'Stitching' Digital pics.

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 15:51
ThreadID: 36795 Views:2420 Replies:5 FollowUps:23
I was very impressed by some of the pictures 'fishtail' is putting up on his adventures site. These are wide panorama landsape pics. and he mentioned his wife has stitched them.
Any clues or hints how this is done?? Any generic freeware software needed??
Is it the camera that is the secret- or can any set of properly taken pics be stitched??
Troop-a-dour

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 15:53

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 15:53
Whats ya email addy,I'll send you a copy of PIXMAKER PRO...

fu_kew
at
hotmail
dot
com
AnswerID: 189141

Follow Up By: Troop-a-dour - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 15:56

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 15:56
Thanks Trucky- you should have my email address!!!
FollowupID: 446522

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 15:59

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 15:59
yea tis there, you will get a mail soon :)
FollowupID: 446523

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 16:04

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 16:04
www.pixmaker.net/faq/faq-gen.htm
while you wait, have a read
FollowupID: 446525

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 16:35

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 16:35
PS remember you can stitch many together, but once you try and print them off they become too long to print - and also EG 170in wide 3in deep.. I suffered this with a beautiful series I took from the heads of Lakes Entrance round as far as I could go.

If your taking photos for a pano series, turn your camera sideways, and take MORE photos of less width...
FollowupID: 446531

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 16:37

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 16:37
wherethefugawi@hotmail.com

needs one too
FollowupID: 446532

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 17:19

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 17:19
and indeed you do too.. from my optus account
FollowupID: 446545

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 12:32

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 12:32
did it work?
FollowupID: 446755

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 17:43

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 17:43
nope...hotmail wont let it out for some reason
sending you email so you can send to bigpond mailbox
FollowupID: 446836

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 13:47

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 13:47
did ya get my reply?? Sent it from home to your otehr, I replied about the crack in it... hope its fixed..
FollowupID: 446983

Follow Up By: Troop-a-dour - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 14:23

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 14:23
Hiya Trucky
Pixmaker up and going fine thanks..
Just one thing to note, the images must be in order for it to work..In other words, if you take the images from right side (of the panorama) to the left side...in Pixmaker the order must be reversed- if you get my drift!!
Apart from thet, it crops the final product neatly- and the joins are seamless.
Great..........
FollowupID: 446989

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 15:16

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 15:16
yes i did recieve your reply.... but havnt attended to it yet..will do soon
FollowupID: 447000

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 15:39

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 15:39
kewl, got ya photo Troop. very nice! It would printout pretty good I reckon.
I'll post my one tonight, I framed it, came out chithot!

Good work #1, you got my ph# or MSN/Yahoo/ICQ if you need help? just ask.
FollowupID: 447003

Reply By: HGMonaro - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 16:09

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 16:09
many cameras come with software that stitches images and there will be freebies available, not that I can suggest one. A search on one of the many digi-photo sites (photo.net, dpreview, etc) will turn up the best contenders.

The stitching process can be assisted if you do a couple of things when taking the picture.
- If possible, lock the exposure at the one setting. This is doubly important if there's blue sky in the view as otherwise it will change colour/brightness slightly each time the camera uses it's 'brain' to determine the exposure, and you'll see it in the stitched panorama.
- Try to keep the camera level. A tripod that's had it's baseplate/head leveled works best. If doing this handheld, think about this as you swivel and try swivel the camera flat. Don't follow a mountain range up/down in the middle of the frame. You'll end up with a very skinny shot as too much needs to be cut off the top/bottom.
- Don't use too wide angle lens. Wide angle lenses tend to distort at the edges, which shows up when trying to stitch. Take more pictures with a more 'normal' view. A good technique is to zoom in to a 35mm eqiv of say 50mm, turn the camera into the portrait orientation and take extra frames to cover the view. This gives you more vertical pixels to work with.
- Don't skimp on the overlaps. The stitching program needs something to work with.
- if you really want to be a smarty-pants... rotate your camera around the nodel point of the lense... advanced topic! :)
AnswerID: 189143

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 17:43

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 17:43
To do it properly it is best to:

1. have a tripod
2. make and keep the camera level
3. rotate it around the nodal point of the lens (you probably need to google this to find out how)

and ideally:

4. have a panoramic head.
5. have your camera mounted in the portrait mode so that you maximise your vertical resolution or

6. take two or more rows of photos and stitch the rows

If your camera has manual controls:

a) set the white balance, aperture and shutter speed so as not to overexpose the brightest part of the scene and use this for all the pics (then you won't have banding in your image)
b) set the white balance

Finally, stitch with software that uses the information about the lens, and the angle of the camera to warp the image during stitching - this produces the best effect.

If you can, avoid windy days - trees on the stitch line with leaves that are moving make for circular blury lines.

For a bit of fun, put the same person, car, rock, teddy bear, etc. in each photo for a bit of a laugh.

There is lots of software available - free (eg. PanoTools), and inexpensive that does it, and a lot of cameras come with their own.

If you want to stitch snap-shots for displaying on your screen you can probably get away with little of the able, but the more you can do, the better the result.

If you really want to learn, ask me about personal training.

Ciao for now
Andrew.
AnswerID: 189154

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 17:48

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 17:48
www.panoguide.com/

Site Link

do a search on google for stitching and you get more than you can swallow ..

Most in camera and simple tools do not create very good results. It just depends what resolution and quality you are after .. for simple panos and the downsized to the web many solutions will do an ok job although with a bit of an eye you can mostly see the seems...

I do multirow high res panos occasionally and tried all sorts of different PC tools including Dersch's tools and a few commercial ones, but at the end of the day manual stitching in Photoshop does it for me. It takes a bit of getting used to
and the tips from the previous poster might help to get a good base ..

the rest is practise ... You want a decent resolution of your images and about 25-30% overlap of the images ...

its fun ... download a few tools and give it a shot

one of the better tools with a free trial

www.panoramafactory.com/

have fun
gmd

AnswerID: 189155

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 18:01

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 18:01
and example of a pano stitched with panoramafactory

done from 12 images shot with an SLR

http://www.perthdigital.com/cerv_pano_factory_touched.jpg

the pic has lots of compression artifacts from jpg compression to get size down..
original is over 20.000 pixels wide ...

have many more ..

its at Cervantes WA ...
gmd
FollowupID: 446560

Reply By: mfewster - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 18:54

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 18:54
Also try this program
www.autostitch.net
This is free and uses a different technique to stitch shots together. Absolutely the fastest easiest to use stitching software. it is still being developed and is free until the commercial version comes out. Have a read of the info on their site about how it was developed. The free version only works with jpeg format. What is really cute about this program is that you don't even have to put the shots into the program in order - it automatically finds and stitches shots with matching points without you having to line them up. Auto discards any shots not in the sequence - and it's sreets faster than any other program I have tried.
I expect that the commercial version will correct lenses and exposures automatically and process other formats when it is released.

I second all the advice above, especially holding your camera vertically to shoot.
If your camera doesn't have an exposure lock, set it on manual, take a reading around the middle of the sequence you want to stitch, then take all your shots with the same setting. This keeps the exposure constant across the series so the colours/tones/contrast all match up. If you leave the camera on auto, the lighting tends to be different in each shot making stitching more difficult as the autoexposure will change your settings.
AnswerID: 189162

Follow Up By: Troop-a-dour - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 11:25

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 11:25
How easy is that!! I took some pics of the storm over Sydney yesterday arvo.
Not using a tripod, just shot off a panorama of 6 shots with about 33% overlap (including 2 ends of a rainbow).
Bunged them into autostitch and bingo. Put the result into Photoshop to crop where the ragged top & bottom didn't line up.- andf it looks great.
FollowupID: 446745

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 12:58

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 12:58
Yep, fully automatic, even stitches together multiple rows.

If you can, set to Manual Exposure, Focus and White Balance - if you can't it'll still do a damn good job - automatically.
FollowupID: 446762

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 16:12

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 16:12
I had a play with it this morning. The results were very good except where the wind was trying to rip the trees out of the ground where there were a few artefacts. I also ran it over some old photos from a trip earlier in the year and it stuck a set together which had been taken at random of a bay with no thought of making a panorama. The were even shot at different shutter speeds, apertures and focal lengths.

!MPG:8!

Great Tool

Pete
FollowupID: 446806

Follow Up By: Troop-a-dour - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 16:20

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 16:20
G'day Pete
Looks as if I've started something here.
The one that Truckster suggests 'appears' to do the job a bit better.
Dunno wot it is, but I've used the same set of pics on both, and Pixmaker looks a bit sharper?? than autostich. Just my observation. And yes, I'll be going thru my archives as I've got a few sets where I wished I could have a panorama....
Have fun and show us more of your results!!!!
FollowupID: 446810

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 17:03

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 17:03
The default settings for autostitch product only low resolution results. If you tweak them up, the results are a lot sharper, but I haven't tried PixMaker.

Pete
FollowupID: 446826

Follow Up By: phil - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 18:56

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 18:56
Unfortunately autostitch.net is now forbidden for entry.
I have looked for anywhere else that has the program without success except for one which only had an expired demo.

Does anyone have ideas where to get this program which looks brilliant by all the reviews I found while trawling through the Net.

Phil I
FollowupID: 446846

Follow Up By: Troop-a-dour - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 19:57

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 19:57
I could probably send it to you Phil!!!
FollowupID: 446857

Follow Up By: mfewster - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 20:45

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 20:45
Phil, I just checked and it still seems to be available. Try the following site and when it opens, go to the download area.
Site Link

Do you have some sort of blocking safety net? As it still is available on the net, if you can't manage to download it, let me know and I will send it to you as an email attachment.
FollowupID: 446865

Follow Up By: mfewster - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 20:57

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 20:57
Just did a bit more searching on this. It seems that two commercial products are now using the autostitch engine. They are using the advanced features such as auto colour matching and a whole swag of output formats that weren't included in the free download. The freebie is still pretty good, but check the following for example
www.autopano.net/
This seems to me to me better than any other software stitching I have seen. Might have to buy a copy. You can also get a demo copy of the new product to play around with.
FollowupID: 446871

Follow Up By: phil - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 13:35

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 13:35
I just tried the link given by mfewster, and it now works. Didn't last night.
It seems to have the same version that I found to have expired when run, but the new one works ok.
Thanks to all who replied.

Phil I
FollowupID: 446982