Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 22:36
Deanna & Bevan (WA)
Hi all, we were at the
Dowerin field day yesterday and saw these reversing cameras, they were very compact and overall looked great. The company is called W.A.Z. International and are at
Tammin. Does anyone know anything about them or even better, used them.
Thanks in advance for your help
Deanna
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 22:44
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 22:44
G'day Deanna,
Don't know that brand......but I have the Polaris set-up on my Patrol and an extra camera on the back of the Camper......works VERY
well.
Follow Up By: Ronnie - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 19:06
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 19:06
Have you changed from the Poron Roachie
Ronnie
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 20:03
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 20:03
G'day Ronnie,
Nah mate, it turns out that Poron and Polaris are now one in the same mob...... go figure!!
Reply By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 23:52
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2006 at 23:52
Can i ask a silly question please? I assume the camera would be for city use. Otherwise why would you need one for bush work?
Follow Up By: Deanna & Bevan (WA) - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 00:00
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 00:00
Hi, it is to put onto the back of the Patrol and caravan. When we are on the road with the caravan Bevan likes to see if there is anyone behind wanting to pass, (we move over to let them go by instead of holding them up) with the camera it is much easier to tell if there is someone there. We also have grandchildren and with the spate of kids getting run over in the driveways I think the camera on the Patrol would be a god send. They are the main reasons.
Deanna
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 08:24
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 08:24
G'day Barnesy,
I live in the country (Kadina SA) and I find the camera/s invaluable in all sorts of circumstances. Even to the point of making it MUCH easier to reverse the Patrol right up to the exact spot to couple the camper trailer up, without having a huge argument with the better half!!!! hahahaha
For a few hundred bucks it is cheap insurance for reversing. I have 3 kids (youngest is now 5), but in our 4x4 club we have other members with littlies too. I don't think I could live with myself if I ever ran over somebody. My Patrol has twin spare
wheels and the back is full of gear all the time. I had long ago removed the internal mirror as All I could see was the kids in the back
seat or a whole host of gear attached to my cargo barrier.
My screen unit is attached where the internal mirror used to be.
Reply By: Ray Bates - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 08:03
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 08:03
I have a camera on the back of my caravan also. Gone are the days when, quote, "If you can't see my mirrors I can't see you". It is very effective if combined with a CB. Truckies realy appreciate you instead of getting frustrated.
Reply By: Emo - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 10:32
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 10:32
I saw a wireless colour video baby monitor the other day that I reckon would have been very easy to adapt into a reversing camera.
Follow Up By: porl - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 14:36
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 14:36
now there's a
bright spark,
well done Emo, got anymore details on that ?
Reply By: Dave Thomson - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 14:54
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 14:54
Hi Deanna,
you can get them here in Oz but tend to be a bit expensive, if your in the market for one I can recommend ebay, I bought one from a mob called jetview {hong kong}and all up paid $270.00 for
mine, just mind when you order it that you want the whole kit {not just the camera} i.e. camera , monitor, cable etc, and go for at least 85 degree angle or better still 120 degree, that was the best deal I could find,
regards,
Reply By: phillowe - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 15:55
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 15:55
Hi Guys,
Might want to check this out www.brashimports.com.au/db350.htm these guys have a large range of gear and have always found there prices very good!!
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 17:23
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 17:23
I have just bought a Kit from there.
What made my mind up was Brash Imports appears the only place I could find where the Reversing Mirror Monitor had a decent sized monitor. About 5" which takes up the centre two thirds portion.
You can also pick from a range of different camera combinations to ensure yoy end up with exactly what you want in both monitor and camera.
I cant give any further details as I have yet to install it but it looks to be a good bit of gear.
Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 16:00
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 16:00
Hi D & B,
We have imported tried and tested a few 'wireless' systems. They did not work to
well and the interference was quite bad. The biggest problem we had was when testing to units within range of each other. We would get images from the 2nd unit appear on the first monitor. This was tested at 2.4g and on vans and cars.
We have settled on the wired system. They will be supplied with a 5 inch colour screen, 2 cameras and all the cable and brackets needed for a complete D.I.Y. job.
The container should be here in 2 weeks.
Regards Derek.
Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 17:48
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 17:48
Thanks Derek for your info on the wireless system as we were actually looking at one of those but I can understand what you have said so will run from that one. Can you tell us a bit more about the ones you have coming?
Deanna
PS. Same person who posted the original thread,the name change is because of
membership
Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 17:51
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 17:51
Hi Deanna,
Here is a site link.
Camera
Reply By: Barty - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 17:45
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 17:45
Just wonding if you can use a revering camera with a pda???
thx barty
Follow Up By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 21:39
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 21:39
I've been thinking about the same thing. Nothing obvious come up on the net (lots of the reverse - using a PDA as a webcam). One idea I'd like to try is an IP webcam (a wireless webcam that acts as its own web server so you lauch a browser on the PDA and connect to the camera through wifi. Unfortunately the cheapest I've seen are over $150 eg
Site Link
The company is in
Melbourne however so if I find the time might see if I get go there and try the idea out. Whether it works will depend on how quickly it all comes up - if you have to wait a minute for the image to appear then it would be painful (the browser could be set to go the the image as its home page but the camera may need to boot) Probably not waterproof either so positioning may be a problem.
Adrian
Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 20:14
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 20:14
Thanyou all for your info etc, will consider all and go from there. I will also try and get more info on the one we saw at
Dowerin just to complete our research. Will post any results if interesting.
Deanna
Reply By: Wazza - (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 20:57
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 20:57
Just bought this kit on ebay. Turned up in 2 days via UPS from Hong Kong. Might be a piece of crap as I am yet to hook it up. Will let you know if I get around to it this weekend:
Site Link
Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 21:10
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 21:10
Thanks, will be interested to know how you go
Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 21:11
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 21:11
Hope it is OK for you.
I have heard reports that the mirror type buckles in a hot car and the mirror is useless after that. They seem to use some type of see through PVC with a mirror film.
Let us know.
Regards Derek.
Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 21:14
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 21:14
Mirror Type
Follow Up By: Wazza - (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 21:42
Thursday, Aug 31, 2006 at 21:42
Thanks for the link Derek ... I fully expect it to be a get what you paid for situation... If the mirror does suffer in the heat, can always mount it above the existing mirror as a monitor only. Cheers.
Reply By: Wazza - (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 19:56
Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 19:56
Deanna,
I got the reverse camera kit installed this weekend. Seems to work ok. Screen is not as
bright as I would like in sunlight, but I assume it would be the same as most other systems. Pretty easy to install, except for running and hiding the wiring. There was a software glitch for a while where the image was not reversing (you select reversed image using the little remote control that comes with it). Just had to unplug the power and 'reboot it' and seems ok now.
It's function as a normal mirror seems to be pretty good. Be interesting to see if it suffers in the heat like Derek suggested. Anyway, it was around $200 and half a weekend to install, but I am pretty happy with it so far.
Got the camera itself tucked away neatly in the number plate light holder.
Have not used it on the road yet.
See pics below:
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 20:00
Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 20:00
soft.... or old :P
Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 22:37
Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 22:37
Thanks for that Wazza, it looks pretty nifty. We will be interested in how it works on the road. It is what we are looking for but we also want one on the caravan as
well so that would have to be wired up also. Great pics
Thanks again
D & B
Follow Up By: Member - BBB - Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 22:56
Sunday, Sep 03, 2006 at 22:56
Wazza
Would you please tell me how to add the Photos to the site the way you have ?
Follow Up By: Wazza - (Vic) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 10:43
Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 10:43
BBB,
Firstly, load the photo's to a free photo server such as photobucket.com
When you are posting to the
forum in Exploroz (like I am doing now), there is a tip to Post Hyperlinks at the bottom of the screen. You replace the text domain.com/image_path with the addrss (URL) for the photograph. In photobucket, this link is supplied for you when you have loaded your images, or if you want to simply link to a photo on the internet somewhere, you can right click on the photo and go to properties and copy the address (URL)
Clear as mud?