FuelMate - Anyone used one?

Submitted: Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 11:38
ThreadID: 37404 Views:7839 Replies:15 FollowUps:23
FuelMate is a tin-based catalyst that sits in the fuel line, and supposedly offers a 10-25% increase in fuel economy. My mechanic claims he's fitted them to all his vehicles after testing for 6 months, and tells me a lot of trucking companies have tried them and then fitted these to their fleets.

FuelMate has a website at www.fuelmate.com.au, but a Google search on 'fuelmate' (and a search of the ExplorOz forum) doesn't return any results - which makes me a bit suspicious.

Just wondering if anyone has fitted one of these, and can comment on them?

Thanks, Max

Reply By: old mate - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 11:47

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 11:47
This oughta be good.
AnswerID: 192634

Follow Up By: maxhugen - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 12:07

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 12:07
Ha ha! From posts below, looks like it's my day to be the mug!

Oh well, if you don't ask....

Cheers, Max
FollowupID: 450482

Reply By: Leroy - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 11:55

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 11:55
hmmm sounds like an advert Max! Do you own the Co.?
Leroy
AnswerID: 192636

Follow Up By: maxhugen - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 12:05

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 12:05
G'day Leroy

No, have no interests in this mob. Though, if this is not another b**** scam, I'd seriously think about buying some shares in them!

Took my Trak Shak camper trailer in for a pre-trip 'checkup' to our usual mechanic this morning, and he told me about this. He claims it works - but then, he's selling them, so I wouldn't totally take his word for it.

Just thought that if these sort of things work, then some of the ExplorOz people might have come across them.

Cheers, Max
FollowupID: 450481

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 12:49

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 12:49
Max ,
I would seriously think about getting a mechanic you can trust .
Willie .
FollowupID: 450496

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 13:03

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 13:03
Willie, where do I get a mech that doesn't use his X ray vision on my wallet before looking at the vehicle ?
FollowupID: 450499

Follow Up By: strzelecki - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 13:10

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 13:10
I have visions of a new glomesh style wallet for you,made from lead,haha.
FollowupID: 450501

Follow Up By: maxhugen - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 13:36

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 13:36
Wanted: Honest mechanic in Wauchope NSW!

Max
FollowupID: 450511

Reply By: ImEasy - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 11:59

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 11:59
So if I use one of these, together with a Hyclone, Fitch and a Fuelstar, I can get as many km,s on just about no fuel at all.

Its gotta be a winner.
AnswerID: 192637

Reply By: Robin - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 12:01

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 12:01
Hi Max

Go down street , get short length of 8mm fuel line, go to dick smith
buy some solder. Cut to length and feed into fuel line.

Splice section of fuel line into existing.
Just before inline filter so that it can't move down fuel line.

It will give you a better and more direct Tin catalyst effect.

It will still do nothing , but this way you can make your own
assumptions about its performance, and it won't cost much.

AnswerID: 192638

Reply By: Ken - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 12:04

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 12:04
Tried all these once, problem was after a few hundred k's the main fuel tank overflowed !!

Ken
AnswerID: 192640

Follow Up By: maxhugen - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 12:08

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 12:08
Like that one, Ken!
FollowupID: 450483

Follow Up By: Member - LONER - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 23:43

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 23:43
Now that was a seriously amusing comment.
FollowupID: 450877

Reply By: strzelecki - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 12:10

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 12:10
Ha ha ha only 10-25% ,fuelmate Max you are going to have to spin a better yarn than that to pull the wool over the boys in ExplorOz.

AnswerID: 192642

Follow Up By: maxhugen - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 14:04

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 14:04
Hey Strez... that's where we're heading in barely 3 weeks time - the Strez track. First time, 2 families towing heaving Trak Shak camper trailers. Damn, and I thought I'd be able to reduce my fuel load from, oh, maybe a ton :-), for my gas-guzzling petrol Jackaroo.

Maybe I should post my mechanic's email address here, and invite everyone to express their opinions to him? Ha ha, now that would be a laugh.

Cheers, Max
FollowupID: 450525

Follow Up By: strzelecki - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:00

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 15:00
G'day Max , yep he'd like that for sure as the saying goes all advertising is good even if it is bad,lol.

Have fun down the track,i'm located at the other one in gippsland vic.cheers.
FollowupID: 450543

Reply By: maxhugen - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 13:32

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 13:32
Well, I should have done my online research FIRST!

I note that 99% of all recommendations are by the mobs that sell these things (even bandying Sir Jack Brabham as supportive!), that none of the makers of these things post any sort of proper controlled tests on their sites, and that I was totally unable to find anything myself that could support the claims made.

Sorry if I wasted everyones time with this - but, hey, maybe you had a good chuckle!

Think I'll have to nominate myself as:

MAX THE MUG !
AnswerID: 192662

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 21:34

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 21:34
Just call yourself "BIll S (NSW)" ;-)
FollowupID: 450856

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 10:05

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 10:05
>>> I note that 99% of all recommendations are by the mobs that sell these things

FollowupID: 450918

Reply By: Wizard1 - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 13:40

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 13:40
I congratulate those with the guts to raise a subject like the Fuel Mate, Fitch, Hiclone, etc fearless of being debunked by obvious experts in the field.

Those sceptics that offer their expert opinion regarding the claims of these devices obviously possess a wealth of statistical data to back up their rationle that they don't work.

I have no financial interest in anything but perhaps you could approach these subjects in a more objective manner and open mind.

I fiitted 2 Hiclones...read the bad press about them, had second thoughts..took them out to test the theory..then put them right back in again when, over a period of weeks there was a NOTICABLE drop in bottom end torque and incrrease in fuel consumption .

I have spoken to the distributor of Fitch..when someone offers a 120% refund well you need to give it a second thought. I'm still thinking about it though.

I guess as there are no moving parts or it may be a "little out there" as far as technology goes, we seem to critise it.

If you don't agree, aven't tried one, don't want one, use one and don't want to provide any positive feedback then please..we've heard enough negativity...but give Max and other posters a go...

AnswerID: 192664

Follow Up By: maxhugen - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 13:51

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 13:51
G'day Wizard!

Don't get annoyed - I'm not - it's all in good fun really. Had I searched for "fuel catalysts" instead of the brand name, I would have found this myself. Du-oh!

I just got a bit over-excited... still, at least I asked others that know better first, so I'm not a 100% mug - only, oh, maybe a half-mug? :-)

I did find some worthwhile info on catalysts (debunking them, that is) at http://www.fuelsaving.info/catalysts.htm which was a good read.

And at another 4wd site I found a comment that made me grin: How to save fuel: change to diesel.

Max the Somewhat-Wiser!
FollowupID: 450521

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 14:43

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 14:43
Wizard,

The problem with all these fuel saving devices is that none of them ever undergo any testing by independant bodies. It is always the Importer / Manufacturer, or someone that has bought one of these devices (and spent a whole pile of money in the process....) that will tell you they work.

It is exactly the same as most alternative medicines. Some quack tells you it works, offers written letters of recommendation, but no actual scientific studies. And lo and behold, several days after you went to him, your cold is fixed!....

I would have thought it would be simple to test these things - 10 - 25% is huge, and would be so simple to prove! But no, we have to trust someones word that it works. Have you ever stopped to think why they don't do any double blind tests? Why they never put their vehicles over a dyno? Why there is no science behind what they are doing? And why there is always some sort of Petroleum Consipracy behind the devices not being fitted to production cars?

Me personally, I never trust anyone trying to sell me something. Humans, as a whole, are a sneaky bunch.

Chump
FollowupID: 450537

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 21:13

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 21:13
120% Refund means damn all! If the cost price to the reseller is low enough, the selling price high enough and you get enough units out in the market place and have a low enough return rate then you can offer a 200% refund.

It's amazing the number of people who aren't assertive enough to ask for a refund, then when they do the seller will put pressure on them to keep the unit and suggest they have not "done it right"

Look at Roachies post about returning his Futch - the seller tried to talk him into cutting back the delivery on the fuel pump.

A very well known ex distributor of electrical bits and pieces once sold an electronics kit that was a dud. The sucker did not work but he got next to no returns. It would appear that those that got round to eventually building the kit made the assumption that they had stuffed up and just put up with it.

I would say its pretty much the same with alleged fuel saving devices.

FollowupID: 450635

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 21:38

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 21:38
"...Those sceptics that offer their expert opinion regarding the claims of these devices obviously possess a wealth of statistical data to back up their rationle that they don't work...."

....which is about as much real qualified independant test data that there is available to prove that they DO work.
FollowupID: 450857

Follow Up By: ross - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 07:39

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 07:39
So Wizard your wealth of statistical data involves driving around and noting the fuel usage.
Well that really scientific!

What we want fom the carpetbaggers that sell this crap is some independantly audited data that complies with Australian Standards for testing.
The sellers of this junk will not take it to be independantly tested because it is highly likely the product can not live up to their advertiesed claims.

Now Im quite sure that if a product comes along that can attain the standards we seek then I reckon about 100% of the sceptics will purchase one.

Until then they are fair game in my books for trying to con people.
FollowupID: 450888

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 17:16

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 17:16
Marketers favourite catchphrases

"...may..." = probably wont.

"...up to..." = but more than likely nothing

"...Sale..." = Dutch auction, we start of with high prices and lower them until we can dump our stock.

"...never to be repeated..." = you've probably heard it before, but we thrive on your short memory.

"...Free gift..." = Huh??? Aren't gifts by definition, free?

"...buy two, get one free..." = good for everything except shoes and socks.

Feel free to add to the list....
FollowupID: 451006

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 21:19

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 21:19
ROTFLMAO! Yeah, that's just about right!

It's the same old story - we don't have to produce claims that the damned things don't work because we are not making any claim that they do work.

Look at our "friend' Bill S, when I first looked at the Futch site and went through the bits and pieces I saw the report from Vipac.

If you looked closely, and then read what you were actually reading you would realise that it was a report! Not a test!

Vipac spelt out quite clearly that they were reporting the results of data given to them by Bill S after driving an alleged fixed course IN SYDNEY, the results of which were then relayed to Vipac in Melbourne for them to then generate their report.

I noticed that when I last went to the Futch Site references to the data being supplied to Vipac sort of fell to the wayside, the final impression to anyone reading the so called "Test/Report" was that it was carried out by Vipac themselves.

I must say that I would have serious reservations in regards to any tests or reports publicised by Vipac after this chit with the Futch.

I find it hard to accept that an ethical company could not, after so many years, be aware of the controversy gennerated by the Futch product and then not taken public steps to seperate themselves from the dodgy product.

FollowupID: 451056

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 21:41

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 21:41
I forgot a couple:

"...100% money-back guarantee if not totally satisfied..." = Hush money, not entirely enforcable in brothels.

"...*..." = Ah!!!, the indecipherable "terms and conditions apply" mark. The only rule worth noting is "they win".
FollowupID: 451065

Reply By: Maddmav - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 18:19

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 18:19
www.carbibles.com

Copy and paste into your browser

Have a read on fuel bible

Then decide

AnswerID: 192745

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 00:33

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 00:33
Max,

At least you have a great sense of humour anyway.

Good to absorb the replies, even if there were no positive ones:-)

AnswerID: 192854

Reply By: Andrew-rodeo - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 21:25

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 21:25
Hey Max!
You could buy a pushbike for about the same price as a fuel catalyst and leave your car at home. This will give you a much better increase in fuel economy.
AnswerID: 193030

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 23:01

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 23:01
Holden have just spent $1 Billion plus developing a new Commode and in the days after release they got hammered because the car uses 1 or 2% more fuel than the last model (well it is about 100kg heavier!).

Given the amount of development dollars expended and the intensity of the competition with Ford's Falcon, especially over fuel consumption, I would think that any sort of technology claimed by these aftermarket fuel saving device purveyors would have been well and truly picked over by the Holdens and Fords of this world and if they really produced savings of 10 to 25% (or even 2%) they would have been incorporated as standard equipment on production vehicles many moons ago!

Car companies spend millions of dollars chasing 0.1 litre/100km increments in fuel economy with tools such as wind tunnels and computer aided design. Engines are subjected to hundreds of thousands of hours of bench tests and refining to extract power and economy.

And then some bloke comes along with a u-beaut catalyst product that costs ONLY a couple of hundred dollars or some additive that costs ONLY $5 a tablet or bottle or something and tells me I can save 1 or 2 or even 3 LITRES/100km.

What have the car companies been doing wrong all these years building motors that guzzle 25% more fuel than they need to? Have they been getting paybacks from Big Oil Ltd all these years to "keep the big secret"? I think not. Have they been ignoring the competitive advanntages over rivals gained from selling cars that use less fuel? Gimme a break!

There will always be people on the fringes trading on the uninformed impulsive consumer with crappy products. They are like hyenas following the herds in Africa waiting for the weak prey to lag behind!

My advice is simple - always look objectively at claims made by the purveyors of such devices and ask yourself "If the savings are so good why aren't these things standard on production vehicles?". Any my old favourite - "If it sounds too good to be true then it is probably a load of horses poop"

Buyer beware.

Muddy
AnswerID: 193057

Reply By: maxhugen - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 08:51

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 08:51
I understand that a modern engine - petrol and diesel - will efficiently burn all but about 0.5% of the fuel (and this tiny remainder is dealt with by the catalytic converter in the exhaust line). So I guess the question really is: how can any device/additive/magic spell increase fuel economy at all, beyound this 0.5%?

Perhaps these snake oil marketers rely on our knowledge that engines certainly can be tweaked in many ways to output more ***power***. However, these all rely on being able to either push more air and fuel in, &/or get the exhaust out faster. But of course this doesn't increase fuel economy, it decreases it.

Possibly the only power enhancement that doesn't increase fuel consumption is in cooling the air coming in, but I'm guessing here...

Easy to see though, how we (me!) make an unconcious leap from "more power" to "better fuel consumption", despite this being totally incorrect. No wonder these gizmos keep selling, and the uninformed keep buying them.

Hey, this has been a fun thread, and I certainly have learnt a bundle!

Cheers, Max
AnswerID: 193083

Follow Up By: tuck 01 - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 10:13

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 10:13
Max
Old mate Bill-ge hasn't been on yet.
That's when it really turns into fun.
FollowupID: 450920

Follow Up By: ross - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 10:19

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 10:19
It always amazes me the testimonials they get from what you would believe are thinking people,assuming that the testimonials are honest.
Some of them claim less fumes comes out their exhaust pipe ,so where is it going?LOL
The words use to describe the benefits in the testimonials are all ass covering terms.
The typical "it seems to have more power" or "I found it runs up hill faster" are spread liberally throughout the claims.

Are these statements concocted by lawyers so they can never be snared in court?

I guess fuel saver gadgets are a bit like promises of "free money".
It sounds too good to be true but there's a sucker born every minute

FollowupID: 450922

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 10:06

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 10:06
Does anyone have a Peter Brock black box available too ??
AnswerID: 193102

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 10:27

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 10:27
wasn't it blue? As soon as I saw it I though Bills had changed his disguise.....
FollowupID: 450923

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 17:40

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 17:40
Bill S isn't allowed to play in this area anymore.

At a guess, I think he even tried to register under another name recently and was caught...

Someone by the name of Djeep(Qld) was cleaned off this thread for having a frew too many mentions of the "F" word (product!!!!, people) in the one paragraph.
AnswerID: 193178