Manual or Auto???

Submitted: Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 11:20
ThreadID: 37316 Views:2556 Replies:19 FollowUps:9

Starting to think about purchace of a new vehical and ws wondering what peoples thought were on what made a better 4WD.......Manual or Auto???? I am sure there are for and againsts for both but would be interested to here peoples views.

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 11:31

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 11:31
I have always sworn on manuals.
Better fuel consumption, but not as much difference as it used to be.
Long term maintenance costs lower. Depends how long you want to keep the vehicle.
Some modern autos have a heat sensor now that cut out the engine or reduces power when too hot such as sand driving for a length of time. Tyre pressures do make a difference here.
But,
Having friends with autos, big plus is low stall speed manouvering, and auto changing down when climbing without loosing power when climbing.
Down hill braking seems to be better, which used to be a hassle.

I don't do a lot of stop/start city driving, so city use not an issue.

What are you used to and if you have another driver who will be using it a lot, what do they prefer?
AnswerID: 192155

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 11:48

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 11:48
Auto is the better solution in many off road situations ..
rivercrossings, sand etc where possible shift pauses can interrupt the "flow".
my 2c
gmd
AnswerID: 192159

Reply By: Robin - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 12:00

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 12:00
Need to consider more than just auto manual.

Some engines in some cars like 3lt nissan GU has low torque and can really
use and auto to get it moving.

Overall a manual is fundamentally more efficent by around 8% but in the
real world the faster and more optimum gear changing of auto means it
wins out in say 0-100km times.

All else being equal the auto is better to get you going, and
this has more meaning in sand, and when taking off on a hill.

You also have to consider the enviroment you drive in , steep wet
hills here in vic mean that the better downhill engine braking of
the manual is a big point.

In general auto's give you less precise control of the car as
it decides when to change up/down and there is slight lag in
torque convertor.

I chose a manual petrol patrol GU the because I wanted maximum
performance and a less complex car.

By not getting an auto in GU 4800 meant ->
- no transmission computer
- no ABS system
- slower to 100kmh
- Faster acceleration in fixed gear
- better engine braking
- less disk pad weaqr
- more precise handling
- sufficent torque so that hill starts were not an issue
- ability to roll start

its time for lunch

AnswerID: 192160

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 12:02

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 12:02
Depending on what you wanna do

Auto all the way..
Converting my TD6 patrol to auto when matey gets me the bits.
AnswerID: 192161

Reply By: Scoey (QLD) - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 12:25

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 12:25
Auto. Definately the way to go! I've never found myself in a situation where I would've prefered to be driving my mates manual. Sitting at the top of a snotty big hill waiting for him to fart around with which gear to select, getting half way up, runnning out of power, stall, bugger wrong gear, reverse bump start, trundle down, choose another gear, have another crack etc etc.

Autos will do just about anything a manual can about as well as a manual would. But the things it does that a manual can't will be the deal breaker. Auto all the way! ;-)

Scoey!
AnswerID: 192163

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 21:15

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 21:15
G'day Scoey,
Although I'm a died-in-the-wool manual driver, I agree with you that auto's are probably better in most situations.
However, the bloke you're talking about (your mate with the manual), sounds like he needs a few lessons in understanding his truck's capabilities. After you've been driving a vehcile for a while you get to know what it's capabilities are. You instinctively KNOW what gear a particular hill will require (if in doubt select a lower gear). If you're on a long uphill track and come around a corner only to find that it suddenly gets a bit steeper.......if you're worth your salt you should be able to drop back a cog and maintain forward momentum. Your mate sounds like he NEEDS an automatic.

Sorry, not trying to bag your mate (he's probably a top bloke and a great driver too), but there shouldn't be ANY situations a manual box driver finds himself in that he says to himself "strewth, I wish I was driving an auto".....

Just my opinion.

FollowupID: 450133

Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 12:38

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 12:38
if you had an auto and then an auto you'd wish you get back into an auto
AnswerID: 192166

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 21:17

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 21:17
R U p!ssed Nudie?????
hahahahahaha
FollowupID: 450135

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 09:54

Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 09:54
who edited my post?

it was spposed to read.....if you had an auto and then an manual you'd wish you could get back into an auto
FollowupID: 450153

Reply By: Hairy - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 12:40

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 12:40
Im with Oldplodder.
These days the autos are pretty even with the manuals, it comes down to a personal choice and the driver.
I personaly still go with manuals.
AnswerID: 192167

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 12:44

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 12:44
if it is a new vehicle and it needs to be the toughest available with ridged front axles then you have no choice as they are only available in manuel
Toyota 75/79/105 series
Nissan 4.2
If it doesnt need to be that extreme then you get a choice
AnswerID: 192168

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 14:04

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 14:04
Oh common Davoe, what's wrong with the 4800 auto patrol? It's a pretty serious off road wepon. Not only that, it has real heart and a super cooling system to boot. Mine towed nearly 5 tonnes of metal trough the simmo - that qualifies it as tough.

FollowupID: 450018

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 14:39

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 14:39
thought of that and considered putting diesal in the comments but thought no one would notice
FollowupID: 450025

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 14:46

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 14:46
I'd have noticed old mate and it wouldn't have changed my response.

FollowupID: 450030

Reply By: Chaz - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 12:56

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 12:56
I've never spoken to someone that was sorry they bought an auto. Most people that dislike auto's, have never owned one.( Well, not a good one anyway )
I for one, will never go back to a manual, but I guess it's personal preference.
In my opinion an auto gives you much better control over the vehicle, if its driven like a manual.
AnswerID: 192172

Reply By: Moose - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 13:15

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 13:15
G'day All
Isn't there some issue with towing a broken down auto (or is that a thing of the past too)?
Can clutch start a manual with a dead battery but not an auto.
Infinite low speed control with auto.
AnswerID: 192173

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 13:55

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 13:55
Moose, thanks, knew I forgot something.
I can clutch start my manual diesel in an emergency with a hill or a tow, but not an auto.
Only had to do it once, but grateful at the time for a manual.

And another, gives the left foot something to do, and the left hand.
FollowupID: 450014

Follow Up By: Chaz - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 20:38

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 20:38
Hi Moose,
When towing an auto 4by, one would put the transfer in neutral, then no issue, unlike a normal car, where tailshaft needs to be removed if towing over long distance.
Owning an auto means having two or more batterys and making sure you don't get a flat one. Carrying jumper leeds is mandatory, and there is usually another vehicle around somewhere. I think really, the only thing to let you down, could be the starter.
FollowupID: 450129

Reply By: Member - John L G - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 13:59

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 13:59
In real terms apart from the engine braking effect, I think trhe auto kills the manual.

However, that said, I just enjoy swapping cogs and will stick with a manual.

The way fuel costs are tho, we should all be driving buzz boxes for daily drivers and have an old HJ 45 or patrool bush pig in the shed for those days when we actually do go off road.
AnswerID: 192179

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 14:25

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 14:25
Auto hands down.

Used to always have manuals but my current Paj is an auto and it's so good I doubt I'll ever buy another manual.

Down hill engine breaking is adequate as standard but if you need better, install some lower ratio transfer gears.
AnswerID: 192182

Follow Up By: Member - pilbaradisco - Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 09:50

Saturday, Sep 02, 2006 at 09:50
I just use the brake pedal! ;-)

Glen.
FollowupID: 450152

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 14:41

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 14:41
If you live with traffic lights on a daily basis , an Automatic saves the leg and the clutch ,better on sand ,no matter how good anyone thinks they can drop a clutch ,that split second still equates to NO traction ,
AnswerID: 192186

Reply By: Pavo - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 14:53

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 14:53
This thread seems to be very manual/auto specific but I don't think it's this simple.

For example, in the Prado range, the turbo diesel has a 5 speed manual and a 4 speed auto. In petrol it has 6 manual, 5 auto.

If they were all 6 speeders, for both petrol/diesel and auto/manual it would be much easier to make a decision...

You would really need to ask this question for a particular model.
AnswerID: 192189

Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 15:09

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 15:09
If you care about resale value AUTO wins.. Then fundamentally ask yourself, will you get sick of changing gears, everybody I know does, including me. I love driving a manual occassionally, it's fun but the city traffic is a real killer, especially the South Eastern (Monash) Freeway and the Auto and my MP3 stereo are the only life savers I have.
AnswerID: 192192

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 17:07

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 17:07
I like the manual's engine braking when you really need to crawl slow. And better fuel consumption.
But the clutches are not as good as they used to be.
And some manual gearboxes are not as reliable as the autos.

Depends on what you do, and which vehicle you're talking about
AnswerID: 192222

Reply By: Matt Davis - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 17:27

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 17:27
Have an Auto Patrol and a Manual Hilux. I must go against the grain here. I use the hilux for work, and love it around town, in the bush, just about everywhere. Changing gears doesn't bother me.
The Nissan is the weekly shopping cart, and gets used for W/E trips and family holidays towing a van or a boat. This is the only time I can tolerate the auto. In the bush the only time I miss the manual is from when I turn the key to start it until when I turn it off.
AnswerID: 192233

Reply By: Angler - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 21:05

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 21:05
I have had both and the last two 4wd's have been autos. After having a couple of drives to the cape with an auto I will never go back to manual. It;s so easy, just keep the revs at about 2000 and away it goes. In low range I reckon it would climb a tree. There is just so much torque available with the auto.

Pooley
AnswerID: 192271

Reply By: otrom - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 21:36

Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 21:36
Pajero 3.2l Turbo Diesel Auto with 5 speed Sports Mode Automatic......it's a great combination, heaps of power, good fuel economy, fun to drive.

When in sports mode, the Pajero Auto will hold the selected gear regardless of the revs and will not shift up a gear until you want to (Not all manufacturers allow this). This is a great feature for sand driving. To prevent damage to the transmission, it will not let you drop down a gear unless it is safe to do so.

AnswerID: 192278