Budget camper trailer dealers

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:23
ThreadID: 37009 Views:6503 Replies:9 FollowUps:22
Can anyone point me towards a Camper trailer dealer in Eastern Melboune that would offer the following basic spec.
Light off road 7x4 trailer.
Swing out tailgate.
Awning and 2 side walls included.
Add on room to the side.
Side lift access to the trailer.

I would like to acheive this for under $7K so will consider used or display models. I have been to Outback, Tru Blu and Walkabout and their products are fine but for my spec may be a bit expensive. Quality campers couldnt offer what I need. I also plan to visit Tambo, O'Briens and TrailerMade this weekend. I would love to know of any others.

Reply By: Flying Sahara - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:35

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:35
You could also look at Dingo Campers in Dandenong
There around $7000
AnswerID: 190359

Reply By: mfewster - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:42

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:42
I would be careful of Dingo. Unless their design/manufacture has changed, one of the ways they kept price down was to turn the canvas under the wooden base, then just staple the canvas to the base. If you ever need repairs done to the canvas it is a nightmare to remove the canvas from the base so that sewing maqchines can get in. Many canvas workers refuse to touch Dingo products. That said, you do get a lot of space for the $. Bit more difficult than most to put up than most- really requires two people (unless the design has significantly changed.)
AnswerID: 190378

Follow Up By: Muskrat - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 22:21

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 22:21
Thanks. I was going to look at Dingo but a mate is looking for the same spec but in on-road and they apparently will not consider the detachable room off the side. The would mean a visit to a canvas place and more expense.
FollowupID: 448053

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:46

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:46
Hi there Muskrat, try www.libertycampers.com.au I just got myn from there delivered to my door for $6600 with treg coupling and full annexe with floor. 9 foot. Trailer is 7x4 with 3 jerry can holders, 2 gas bottle holders and all new tyres with brand new spare as well on sunraysha steel wheels.Swing out rear gate. I have some photos I can email you if you like. The web site will tell you a fair bit but only 1 or 2 photos Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 190379

Follow Up By: Muskrat - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 22:31

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 22:31
They seem OK so I just need to find a place I can go and look at one I suppose. How is is for weight? I ask because I noticed that the basic Tru Blu (vulture) came in at 550K. With the brake limit at 750K, it doesnt seem like a lot for our gear at 200K.
I dont know if I am over cautious but I have done the trip around Australia with 4x4 and tent so I know how much you end up hauling. That was before kids.
FollowupID: 448057

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 10:38

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 10:38
Muskrat, I doubt you'll get anything under the 500-550kg mark, unless you're buying a very sub-standard trailer to carry your tent around... Opt for the brakes to suite the heavier load and have confidence the trailer will last the journey... My Tambo comes in at 530kg before we pack the spare bedroom, 40L water 40L fuel and about 5 ton of kids stuff...
FollowupID: 448123

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 10:47

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 10:47
Muskrat, you could get away with somewhere around $7k with the Tambo Burra

A price list for the camper and accessories is on this page...
FollowupID: 448126

Follow Up By: Muskrat - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 10:56

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 10:56
Blue, I didnt realise that Tambo did the spare room so thats good info. Unless you added that at a later date? Will definately give them a visit anyway. Thanks.
FollowupID: 448129

Follow Up By: Allan3198 - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 15:34

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 15:34
Muskrat

There's some good info coming through. The liberty link shows a camper tent that I am sure is one of the imported ones from China. I think Primus bring them in. I saw a Primus camper top at a recent show and I know why they are cheap.

I reckon Tambo (Melb), O'Briens (Melb but expensive) and Advernture (SA) are the ones I can see have a great deal of though put into them.

Al
FollowupID: 448185

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 17:00

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 17:00
Muskrat,
got the spare bedroom with the final package. If you go this route but want to pick up the bedroom later, make sure you tell them as modifications to the main tent area must be made during initial construction to accept the bedroom even if you don't want it yet ...

We have the cooper but at the time budget allowed... The burra is a steel plate floor whereas the cooper is chequer plate and the tent size of the burra is a little smaller... Go and visit Keith and Amanda at their factory off Lewis Rd in Wantirna Sth... 2 nicer people you'll probably never meet. They have even taken the time to help me out with canvas repairs to equipment other than the camper(in fact the camper has required no attention since we got it nearly 2 years ago, as one would expect...) and at an exceptional price.

Where Mr Dingo took great delight in picking faults and name calling with his competition, Tambo simply took the time to show every aspect of their system and suggested we should have a good look around to make certain we were making the right choice.
FollowupID: 448206

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 18:30

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 18:30
Allan3198,they have nothing to do with primus and are NOT imported from china, primus might be bringing in cheap canvas but can assure you Liberty are not, they are Australian made, I did a lot of research prior to handing over my cash. People should check first before making statements that could put bad word of mouth around about a company.This company sells a bleep load of these campers and dont even have to show up at camping and caravan shows to try and sell you bull bleep . Our friends have had there's for 2 years so far and have had no trouble with the canvas or any of the stiching or water leaks or the trailer for that matter not like some of the top name brands that I have read on this forum. Steve M
FollowupID: 448222

Follow Up By: SA_Patrol - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:07

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:07
When Liberty first came to Australia it was made in China , the quality was very poor, but I have heard the canvas work is made in Australia. You could buy the Camper trailer which tests a big range of them.
There are some cheaper brands what did use 8 oz or less in the roof area.
FollowupID: 448230

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:51

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:51
Hi there SA_Patrol, that is correct but they now use 12 or 14oz, I forget now, but is now made in Australia. Anyway time will tell on the quality of the canvas and hopefully I get a good run out of it, I showed the trailer specs to a mate of myn at work and he thought going by them the trailer is quit solid,(he's a top grade welder if that what you would call him does stainless the lot and has so for the last 20 years so I am taking his word for it) so same again time and roads will tell how the build quality will really be. Either way when stopped for an extended period of time I will put a tarp over the top mainly to stop bird droppings from getting on the canvas, from what I read and heard it is hard to get off either quality of canvas. Havnt had it in the rain yet so will see if any leaks occur. I believe I am suppose to wet down a couple of times first and then let dry out prior to sleeping in it in the rain so that the stiching pulls tight ??? dont know wether thats true or not but will try it anyway.Is there any body that could confirm 100% that the canvas is made in Australia, I was only going by what I have read and by bits of info I have contained from here and there and also by the dealer them selves (yeah well) and from my mate but he forgets now where he got his info from that was over 2 years ago now. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 448243

Follow Up By: Muskrat - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 22:07

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 22:07
I agree with Allan3198, there is a lot of good info coming through so thanks for everyones input. I spoke to Liberty today and while I might consider one without the extra room, I cant actually get a stand up close look at one and I aint buying someting I have not seen. The guy I spoke to answered all my questions and it seems he has a great product but I cant buy blind. Seems like Tambo may be added to my short list if it looks like we can work out a deal. The good news is that there is a 4X4 and fishing expo on in Drouin this weekend and I know at least 3 manufacturers are turning up. Hoping for a show special!
FollowupID: 448270

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 22:25

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 22:25
Just for the record Muskrat, Tambo have their models set up in the factory so you can crawl in,out, under and over them before purchase...
FollowupID: 448280

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 22:25

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 22:25
Hi there Muskrat, yeah would have been either Bill or Morrie, as said can send you pics if you like, I didnt buy blind I was lucky my mate has one so could see the product first hand. Either way your gut feeling and the info you get will lead you to the one you want. Good luck with it all and hope which ever one you buy will do you good for years to come. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 448281

Follow Up By: Allan3198 - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:57

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:57

Wasn't going to bother responding to your follow up 7 above given the tone. It seems someone (not from Liberty) has clarified in a professional manner. Thanks SA Patrol.

So much for your research.

Al
FollowupID: 448429

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 18:07

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 18:07
Hi there Allen3198, I owe you a huge apology from my above comments towards you, After your last reply I did some more searching today and have found out 100% that their canvas in INDEED from CHINA not made here in Australia, I have since been in touch with Liberty due to them Lying to me and I am following up further. Not that I can see any faults with mine or my mates but the fact that I was lied to by them and other people who are obviously linked with Liberty. I dont know about primus I didnt get around to finding that out Im not concerned about that as I am more bleep off that I was lied to, and believe me I took months making my mind up which camper to get. Obviously only time will tell on the quality. I am taking some of the canvas from the annexe wall to a place tomorrow to determine the oz. They also told me the canvas all round roof, walls, etc are 14.02oz canvas if not I will be going at them even harder. So once again I sincerly apologize for my mouthing off at you in regards to some thing that you are totally write about. And yes I should also do more research myself before mouthing off at some body and putting them down especially when it is open for a huge amount of people to read. For anybody else that is also reading this Allen's knowledge is correct, so much for me ill informed research. Sincerly Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 448464

Follow Up By: Allan3198 - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 18:58

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 18:58

No worries apology accepted. Hope it stands up to the elements, although I'm a little dubious.

All the best.

Al
FollowupID: 448483

Reply By: JJ - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 22:56

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 22:56
There's a couple to choose from on this site:

Site Link

(hope it works)

AnswerID: 190428

Reply By: Robbg - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 23:14

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 23:14
Muskrat, I know you're trying to keep it cheap, but I'd advise you to get brakes fitted to any trailer that will be close to the 750kgs (fully loaded) even if you can keep it under that limit. I've been very glad of the electric brakes on my Tambo on several occasions. Rob.
AnswerID: 190432

Follow Up By: Muskrat - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 10:52

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 10:52
Rob, yeah, brakes have been a concern. Even if the trailer is light its not hard to get a serious load in it.
FollowupID: 448127

Reply By: Hayjude - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:56

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:56
Check out Cavalier Campers. there is an outlet in Melbourne now. TJM Products at 166 Princes Highway Dandenong. We purchased our off road camper new 18 months ago and have had no trouble at all. We opted for extras - 14' annexe, 1/2 annexe over swing out kitchen in tailgate, stone guard, Haven't been happier. We intend to travel full time in a few years and we have everything we need. Have been to Birdsville, Windorah, Tilpa on a 2 week trip as well as weekend trips to the river whenever we can. Price very reasonable. Plenty of room, king size bed, easily assembled before you can drink your first stubby. Easily packed away as well.
AnswerID: 190484

Follow Up By: Muskrat - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 11:21

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 11:21
Hayjude, thats not far from me. I will check them out. Thx.
FollowupID: 448134

Reply By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 16:07

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 16:07
Consider second hand through the trading post or even ebay. Dealers need to make profit out of sales and bump up the price accordingly.

I bought a s/hand Cameron heavy duty off road in immaculate condition for 6k through the trader. I'm currently in the process of modifying it to the way i want it. Minor modifications that aren't hard to do but saving a lot from new or dealer prices.

I saw many s/hand cavaliers in good nick for sale in SA when i was looking around (don't know about availability in Melbourne though).

Barnesy
AnswerID: 190542

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 16:10

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 16:10
Sar major is a quality Adelaide built budget trailer that i think has distributers in Melb.
FollowupID: 448198

Reply By: Kev M - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 19:57

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 19:57
Hi Muskrat,
Have a check of the trader, I've been watching it with some interest as I'm chasing one with a simliar price range. Melbourne is a bit to far to travel to for me but what was placed in the trader seems to fit most of your requirements. If I had the time I'd go down to mexicio and check it out. For $8k seems to fit my requirement maybe you could check it out even if it was only for a heads up to what you want.

And yes I don't have any connection with him
AnswerID: 190584

Follow Up By: Muskrat - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 22:00

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 22:00
Kev, I have been watching the trader but so far the difficult part with seond habd is the spare room. I have not seen any of that nature. I would be happy if I could find a deal with of the known campers that has the prep done for a room and build on it from there with the manufacturer. So far none that fit the bill.
FollowupID: 448266

Follow Up By: Muskrat - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 12:08

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 12:08
Did manage to find a used Outback with the room on and a toolbox at a caravan dealer but they would not go below 6K. A new one without options is only $5700 so we dicided to go new with warranty.
After a lot of looking around our No.1 was Tambo but they couldnt guarantee getting one ready for us in time and I had better bargaining powere elsewhere. Basically, a mate wanted an on-road camper as well and we negotiated what we wanted with everything on at Tru Blu and only a bit over budget.. Should have it in a month.
FollowupID: 450485

Reply By: hostia - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 22:05

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 22:05
Ozzie campers is in Langwarrin Sth Im a good friend of the owner and he said he could help you to stick to your price bracket. They are the suppliers of Quality campers australian made product and the original supplier to TruBlue. They custom make campers to suit your needs and budget so I'm sure you'll be happy with them. Check them out at www.ozziecampers.com or give graeme a call on 0404606473. On the website is a basic price list but as I said they will customize the camper top to suit ur budget.
Hope this was a help,
AnswerID: 192828

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 22:11

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 22:11
Tru blue are building or opening a new place on boundary road near taht CD Supermarket place. Passed it today.. think thats the name of em... they had campers out the front
FollowupID: 450661