Camping Season to be extended by 5 weeks

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 12:13
ThreadID: 37158 Views:2996 Replies:15 FollowUps:35
Bracks is trying to get Daylight saving extended by 5 weeks. It will then run from the start of October to the end of March.

I hope he gets it through. That extra hour of daylight makes it so much easier to get away on a Friday night for a weekend trip.

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 12:41

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 12:41
You don't get an extra hour of daylight , Sun still rises and sets at the same time , that;s what I can't work out with people being obsessed with the idea,besisdes the shadow line is not due North /South and in the summer months it is on an even more of a lean to the left in the morning and to the right in the afternoons making the days in the North much longer than the South anyway, not even politicians know or think of that.....not that they can think much anyhow

1 Site Link

2 www.worldtime.com/cgi-bin/wt.cgi

AnswerID: 191250

Follow Up By: RosscoH - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 13:58

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 13:58
I Agree Doug, If some clown wants an extra hour of daylight, go to work an hour earlier, why change the clock, I go to work at 4.30am every morning ,why should I go at 3.30 am just because some city clown can't change the time on his alarm.
FollowupID: 448995

Follow Up By: Lynn2 - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 15:45

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 15:45
I agree - I work 1 1/2 hours from my home - i hate leaving to go to work in the dark! My body clock never properly adjusts. When I do get home, i just like to relax, have a wine and dinner and watch tv. Dont give a damn about an extra hour of sun at night!
FollowupID: 449012

Follow Up By: Larry01 - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 16:47

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 16:47
Some people don't have the option to start work earlier even if they would like.Move to QLD the cows there don't like daylight saving either
FollowupID: 449019

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 17:40

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 17:40
Larry01
I moved from Qld to WA ....Cows are the same here mate .....

FollowupID: 449029

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 17:25

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 17:25
Having come from Sa to WA I just gotta say Wa does not know what they are missing with the great weather. I know some people say do it in the morning - but hell my boss gets really peeved when I spend the mornings sitting under the back verandah sinking beer before work!!. People In Kal used to also get irat when I went down the club for a shoot at 4.30am coz there wasnt light after work.
Sure it probably doest matter in Perth which sits to the far West but everywhere else doesnt understand why the sun comes up in the middle of the night.
As it heats up at work and gets light early I will be starting early but still makes the lack of it a dumn idea
FollowupID: 449272

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 13:24

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 13:24
you do get an extra hour of daylight after work, cause work goes back an hour and I agree Jimbo I hope it gets thru

AnswerID: 191259

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 20:01

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 20:01
We don't want the extra hours daylight here cos the curtains will fade too much.
FollowupID: 449063

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 20:30

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 20:30
Bonz, barbies can go after dark mate. I hope it doesn't. Jimbo could go to work early and go home early if he so desired. Why does he expect everyone else wants to work to regulation Bracks?
FollowupID: 449073

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 20:49

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 20:49
John,

Your political bias is showing again. This is all about lifestyle, I don't give a bugger who does it. It is NOT a political issue, let it go.

You may well remember, it was Dick Hamer or Henry Bolte who first introduced daylight saving in Victoria. Bloody good thing and I commend whichever one of your Lib mates who brought it in.

And no, I can't start and finish work as I please. Like most, I work for an organisation that conducts business during certain hours and expects me to be there in that span of hours.

Would you be happy to send your kids to school at 3am if their teacher decided she wanted to start work then?

Get serious, there are limitations on the working masses. The boss dictates the terms, and that is OK.
FollowupID: 449080

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 23:36

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 23:36
hhahah Jimbo, what, are you getting tetchie again. As for my politics, I keep it out of here, I did notice the jibes from quite a few others in the other post though to you. Might have been as late as Lindsay Thompson or John Cain, I didn't take note.

In my game, the season and time of day, heat or whatever tells me what I can and can't do. The government actually stuffs up the social life as it regulates the time all other people's social life starts. It just makes it harder for people in my position.

Mate, I do know the sigh of relief when daylight saving finishes, and it's not just me. Lighten up Jim...........
FollowupID: 449127

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 19:14

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 19:14
Yeah, you're right John, a lot on at the moment.

I guess I owe you a beer this time.

FollowupID: 449308

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 13:31

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 13:31
We are not all idiot's, Doug.We know if you get up earlier in the morning by 1,2,3,4,& so no hour's you get to go home after a day's work & we get that extra time to do the thing's we hate,lawn,weed, trim trees,paint house the list goe's on but not enough for relaxing. But there are those who beleive in doing all this.good for office worker is about all.:)-<
AnswerID: 191261

Follow Up By: mattie - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 13:56

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 13:56
if u r a person who works from sun up to sun down then it will not affect u, most QLDers i know don't like daylight saving time never get up and start the day at about 4:30 every day.

Mattie
FollowupID: 448994

Reply By: Pavo - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 13:37

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 13:37
It was fantastic when daylight saving started earlier in NSW for the Sydney Olypmics.

September can have some beautiful weather and being an office worker, I don't need it to be light at 5:30am. But light at 7:00pm is fantastic.
AnswerID: 191262

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 13:40

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 13:40
Hmmm.... I better start drinking again. I'm (almost) certain some replies have been editted from this thread.

Anyway, roll on daylight saving - love it :))))))))))))
AnswerID: 191263

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 18:39

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 18:39
You don't drink anymore, no wonder your replies no longer have the sparkle they used to.

I'll be drinking more very soon...just started home brewing :)

Anyway I'm with you Al, just love the daylight saving and so do the kids.
FollowupID: 449045

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 19:46

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 19:46
Ray,

LOL the less I drink, the more inhibited I get hahahahahahaha

I never had the patience to wait, hence no homebrewing for me :))))
FollowupID: 449058

Reply By: Ray Bates - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 13:53

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 13:53
We do not have "Daylight Saving" in W.A. There has been a couple of referendums on the issue but they have always been defeated but there is nothing to stop those who want it from starting work an hour earlier in the morning and finishing one hour earlier at night.
AnswerID: 191264

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 14:15

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 14:15
I agree Ray, I too am now in WA ,moved from Qld back in June bur have a look at my webpage and click on the Daylight Saving link at the bottom of the list.

Doug

FollowupID: 449000

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 14:16

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 14:16
Sorry Ray i forgot the URL

members.westnet.com.au/dtilley/

Doug

FollowupID: 449001

Follow Up By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 14:22

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 14:22
"We do not have daylight saving in WA" , and we don't want it either !
FollowupID: 449003

Follow Up By: Pavo - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 17:30

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 17:30
"There has been a couple of referendums on the issue but they have always been defeated but there is nothing to stop those who want it from starting work an hour earlier in the morning and finishing one hour earlier at night."

There are lots of reasons people can't determine their own work times. A couple of examples are, teachers, tradesmen (the law says they can't start loud machinery before 7am), fuel/service stations (fact is majority drive during the day). Just to name a few...
FollowupID: 449027

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 20:14

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 20:14
Pretty funny argument that about work start times - I could say this to those who don't want it but have it forced apon them.......

"There is nothing to stop those who don't want it from starting work an hour later in the morning and finishing one hour later at night."

I love daylight saving - nice to come home in the evenings and enjoy the sunlight. I would think that once a community has experienced it, most people would want it to continue. I guess it is the more conservative states that do not want it and the more progressive states that have it now.

FollowupID: 449067

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 21:00

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 21:00
It's sad Andrew, but some simply can't come to terms with it.

I was living in QLD from 87 to 94. During this time Premier Goss ran a trial for two or three years. After that he held a referendum. Your assumption that after they had experienced it they would love it stands to reason.

However.......

The result was get rid of it. The civilised South East corner voted in favour. Alas, the rest of the state is not all that progressive. I was actually at a BBQ in Townsville on the night of the Ref. Surrounded by rednecks and hillbillies.

"I did the right thing for QLD and voted NO" was the catchcry.

I'm not sure they've gotten over the Bjelke Peterson era. To my despair, that old crooked bastard is still loved by many. Try to work that out.
FollowupID: 449082

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 21:23

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 21:23
It would seem that 15° of longtitude would equal 1 hour of time.

The (main) official time in Western Australia is 8 hours in front of London. That would make it at Longitude 120° which is about 4° east of Perth.

I wonder if the voters of Perth will take into consideration at the next referendum that they are already getting 16 minutes free daylight saving (4 / 15 x 60) per day without having to change any legislation at all (and thats all year round)

Lets keep things the way they are please people.

FollowupID: 449091

Follow Up By: Busy Bee - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 23:11

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 23:11
Not wanting daylight saving doesn't make you a redneck.
I remember the trials in Qld in the early eighties. I can understand the SE corner of Qld wanting DLS. It's light at 5:30. But North Qld has daylight saving built in by being further west. We don't need double daylight saving. The same goes for the southwest and far west of the state.

Allowing DLS in the SE corner is fine, just don't assume what is fine there must be the same elsewhere in the state.

And I was never a supporter of bible bashing Jo and his state of corruption.
FollowupID: 449121

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 01:08

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 01:08
You can be a real @rsehole sometimes Jimbo!
Just because some people don't agree with you opinion or point of view makes them uncivilised redneck hillbillies does it ?
Maybe you should start accepting the fact that different people have differing views for different reasons, either that or crawl back into your cave.

Pezza
FollowupID: 449378

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 13:54

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 13:54
This 'Day light Saving' thing is a figment of the social engineering cootas imagination.

All you have to do is get rid off/hide the time monitoring pieces and do as the chooks do.

GET UP AT SUNUP AND GO TO BED AT SUNDOWN
AnswerID: 191265

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 17:46

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 17:46
That would be too easy for Lucy Oh no they have to take the whole country with em or they are not happy, Really it's a bit like religious groups trying to force their beliefs on everyone else, like what they want and believe in should be imposed on all and I don't and can't and won't accept that,but having said that I don't mind if they want to do it for themselves.

Doug

FollowupID: 449030

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 20:05

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 20:05
oi Lucy, gimme a call about a rim job dude.
FollowupID: 449065

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 21:26

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 21:26
Ken giving Bruce a "Rim Job"

Now that's something I WOULDN'T like to see.
FollowupID: 449093

Reply By: John R (SA) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 13:59

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 13:59
Do you really think it'll make that much difference?

In the middle of summer there's maybe 14 hours of daylight every day, by March there'd be around 11 hours. So although daylight saving will prolongue the daylight hours after work by a bit compared to normal time, you might only have daylight until 6.30, or thereabouts. Nice at the time, but pretty insignificant compared to it still being light at 9pm in the middle of summer when daylight saving really comes in to play.

In other words, in summer office workers have daylight +4 hours after work finishes, or thereabouts. By the time March comes around, there might be 1.5 hours post work.

If daylight hours after work are that important, why not start and finish work earlier? I know most people have office jobs and there are varying degrees of ability to take off a few hours extra on friday avo having put in a few hours extra through the week.
AnswerID: 191266

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 14:40

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 14:40
Hi John
I just been doing a bit of research on the subject using my GPS and come up with these times on Central Time for Gepps Cross on January 15th 2007 sunrise will be 5:16am and set at 7:32pm on June 15th 2007 sunrise will be 7:20am and set at 5:10pm, so in the Summer that day will have 14hours and 16 mins of sun, in the winter that day will have 9 hours and 50 Mins of sun
PHEW !!!

Doug

FollowupID: 449007

Follow Up By: Pavo - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 17:37

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 17:37
"Do you really think it'll make that much difference?".

I think it would make 1 hour difference. But seriously, in one breath you say the extra hour in winter would be insignificant, but in summer it's significant? Why is that?

How is it more significant to have the sun set at 9 instead of 8 in summer, instead of say a sunset at 6:30 rather than 5:30 in winter?

Fact is, this whole argument has got no winners/losers because boths sides of the argument can use the exact same arguments. Just comes down to what someone's preference is.
FollowupID: 449028

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 16:27

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 16:27
I've always been a morning person so I get up with the sparrows anyway. Biggest hassle for us in the West is that we will be 3.5hrs behind the East, it's bad enough now with 2.5hrs. If you have to dell with east by phone when I'm still working they've racked off so I have to ring the next day, or they try and ring me at say 8.00am their time and I'm nowhere near work so they will now need to start their West contacting at 11 am.
Also watching live sport is painful, for us we always seem to get delayed telecasts. But when we have games that are telecast to the east we have to start the games sooner so as to fit in with the East's television times. Classic example is Football. Guys here in the west will know what I mean. Friday night game at Subi starts during peak hour traffic. Bloody stupid.
At the end of the day the time differences in a country as big as ours will always be a nuisance. Personally if WA got day light-saving I'd love it.

AnswerID: 191281

Follow Up By: JJ - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 17:16

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 17:16
Dunc.
Unless I missed something and correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't it a 2 hour time difference from Perth to the Eastern States? Not 2.5 hours?

EST to Adelaide = 1/2hr
Adelaide to WA border = 3/4 hr
WA border to Perth =3/4
Total of 2 hours in real time.

No to Daylight saving!

FollowupID: 449024

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 17:55

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 17:55
Duncan W
I don't see dealings with other businesses in the East can make much differance , they winge on the Gold Coast because Tweed Heads is 1 lousy hour ahead, I was talking to my Daughter about it , she works in a Mining Company Supplier in Brisbane and she says it does not make the slightest differance ,they do dealings with overseas countries and have no problems so for the sake of a lousy hour in Australia is not worth worrying about m besides here in WA one could get up and put in an order at 5:30am because it would be 8:30am in Sydney/Melbourne in other words what we loose in the afternoon is gained in the morning and same would apply to Brisbane.

Doug

FollowupID: 449033

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 19:03

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 19:03
You're right should be 2hrs and then 3hrs. The time differences rarely bother me as I'm an early starter anyway. It's not unusual for me to be in 2 hrs before anybody else.
Personally I'd prefer daylight saving in Winter. Reason get home before it goes dark so I can do something after work. Yes I do work in an office so I can turn the lights on. If I was still on the tools it wouldn't work.
It's amazing when you think about how we get so hung up over what time it is. Time is really a state of mind. Trouble is the rest of you don't want to be on the same time as me or in the same state of mind. lol
Think I read last week the Carpenter is pushing for another Referendum on the subject. 3rd or is this the 4th time???????????

FollowupID: 449051

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 18:29

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 18:29
I'm with you Jim. daylight saving is great. another 5 weeks would be fantastic.
AnswerID: 191304

Reply By: joc45 - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 19:27

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 19:27
For all of you doubters who are going to say that it doesn't fade the curtains, I might point out that it is the afternoon sun which fades the curtains, and since one gets one hour more of sunshine in the afternoon when the daylight saving is on, there are going to be some angry housewives out there if you get another 5 weeks.
AnswerID: 191312

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 19:29

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 19:29
I assume you are from QLD
FollowupID: 449053

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 19:43

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 19:43
Hahahaha The assumption is definitely proven Ray LOL
FollowupID: 449057

Follow Up By: RosscoH - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 19:51

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 19:51
Is Joc for real Its only the bloody clocks that change, not the sunlight. I think he's been in too much sunlight
FollowupID: 449060

Follow Up By: Pavo - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 19:57

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 19:57
I'm pretty sure you were being sarcastic with this whole curtain thing, but anyway, those housewives should leave the curtains open and enjoy the sunlight!

And plenty of curtains have a white backing, so the effects of fading are not seen.

And do these same housewives peg their clothes on the line overnight so the sun doesn't fade their clothes?
FollowupID: 449061

Follow Up By: joc45 - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 20:01

Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 20:01
Thought I'd wait a while to see what sort of responses I got lol
;-)
FollowupID: 449064

Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 00:18

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 00:18
Hi Jimbo,

Not all of us Sandgropers are anti day light saving. I would like to see its introduction and I know heaps who feel the same way. Obviously not enough though as two referendums have voted against it.

Doing business with Eastern States customers is a real PItheA. For these projects we typically take measures to work around the problems but impacts effectiveness when responses are needed same day. I much prefer dealing with the USA - seem to get so much more done when both parties are working opposite shifts.

Hugh
AnswerID: 191371

Reply By: Barnesy - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 04:48

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 04:48
I do shift work and work stupid hours. One of the drawbacks of my job. People complain of driving to work in the dark. Try starting work at 8:30 pm and finishing at 7 the next morning! What do you think I'm doing now at 4 am?

The only way daylight saving affects me is that we start playing cricket an hour later. Other than that it has no affect.
AnswerID: 191373

Reply By: Ray Bates - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 13:25

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 13:25
When I was a kid (many years ago) I lived in the UK and during the WW11 we had double summer time. I was at school at the time and having to go to bed when it was still daylight was a real pain in the butt. Being at a reasonable Northern latitude it didn't get dark till 11pm but hell didn't it fade our curtains and even caused blackout blinds to fade but we save alot of money on power bills and the betteries in our bike lamps lasted a lot longer. The goverment also though it was better for shooting down enemy planes but that was a close kept secret like eating carrots to see in the dark.
Daylight saving is a political con. You don't same daylight at all. You have the same ammount however you set your clock.
I used to work in the mines and it was dark all the time down there.
AnswerID: 191445

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 15:22

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 15:22
Well guys, I have been saving the extra hour every day since daylight saving came in. Unlike the rest of you i decided to not waste mine and now i am in a good position to use them wisely.. I just need some advice on how to retrieve them!!! Michael.
AnswerID: 191461