Gas bottle bbq/camp oven cooker

Submitted: Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 10:45
ThreadID: 37315 Views:13446 Replies:7 FollowUps:7
Some time ago there was a link posted to a site showing how a 9kg gas bottle was used to make a cooker that fitted a camp oven .I,ve done a search but can only find the www.australiaoutdoors.com one which is not as good as the other one I saw.It even had a little chimney for the top to assist in getting the fire to coals more quickly.Is anybody able to help with "the missing link"?
Thanks,Mary
"Some people walk in the rain,others just get wet."

Reply By: Secret Mens Business - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 11:12

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 11:12
Yeah the one your thinking of was custom made. It was posted on this site but I can't seem to find the link to it. Keep looking until someone finds it.
AnswerID: 192145

Reply By: Secret Mens Business - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 11:17

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 11:17
Also your link should be www.australianoutdoors.com rather than australia.
AnswerID: 192148

Reply By: Secret Mens Business - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 11:18

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 11:18
When in doubt Mary, Google Google Google..!

Site Link

AnswerID: 192150

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 11:20

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 11:20
Mary,

He's the link to Member Darian's site where he has information on Barry Breaden's invention.

Barry Breaden's Camp Oven Cooker

AnswerID: 192152

Reply By: Member - Mary W (VIC) - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 15:59

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 15:59
Thanks very much for the prompt response! That was the one I was after and no it didn't google for me.It's a neat little set up.
Cheers,Mary
"Some people walk in the rain,others just get wet."

AnswerID: 192206

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 17:19

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 17:19
It's a bloody ripper mate!!

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 450072

Reply By: kev.h - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 17:27

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 17:27
I made mine out of a 13 kg bottle it fits a bigger camp oven they are not as easy to find but worth the effort
Kev
AnswerID: 192234

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 12:58

Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 12:58
Yo Kev,

Post a pic or free willya!

I am interested in the 13k bottle setup.

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 450164

Follow Up By: kev.h - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 22:57

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 22:57
Hey crazy
Will as soon as I figure out how, will have to take pics first the 13 is not much bigger but so much better you get circulation which helps will post as soon as I can
cheers Kev
FollowupID: 450672

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 17:39

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 17:39
ONYA BUD!

Got hold of a condemned 13.5kg bottle today and will make the thing like my 9kg unit.

GRRR!!!
FollowupID: 450809

Follow Up By: kev.h - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 18:01

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 18:01
Hey Crazy
When you cut the top off I use one of those realy thin 4" cut-off disks on my grinder and cut just at the top of the centre weld only cut through one layer of metal and it leaves you with a spigot to sit the top back on I drill about 8 or 9 x 10mm holes in the base and add a 2" exhaust tube for a chimney where I cut the valve out
Kev
FollowupID: 451017

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 20:09

Thursday, Sep 07, 2006 at 20:09
Yo Kev,

Do you have a door on the thing?

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 451236

Follow Up By: kev.h - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 11:21

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 11:21
Hey Crazy
No door just light fire in base when its down to coals place oven in put on the lid - my oven has legs about 50mm high otherwise may need some support to keep from smothering the coals- lasts long enough to cook a roast etc.couple of hours.
Cant figure how to post photos any clues ?? otherwise send me an email address to( kev dot h at bigpond dot com dot au) and i will email them to you
See ya Kev
FollowupID: 451367

Reply By: Ron173 - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 09:30

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 09:30
Theres also the "camp oven mate" which is designed to use a gas burner and does so VERY well.

Traditionalists choke when an oven not used in a fire, but when bans on etc its great.

Also we can pull up at a spot, set camp oven up with a chook or whatever in it, in about 5 mins flat, then while we are setting up camp its cooking beautifully, and ready when you are.

I think they are made by southern metal spinners or something like that, but BBQ galore stock em, cost bout $90.

I live on a town block, albeit in regional area but cant just go starting fires in my back yard, I often cook roasts in the camp oven this way at home.

Ron
AnswerID: 192607