Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 23:21
Member - Duncan W (WA)
We were recently en-route to Barramundi Falls in
Kakadu when we were forced to stop because a Ford Explorer was stuck in the middle of the
creek. Cars were banking up on both sides of the
creek and this poor bugger is stuck,
water flowing through his doors, exhaust blowing bubbles, and everybody stood around watching. Turns out nobody's got any recovery gear except me. So I wade in and ask where his Reese Hitch bar pin is.
Well after a long search they find it so I hook my strap into the hitch female housing. A front end loader turns up so we end up using the loader to pull the guy out. Doesn't sound to bad so far and no doubt some of you are feeling a little bit sorry for this poor bugger who's got a wet car, but wait there's more.
The loader driver asks this
young bloke (yep he was European), whether the Exploder was a 4wd?
Young bloke says
well it's an automatic and has this button that says high and low, does that make it a 4 wd. Stuff me he didn't even know he had a 4bee let alone how to drive it.
If I'd of know the damn thing wasn't even in the appropriate gear I'd of got in and driven the damn thing out myself.
Anyway they turned around and drove out without seeing the falls. Really makes you shake your head. No wonder these poor naive buggers SOMETIMES end up on a morticians slab.
Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 23:41
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 23:41
I know it's a serious topic, but I've seen it happen so many times that I couldn't help smiling and thinking yep, been there, seen that :)))
Imagine the same party wandering across the Simpson or
Gary Junction Road. How many 4wd rentals have an epirb or even the tyre changing instructions in several different languages I wonder ?
Dream on, Footy !
Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 06:37
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 06:37
I have recently been doing a troll through 4wd hire web sites and have found an incredible similar "Conditions of Hire" document on nearly all of the home pages. They are almost identical in the wording and require written permission of the hire company to travel to the Simpson, Canning and many other listed
places / tracks so just maybe the 4wd hire people are beginning to learn - or is it that their insurance companies are forceing them !
Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 07:40
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 07:40
Can't help but agree with you there.
I've had three occasions with 75 series campers bogged, stuck etc where they knew it was 4wd but not how to engage front hubs.
On another note, I do think advertising particulary TV ads are a big part of the problem. If you watch those things long enough you'll become convinced that your shiny new you beaut 4wd will go anywhere anytime.
So off they go only to find that the ad only told half the story and that you had to have some skill as
well.
Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:59
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:59
Hope they weren't in 4wd without engaging the hubs :-)
Reply By: ev700 - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 07:55
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 07:55
RV advertisements give people the wrong idea.
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 08:14
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 08:14
hear hear ... hear that Chrysler Jeep?
Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:02
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:02
Does ANY advertisement nowadays give a true representation of the product being advertised ?
If so, I'm going out to buy some lynx under arm spray !!
Avagoodn
Pezza
Follow Up By: chump_boy - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:17
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:17
I always laugh at thos anti-dandruf shampoo ads. Notice there is always one spec of dandruf left? Why do you rekon that is? I'd be thinking it is so that when/if the product doesn't work, they can say "look, we never said it would remove all the dandruf!"
It does seem 4WD ads are the worst offenders though - no disclaimers or anything, just hit what ever you want as fast as you want, and she'll be right.
Follow Up By: ellmcg - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:32
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:32
You'd better watch out with that Lynx deodorant. It may be a little exagerated in the ads, but it sure does something for me!
Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 11:31
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 11:31
That Landcruiser add gets me going, get bitten by a snake but the cruiser will get you there, you maybe dead and have run over 15 people on the way but hey who cares it's the car that counts.
Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:15
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:15
Driving out to
Jim Jim Falls, the plain 80 Series in front of us (presumably a hire vehicle) kept on stopping if there was even a puddle on the very dry track, drove through the
water, stopped, then drove off again.
I can only assume he was stopping to change to lock the centre diff, drive through the puddle, disengage centre diff, drive off again !
Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:58
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:58
Probably was Mike! When I upgraded from my 40 Series to the 80 I too used to stop before engagin the Centre Diff Lock. That's the way you had to do it in the 40! haha! Stop, shift, go, stop, shift, go etc! Another mate with an 80 soon educated me that you could engage it "on the fly"! Felt funny doing it for a while but! haha! Funny how we learn some stuff eh! ;-)
Scoey!
Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 17:29
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 17:29
I'm waiting to see on the news: " man build giant see-saw and plummets to his death"
But, but, but it has driver assist...LOL