setting up new camper

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 08:40
ThreadID: 37052 Views:3734 Replies:8 FollowUps:6
Now that we are home with our new trailer I have been thinking about how to get everything to stay in place while offroad.
Have been thinking marine carpet would help, but now I'm curious as to what other mods we should do to make trailer life easier.

So tell me wisened folks what works and what doesn't?

Ree

Reply By: mfewster - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:21

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:21
Well, it largely depends on what you have in it already and the sort of trasvel you want to do.
Check the following for a whole site devoted to this kind of discussion. Lots of articles and pictures.
www.campertrailers.org/index.html
AnswerID: 190685

Follow Up By: cackles - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:40

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 09:40
I have that site bookmarked but I have a lot of trouble navigating it.
maybe it's the site, maybe it's the computer or maybe...... it's me???

cackles
FollowupID: 448316

Reply By: JJ - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 10:26

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 10:26
We would (have) lined one with light rubber matting/belting, but most have marine carpet.
To stop stuff moving about, collect as many large plastic boxes on rollers that it takes, having a place for everything and everything in it's place! Makes packing a breeze for all members.
For any odd spaces make compartments for the purpose from light (3ply) wood.
Heavy duty cardboard boxes are good for storing camp-ovens, bbq plate etc. and a bucket or container (with lid) for billies.

In the kitchen area use those $2 rolls of rubber matting (found in kitchen-ware in CheapieShops) and place on all shelving.
Again store various utensils in appropriate size plastic boxes with left-over matting placed between plates etc... to avoid chafing & breakages.

Aftera mishap many years ago, I always use screw-top plastic jars and/or clip-on containers (preferably square) for food canisters.
DON'T use press on tupperware type...beetroot, flour and fruit juices do not make a pretty picture!

I also place a plastic basin (shop around for size) in the sink with an old cloth under for lunch time dirty dishes etc. with ice-cream container for detergent, scourers etc.
Saves water too.

And we have a large (nappy) bucket with lid, in which the sullege hose is coiled and have a 9lt bucket (fits inside it) for overnight stops.

That's just a few everyday bits that come to mind, but you'll find many more ideas to make life easier as you go along.

As the saying goes, we learn something every day, so I am looking forward to what new ideas I can pick up from here.

Cheers and Happy Venturing!

AnswerID: 190705

Reply By: cackles - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 11:06

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 11:06
Are the big plastic boxes strong enough? we have some already but they seem to crack easily.

I guess my need for info comes from the fact that we are doing a 4 week tour to SA and back and won't be able to do a shakedown trip before hand, so I guess I'm worried about having problems in the middle of nowhere.

cackles
AnswerID: 190714

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 11:12

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 11:12
Bunnings stock wheeled bins in various sizes. Have had some for 5/6 years and no breakages.

Tip:- take the wheels off one end so they don't roll around in the trailer but you can still move them easily by lifting one end.
FollowupID: 448341

Follow Up By: Member - John - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 18:33

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 18:33
cackles, I use the white heavy duty plastic fish boxes with lids, very very good and won't break if you do drop them.....

FollowupID: 448476

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 18:50

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 18:50
cackles, we also have a plastic box that is strong that holds the Port-a-potti. That way if there was to be a spill it would be containerised. We also use some tie down straps to keep things in place and reduce the movement. Reduces the potential to break too.
FollowupID: 448480

Follow Up By: cackles - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 20:52

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 20:52
good idea with the porta-potti, don't ever want to experience that scenario!!!

FollowupID: 448501

Reply By: Member - John - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 19:05

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 19:05
cackles, when my trailer was built, I arranged to have runners welded on the floor to keep the boxes in place, makes it so much easier to contain them. Also had a false floor made for on top of the boxes, this allows the boxes to be removed with out taking all the stuff off the top of them. Hope this helps? John

AnswerID: 190806

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 19:06

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 19:06
All the bigger things such as BBQ, Camp Oven, Chairs, Porta-dunny, etc. take care of themselves.

Smaller stuff I place in a couple of heavy duty 45 litre containers, or Crab Buckets as they are some times used for.

My Camper is "open" and everything slides in from rear tailgate area. If I need to reach something towards the front of the Camper while it's set up, I use a telescopic boat hook. When the Camper is closed the whole top can be lifted up sideways to gain access.

I also carry the knives, forks, plates, etc. in a dust/water/bullet proof "pelican" case (very expensive but great) as I once had bulldust entering the previous container and there is nothing I hate more than grit in my mouth.
Actually, its not really bullet proof, but you can drive over it without damage to it, or the contents.

The cooking pots and pans are stored in the cupboard attached to the inside of the tailgate, and some larger plates and the drinking glasses for the Red are stored in a padded "picnic" bag.

Each time you go out camping, you will refine the location of things until you have a setup where you can put your hands on things in a instant.

Personally I haven't found the need for rubber matting or plywood dividers inside the camper storage area. If something is rattling, I can't hear it when driving and nothing has broken yet so all is good.

The one thing that travels securely in the back of the vehicle (usually in one of the cargo drawers) is my supply of Red Wine. I cannot go without it. It's HEALTH food.

AnswerID: 190807

Reply By: cackles - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 21:05

Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 21:05
Looks like the plastic boxes have been tried, tested and approved, thanks guys I 'll stick with them.
I have a heap of big ones and will keep looking for the smaller to suit the kitchen.

I'll still do the carpet or fatigue matt as I don't want the inside paint job ruined.

cackles
AnswerID: 190830

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 22:50

Friday, Aug 25, 2006 at 22:50
I have found the best thing is to make sure the trailer is full & tightly packed, even if most of the crates are empty.
AnswerID: 191066

Reply By: Oz Travellers - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 09:59

Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 09:59
I use the large cargo storage boxes that Bunnings flog, with brand name"Technoplast" (~$25) , and I put individual stuff into them. They are about 1m long, black heavy duty plastic and have hinged lids with yellow clips. They slide easily into the camper and don't move around all that much, especially if you wedge then in before closing the trailer door. Sparky
AnswerID: 191108

Follow Up By: cackles - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 10:04

Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 10:04
Are they those black ones? We think the black ones may be a little stronger.
feel a little more flexible, rubbery.

thanks sparky
FollowupID: 448810