Turist (The Original One)
I am stopped at the traffic lights.
Jackaroo pulls up next to me, driver calls out
"What do you want something that big for?"
"Towing" I say
"Oh yeh", he says, "Wadaya tow?"
"Jackaroos most of the time" I say.
Bloke starts climbing out of the Jack, wants to job me. Scene looking nasty.
I clear off, too old for that crud.
What has happened to the old Aussie S.O.H.?
Reply By: Emo - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 12:37
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 12:37
I thought that most Jackaroo drivers wore beige cardigans and smoked a pipe.
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 13:25
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 13:25
Gave up smoking 6 years ago!
Oh!....you did say most didn't you.
(Love my beige cardigan though)
Follow Up By: Turist (The Original One) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 15:10
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 15:10
This bloke looked more like he should have been wearing a kaftan and smoking hash.
Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 15:36
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 15:36
Still not as stylish as us Land Rover drivers in our Tweed jackets and scarfs ;-))
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 16:54
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 16:54
Redback, would I be correct in assuming that you wear that because you spend so much time OUTSIDE you vehicle instead of driving it????
Let me guess, the hat is to keep the oil and mud off your hair while you are under the vehicle.
Follow Up By: ImEasy - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 11:00
Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 11:00
GaryInOz,
Where did he mention a bleep ing hat?
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 12:57
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 12:57
Well I'd have laughed.
Perhaps it was a bit too close to the truth for him!
Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 13:02
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 13:02
He was probably just the type, or in the mood that if you were in a rav4 you'd have been asked 'why do you drive something that small', an answer along the lines like 'I'm not a fat b@rstard ' would probably have got a similar response.
I have a chuckle at the 'Nissan recovery vehicle' stickers. I just hope one day I have to snatch one out of a bog. Do you offer a scraper and video them removing the sticker prior to the extraction?
Would be good for a laugh, and please don't start a toyota vs nissan thing now!
Cheers Andrew
Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 13:03
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 13:03
sorry, was supposed to be a reply not a followup
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 13:14
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 13:14
G'day Bob,
Life is way too short for someone to be that serious. I like your sense of humour and don't let some moron stop you from exercising same.
Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 13:59
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 13:59
G'day Bob
Mate you're lucky you had the chance to high-tail it out of there. There have been some nasty road rage happenings of late. However one would think that a fellow 4 wheeler would be able to take a bit of a jibe. Must be a tarmac only jockey eh?
Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 14:21
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 14:21
Hey Bob,
Pleased you got away from that OK. One poor
young guy on the Sunshine Coast wasn't so lucky lately and he was killed as a result of a road rage incident.
I can't understand that people can get so worked up to the point of killing someone over a road incident.
Reply By: D-Jack - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 14:19
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 14:19
If it's the incident I'm thinking of, it wasnt' the remark it was the comment you made about small 4wd, small d*ck!
Just kidding.
D-Jack (Jackaroo owner)
p.s. I live in
Adelaide so it definitely wasn't me!
Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 14:38
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 14:38
Lucky that you didn't fump 'im Turist......
Scrubby would have had a field day.......just see the headlines now..
"4wd owners cannot see eye-to-eye".........lol lol lol
-one thing tho', you would probably be able to go faster and further, he'd have never caught you, should have give him more cheek;)))
Michael
Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 14:43
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 14:43
What a pricks act..? Telling him you tow Jackaroos, hell he's probably a frustrated Toyota driver, or he'd love one. You rock up in the floating palace with the 5 strippers in the back telling him his ride is inferior..! I don't think he was jumping out to job you, he wanted to get in the back with the girls..! LOL
WTF, who cares..!
Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 15:02
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 15:02
Hi Turist,
You have my kind of humour, unfortunately I often wonder the same thing about peoples sense of humour nowadays, some people just seem so high strung and have forgotten that life is all about having fun.
The guy is obviously a wanker mate of Spikeme so I woudn't worry about him, not that I think you are, though it's sad that we have people like that out there.
"There are many @rseholes in this world, unfortunately we have no choice but to share it with them"
Avagoodn
Pezza
Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 16:50
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 16:50
Turist would it have looked like this at the bottom of the page,my rig pic.
Cheer's Bob.
Reply By: Member - Meggs - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 15:07
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 15:07
Sounds like a case of "ask a stupid question get a stupid answer"
I wish I was that sharp with my answers.
Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 21:52
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 21:52
I would have thought of it about 5 minutes later!
Reply By: Member - John L G - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 15:26
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 15:26
Love your sense of Humour Turist - seems like a perfeclty acceptable response to me.
Reminds me of some years ago, when talking on mobiles whilst driving was legal tho still stupid, and being stopped at some traffic lights I allowed the company commode to roll gently into the tow bar equipped vehicle in front.
Barely a tap really, however the bloke in front looks in the mirror, sees me on the phone and explodes out of his car ready to rip me limb from limb.
Sensibly I locked the doors and wound the window to be slightly ajar and asked him if he could keep the noise down as I was talking to my mother.
That didn't really help but was all I could think of at the time..........
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 15:37
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 15:37
Hey that is funny!! still laughing here!!
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 15:46
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 15:46
I'm thinking that i might put low profile tyres on the Patrol to make it look smaller.. I couldnt handle it if i got hassled by every Pajero owner i stopped next to.... Michael.
Reply By: _gmd_pps - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 17:01
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 17:01
There is something Australian in both behaviours.
I ride a Honda Goldwing and have a large stereo on it ..
8 out of 10 times when I end up with another motorbike
at a traffic light the guy has to make a wheely at green
to try and impress someone .. I wonder why ..
I also had such a setup in Europe and nobody really bothered.
I see examples of envy and jalousy in my environment every day ..
something I don't really know from where I come from ...
The infamous poppy syndrom is something very Australian...
And when somebody asks a stupid question ?
What does a German Oak do when a pig scratches at it's bark ? Nothing ...
but I should say ... I have never experienced anything real negative in the
Real Australia .. and thats in the country ... city folks are just too stressed
to think about more important things in life ...
have fun and don't be surprised if you find a loooong scratch on your truck
one day ... thats another thing I had to learn here .. people bump into your car
and don't even have the style to leave a note ...
good luck
gmd
Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 17:35
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 17:35
Love the number plate there Bob Good one Rgards Steve M
Reply By: Exploder - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 18:21
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 18:21
LOL, Good one!!!
Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 18:43
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 18:43
Good to see "the bus" works on this
forum too....
Reply By: Member - Geoff T (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 20:07
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 20:07
did this really happen bob ??? it makes a good light hearted joke anyway which i think is probably the go
geoff
Reply By: ev700 - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 20:36
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 20:36
Seems to be a lot of anger around these days and it is not helped by the shock jocks fomenting jealousy and strife.
I reckon there will be a lot more angst in the future as fewer people can afford to run vehicles. Presently many people think that affording a vehicle is a basic human right.
Reply By: revhead307 - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 20:45
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 20:45
lol Turist, I would have laughed at my own expense at that one.
Im a desk jockey during the week, but am a bouncer at pubs/clubs in my city on weekends (for the money not the powertrip).
Sadly there are enough agro d$ckhe@ds to go round, be it drunk or sober. It always stuns me to see what stupid and trivial things start fights and how quickly things escalate...often one sided. `
Good job removing yourself from the situation.
Rev
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 10:40
Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 10:40
As my elder son, who is quite skilled at Kung Fu, says; "The best form of defence is the old Chinese sprinting trick" :) Only fools get into physical violence if there is _any_ other option.
I thought your "towing Jacks" reply was great - I would have laughed.
Reply By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 21:17
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 21:17
The other bloke sounds like a
well rounded, sensible individual.
The city is stressful. Went there the other week and was constantly getting cut off and drivers beeping me. Would like to know what they beeped for. Very glad to get back on the open road.
Reply By: PatrolBen - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 21:20
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 21:20
Just another reason to hit the bush or beach!
Reply By: PatrolBen - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 21:21
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 21:21
.......... and laugh at all the bogged toyota's when you have to snatch em out.
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 22:24
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 22:24
Years ago when we had an 80s Rangie, I was heading off the Tullamarine Freeway to the airport lane, but apparently a guy behind me in a Holden of some decription decided he didn't want me to change into his lane. I did anyway as there was only a limited length to pull over there.
He then came out around me and decided he was going to cut in on me with his wide tandem trailer. He expected to be able to scrape me I am sure, but it was at the time I was steering off left up the airport lane. He looked back to see I was headed
well away from him. Effin duckhead.
Reply By: bigcol - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 09:16
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 09:16
I had had a chit day at work when i was trying to get into the right lane to do a right turn a couple of hundred metres down the road.
I had ample room when the P.O.S Magna with three 17 year olds in it shut the door on me.
One of middle eastern appearance said it was their bit of road and if i did it again he'd cut me up, as we were waiting at the lights.
Well i thought you little @#$% and jumped out of the ute knocked the pick off the handle and then walked over and asked him what he said.
The windows were wound up real tight and the door locked in no time. The light turned green and off they went. So i gave them a broken tail light for his trouble.
Now i'm not usually that aggresive but when some little foreigner say's that in my own country i'm not going to cop it.
Yeah i know, it could have been ugly.
Follow Up By: Off-track - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 22:01
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 22:01
That's Gold
Reply By: joc45 - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 20:24
Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 20:24
Is this what they mean by "feral baiting"?
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 10:08
Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 10:08
hahaha Jack evny I call it