Foul mouthed kids in public areas!.

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:34
ThreadID: 37043 Views:3449 Replies:19 FollowUps:42
Hi.

I'm not a prude, But its a bit disturbing when your in a public vicinity eg. shopping centre, park, etc, with family and have to listen to every four letter word createdi in history, by juvenile morons out there trying to prove something.(What i don't know) I think respect is a thing that must have a different meaning these days. I know damn well in my younger days what a size ten boot up the cyber !! was like, respect was a natural thing to learn at one time, But now?? it dosen't seem to exist any more.

Reply By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:39

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:39
The times, they are changing.

With apologies to Bob Dylan.
AnswerID: 190601

Follow Up By: Old Scalyback & denny - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:51

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:51
goodday jimbo
tried to ring mobile before but no answer left message with both ph # s if you are still interest about van

FollowupID: 448244

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:46

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:46
The times are not changing as much as we would like to believe.

As disturbing as it is, bad language was not invented by todays young generation, and the older generation compaining about it, is nothing new either.

R.
FollowupID: 448318

Follow Up By: ChunkyCharcoal - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:53

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 14:53
You must remember that "your" generation created the atmosphere that "this" generation live in....

Who is to blame?
FollowupID: 448405

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 09:28

Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 09:28
robak you are right and wrong, in the plden days bad language was a schoolyard, pub out and about in it phenomenon, not something at home, the shopping mall or elsewhere it is now.

I recall the early days of CB radio, bad language was a rare thing, today, as soon as I have someone else in the car and am near a town like Melb or Adelaide I turn it off the common channels or turn it off its full of $#@! and *&@#. Sad really

FollowupID: 448798

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 12:32

Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 12:32
Yeah. It's a strange thing the evolution of situational language...

I'm as guilty as the next person, I mean I swear my head of - alot. Many years of working in "blokey" environments has helped form a nasty potty mouth on me. But I use that kind of language around the house, so does my wife (not to the same extent).

I think back to my grandparents and can't imagine them EVER saying some of the words that just come out of my mouth in normal conversation. I guess as the words become more accepted by people, the situations where they are used increase.

It does make me look twice and the CB is just rediculous on local repeaters, but really they are just words. They have a meaning like any other word, most of which are completly harmless. It is only our interpretation of the intent of that word that makes us offended by it.

If I were to YELL "YOU F$&^WIT!" at you you'd be quite upset or angry, but if I were at the pub and my best mate tripped over his shoelaces and I laughed while calling my him the same thing it'd have a completly different effect. I guess teenagers have a different interpretation of the word in the context in which they are using it to you or I....

I guess the other way of looking at it is like this: My grandfather would have probally at one time told one of his mates that they had a gay time last night at the B&B. If a kid today was to say that, he'd probally get beaten up! (to steal a seinfield line, "not that there's anything wrong with that!").

I guess like high fuel prices, times are a changen and we just have to get used to it.
FollowupID: 448835

Reply By: Pavo - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:55

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:55
"I'm not a prude, But its a bit disturbing when..."

Everyone's got their own definition of what's appropriate and what isn't. Swearing doesn't really bother me for instance, but someone on a train (I commute daily to work) with their headphones really loud annoys the hell out of me.

Each to their own I suppose.

AnswerID: 190609

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 08:42

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 08:42
iPod/MP3 players with their headphone/earpieces up loud in confined spaces really gets my goat too. Rude and inconsiderate. It's just a dog-eat-dog world now - you don't have to think of anyone else. Interesting thing is that if you do something THEY consider rude to THEM they WILL let you know. Incredible, insn't it?
FollowupID: 448311

Follow Up By: Pavo - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 10:23

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 10:23
Yep. All you hear out of the headphones is noise. That noise bouncing off my eardrums is no different to some person sitting there tapping me on the shoulder for the whole journey. Not painful, but really annoying!
FollowupID: 448329

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 21:31

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 21:31
Cracked up last night watching Spics adn Specs on the ABC, part of the quiz was picking songs that a young bloke was playing (too loud) on his ipod. It was done very well, and the young bloke (Hamish was his name I think) played the part brilliantly.

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 448514

Follow Up By: Pavo - Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 16:18

Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 16:18
Pity I missed it. I forgot it was on and I was trying to remember what I was doing to miss it - then I noticed my original reply to this thread was on Aug 23 at 20:55...right on Spick and Specks time.
FollowupID: 448674

Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:55

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 20:55
Axle, I'm with you. Many of these kids have been let run riot at home for a long time. The parents feel that they have no rights, and the kids feel that they have all the rights. Another factor can be single parents who treat their kids as their best mates instead of behaving as a parent. That often comes back to bite them on the rear when the kids hit puberty. It's not uncommon for me to see young kids telling mum what to buy, without prompting, at the supermarket.
Hence they have no idea of how to behave in public. And as long as we say well just too bad, it won't change.
And it's not just oldies like me that wince. My 25yo son is a boilermaker, an ex muzo and no prude. But even he complains about the public behaviour and language of children hardly old enough to shave.
AnswerID: 190610

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 21:02

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 21:02
Kids need toparents have boundaries and that's too much hassle for many parents. My dad set boundaries by telling us that if we used that word again he'd beat the living daylights out of us. He never did, but we knew what we couldn't say :))
FollowupID: 448249

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 21:03

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 21:03
F'loosie, I reckon a lot of it has been imported too with some of the films and TV shows. A mate went through Glasgow about 10 years ago commented at the time about kids and the 'F' word in the streets being common. I guess we all laugh at Billy Connolly but a bit of the heritage of his too.

Personal values as you say mean a lot, especially when they are lacking.
FollowupID: 448250

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 21:05

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 21:05
Dead right mate!!, And it does makes you wonder what really is happening with parental guidence at the younger age now?.
FollowupID: 448251

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 21:09

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 21:09
Yes John, I agree. I pulled some kids up for excessive swearing in public once and the kid apologised and said that they hadn't realized that they were upsetting anyone. I guess he came from a good background; these days I'd probably get assaulted by the parents if I said anything.
My parents used to tell us that just because someone else spoke/behaved like that didn't mean that we had to.
FollowupID: 448254

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 21:20

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 21:20
Footloose . I think peer pressure is a greater problem now as well,

Lets Just do it . .
FollowupID: 448258

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 21:29

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 21:29
Axle, sure is. Taken from the Sydney Morning Herald today;
"Magazines for teenagers have convinced their 12- and 13-year-old audience that they have to rip the hair from their nether regions before it's even fully appeared. Some states in the US now require parental consent before any hot wax is applied on or near the genitalia."
Once again that's just plain WRONG.
FollowupID: 448259

Follow Up By: macca172 - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 06:53

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 06:53
Zero tolerance.
FollowupID: 448300

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 07:53

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 07:53
F'loosie, not sure which is the most wrong, having magazine articles about it, the waxing, or States in the US requiring parental consent.

Oh, was it the SMH reporting it? Some cases it may be better to get it hotter. Trucky used to talk about control of the gene pool. Haven't seen that comment of late.
FollowupID: 448307

Follow Up By: scoof - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 11:38

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 11:38
I was in the supermarket the other night, a young parent with a 3 - 4 year old girl She (parent) spoke to that dear little girl like I wouldn't speak to a Dog.

Couldn't believe my ear's and I thought I had heard it all.
So if a dear little girl say 4 year old is spoken to in that manner what hope has she got.

Regards Scoof
FollowupID: 448352

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 11:49

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 11:49
Scoof:

Yep, seen it far, far too often as well. Makes me want to weep.

We cannot expect our children to respect others if we do not respect our children.

FollowupID: 448353

Follow Up By: scoof - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 12:53

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 12:53
Mate it was like she couldn't be bothered with the little child.

Some people would give their right arm to have a little child.
Some shouldn't breed .

Scoof

FollowupID: 448371

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 10:53

Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 10:53
The mother of that dear little girl is probably frrom the older segment of the foul-mouthed generation we are discussing here.
This is where the lack of common respect for their peers and anyone else leads....

Then there are those who see their kids as a means of govt income...via my taxes... grrrrr.

I am proud to say that feedback from places that my children have gone to, have usually been positive. It takes a lot of effort to raise good kids into good adults. they will be 18 and 15 in November. My work is nearly done...:)
FollowupID: 448821

Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 21:12

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 21:12
Of course our Govts must also shoulder some of the blame. Try telling your 14yo daughter what to do and in a blink she can be housed elsewhere with an allowance from the Govt. And that's just plain WRONG.
AnswerID: 190611

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 09:32

Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 09:32
Ahh Footie the Govt must always shoulder blame what a load of piffle, they have zero control about things such as an urchin bad mouthing in the supermarket.

FollowupID: 448800

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 10:15

Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 10:15
Bonz, I have to disagree.
It's a culture thing not an individual kid . If Govt policy removes parental control then yes, they have to shoulder some of the blame. Ask any teacher or welfare worker. Piffle indeed !
FollowupID: 448812

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 10:37

Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 10:37
I dont think govt policy removes parental control, it never changed the way I brought up my children and they are hardly foul mouthed urchins. Parents never have control "taken" away from them, they give it away, and the balance of control quickly moves to the kids. Take that glimmer of control and add a sliver of counsellor rights knowledge and you have the beginnings of delinquency.

Its not the govt policy I reckon, its surely cultural, but the people drive the culture I think not the govt, unless you are talking at a very high level, after all we all didnt pork Juni Morosi did we?

FollowupID: 448816

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 11:04

Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 11:04
Yes but they are your kids. My kids are exactly the same, even though they are now grown up, people tell me what wonderful people they are and how I must be proud of them etc.
However we aren't representative of the population. Sadly.
Kids learn from their peers that they have rights given to them by Australias' signing of the UN charter. These rights apparently include being able to complain to a Govt agency of social security. One unsubstantiated complaint can often result in the removal of the child from the home. The net result is a living allowance and unsupervised kids doing their own thing. In effect the Govt has divorced these kids from their parents.
One recent publication of a housing refuge organisation suggested that they had dealt with 68000 homeless kids.
As a group I'd suggest that they are probably over represented in the courts as they get a bit older.
Another are where the Govt must shoulder some of the blame is the crass commercialization of childhood. Deregulation of media IS a Govt responsibility.
Look at the laws applying to kids. Even the police are scared to do anything unless the kids have done something serious, when it's far too late.
All Govt agencies are well aware that when dealing with children, their ass is on the line. As are parents.
I note that a recent court decision said that it's ok to smack a child. Court decision ? Yes. Another Govt instrumentality.

FollowupID: 448827

Reply By: ev700 - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 22:51

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 22:51
I am not defending their swearing or any other unattractive behaviour however many kids have very few ways they can take risks and stretch the boundaries these days.

Kids have to have worthwhile exciting diversions and they have to have ways to 'revolt' because thses are natural ways of developing independence.

The other problem is that there are few worthwhile role models of either 'gender' (what a PC word) presented in the media.

Of course there is very little positive stuff on the box either with commercial networks time-filling with 3rd rate trash.

As has been said before, many parents couldn't even be bothered enquiring about Scouts on behalf of their kids. Few kids would knock back the chance for outdoor adventure if given the chance and with such programs comes respect for themselves and others.

Mind you, some of us could volunteer to be Scout Leaders and share our love of the outdoors with our kids and others.

Site Link

EV
AnswerID: 190649

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY VIC) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 07:45

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 07:45
Good move ...I used to be the quarter master of the Suva Sea Scouts...great job and rewarding.

all those little blighters going sailing and camping .

FollowupID: 448305

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 08:00

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 08:00
it all went pearshaped when we gave kids a say....... they should be seen and not heard till they are 16....if they step outta line,, smash em back into it....
bring em up a little scared with lots of respect for anybody older than they are...
we all know thats the answer but we all tip-toe around the fact....

when i was younger we used to have the odd friend with a hyperactive kid and they would play up a bit but they still knew their boundrys............

nowadays lets call it ADD and send the child to councilling so the councillor can explain to the kid how many rights he has,,,,,,,, doesnt take long for the kid to cotton on does it??

no-one can see a pattern over the years can they>>????

yep,,, all the new rules and regulations must be working well....

AnswerID: 190667

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 09:35

Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 09:35
oh my someone pinched my thoughts and typed them here

FollowupID: 448801

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 08:15

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 08:15
Hi Axle,
I couldn't agree more with you.
Had this discussion with my 16yo old daughter a while back after she let drive with a few poorly chosen words.
It's well known in my family that I don't bother with the swearing caper.

I asked her what it did for her, "Whatta ya mean?" (Next challenge is literacy)
My answer, "It doesn't make you bigger, you're a heap shorter than my 6'2" in height"
"It doesn't make you stronger" I asked her to lift the lounge. She can't, I can.
Then I pinched her and she let out a god almighty yelp. "It doesn't make you tougher"
"So, what exactly does it do for you?"
The reply? A blank stare!

Funny thing, I haven't heard her run off at the mouth since. Oh, she still runs off at the mouth but uses words her grandmothers would be Ok with.

Geoff.

AnswerID: 190672

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 08:15

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 08:15
After 23 years in the Navy I though I would be inured to swearing, but foul mouthed kids, especially ones under 10 still have the capacity to shock me.

Pete
AnswerID: 190673

Reply By: Beer Pig - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 08:23

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 08:23
I was at the Hawthorn & Collingwood match the other week with my boys (7 & 5) and the was and idiot behind me swearing and carring on like a bleep .
I politly told him to shut up there are young children about and he just looked at me with dissbelif that i told him to shut up.
It worked he sat there pretty quite the rest of the match.

That is one of the reasons i dont go to the AFL footy much i dont like putting myself in those situations where i get that mad and dont enjoy the footy especially with the kids around it wrecks a good day.
Think i will stick to the local footy from now on with my mate and the kids can still kick the footy between quarters.
AnswerID: 190675

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 08:46

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 08:46
I know what you mean Axle... I have 3 kids, 1 6yo and 2 4yo... We try hard to stop the not so bad words like bum(prefer bottom), fart(prefer pop-off) and a few aothers... Other parents relish in the humour of hearing their kids talk like that and it's making it hard to teach our kids that there is a time and place... Just about ready to give up.
AnswerID: 190678

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:24

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:24
I have a couple of adult kids and they swear and I am non to impressed by their choice of timing because this is where it really matters. I am not a big swearer myself and only rarely use colourful language so my point is how does it happen that kids get into this sort of expression. My theory is that there is not enough dicipline either at home or at school and it is the latter where it seems significantly worse. Firstly, how dicipline is provided in schools is a joke and secondly the laws will not allow you to dicipline your own kids for heaven forbid there is long term harm by such activity.

What I see is a lot of spoilt, arrogant and plain selfish behaviour because this is what we have encouraged. Got to tell you. when I was young thought long and hard about swearing at school when 6 of the best was the punishment.

AnswerID: 190686

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 18:17

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 18:17
Do you think 6 of the best will help? The spoilt behaviour you speak of i think comes from advertising directed at children. They get young, impressionable children to pester their parents to buy their product. The company then have a loyal consumer of their brand for life.

I don't think it's solely a discipline issue, it's a consumeristic society issue as well. Convincing kids to want things that they don't need. Advertisers treat the children as adults giving them 'choices' they wouldn't usually have.

Barnesy
FollowupID: 448468

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 08:49

Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 08:49
Quite possibly because it hurts. Not disagreeing with you as the whole issue probably has more than one cause and certainly when I was growing up there simply weren't the things available (including a heap of disposable income to spoil me). The point for me was that discipline also meant that if you pestered your parents you got a clip around the ear or a boot up the clacka because NO was NO and not a maybe or worse I might traumatise the poor kid by saying no - certainly would never have contemplated telling my parents or teachers to get stuffed. Each generation tries to do better for their kids but unfortunately I think we have gone as far as we can go as they are just plain spoilt by the good life we have given them.

FollowupID: 448558

Reply By: D-Jack - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:34

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:34
I reckon, if they haven't done it, or haven't seen one, then they shouldnt say it!
AnswerID: 190689

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 10:32

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 10:32
ummm - i would hazzard a guess kids today have seen quite a bit on the internet....
FollowupID: 448332

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 10:10

Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 10:10
Sadly, they often have !
FollowupID: 448811

Reply By: Drew - Karratha - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:49

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:49
"I think respect is a thing that must have a different meaning these days."

I dont think the lack of respect for others is limited to 'juvenile morons' - it is the people who stand just outside the doorway of shopping centres / airports etc smoking that really gives me the bleep s! I have to walk through a cloud of their filthy, stinking smoke before I can get in or out (and then usually see them chuck the butt on the ground and stand on it before walking away)- that is a lack of respect for others and it certainly isnt limited to younger people...
AnswerID: 190700

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 12:38

Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 12:38
Not all smokers throw their butts on the ground. That's just like saying that all people who chew gum spit it on the path, it uneducated and unfair.

I have to walk past your stinking filthy polluting car while it's driving through the car park too. Man I wish those people would just walk to the shops instead of driving their stinking poisonus cars past my house all day long. Why don't they think about my kids! You know they'd be much healthier if they walked to the shops, probally add 10 years to their life!

Think about it.
FollowupID: 448836

Follow Up By: Drew - Karratha - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 09:50

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 09:50
Jeff
I didnt say that all smokers throw their butts on the ground
FollowupID: 449159

Reply By: chump_boy - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 10:39

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 10:39
I catch a bus to work every day, and sit at the back with a whole pile of schoolkids in the mornings.

I have learn't to tolerate the swearing. I can tolerate the pushing and shoving. But what gets me going is some of the anti-Australian trash they come out with all the time. I have had to listen to our national anthem mixed in with some... ummm... arabic heavy metal song where the only words I can make out are bleep and bleep and all sorts of other crap. I've had to listen to groups of young guys planning to beat up some young guy for the simple fact he is Australian. I've heard how these morons talk about girls that have just gotten off the bus....

And if they are alone on the bus, they have these same conversations on their damn phones, half in English, half in Arabic, loud enough so the whole bus can hear..

I tell you what, Darwin is looking better and better every day.....

Cheers, Chris
AnswerID: 190708

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 12:24

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 12:24
Now you have started me....I can handle the foul language but what I cant handle is the lack of respect for everyone else, they seem to have no respect for the property of others....What about this smart ass from Lebanon burning the flag, what a cretin, why not send him back to his "homeland" if he thinks things are so good there. I'm not sure but I think if he had done that in England the charge would still be treason although he would escape the death penalty....
I feel yet another email to Ms Vanstone coming on....I don't think I can encourage anyone to write & express their disgust because that would be considered "subversive" but hey it's ok to burn the flag if you appologise afterwards....
I have a draconian solution:
1 No welfare at all unless you are an Australian citizen.
2 No drivers licences issued to residents of Australia unless they a) speak fluent english & b) are an Australian Citizen by birth or naturalisation
3 Granting of citizenship only after sitting and correctly answering a questionare in english relating to "What it means to be an Australian", also included I would require that applicants renounce & decree all or any of their racial, religious or cultural hatreds & accept an Australian way of life & invite us all around for a BBQ!
AnswerID: 190733

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 10:38

Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 10:38
Sounds like a bloody good plan to me Mr Fawlty.

I simply fail to understand why anybody would live in this beautiful country and bag the chit out of it in favour of some god-forsaken chithole (Lebanon etc). If they DO want to do that, fine, let's fill up a couple of 747's with 'em on a one way trip.

Those 3 things you've listed should be the very basic requirements; and I could think of another 50 to add to the list too.

Just try to do the same in reverse........fly over to Lebanon, Afghanistan, Iran, even Japan, China, India etc....arrive there and immediately hold your hand out for an amount of cash and medical services etc etc......see how ya get on. Nah; we are far too soft as a nation!!!
FollowupID: 448589

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 15:22

Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 15:22
I agree with multiculturalism and can see all of the benefits it brings Australia. But i can also see the down side. Doesn't matter what you think of Hezbollah or Israels response, or Australian governments stance. But the recent war over there had many people from both sides protesting on the streets in Oz. A strong and definite line should be drawn now to prevent any two ethnic communities from coming to blows in Australia. That would be totally unacceptable (as were the Sydney riots).

Barnesy

Off the track a bit but it's interesting that whenever Johnny shows a 'hard line' stance on boat people his approval ratings go up. Is it his way of always keeping his ratings up?
FollowupID: 448662

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 10:32

Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 10:32
Yep, I can't understand why we've become the parking lot for such people.
"Please Explain". :)
FollowupID: 448815

Reply By: Patrol22 - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 12:51

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 12:51
Not just the Kids that fit this mould.....just listen to your UHF (on any channel) when within cooee of a population centre.
AnswerID: 190741

Reply By: Barnesy - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 13:26

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 13:26
When i was young i used to laugh at older people say i had no respect for anything. Seems like nothing has changed. Young people are still pushing boundaries and older people are still saying they have no respect and need a kick in the backside.

I have noticed in the last 5 years the word f**k has become mainstream on television. It used to only be a choice word on R movies but now it's on prime time many nights.

I hate the advertising that is blatantly directed at children and in a submersive way gets them to pester parents to buy a product for them. Children are inundated with this stuff. If children don't have money why are advertisers targeting them? It makes a simple shopping trip for mum an ordeal due to demanding children.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 190748

Reply By: equinox - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:47

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 15:47
It's kind of funny talking about swearing etc and how bad it is - which I agree - probably comes down to low self esteem and not being able to express yourself properly. Yet even in this post there has been several occasions where certain words have been "bleeped" out.

What chance have our kids got with hypocrites likes us rearing them up.

AnswerID: 190772

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 10:45

Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 10:45
I think it comes down to a question of time and place.......

I work for a large bank. One minute I could be talking to a truckie client and every second word he says starts with "F"......I reciprocate with similar language so that he feels at ease with talking to me.

5 minutes later I could be dealing with a wealthy octagenarian woman and I have to put on all the heirs and graces befitting such an important person. When I talk to her, butter wouldn't melt in my mouth.

Same thing goes with these kids on buses etc. They need to remember where they are and the fact that their conversation/s might be overheard by people who may not want to listen to such language. I'm no prude either and can swear with the best of 'em.....but I don't swear over the UHF nor in public places etc....... Maybe some would call that "double-standards".....I choose to call it "being sensitive to your surroundings".
FollowupID: 448593

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 10:26

Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 10:26
Appropriateness isn't something that children learn by osmosis. Adults are more sensitive to it, but children need to be taught by their parents. And with a large part of the parent population not giving a you know what, then Heuston we have a problem.
FollowupID: 448814

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 12:47

Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 12:47
The fact is footloose that pre-adolescent children cannot be expected to truly understand situational language. There brains have not developed to that extent yet. That is why my 9 year old is NOT ALLOWED to swear FULL STOP.

Even though I swear around him, he knows he's not allowed to. He will be able to make situation judgements when he's older and he has a greater understanding of what other people's feelings are.

Children under the age of 10 (even up to 15 sometimes) very rarely have the comprehension that what someone says or the body language or expression shown by them can actually be different to how they really think or feel, making those sorts of judgements very difficult and easily messed up by children.

Children do actually absorb a huge percentage of what they learn, especially things in a social context. Of course if their parents are setting the "wrong" examples then they are going to be learning things the "wrong way". Of course wrong and right is set out by society as a whole, so who knows. What might be right in one socio economic area may be frowned upon by another.

Just like the indigenous boy who got sent to the principle for saying "Miss, I need to go have a piss". At home, that was normal, at school it was outrageous.
FollowupID: 448838

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 12:52

Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 12:52
Hmmm ..... I said that at home once after hearing it in a public toilet when I was about 7 ........ wish I hadn't said it!
FollowupID: 448839

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 12:55

Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 12:55
LOL, my parents were the same, I used to get in SO much trouble if I was heard swearing. But look at me now, it really made bleep all difference in the end! ;-)
FollowupID: 448842

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 22:48

Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 22:48
What about the language used by bogans on UHF?
AnswerID: 191065