Submitted: Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 20:31
kimprado
Hi guys
I doubt if any particular modern brand of 4WD is more likely to catch fire in the Outback than others (might be wrong). My 120 Prado (poor old thing) has been through a lot of off track country without a problem.
Assuming it's a Spinifex fire, the main collection point on a 120 are the two vents forward of the sump guard and generally aren't a problem (if cleaned).
Having said that, I regularly inspect the lower points of the car, carry two fire extinguishers and a wire hook.
It also helps if strong shade cloth is secured to the bull bar and allowed to hang lower than the bar (rather than just covering the radiator). It won't last very long in rough country, so take spares.
People should also be aware there are large areas of Outback country which contain hidden ant hills within Spinifex and can damage
suspension components.
I have no opinion on the cause of the fire because I have no facts. However, Spinifex can be a potential problem for drivers.
Kim
Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 21:31
Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 21:31
Hi Kim
Yes, by all accounts your Prado has done the hard yard in the hard country...:-)
I have always been an advocate of removing all bash plates to minimise the build up of grass seeds and foliage under the truck. Luckily the GQ has an exhaust jacket which prevents excessive heat build up which could ignite grass caught under the truck.
I check the underbody every evening when out in scrub. I have a complete shadecloth screen overe the bullbar but that is still not enough. I saw a mining LC ute out in the
Great Sandy Desert which had and extra heavy duty shade cloth tied on in front of the diff and dragging on the ground. It was pretty torn but was still doing the job.
Have you got any further with a lifter for the spare wheel yet.
Follow Up By: kimprado - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 22:24
Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 22:24
Hi William,
I'll post a photograph of the front end flap as soon as I figure out how to do it on the
forum. Nothing new, the bushies have been doing it for years.
In response to our recent conversation, I've decided what I want to do next.
Follow the
dog fence for its entire length.
From past experience this would take around two years to organise. If your interested, give me a call. I'll give Bruce Campbell (CEO, Year of the Outback) a ring next week to gauge interest).
Haven't had a chance as yet to take up Steve's suggestion re the tyre lifter, but will do so shortly.
Good to see your mate and his son are now safe.
Kim
Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 21:32
Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 21:32
AFAIK petrol vehicles are more liable to catch fire. I also understand that there are differences in spinifex (fire wise) and that different species grow in different areas ?
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 21:36
Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 21:36
Dry grass is dry grass Footy.....LOL
Petrol vehicles put out more heat?
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 21:41
Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 21:41
Diesels up until recently didn't have catalytic converters. It is the catcon that are the source of the heat needed to start a fire on any recent petrol vehicle (moreso cars due to being closer to the ground). Main issue is between the body and the catcon with seeds and small twigs.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 21:45
Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 21:45
Willem, I did study those dry grasses from a book and also close at hand :)) Can't remember the details but apparently some species in WA are more flammable than some on the east ? Spinifex is interesting stuff, apparently. Anyway there certainly is enough of it ! If I could convert it to petrol I'd be richer than an Arab King :))
I'm led to understand that the exhaust systems of petrol motors cause more problems?
Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 21:46
Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 21:46
Gary, yep thats the one, taa.
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 21:49
Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 21:49
Hi Gary
How are you and how is the Kia going?
Hi Footy
Spinifex might be interesting from out the window but not when you are walking through it....lol
Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 22:02
Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 22:02
Hey Willem, it's the blasted clumps and ant hills in the middle that get me. And that other prickly small bush stuff. No wonder the early
explorers trying to go west didn't like the terrain much. Who was it that suggested they'd need leather boots, leather trousers and leather hides to get through ?
PS. You should be typing away for your web page :)
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 22:33
Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 22:33
Willem, The Kia is getting a bit of a "nip and tuck" at the moment (Gq front/rear diffs, 5link front/A-frame rear, Holden Ecotec V6/auto, Hilux transfer case, all sitting on some Simex ET's).
Should be intersting when it's done (has been started, 3-4 weeks from now to finish). I will be going on a few decent trips then (easier parts to get a hold of in the bush), so probably meet up with you ...somewhere...
Follow Up By: Wisey (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 17:49
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 17:49
Gary
It's a: KIASSAN HOLUX. LOL
Andy