To Sell or Keep, to Strip or leave as is??

Submitted: Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 22:04
ThreadID: 37210 Views:2752 Replies:11 FollowUps:24
Hi kids

At this stage it is just thoughts running in my mind ( i know it doesnt happen often). Do I sell my mighty Jack or do we hang on to it. Since the cruiser arrived the jack has been well cared for and pampered, but not really driven much.

If we go down the path of selling it, what do you take out of it? how far do you go. Its set up, its had performance work done and its grunty, with all the radios, screens, draws, rear lights/camera and other crap inside.

Sticking on the for sale path, with all the brand new spares, do you throw them in or sell seperately?

I was thinking, taking all the radios and gear out, put it back to a 7 seater and sell it as a family vehicle.

Maybe i will just keep it hahaha

Crazie

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 22:10

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 22:10
OK Adam, this is what you do...

Write down all the scenarios you can think of, put them all in a hat and draw one out.... If you don't like it, draw another out and so on until you get to a scenario you like...
AnswerID: 191554

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 07:45

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 07:45
Excellent! LMAO
FollowupID: 449388

Follow Up By: Lyds- Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 10:25

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 10:25
thats not as silly as it sounds; sometimes you know what you want to do and just need confirmation! Who better a person to get it from! I like it.
FollowupID: 449422

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 22:30

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 22:30
how much call for modded Jacks is there?

better off to strip it down but how many holes would you need to cover up?

Longer you leave it in the shed, the less its worth.

I'll have the spotties.
AnswerID: 191559

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 22:32

Monday, Aug 28, 2006 at 22:32
no extra holes and no spotties for you hahaha

yes too true
FollowupID: 449356

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 14:50

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 14:50
Obviosly more than you would think My sister and BIL traded there jack in for a Prado and were contacted by the new owner who bought all the accesseries for it they had removed for trading it in
FollowupID: 449478

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 21:04

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 21:04
"Longer you leave it in the shed, the less its worth."

Bruce is right.
FollowupID: 449540

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 21:07

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 21:07
I reckon take it to the Jack club and throw it in their maggo..

Already told Ads what # plate to change it to... LMAO

www.vplates.com.au/index.htm
FollowupID: 449543

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 01:42

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 01:42
Gday Ads, one question - does it owe you anything? if not then its no big cost to hang onto it and use it every now and then.

Remember that as far as most markets are concerned its only the base value of the vehicle that matters, ie - you never get what its worth for any add-ons fitted.

Dont forget that being a jack the front wheels will never fall out if a shock or arm fails :-)

On the other hand - if you are looking to offload any goodies :-)))))

You could always stick some bridgestone 245/70/16 road tyres on it and have a ball around town ;-)

AnswerID: 191577

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 09:12

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 09:12
Hi Mate

How are you mate, been ages.

Got a brand new LRA tank still in bubble wrap that i might be selling. If i do sell it have cargo barrier, draws, wheels that will get rid of.

take car

Ads
FollowupID: 449404

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 10:41

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 10:41
hey dude, yeah i havent been on in ages - when i logged in there were only about 1500 new posts and 8000 odd follow ups etc !!!

as the wise one below mentioned - company cars can dissapear just as quick. Im glad i didnt sell mine when i had a company vehicle for a few years.

BTW - hows the job going? doing well i hope. cheers mate Brad
FollowupID: 449427

Reply By: Moggs - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 06:46

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 06:46
Strip it, flog the accessories and sell it as a family wagon Ads. It is costing you money even if you don't owe anything on it - rego, insurance and depreciation. Most importantly though, it is taking up premium space in that garage of yours.

oh yeah, and you don't really want to be driving around in what apears to be a murderers favoured 4wd! ;)

You like the cruiser - even if that was to go wouldn't you be more inclined to get another cruiser or patrol rather than go back to the Jack now?
AnswerID: 191579

Follow Up By: Moggs - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 15:10

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 15:10
HEY!, how come everyone got a follow-up except me.....bastardos! ;-)
FollowupID: 449481

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 16:02

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 16:02
Follow-up... ;-))
FollowupID: 449489

Follow Up By: Moggs - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 16:16

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 16:16
Ahhh!...now that is better - just rounded the post out nicely ;-)
FollowupID: 449493

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 20:54

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 20:54
oh blah blah blah, remind me to give you a hug next timei see you xx hahaha
FollowupID: 449533

Follow Up By: Moggs - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 21:00

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 21:00
go-on...getttttt outofit!! Already had my follow up ;)
FollowupID: 449537

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 07:39

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 07:39
Gday Crazie

Just leave it on the street in Dandenong overnight and it will strip itself ,,no fuss no bother,,if you leave the keys as well it will automaticly move at high speed and you can guarantee that it will hit an immoveable object, there fore easing the pain of doing the work yourself.
Glad to be of help.

AnswerID: 191584

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 09:13

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 09:13
hahaha
FollowupID: 449405

Follow Up By: Spike me - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 19:28

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 19:28
Better leaving it in th estreet in Langwarrin. It will be stripped in minutes. But only if the people are smart enough to use a spanner.
FollowupID: 449522

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 08:21

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 08:21
Na, keep it for a while Ads. They will become collectors items.
A very capable vehicle as you well know.

AnswerID: 191598

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 09:40

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 09:40
Hi matey

If you can afford to, keep it.

The Jack is a phenomenal vehicle. It is dropping in value now but in the future will become a collectors item.

What happens if the current job goes pearshaped and you end up without a truck. Just a thought...:-)

AnswerID: 191616

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 09:54

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 09:54
hello dude man

yes it has been great to us.

Thats what i waas thinking too....
FollowupID: 449415

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:21

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:21
It's obvious you still love the Jack but sorry I don't think it will become a collectors item, no way. If you love it that much keep it, I'm not sure about the stripping. You stand a good chance of selling it how it is with nothing to spend so to speak to someone who want's a rig like this.
FollowupID: 449438

Reply By: old mate - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:40

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 11:40
Just my 2 bobs worth.

If you don't/hardly use it then sell it. As others have said, it will still lose value just sitting around and it will still cost you for the odd occasion that you use it. e.g. rego/insurance etc. It is a lot of money to have tied up just sitting in the shed.

As wether to strip it or not, will the parts on their own be worth a lot? Is there a big demand from jackaroo owners for such items. I know accessories etc may not increase a car's value but they could make the car more saleable/attractive to buyers as they can buy a vehicle with all the gear/work already done compared to a standard one. As previously mentioned, what about holes, marks etc that may need repair etc.

As for the new spares, if it's just a couple of belts and filters etc, throw them in. They will still be in your shed 12 months from now. Or have a go selling them before you sell the vehicle and if they don't sell then throw them in.

I know the Jack is a good vehicle but I'm sure people are talking in jest when they say "collectors item".

BTW How many k's has it done?
AnswerID: 191629

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 13:38

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 13:38
hello old mate

Yes wasnt taking the collectors item seriously. Its done 99k. If i do go down the sales path, the little things will get thrown in, but I think the bigger items, I will hang on to. I like to hord haha
FollowupID: 449465

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 12:15

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 12:15
The ideal would be to sell it exactly as is, but its a case of can you find a buyer. I would suspect you will attract a larger market of buyers for the "family vehicle" without the accessories. Perhaps you could run an ad that gives the option with/without the gear and have 2 prices up your sleeve? Or say "fully setup for travelling, but will sell without accessories". Depends on what you think the depreciation of the accessories is worth to you. Don't forget to use the ExplorOz Trader Display Ads will run until sold for $9.95 (one free ad per year to Members). Best of luck!
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 191639

Follow Up By: Exploder - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 18:10

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 18:10
“Perhaps you could run an ad that gives the option with/without the gear and have 2 prices up your sleeve? Or say, "fully setup for travelling, but will sell without accessories"

Yeah, that’s exactly what I was going to suggest.
FollowupID: 449509

Reply By: S&N - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 18:46

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 18:46
strip off the goodies and sell them.
then set it on fire and get the cash back from the insurance mob, including the cost of the goodies that were "stolen" prior to it being set on fire. :)
we will take the fridge, stereo and spotties!!!!
AnswerID: 191682

Follow Up By: Wisey (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 19:31

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 19:31
DkHd. Do I have to make it any clearer? Fraud clear enuff?
FollowupID: 449523

Follow Up By: bigcol - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 20:21

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 20:21
You made it perfectly clear.

Perfectly clear that you don't have a sense of humour.

I saw the funny side of your comment S&N
FollowupID: 449528

Follow Up By: S&N - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 21:52

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 21:52
thanks bigcol,
Im sure Ad's saw it too. some people just dont know how to laugh.
FollowupID: 449557

Reply By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 21:14

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 21:14
Adam,

Sell the bleep er. Three cars for a two person family is madness.

It will incur rego, insurance, depeciation etc.

It will never be a collectors item. No 4wd has ever been. For obscure reasons GT Falcons, Porsche Speedsters, MGB's, 65 Mustangs, Gull Wing Benzes etc actually appreciate in value. Buggered if I know why, their modern day equivalents do everything better for less.

I'm not sure stripping it will or won't be better for resale. What will you get for second hand extras?

Just try to make sure the prospective buyer doesn't look underneath. I know what you have put that poor beast through LOL.

AnswerID: 191696

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 21:18

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 21:18
hello mate

Think I will pull out the expensive things and make it 7 seater, i am mainly thinking the radios, draws etc.. No damage underneather mate, looks brand new. It has been used for four wheel driving but has also been very well cared for.

cheers mate

Ads
FollowupID: 449545

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 22:03

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2006 at 22:03
>> Sell the bleep er. Three cars for a two person family is madness.

damn, hate to think what he thinks of 3 cars and 2 bikes for 1 person :(

FollowupID: 449562