Which GPS Unit

Submitted: Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 20:22
ThreadID: 37428 Views:2974 Replies:8 FollowUps:13
Totally Green at the GPS thingy. Want a GPS but not a laptop. Want one that will load ausie streets and tracks and will record tracks we have been over. Plus any mounting ideas for a GU Nissan series 4

richard

Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 21:17

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 21:17
Need to work out a bit more first mate:

- do you want turn by turn directions (ie TomTom, CoPilot etc)
- do you want to be able to load and calibrate maps or
- will you be happy with inbuilt maps

If 1 and 2, then probably looking at a PDA - if not 1 and 2, but yes to 3, something like a Magellan.

I personally do the PDA thing - love the Tom Tom turn by turn directions to get me to the dirt, and then switch to OziExplorer when I get there.

Have a good look at www.gpsoz.com
AnswerID: 192809

Follow Up By: Richard of NSW - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 08:22

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 08:22
Thanks Ivan
Would love the turn by turn directions, would be great, at this point don't really want to load maps but may as I learn how to use them and yes would be happy with inbuilt maps. So you use the Tom Tom is oziexplorer loaded on it or is it laptop based.

Can you load DiscoverAus Streets and tracks onto the tom tom or are you limited?

I assume from what you have said the eXplorist XL won't give you turn by turn directions unless your looking at the GPS whilst driving.

FollowupID: 450712

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 08:37

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 08:37
Richard - DiscoverAus is Magellan proprietary software - you won't get anything else to run on the Magellan so whilst easy and out of the box, it is pretty limiting

OziExplorer is the pc version - you can manipulate maps, tracks, routes etc, and then copy to a PDA - a little bit more work - but much better result.

If you have the PDA, you can then run TomTom (or anything else on it)

The other interesting thing with the PDA is that idepending on your work situation it is a double tax deduction which a GPS is probably not.
FollowupID: 450716

Reply By: Member - Geordie C (WA) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 23:02

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 23:02
Richard,
Magellan vs Garmin it is a bit like Toyota vs Nissan, both are good but it depends what you like and what you Need.

I have a Nissan and a Magellan GPS with all of Australia including topo map and every little 4x4 track loaded onto one SD card in the GPS. I have been 'most' of the way around Aus and 'almost never' found a track that is not on the Discover Aus Topo maps. I'm still trying though.

Garmin GPS are great but I personally think the Magellan maps are better (and I have and used both). I also have a laptop with wonderful maps and OxiEeplorer interface program but I just can't get the navigator to sit there with it on her lap (OK, so I can deal with that). I use it a lot for trip planning but not while driving.

I use a Magellan swivel base attachment that is stuck with Velcro to the dash mat.

It is also great for night driving on the highway, I can zoom in and accurately see if there is a long straight to pass that road train or a corner coming up so I should just sit back safely and wait.

If you have the $$ then a Magellan Explorist XL with the full Australia tracks and topo map is the go.

Geordie

AnswerID: 192847

Follow Up By: Darren C - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 23:17

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 23:17
Geordie - you havent heard anything about those new marine maps that go onto the Magellan units yet do you? Have seen some details but would be a big seller for me if the one unit did both things but havent seen any feedback yet.........

Darren
FollowupID: 450676

Follow Up By: Member - Geordie C (WA) - Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 23:42

Monday, Sep 04, 2006 at 23:42
Darren,
I am prety sure they have marine charts available.

Site Link

I have used the old version of Blue Nav charts for WA and they are quite good. Have not used the new charts yet as I have a work boat with a Furuno chart plotter system. Work won't buy me the Magellan charts (yet).

FollowupID: 450681

Follow Up By: Richard of NSW - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 08:31

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 08:31
Hi Geordie
Thanks for the info, yea would love to go the Magellan Explorist XL big screen and all, does it give you turn by turn instructions like the tom tom for black top driving, I know you can stick in discover aussie tracks etc etc. My local playground is The Watagans and frequent the fire trails from time to time, is the magellan lickly to have those on it or if not is it capable of recording the trails taken with notes attached to it. Im not sure if I said that right.

Can the Magellan plug into the home PC for planning purposes.
Thanks for your info Geordie, I just wont to make sure I make the best practical purchase.

FollowupID: 450713

Follow Up By: jennifer78 - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 14:00

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 14:00
Okay, I have a Magellan explorist 200 (I think that is what it is) I have had it for almost 2 years and would have no clue as to how to use it - are there any websites that could help me learn how to use it. We are heading off around Australia in about two months and would like to know more by then

Jennifer
FollowupID: 450774

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 15:30

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 15:30
Discover Australia Streets and Tracks won't give you turn by turn as it has been said. I have it loaded on a colour Meridian now and previously on a Platinum before that was stolen. Colour Meridians are just over $300 new, landed through eBay if you look for them and will run the Topo maps too or the MapSend DirectRoute but that isn't available for Australia. They are probably over $400 second hand bought from sources here. The US ones don't have an Australian Basemap but if you are loading Streets and Tracks it doens't matter much.

Jennifer, they are best learnt as you drive, having a look at the 200 I am not sure you can change the map loaded to any extent. Best play with it while driving - rather while someone else is driving. Do you have a computer you are wanting to connect to giving you moving map display?
FollowupID: 450787

Follow Up By: Member - Geordie C (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 16:21

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 16:21
Richard,
as John said, Magellan Meridian or the new Explorist do not have turn by turn directions.

Yes the Discover Aus Streets and Tracks maps and topo maps do have the little fire trails marked on them.

John,
I have the new Topo series maps for all of Australia loaded on a 512MB sd card in my Magellam Meridian Platinum. (is that what you meant by "that isn't available for Australia" or was that the DirectRoute that is not available).

Geordie

FollowupID: 450793

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 17:30

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 17:30
"or the MapSend DirectRoute but that isn't available for Australia." that one is for the turn by turn in the US and Europe as I understand it Geordie. Not for Oz. I have a half meg card too for Streets and Tracks. Some of our farm tracks are on the maps!

The PDA systems are the most ueasble for turn by turn and also to use Oziexplorer. Very flexible that way. That includes some of the Navman systems, Tom Tom and Destinator too on PDA. Some people like Mad Dog use both at the same time through serial port sharing software.

You really need to learn one system at a time though.
FollowupID: 450808

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 08:41

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 08:41
Hi Richard

The Magellan Explorist range sounds like it might be along the lines of what you are looking for. The top of the line comes with Topo map coverage of the whole of Australia which you can zoom in and out if depending on the level of detail you require. This includes the same level of detail you would expect from Topo maps.

Previously I have used a GPS/Laptop interface, but found this too cumbersome in the vehicle if using for real time navigation. Having said that the interface with Oziexplore is very good.

Whilst I haven't yet purchased something along these lines, it looks like the way to go.

I've included a link to the Explorist XL Traveller Pack.

https:// Site Link

AnswerID: 192882

Reply By: kangas - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 13:02

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 13:02
I am also looking for a GPS unit that can load those oziexplorer atc.

Saw this on ebay,
Site Link

Is that a good one? or am I on the wrong track :) here

kangas
AnswerID: 192919

Follow Up By: Richard of NSW - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 14:03

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 14:03
cant really say as I am just learning this stuff. It needs the ability to load oziexplorer, don't know if it can or not
FollowupID: 450776

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 15:42

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 15:42
guys, if you want to load Oziexplorer, it can only load onto a PC and then you also may want a PDA to have the moving map. The laptop systems do take space in the car cockpit so the PDA is next best, but you have to licence both the laptop and the PDA and have both to run to load on the PDA. I am not aware of any straight GPS that will run Oziexplorer as they then want to sell their proprietary mapping systems.

A GPS connection to a laptop or PDA may be an ordinary GPS to connect by wire, a GPS mouse, a Bluetooth (wireless) GPS to talk to the laptop or PDA Bluetooth. A CF(Compact Flash) card GPS to plug into a PDA socket - SD cards one instead perhaps.

Garmin and Magellan have their proprietary mapping systems, they don't mix and match, even though they look fairly similar. You can download the data, tracks and waypoints and the like though to computers, even then the data is different. Bugga! You can get conversion software to do all that. Load Oziexplorer - NO WAY, they would lose their market for software.

I think the newer software all needs contact with the manufacturer for unlock codes but not the one I have for Magellans, hence the return to another Magellan GPS - the software!
FollowupID: 450790

Reply By: allanmac856 - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 15:44

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 15:44
Well folks, asked this question some months ago, but no replies unfortunately.

Anyway, recently bought a Navman Pin 570 PDA. For a 'technically hopeless' person as far as computers etc are concerned, & with a little bit of perseverance, cursing & 'hair pulling', have worked the basics out & will do everything I want.

1stly, has roadmaps, (SmartST) already loaded in memory card, so just insert & works fine once you get to know how to use the menu screen.

2ndly, screen is a good size & I dont have any real problem seeing details
(My eyes are crap)

Main reason for purchase is for 4wding. Have bought OziExplorer & a few digital maps along with a seperate memory card soley for 4wd maps. Have had a bit of a play & have downloaded some routes without too much trouble. Can also scan paper maps & download onto memory card.

In closing, a great unit & well worth a look.

AnswerID: 192955

Reply By: Robin - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 16:56

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 16:56
Hi Richard

While some can do a bit of both, there are differences between the
semi-intelligent street direction and the 4wd navigation type units
so I'd be checking which basic functionality to go with first.

For me its 4wd navigation, and despite all the recent advances
I still use an obsolete garmin 3 which just has a basic background map
and I use paper directories / maps to support.

I have not yet found a system which provides real "in the bush"
benefits over the above.

In really trying to navigate, sometimes where their are no tracks
I have issues with most of the current crop.

First just being able to see the units in sunlight is still
difficult particularly with colour units like the new magellans.
While not good this issue can be worked around with units
with black/white screens only - so please check that you can see
screen easily in whatever you buy.

Hence positioning them in the car can be very important.
The Garmin 3 I use and some later models have low profile and can be placed
directly on the dash in front of steering wheel such that they
can be used without really moving your eyes off the road/track.

Another annoying issue with many is that the tracks from background maps
often only appear on the screen and certain resolution settings, and when you try
to get an overview are just not displayed.
This is mostly not changeable , and I have seen people lose there way as a result.

I rather not, but if I had to jump today for a 4wding unit I'd go garmin 276c (not cheap)

AnswerID: 192967

Follow Up By: Richard of NSW - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 20:16

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 20:16
Thanks Robin
Your insite is appreciated, it appaers there a real difference between turn by turn units and the navigational type units. It sound that to compromise it may mean going the expensive way of the garmin 276 or a xplorist XL or maybe the PDA way as some have suggested. All confusing, sound like they may have a little way to go with what the current technology can provide.

FollowupID: 450835

Reply By: GU - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 13:38

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2006 at 13:38
Hello Richard.
I thought I'd wait and see what replies you got before I did a reply.
I'm not particularly computer literate so what I have is the following:

1. NAVMAN PiN Compact pocket PC - with SmartST 3D mapping software
for door to door voice guided navigation within cities and most towns
(UBD mapping). Screen is 3.5" colour. Power either own battery, 12V or 240V.
Simply switch on, wait to gets a satellite fix, type in on the screen where you
want to go, wait a moment for it to work out the quickest route and away you
go. Fantastic around suburbs and most country towns.
Comes with accessories for battery charging and cradle bracket for windscreen
connection to the vehicle. Units plugs into cig. lighter.

2. Out of the town , and with software (DizcoverAus), I use a MAGELLAN Meridian
Platinum GPS which whilst unasisted by voice guidance, shows every road,
track etc. that Navman shows but every other track throughout the country.

I try to keep it as simple as possible and have found this suitable for my needs.

Richard, there is another reason why I'm passing on my thoughts regarding your posting and that is the both of the above items are for sale because unfortunately
my wife is to have major surgery and both our Patrol and 4WD gear is being sold.

The units have had very very little use and are in excellent working order apart from the Navman which is currently at Navman Sydney having a battery replaced.
If you interested I am selling both units for $1100 which includes DiscoverAus for the Magellan and all the chargers for both units. The Magellan also has the standard swivel base holder for the dash board. We have a GU111.

I can be contacted on 0407 531444 (Wayne) if required.

Hope you work out what you want and all the best.

Cheers GU.

AnswerID: 193148

Follow Up By: Richard of NSW - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 12:05

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 12:05
G'Day GU
Thanks for your offer but I am still researching what way to go and won't be ready to purchase till around late November. Still need that time to work on the minister for finance.

FollowupID: 451372

Reply By: Richard of NSW - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 13:52

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 13:52
G'Day All
After much research reckon Im going to go for the Navman Pin 570 PDA with oziexplorer. Will do both quite OK. Thanks for everybodies advice
AnswerID: 193684