Rego checks.

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 21:31
ThreadID: 36841 Views:3383 Replies:4 FollowUps:17
Hi.

Watching these guys probe & bang around under your rig, is as stressfull as watching your GP examine a X ray you"ve just had!!. Got knocked back for rego on a worn tie rod end. Buggered if i know, but it felt ok to me, move the steering wheel a fraction the front wheel moves with it. Guess they have to write something down, and its the first knock back in 5yrs, not bad for a landy!!!. with 200,000 km. ha ha .

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 21:38

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 21:38
"Watching these guys probe & bang around under your rig"

Was wondering if I logged onto the rite site there for a minute.....LOL

I reckon if that's your first knock back in 5yrs, I might have to start hanging around you to get some tips on how's it done. My missus knocks me back about every 5 days hehehehe.

Could always come up here and never worry about another pink slip so long as you keep the old landy.

Cheers Trevor.
AnswerID: 189382

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 21:53

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 21:53
Hang on Trev, Ya gettin all screwed up there!.

What's the go with pink slips in QLD, now?, or isn't there any.
FollowupID: 446884

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 08:48

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 08:48
Axle,

Once the car is registered up here and so long as the car stays in your name, no more pink slips required...EVER. Only need one when you go to sell it.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 446936

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 22:05

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 22:05
Isn't it all just a rort for the repair industry?

Glad I now live in a state where compulsory inspections don't happen.
AnswerID: 189386

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 22:25

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 22:25
I think it may be so that the cars on their roads bear some semblance of roadworthiness, whereas here in Victoria, you can own a vehicle for 30 years & not put a spanner on it.

So, on reflection, I think it may be to save lives, rather than to be 'rort for the repair industry'.
FollowupID: 446895

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 22:35

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 22:35
Shaker,
The stats quite strongly show that "roadworthiness" is an almost negligiblel factor in death and injury on the roads.

FollowupID: 446901

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 23:08

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 23:08
Show me the stats!
Have you ever walked through crash repairers yard?
FollowupID: 446909

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 08:25

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 08:25
Hey Shaker, I don't reckon you'd find too many road worthy cars in the crash repair yard! ;-) Not post crash anyway! hehe! :-))

Scoey!
FollowupID: 446930

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 08:36

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 08:36
Come on Shaker... It's speed that kills in states where roadworthiness is not a consideration... Umpteen billion dollars in revenue surely can't lie...
FollowupID: 446933

Follow Up By: RosscoH - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 09:39

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 09:39
Speed has never killed anyone, its how you stop after the speed that matters.
FollowupID: 446943

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 11:21

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 11:21
Hi Shaker,

Off the top of my head:
Alcohol,
Fatigue,
Young males with a vehicle full of mates
Speed - and fast cars eg Commodores, Falcons, WRX, skyline etc etc
Inexperience and grossly inadequate driver training
Country roads and inexperience
Small vehicles with poor safety features

Unroadworthiness is so far down the list thats its hard to identify it as a factor. It did not rate in a campaign some years ago by SA Police targeting the 6 major factors that cause road death and injury.

In SA, the only organisation pushing for compulsory inspections are the MTA (for obvious reasons).
Our motoring organisation, RAA is against them - Inspections cost too much money for little benefit - money is better directed elsewhere.

Don't get me wrong - I service 6 vehicles in our family - I would never let my wife or kids loose in a vehicle that is not 100%roadworthy - especially tyres and brakes - both of which I replace well before they are worn. But a bubble of rust in the doors doesn't make a vehicle unsafe - and bogging it up does nothing for strength. I lived in NSW in the past.

phil
FollowupID: 446968

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 11:36

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 11:36
And if I can just add an up-to-date reference:

http://www.rta.nsw.gov.au/roadsafety/downloads/rs2010.pdf

There is no mention in there of vehicle roadworthiness as being a factor.

FollowupID: 446970

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 13:20

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 13:20
It was the same here in Vic Phil, the MTA was pushing very hard for the introduction of inspections. The conclusion of the government investigative commitee was that the benefit was too small to justify the expense. Case closed.
FollowupID: 446981

Follow Up By: Batman69 - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 16:25

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 16:25
Hey Phil,

You know you can't argue with stats!

However did you know that when assessing the cause of accidents in vehicle accidents they don't look at root cause..... for example If I am just over 0.05 BAC and I run off the road and plough into a tree the statistics will say alcohol was the cause they ignore any other related issues. The tyres may have been bald, the roads wet and potholed and one headlight not working at night, the cause will still be alcohol, same goes for speed and fatigue. If the plod investigating finds one of those three factors all others are ignored when we then see statisics.
FollowupID: 447009

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 18:34

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 18:34
Hey Batman!!
(I enjoyed saying that :-))

I couldn't be bothered chasing up numbers - but I would welcome anyone to come up with any quality research that refutes what I've said.

You are right though - MVAs are multifactorial - its almost never just a single cause. But I'll maintain that vehicle "roadworthiness" is well down the list of factors causing crashes. I'll also maintain that yearly inspections are poor use of money, which could be better spent elsewhere to reduce deaths and injury from crashes.
FollowupID: 447027

Follow Up By: Batman69 - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 20:06

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 20:06
Phil,

I am sure you're right, let's get a government/s that will spend the money on decent driver training and roads infrastructure, in an effort to reduce the road toll.

It shouldn't take an annual test to ensure cars are roadworthy. It's common sense and cheaper in the long run to properly maintain your vehicle.

But if I was drunk, speeding, roads were wet and it was dark then I'd prefer my car to be in tip-top condition......
FollowupID: 447039

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 22:17

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 22:17

Adelaide, my home town.

I can remember the chit heaps I use to drive around when I was young.

It makes me wonder how I survived.

Ah they were the good old days,$200 for an old FE that lasted 12 months. Hrdly any brakes, worn tyres and a girl at the drive-in, what more could I ask for?

Regards Bob
AnswerID: 189389

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 22:36

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 22:36
Hi Bob,
hehe
Looks like you evaded the police random inspections!!!
FollowupID: 446903

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 09:29

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 09:29
I had a mate in Canberra that drove a nasty little Austin 1800 ("Floats on Fluid") with hardly any brakes, ordinary tyres, bits missing and oil leaks everywhere. You turned on the heater fan by grabbing a hanging wire with an alligator clip on the end and clipping it to something metal on the dash.

Back then in the ACT you had to go over the pits every year and there were only two government sites in the city. Line ups of over 3 hours were not uncommon.

His car used to pass every year. His wife would pack their 3 toddlers into the back seat. Just as she came up to the pits she would get them screaming and sit there with tears leaking down her face and ask: "Please Sir, will this take long?"

Worked every year. I can remember one year our boss being peeved by this as he went through about 4 cars behind her in his brand new Commodore and was defected for something small.

Pete

AnswerID: 189434

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 15:48

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 15:48
Kids are great tools to have in situations sometimes.

When we redid our bathroom, we were wandering round our local Harvey Norman, and no sales people to help us.

So, to our 3 and 5 year old, we said it is time for a game of hide and seek...ready....GO!

As they ran around the store shreiking, we had 3 people quickly come over to us....lol.... we got a pretty good deal in the end. And when we had a problem 12 months later, they remembered us!

Kids are great in car yards as well - buy them an ice-cream, them wander over near the expensive cars. Any information you want, you will get ASAP.
FollowupID: 447005

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 07:35

Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 07:35
ROFLMAO!

Mine are too old for that now, but wont get married, move out and have some grandkids we could borrow.

I wonder if there is somewhere you can rent them by the hour?

Pete
FollowupID: 447073