GPS Camera / Black spot warning thingies . I need info on which to buy .

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 14:07
ThreadID: 36927 Views:2830 Replies:14 FollowUps:31
Hi all ,

After going through a 40 kph school zone last week at 55 kph and seeing a blinding flash ( ticket not yet posted ) I would like to buy one of those gadgets with the GPS in them , which warns you of school zones , radar cameras and dangerous bits of road .

Can anybody suggest a reasonably priced one which works well , and tell me if they bought it on the internet of from a shop .

Thanks a lot ,

Willie .

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 14:27

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 14:27
i do know of a cheaper option, though i don't think you want to hear that as an answer ;-)

AnswerID: 189886

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:26

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:26
Who is Alf ? I must have more information before I can give him my vote .
FollowupID: 447364

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:32

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:32
A little fury creature who made me laugh 15 years ago.........wait, that sounds like some pollies we all know :-)

FollowupID: 447428

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:18

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:18
I used to watch ALF [Alien Life Form] on TV

FollowupID: 447450

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:25

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:25
IIRC, stickers came out at the same time that "Joh for PM" (sir joh bjelke-petersen) was plastered on the rear bumpers of heaps of Qld vehicles.

FollowupID: 447455

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 14:55

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 14:55
Road Angel Evo
AnswerID: 189888

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:26

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:26
Thanks Blue .
Willie .
FollowupID: 447365

Follow Up By: Zapper - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:23

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:23
Blue

have you used one of the EVO units??
FollowupID: 447639

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:39

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:39
Zapper,
no I don't but my supervisor got one installed in his new lease car... He lives out my way(Ferntree Gully/Rowville area) and reckons it's spot-on accurate so far.
FollowupID: 447683

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:09

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:09
Willie, been flashing again eh ? Tut tut. :))))))
AnswerID: 189891

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:27

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:27
If I flashed , people would laugh . Sob .
Willie .
FollowupID: 447366

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:39

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:39
Willie, years ago girls would slap my face if I made "lewd suggestions". Sometimes they'd do it just for practise anyway !
These days they just laugh
*sob sob*
:))))))))))
FollowupID: 447372

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:47

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:47
Just get all the maps and download the data Willie
AnswerID: 189894

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:53

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:53
Hi John ,

It's no use knowing where they are - I just forget about them . I need an alarm to go off to make me take notice .

Some of these school zones are in 80 kph zones and when your driving in three lanes of traffic in peak hour , it's easy to miss a 40 kph SCHOOL ZONE sign . I need " beep beep beep ".

Willie
FollowupID: 447377

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 17:39

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 17:39
Even when the cars in front of you are slowing down???

FollowupID: 447721

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 17:44

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 17:44
What about when there is no cars in front of you ???

HooRoo !
FollowupID: 447723

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 16:02

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 16:02
I just had a look at the Road Angel and it looks a bit weird but seems to have all the stuff I need . Is there any other "thingies" on the market .( what the hell is the correct name for this type of "thingie" ?)
Willie .
AnswerID: 189895

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:29

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:29
Willem I found just the right deal for you at NRMA with good photo of it and prices

Site Link

FollowupID: 447460

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:37

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:37
$249 seems good value.

Uniden make one too that's a lot chepaer than the Road Angel.
FollowupID: 447472

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:43

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:43
Mike R
You got that right, have a look at the price on this link, I like the all the features too

Site Link

Road safety locations & coverage
School safety zones to warn you to slow down during school times on school days.
Accident black spot areas to alert you of State Authorities, Motoring Clubs and Insurance Company crash areas.
Traffic safety cameras, national coverage of:
speed safety cameras;
red light safety cameras;
dual (red light and speed) safety cameras;
point to point (average area) speed safety cameras;
bus lane safety cameras;
mobile camera areas announced daily by WA, SA, NT and ACT government authorities.
Country towns on major highways at town entry locations where the speed limits change from highway to urban speeds.
Railway crossings alerts you as you approach to be aware of these dangerous areas.

FollowupID: 447480

Reply By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 16:15

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 16:15
Simple cure, don't drive in the big smoke, you should be away travelling.
AnswerID: 189897

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 17:31

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 17:31
One of my gripes with the present signage is that
a) you have to know if it's a school day..if its not and you slow down then you have a car embedded in your rear
b) you have to wear a watch and look at it when you become aware of the zone...and I'd suggest that it's distracting from watching the road.

Why not just have some portable flashing lights that operate at appropriate times ?
Why is the onus always on the motorist instead of the authorities ?
AnswerID: 189901

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 17:44

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 17:44
Peter two

The country situation is know better.

Wife and I, up until a week ago had to go through 3 speed cameras, 3 school zones and 11 speed zone (excluding road works) every day.

Now that has been reduced by one school zone, one camera and two speed zones.
We moved our business half hour closer to home.

Regards Bob
FollowupID: 447401

Follow Up By: Fusion - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 17:58

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 17:58
School down the road from us (on the Gold Coast) and a couple of others I've seen now have this & it's great.

ie a 40 sign as usual, but it's got bright LED (or similar) lights around the red circle which flash at the appropriate times.

Makes it easy to know when it's a 40 zone. I'm not sure if they're programmed to not flash on school holidays etc, I'll have to check it out.

So good idea Footloose ;)

Aaron.
FollowupID: 447403

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:22

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:22
Flashing lights being trialled in NSW at the moment. RTA preferred option around $30k+ per school. Privateer's option less than $1k per school. Guess which one will get the nod :))))))))))))))))))))))))))))
FollowupID: 447452

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:34

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:34
"Why is the onus always on the motorist instead of the authorities ? "

- The authorties make the rules

- The authorities have to raise revenue for bankrupt governments.
FollowupID: 447469

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:42

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:42
Mike, thanks for bringing me back to earth. Couple of points

- Yes the authorities make the rules; doesn't mean we shouldn't question them and ask if they are the best rules.

-30k ! Now if I couldn't supply portable flashing lights on a timer for less than 30K per school I'd suggest that I wouldn't be trying.
What's a child's life worth ?
I wonder what the cost of defending a court case would be for the appropriate authorities if some poor parent or motorist claimed that the signage was inadequate ??
FollowupID: 447478

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:58

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:58
Footie,

Cost is'nt the major concern per se with the RTA's preferred option. More so the length of time it will take them/their preferred supplier to install them throughout the State. The privateer's solution could be rolled out in a far shorter timeframe for an identical benefit.

The question regarding possible litigation would apply to both pretty well equally.
FollowupID: 447491

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:11

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:11
Gramps, thanks for that. My experience with the NSW Govt is that their "preferred suppliers" are sometimes friends of a friends friend. Having seen waste and backhanders at close range in one of their big Govt dpts, I have little faith.

Yes, I'd guess the litigation would. I wonder if you can "sue the Crown" these days ?
FollowupID: 447497

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:19

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:19
Hahahaha the "friends of a friends friend" question has been raised.

It seemed quite coincidental that the RTA have been studying a solution for around three years with no indication as to when they would make a decision. As soon as a privateer comes up with one they suddenly announce they have a solution albeit at a significantly greater cost LOL Maybe they've been bickering over who gets what slice of the pie :)))))))))))))))))))))
FollowupID: 447503

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:26

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:26
Al, sadly I used to work for another Dpt there, so I saw a few things during my time. The only thing that NSW has over Qld , is a bigger carpet to sweep things under.
Not that it's necessarily true in this case, but if it looks like an elephant, sounds like one and smells like one ................
FollowupID: 447509

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:33

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:33
LOL I had a similar experience working on an IT Tender many years ago. The things that were done and the way a large external audit firm was simply brushed aside was amazing.
FollowupID: 447516

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:46

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:46
"- Yes the authorities make the rules; doesn't mean we shouldn't question them and ask if they are the best rules. "

Now, now Footloose. That's a blatant example of thinking we still live in a "Democracy" - you should expect a knock on the door before morning from the "Dangerous Thinking" Squad.
FollowupID: 447522

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:52

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:52
Mike, the way things are going ...hang on ...I see a big black chopper outside !
:))))))
FollowupID: 447526

Reply By: Old Scalyback & denny - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 18:55

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 18:55
goodday willie
i run voxson voxtrack it talks in a female voice my wife calls it my girlfriend but she tells me about most speed cameras .speed zones (although i must update as some of her spped limits vary trying to keep up to the speed limit changes)i type in addresses and she talks me into where to go
you can check it out at voxson site and i bought it from tvsn (foxtel or www.tvsn.com.au)with easy payments

AnswerID: 189917

Reply By: brian - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:04

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:04
Anyone tried the clear plastic covers that you put over your numberplates and then your plates can not be successfully photographed ?????????????
AnswerID: 189919

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:58

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:58
Yep. A mate of mine copped a huge fine ($1500 I think) when he was eventually caught but he said he was sure he got away with a few more in the meantime. They were on his blackbird 1100 when he had it (never could work that out as it was a midnight blue bike called a blackbird????). He got them out of a magazine somewhere and sent away for them.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 447438

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:08

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:08
Willie,

I had someone email me a waypoint file you can load into OziExplorer of all fixed cameras in NSW and VIC. Is about 1month ago but I don't know how old the file is. If you want it, as I got it free, I will sell it cheap LOL. Give me an MM with your email and I will send it through if that is any help. I think you can attach sound files to waypoints in Ozi but I haven't worked that bit out yet, you may know more about it than me anyway.

Cheers, Trevor.
AnswerID: 189920

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:15

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:15
Trevor ,
Thanks for your kind offer but I do not have OziExplorer in my car yet and it is still a way off . I only have it in this laptop at home .
Willie .
FollowupID: 447673

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 21:19

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 21:19
Actually for anybody interested in that waypoint file for all fixed speed camera locations, I have noticed Shawsie (who "lent" it to me) has put it up on the Members file swap area of this site.
Hope it helps some of you.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 447773

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:15

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:15
Hiya Willem ol mate
I got one of these Uniden GPS301 and it works ok but there is a better one out now that has school zones in it as well ,cant remember the brand ,sounds like EVO i think but check these out

Site Link

Site Link

I'll do a bit of research and get back to you

Doug

AnswerID: 189937

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 12:14

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 12:14
Doug ,
Willems the large one with the beard - I am a squirrel with an S on my shirt .
Thanks for the info ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 447650

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:21

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:21
Yep Member Blue has it Willem, thats the one I want next time, it has school zones where as the GPS301 does not

AnswerID: 189940

Reply By: Robin - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:33

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:33
We have a road angel navigator, "given it for free" after a mate was given
a new type "Tom Tom" cause navigator had so many software bugs
and a lot of help was provided to developers to help sort them out.

Tom Tom still has some of the bugs.

Couldn't be bothered with it myself, definately not a tool
of help in the bush, and couldn't really enter a Lat/long waypoint.

Found it again other day and put it in wife's car for fun, she
finds its rather cute. And while there are a number of bugs
it does provide some useful help about school crossings etc.
For some it can provide a comforting level of background information,
giving various speed railway crossing and other warnings.

The voice does cute things like change from female to male with more
serious warnings. Easy to install but screens wash out in sunlight.

Some get concerned about them being solen by breaking widescreen
and apparently it is quite common to take them out of holder
when parking in some places. This is easy to do.

They do need to be upgraded with latest data though particularly
in new suburbs.

AnswerID: 189994

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:17

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:17
I have looked at all the models suggested here and I think I will go with the Road Angel because of price and updates .

Thanks everyone for helping .

Cheers ,

Willie
AnswerID: 190042