Phone services in the bush

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 18:34
ThreadID: 37138 Views:2318 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
There is a wealth of bush experience from people who use this forum. No doubt people would be aware that Johnny is selling more of Telstra. I have my own opinion on this issue but I'm interested in what others think about phone services in the bush.

How have services for people changed since the privatisation?

What do others think will happen when Johnny gets his way and sells it all?

Do people think there is a better alternative?

Interested to hear replies.

Barnesy

Reply By: John R (SA) - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 19:01

Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 19:01
Since Telstra has been partly sold, I really don't think selling the remainder will matter terribly much. More importantly, how will the government continue to regulate the industry?

If Telstra were left to its own devices, you could guarantee there'd be rapidly dwindling communications facilities in the country. However so long as the government continues to stipulate that people in rural areas must have access to broadband internet etc etc, we'll be able to enjoy better services than the economics alone dictate.

I haven't much idea quite what degree of regulation exists, but I do know that if the govt weren't involved we wouldn't have 3 houses on ADSL for $60/mth each, 7km from a town of 2500 people.

We're quite fortunate, and the quality of service gets a hell of a lot worse than around here. But I think the fact remains; govt regulation presently (and no doubt will continue to) dictates that the country areas receive better services than they otherwise would. So long as Telstra has to abide by those regulations, I don't think it matters whether it's partly or fully privatised.

AnswerID: 191156

Follow Up By: bigcol - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 02:19

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 02:19
Considering 70% of the worlds population have never used a phone let alone own one, our service's to the bush aren't bad.
They are far from good though.
Telstra can't even hook me up to Broadband and i am 40 minutes to the south east of Brisbane in a rapidly growing area.

FollowupID: 448929

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 08:21

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 08:21
We can't get broadband and live in a suburb of Adelaide!
FollowupID: 449141

Reply By: madfisher - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 19:54

Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 19:54
Deruglation is happening worldwide. I for one do not want to go back to paying $9.00 to have a decent chat to my mate in tassie. We now pay a maximum of $1.99 and a lot of our local calls are free. Competition makes everyone sharpen their axes in all industries.Their is going to be a huge shake up with the introduction of voip in the near future This is a subject people tend to feel very passionate about. Pete
AnswerID: 191171

Follow Up By: Dave198 - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 21:15

Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 21:15
Where do you live Pete? In the cityt or the country?

I agree that home phone long distance calls are cheaper now, but VOIP is only available if you have broadband as I understand it.

If you live much further awy from the exchange than the end of the street, your chances of broadband are slim.

And Telstra don't seem to be in a hell of a hurry to expand it in the bush.
There are lots of people in the larger cities without broadband, and that's where the money is for Telstra, where there are lots of potential customers.
Not so for the smaller regional cities and towns.

And as for mobile coverage in the bush, if you have a digital phone, it's even too small for a wheel chock, that's how much use they are in the bush.
I have CDMA, and once you are off the major highways, it also is next door to useless unfortunately.

It needs the goverment to keep the pressure on Telstra to improve the services for ALL Australians, regardless of where they live.

Telstra wont put up more towers in the bush because the amount of income generated through some of these towers wont cover the installation cost.
Notice Telstra say that their service covers 90 something percent of Australias' population, not landmass. Pity.

I wish some of these decision makers were stranded out in the bush with a breakdown, or come across an accident, and see what they would do to get help.
On second thoughts, they woulld probably have a company or Goverment paid Sat phone. Out of reach for the average Joe and Jenny.

Keep the pressure on Telstra, they are our own national company, and I think the Goverment have an obligation to provide some services for the taxpayer that maybe not economical for private enterprise to fund.

Not sure how long it will take you to get this reply, the line drops out every now and again!!!!!!!!!!

FollowupID: 448895

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 21:34

Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 21:34
Well CDMA is not too shabby where it works, and thats limited, also with carriers bailing out of CDMA (Orange has already bailed out) and moving to 3G phones who knows what will happen? Sol Trujillo the share price murderer and bonus taker coudnt give a toss about anyone but himself and his appointed mates, he obviously coudnt give a toss for shareholders, I think that as said above regulation is in our best interests.

Sat phone may well be the way of the future for all non urban travel, with HF being threatened by that cable thingy.

hmmmm and I just got myself setup, I now have two useless car kits kits in two outstanding cars

AnswerID: 191187

Follow Up By: GU - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 12:59

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 12:59
Being the cynic that I am especially when it comes to the USA, which in my opinion is the cancer of the earth.
I reckon Sol Trujillo has achieved exactly what he set out to do and that was to lower the value of Telstra so that it can be purchased at a cheaper price by USA
interests.
FollowupID: 448977

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 09:21

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 09:21
If it is going to be that cheap GU, you better assemble all your pennies and out do them as you will make the killing you reckon they are going to.
FollowupID: 449151

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 21:59

Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 21:59
Barnsey, I live in rural Victoria but close to a touris route. The company that has been driving mobile communications has been Telstra and we have several Telstra mobile round the dfarm as they are much more reliable for signal than any other company.

I see tham as monopolist in nature currently and can't wait to see a lot of that weeded out of them with more competition. Mind you we sold T1 at a profit and T2 at a loss but they have gone down further since we pulled out.

CDMA by Telstra is reliable, more so than GSM but the kilometers - I must not have been able to get into a local tower on the Geelong Road one day and logged into King Island for my call! Try to beat that with GSM 35 kilomtere limit of distance.

In country areas just as you have in the city 3G is being passed on as the saviour for country broadband. I had difficulty imagining that any company was likely to continue the fibre out the 12 kilometres from our exchange to anywhere near to us. Everyone seems to have Blackberries and push email systems using data line wireless over the mobile phone frequencies, but that seems to be the promise for us for the future. In the outback areas they are using similar CDMA systems to equate to our land line phones.

I hope that the regulation strength is removed from the regulated brows of Telstra executives so they can look more broadly as just at the moment, it is not Telstra that has money to put in satellite internet, but their competitors. Go hard and keep the pressure on them competitors. I dread the thought of continuing Telstra protection that has abounded in the past. Roll on deregulation!
AnswerID: 191196

Reply By: madfisher - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 23:01

Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 23:01
In reply to Dave, we live on the edge of a large regional city, so we dont have the same issues as people in remote areas. And yes we are on broadband. We have also found the digital coverage between Dubbo and Sydney better than cdma as we had both. Now just have digital as we were paying through the nose for our cdma. But i will grant for remote areas cdma is still better. Voip is still down the track for most people but will make 20 std calls possible. Better sell Telstra shares while you can Cheers Pete
AnswerID: 191205

Follow Up By: Dave198 - Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 23:54

Saturday, Aug 26, 2006 at 23:54
Sounds like I am about 750Kms west of you Pete.
I think the GSM phone karks it about 8 Kms out of town in one direction, about 15 in another direction.
We get a lot more contact with each other out here by yelling out the window as we pass.
Wish you had sent me the advice about selling my Telstra shares a few years ago :-(
FollowupID: 448919

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 08:46

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 08:46
Gooday,
I see it as another grab for cash, all Govt's have become adicted to privatisation, & what do we see for the money they rake in from the sales, USER PAYS, via toll roads etc etc. For mine I think the Govt should buy all the shares back & keep control of Telstra with such a large sparsely populated country, & such a vital utility.

If they used some of the money they rip out of our pockets in fuel tax that doesen't go back to roads as it was promised originally, they could buy most of our shares back in a year & fix the problems within the next one.
Thats my thoughts anyway.
Cjheers,
Boroma604
AnswerID: 191386