reality, we are heading the way they were those 20 yrs ago...
FollowupID: 446541

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 17:17

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 17:17
Bware , third world ? no , just lets get things into a proper perspective , we as a nation nowadays have this notion that we have to have the car/ house /marriage /kids and a full on professional career before the age of 25 and as a consequence our personal debt levels are the highest in the world ,don't think we were "third world" 30/40 yrs ago when the " Personal" national debt level was less than 10% pro rata of what it is now.
FollowupID: 446543

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 18:23

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 18:23
We are one of those families. Luckily for us, we managed to get our house before the prices here in Perth went stupid, but still. We used to go away once per month if not more. Now I am lucky to get away once every two months and even then they are only short trips to the same old places. There are so many places I want to go and explore, I just can't afford it.

For us, luckily, there is a light at the end of the tunnel (when I finish uni for my career change), however not everyone has that light. It is sad, but I guess there is not much we can do about it. Most of these pollies haven't had to actually PAY for a litire of petrol in 20 years, so why would they give a bleep .
FollowupID: 446568

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 23:06

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 23:06
>>>There are so many places I want to go and explore, I just can't afford it.

so true Mike, and I can relate... but the way I look at it is that your better off to bite the bullet now, and if need be get into debt to go see them, before they are well and truly out of reach EG. when my kids get old enough to drive, they wont stand a chance in hell.. But I suppose everything will be tarred by then, 4 lanes each way, and everyone will be driving some heap of crap like them pirus things.
FollowupID: 446674

Reply By: JJ - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 09:31

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 09:31
Problem is with rising fuel prices, everything in sight goes up!
What gripes me is pretty well every food item has risen; OK, but goes in leaps & bounds, not just by a cent here or there.
For example, these items come to mind; one week 2lt coke on special was $1.69; next it's $1.99 (special). Lite milk was around $3.44; all of a sudden it's $4.34.
And meat is almost un-affordable; even mince in bulk $9.95kg! Sausages...! I won't go on.

But...when fuel is the basis of practically every daily commodity, we will just have to accept the fact and take the good with the bad; maybe we've had it too good for too long!

Then again, maybe some good will come of this after all...
Surveys say that on the whole Aussies are grossly over weight!
Maybe we should all walk more and eat much less.
The money saved on food can then go towards fuel!
Nope? Doesn't work like that?!

Oh well, just my 'four cents' worth...used to be 'two cents' (fuel infation!)
AnswerID: 189090

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 12:50

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 12:50
That's right mate; everything is going up, except my wage :-(((
FollowupID: 446482

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 17:45

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 17:45
Noticed the Woolies trick about specials yet?

Standard price this week, say $3.90.

Couple of weeks time - on special for $3.75.

Week after special - goes to a standard price of $4.30.
And you remember last week it was on special, so $4.30 doesn't sound so bad, and you buy it.
Seen it happen so many times at our local woolies.

Few months later, it all goes through the cycle again, ends up at $4.90.
FollowupID: 446552

Reply By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 12:55

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 12:55
Well, Pete, some of us can't afford all the fancy things for the rig AND can't afford the holiday.
AnswerID: 189120

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:45

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:45
Wew just got back from 10wks in the Kimberley and NT most we payed was $1.98 at Drysdale Stn for ULP in late June. Never bothered about the cost cos we needed it. Mind you glad we only had a 56 litre top up there.
It amazed me the amount of people who are travelling at the moment. BTW is there anybody left in Victoria?

AnswerID: 189224

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:50

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:50
Should have an edit function. Forgot to add we did about 16,500k's and fuel cost us $4,500 round figures. So at $450 per week travelling ain't cheap, BUT where can you get a bloody good holiday for 2 people all inclusive for about $1300 per week. AND we could of done it a damn sight cheaper than that.

FollowupID: 446662

Reply By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 01:10

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 01:10
we have a winge at the price of fuel if I didn't get to fill the tank up in time before they put the price up, but otherwise it doesn't really bother me, yeh sure when it was a lot cheaper it was savings in the pocket, but I am not going to let them stop me from wanting to go out and do what I want to do because of the cost of fuel.
Marks work car that we retired earlier in the year ran on gas. when gas was sitting around the 30-3cents a litre last year it would cost me no more than $10 bucks to fill it up, once gas went up it would cost me anywhere from $26-$35 to fill up and that would only last half the week and we'd have to fill up again anyway.
Mark did mention whether it might be worth us making the Pajero duel fuel, don't know if we'd lose any gutz on it because we did when we ran the panel van on gas compared to fuel, and on the Paj where are they gonna fit a gas tank anyway! if they put it in the back then I lose what little room I have!

Jo
AnswerID: 189238