Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 19:10
Member - Norm C (QLD)
Having just returned from 14 Weeks in the
Kimberley, NT and Western Gulf, I am putting my mind to planning the next big trip.
I want to do Tasmania in Feb / March (as soon as the school holidays are over), probably about 6 or 7 weeks weeks total, with 4 about 5 weeks on the Island. We would then spend about 6 weeks at home before heading North in early May for a
Cape York and Eastern Gulf trip of about 10 weeks. Just have to convince SWMBO that this is a good idea (Tassie, that is, she is on board for the Cape already).
I've been to Tassie a couple of tiimes on Business, but only a day or two at a time and only to
Hobart,
Devonport and
Launceston. It is fair to start from an assumptioin that I know bugger all about the things to see and do.
We tow a good off road trailer.
Any Tassie experts able to give some tips on
places not to be missed; great
camp sites etc?
Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 19:37
Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 19:37
G/day Norm,you pose an interesting Q,the wife and myself are going there in December & hope to be there for around 4 weeks.We are taking the motorhome but are spending 7 day's in resort type motel at 7 mile beach near
Hobart from Boxing day & will have a look around there while there(day excursion's) by the time we hve done this we should know where we are going from there.So all going
well should be able to give you some hints when we get back.Also if you do a search on Eo there was Q asked of this a couple of months ago & Andrew who has come along to a couple of gatherings has been to Tassie a couple of times & gave a few clues away as
well & has his own web page with pics to see & info as
well.He may also see you're thread & let you know.Happy travels,Cheer's Bob.
Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 20:22
Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 20:22
Norm that post ID33300.
Follow Up By: Andrew (Bris) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 20:29
Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 20:29
Bob,
We've spent the last two christmas - new year weeks in
Hobart. This year is no different. We'll be at the Custom's House Hotel from 27 Dec to 3 Jan. Will have to catch up down there.
Follow Up By: Andrew (Bris) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 20:36
Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 20:36
Continued....
Pressed the submit button too early.
Tassie is a great place. SWMBO would move there tonight if I gave her the chance (it's no good - she'd make me go too.)
On our first trip we spent about five weeks there and kept a daily journal. Our journal and some photos are on our homepage.
www.users.on.net/~pancho/index.htm
We've got more photos at andrewpanshin.fotopic.net/
Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:31
Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:31
Hey Andrew,long time no read of you.Would be good to catch up down there near the south pole.Say hi to Cinta.Cheer's Bob.
Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 19:52
Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 19:52
Hi Norm ,
You sound as keen to get back on the road as me .
Like you I have been to Tassie on business quite a few times and am planning on going there in February . My only non business trip there , was a trout fishing expedition into the highlands 15 years ago .
We might cross paths .
Willie .
Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 23:58
Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 23:58
Norm, we spent 7 glorious weeks there Feb/March this year. I haven't got to writing a trip journal on the websites yet, but have talked about highlights in a few posts. Loved every bit of it; mountains, waterfalls, rich red soil, rain forests, and lovely friendly people.
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 08:33
Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 08:33
Found a couple of your posts in archives Motherhen. I was on my
Kimberley trip when you made them.
Sounds like you travel like us (though we have a CT). Avoid CPs where we can. Main reason isn't the money; we just like being out ini the bush with less people and more privacy.
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 22:58
Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 22:58
Norm, if i didn't post the links before, the following SHOULD get you to my photo albums on the other forums to show some of my favourite spots.
Site Link
also pages 2 and 3
Site Link
The latter includes other trips, but are in sections so you can find Tasmania easily
I hope this gives you some ideas. As you like
bush camping for the same reasons we do, I'm sure you will like these favourites of ours. The following is my list of free camps we stayed at. In some
places we stayed with old friends or new friends.
Site Link
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 08:31
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 08:31
Thanks Motherhen. Some great pics. The
camp site info is very helpful in our planniing.
Reply By: Roddesh - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 01:38
Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 01:38
Hi Norm,
The following guide has good info on tracks.
Site Link
Rod
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 07:53
Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 07:53
Good info Rod. Thanks for that.
Reply By: Jodi - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 17:21
Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 17:21
Hi Norm,
I will admit to having family in
Launceston and partners family scattered all over Tassie. Top spots to visit would be the Tasman Peninsula and
Bruny Island. i wish I had spent more time there at Christmas.
Camp at Cloudy Bay on Burny - you will need 4by to get there as there is a drive along
the beach at low tide. Apparently the
camping and fishing there is awesome and all around Bruny there is Atlantic Salmon to be caught that has escaped from the farms.
Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 18:32
Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 18:32
Norm suggest you buy the 4 1:250,000 maps of Tassie as a general guide then get Chris Boden's "4WD tracks in Tasmania....Off-road Tasmania". It has some excellent trip notes & strip maps listing the majority of the 4x4 destinations in Tassie. If you intend visiting more than 4 National Parks it's cheaper to get a monthly permit.
Camping locations in Tassie can at times be difficult to find so the "
Camping Guide to Tasmania" & "
Free camping in Tasmania" books are worth picking up.
If you like your driving rough plan to spend most of your time on the west coast.
Queenstown is a great base from which to do day trips. Several of the best 4x4 trips (in the book) are by permit & ideally you should book in to organize the key from the parks office. Ask the Rangers what other "Keyed" tracks are in the area as not all are in the book.
Highlights............
Sandy Cape.
Balfour track.
Climies Track.
Spray tunnel.
Montezuma Falls.
Mt Huxley.
Mt McCall.
Mt
Darwin.
Wellington Range.
White timber trail.
Pieman Heads.
Bird River.
Saw Back range.
Cheers Craig..............
Reply By: Bev - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 16:29
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 16:29
The information mentioned will give you many 4wd options and thru routes
Many of the ones in Chris' book are ok for a trailer and are set up so that you don't have to back track
There may be closures of some tracks due to fire during these months and total fire bans do operate
www.4wdtasmania.org should have a list of clubs in Tassie Many run trips during this time of year if you wanted to join up with them and meet some locals .
The Treasure island newspaper [tourist] has many ideas for other options like the Apt railway airwalk dismal swamp
woolnorth boat trips on the derwent and tamar rivers flights over the southwset in particular ect There is plenty to do and your 7to 8 weeks will go very quick
Although it is our warmest time bring a jacket rain gear ect as it can get very cold particularly on the west coast at night and in the highlands and on the coast from sea breeze
Remember no fruit and veg to be brought into tassie or fuel in jerries.And try for an advance purchase ticket its cheaper .
Bev
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 18:04
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 18:04
Thanks Bev. Do you mean advance purchase on the ferry? If so, was not aware of them.
Speaking of no fuel in jerries, someone recently told me they have to be filled with water on the ferry. Is this true? Don't like that idea.
Reply By: Member - Uncle Phil (TAS) - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 10:02
Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 10:02
G Day Norm.
When you or any other travellers from that big Island, plan to visit our great Island, i would be more than too happy to catch up with you ,if it works out and point you in the right direction.
I work on the east coast and will try to get away every second weekend over that time of the year.
My brother and i are planning a trip to your big Island in the middle of next year, so we may be able swap some info that will benefit both parties.
Cheers Uncle Phil
Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 12:47
Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 12:47
G'day Norm,
We spent 3 weeks there in a motor
home and still missed a lot. Want to go back for a month in the 4by to see the rest.
Highlight of the trip was a trip to seal
rock and Maria Isl. with a small operator working out of Triabunna, 0430 start, but awsome day!
The 'remarkable caves' while at
Port Arthur is also
well worth the walk, as is
wineglass bay on the Freycinet Peninula.
The drive through Hellyer
gorge is not to be missed, the huon pine forest airwalk, the
Bay of fires, bush walks at Cradle maintain, mate you could fill a book.
The whole state is one big picture post card, there are spectacular
views and something of interest no matter where you go.
We found the "Lonely Planet Guide to Tasmania" a wealth of information and wouldn't go back without it, as it's information leans towards backpackers and people on a budget, full of free and cheap
camp sites and tours, aswell as the usual touristy stuff.
The other thing I would suggest is that if you go in feb to make sure you spend time in advance booking any major accomadation ( Motels, B @ B's etc) and also booking C'van parks a few days in advance, as this is peak season and accomadation is scarce.
Enjoy your time there and you may as
well start planning your 2nd trip there now!
Avagoodn
Pezza
Reply By: Bev - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:25
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:25
Advance purchase is the best discount might be called something else now but they know what you mean You have to pay for it within 3 days of booking but the savings are good You have 12 months to use the fare but changes to your booking are 20$ I think Youan only travel on days that fares are available which is any day as long as they have some left
Jerrys supposed to be filled with water Unsecured gas bottles are to be put in a cage and collected at the other end Quick to get unsecured = a bottle not hosed into a camper kitchen.Jerrys ok they dry out pretty quick . If you have a big tank won't need extra fuel here as plenty of servos as long as not on gas .
Bev