Submitted: Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 08:44
JB 120 T/D Prado
Have others had same or similar experience. Last month made the cardinal mistake of filling up at an independent Servo, Milperra Rd Revesby. I drive a 2005 Turbo diesel Prado with 25,000 klms on the clock and it has been smoking black crap under load and idle since. Have had both tanks drained and refuelled with clean Shell Diesel to see if that would flush the system. It was so bad that now vehicles would sit behind me in traffic or on the freeway. The clean fuel made a slight difference initially but then no difference and smoke still poured out.
Now the boys at Westend Diesel are replacing the injectors and reconditioning/servicing or cleaning the fuel pump. $$$$$ Will be a "Big hole in my pocket".
I had spoken to a number of Diesel mechanics/Specialists who all have their own theories and agendas. Some said just keep driving it, some said do the injectors and see how you go and the boys from West end said the injectors weren't that good and weren't all that bad and there was carbon deposits on N0 1 cylinder bad so the problem must be further down the line , hence the fuel pump. I had to make a decision as time was running out as we are leaving for the centre via Nth West Qld across the Donohue/Plenty and wanted to ensure we don't have mechanical failure. The diesel I had brought smelt like paint varnish and was dark yellow to brown in colour, like frying oil after 6 month of cooking fish chips and battered sav's. The Federal Gov't is still sitting on it's hands in relation to fuel standards in this country. I'm going to be about 2.5k out of pocket, the servo claims it's Biodiesel however didn't know it at time of fuelling as it was night time and there is a
sign at knee height on the bowser advising they sell Biodiesel which meets Aussie Standards. Clearly not in a conspicuous position that one would see!!
What recourse action is available. Maybe a class action??
JB
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 09:06
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 09:06
JB, I guess you haven't got a sample of the product you had in your
tank? You would need that for any sort of recovery from the servo.
I know of a trucking company that had problems with 'bio-diesel' and they were carrying fuel filters for some time after they cleaned their
tank out. They even found chop bones in their fuel tanks, obviously the 'bio-??????' was adequately filtered!
I used to see a bit of used cooking oil and the fish and chip proprietors or whoever had the recovery point had no compunction about what they put in the product as it was a liquid receptacle. Some smelt of paint or varnish on occasions, even bitumous smells.
Follow Up By: joc45 - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 10:59
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 10:59
Chop bones?
I found a whole bullock carcass in
mine!!
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 11:43
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 11:43
sounds like a bit of bullsh.t has been found as
well.
how could you get a chop bone thru a fuel bowser pump? and why wouldnt it sit on the bottom of the
tank instead.
But methinks Ive been taken in by a trickster here!
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 22:57
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 22:57
fisho, who said it went through a bowser pum? It was a delivery to a transport depot where the owner doens't take too kindly to blocking his fuel systems and asked they come and collect the lot. It was for road trains and B-trains, but not to description.
You must have been lucky Joc, you may have been able to use the carcass
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 01:03
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 01:03
sorry mate, sounds like an urban myth (AKA bullsh.t) to me.
Anyone who has the remotest understanding of biodiesel process would know it is utterly and physically impossible for a chop bone to make it all the way from the abotoir, into tallow, thru the transestification process etc etc etc pumped into a truck, delivered from the truck into his storage
tank, without even going thru a 1000 micron filter, then he must be buying his fuel from "Backyard Bobs Chip
shop and Fuel Supplies"
It has about the same possibility as getting a piece of petrified wood in your mineral diesel. And if it DID happen it could only be industrial sabotage/april fools day.
Sorry for the delay there, I cant stop laughing that anyone would be that gullible to believe that!
Reply By: TerraFirma - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 09:25
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 09:25
I spoke to a large Toyota dealer service manager after getting a service and he said they've had to do a few tanks , thats is clean them out they were that badly sludged. It seems if you are unlucky enough to get crappy fuel a few times this can happen. Not sure what you can do about it, I am also noticing a huge difference in fuel ecomony between tanks, the only thing that changes if where I fill up.
Reply By: Member - Ric K (WA) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 09:29
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 09:29
Hi JB,
I'm not sure if I would blame the bio diesel. I make my own at home and have had not any problems using same since xmas, but I have put on an additional filter as it has a tendency to clean and remove deposits from inside fuel
tank. Bio also has better burning than ordinary diesel. Some of
mine has smelt like varnish and had me worried, but goes great. The diesel engine when first invented by Rudolf Diesel was first using straight "peanut oi" until oil companies discovered they now have a use for petrol's by product.
Your problem might have been dirty fuel? But wow not much fun to have to spend $2.5k. Goodluck in your endevours.
regards Ric
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 11:46
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 11:46
Bit of useless trivia-it was designed for coal dust but wasnt successful!
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:24
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:24
I've got the same motor as you're prado (1kz-te) and have been running it entirley on 100% biodiesel for over 7 months now, never had a problem, in fact it blows less smoke that ever now days. Me smells a rat. If you did have a 2005 Prado with 25k on the clock and it was blowing smoke like that, why did you not take it to Toyota and ask about warranty first??
bleep me, I wouldn't be spending $2500 on a motor that was still under warranty without asking some real serious questions of the manufactuer...
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 12:21
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 12:21
plus the fact that AFTER getting this work done, you may have trouble claiming any engine warranty for the next 75000 km if you havent spoken to them first?
Reply By: JB 120 T/D Prado - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 09:31
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 09:31
Hi John,
Still got a sample in a jar in the garage. I think it's growing!!
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 14:33
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 14:33
Unfortunately it may
well be growing stuff - regardless of what sort of diesel it is.
I would keep the reciept for the fuel and get the sample tested.
Still is perhaps not entirely conclusive, but chances are the fuel company will cough up with a 25K's engine.
You have to go the fuel supplier - servo and supplier.
Ciao for now
Andrew.
Reply By: TerraFirma - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 09:34
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 09:34
JB, Why didn't you take the vehicle back to the dealer under warranty..? May have been crappy fuel but may not.? 25,000kms is a brand new rig, tack it back and complain.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 09:39
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 09:39
I Would have thought that the logical thing too ,maybe he stole it ....lol
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 21:32
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 21:32
Yep sounds too easy to me.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 01:04
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 01:04
"I Would have thought that the logical thing too ,maybe he stole it ....lol"
the car or the fuel?!!
Reply By: strzelecki - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 10:20
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 10:20
It is not only cars and fwd diesel's that are having problems.
I recently had the injector pump reco'd on my newish John deere tractor.Damage caused by contaminated fuel.I got out of it pretty light at around $3500,because I checked it out early.The specialist repair business said they get more injector pump repair work than they can poke a stick at,they where working late and starting early and it still took 3 + weeks .
They claim the biggest problem is the filter systems are very basic ,yet the new diesel engines are running much higher injector pressures.
I spent a little extra and put in a large
water trap and extra filter and positioned it to be easily viewed when entering the cab.No fancy stuff just a nice "kiss"set up so you can see any contamination in the glass bowl and drain it out before any damage done.
some ppl have had to reco there pumps after only a few 100hrs from new at around $5000 and because they haven't checked the filter set up find its stuffed after only one
tank of fuel,yep unbelievable but true another $5000 and to make it worse guess what no parts in aus yet again have to fly them in .
It is worse for tractors etc I guess many are refueled from containers or on farm tanks.
Even a small amount of
water or contamination can quickly cause these high pressure pumps thousands of dollars damage,you cannot guarantee any fuel is not contaminated,and unfortunatley niether can you rely on the original filtration setup
giving adequate warning .Naturally the vehicle maker say the onus is on the owner to supply the correct fuel.None of the electronic warning systems is fail safe.I have heard of a mercedes car warning not working because the system was full of
water but in that instance I believe the fuel supplier (service station)was deemed liable,due to selling the grossly contaminated fuel.
Buying shares in a diesel pump repair business may be a good idea.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:27
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:27
The diesel in question in the prado is not a 'newer diesel'. The 3.0LTD prado motor has been being sold since 1993, that makes it's technology nearly 14 years old!
Follow Up By: strzelecki - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 19:59
Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 19:59
"nearly 14 years old!" .........are you saying it will run on contaminated fuel unless its a new common rail job,I must be missing the essence of your post?
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 23:01
Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 23:01
Obviously...
"They claim the biggest problem is the filter systems are very basic ,yet the new diesel engines are running much higher injector pressures. "
The diesel in question is not running much higher injector pressures.
Follow Up By: strzelecki - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 07:42
Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 07:42
All diesel injector pumps are manufactured with fine tolerances and run high pressures, the new common rail setups run a higher pressure and even closer tolerances hence are more prone to damage if contaminated fuel gets past the filters.Just about any pump will be damaged if the fuel is contaminated and the filter set up is or becomes ineffective....obviously.
Reply By: D-Jack - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 10:34
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 10:34
Lucky you don't own a Jackaroo TD, or it would have cost you triple that!
Reply By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 10:37
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 10:37
The diesel Coaster bus that I drive at work with a 1HZ motor has just had an injector and injection pump rebuild after one tank of dirty fuel from the garage I fill it at twice a week. A shell outlet and my employer is now chasing them for the cost of the repair, about $4k plus the hire of another bus for a fortnight.
We do have a sample of the fuel and also letters from repairers.
The servo's diesel tank had just been refilled so obviously the crap hadn't settled out.
Reply By: Member - John R (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 10:52
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 10:52
Sorry to hear about your plight JB. I never have, and never will buy from those independents. Not saying all independents are the same, but
Sydney residents should remember the ones targeted by the tabloid current affairs programs a couple of years back (centred around a radius of several kilometres from Bankstown). It was the only credible story I've seen for years!
I remember the shonks were cutting petrol with toluene (thinners) as a way of avoiding excise. Perhaps a similar thing has occured with your diesel. Toluene is a pretty strong solvent if used in large quantities. I'd hate to find out how it or similar solvents would act on the fuel system.....
Either way, I hope you kept a sample and follow up with Fair Trading. Toyota should be able to give you expert written opinion if they avoid the warranty issue.
Good luck!
Reply By: fisho64 - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 11:50
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 11:50
I hope you took it to Toyota first? how many times have we heard 3 litre Nissan catastrophic failures blamed on fuel etc etc etc, everything but poor design or mechanical failure. Once someone else pulls it apart its 10 times harder to get anything out of a manufacturer
Reply By: boydy - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 13:24
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 13:24
I got some deisel in
Port Hedland(I think) in my new Patrol. I just made it back to Paraburdoo with it coughing and spluttering. I changed the Fuel filter and drained the fuel and it was black as the ace of spades. My filter was the same colour so I don't know what the hell was in the fuel. I only had 15000k on the clock. All good now though.
Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 14:45
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 14:45
Hi there JB,
You said:
"The diesel I had brought smelt like paint varnish" - this is unlikely for Biodiesel which will smell more like fish and chips than paint varnish - perhaps the Biodiesel was tainted? If it was Biodiesel it would have to comply (AND BE TESTED) with the Australian standards for Biodiesel in order to get the 38c a litre rebate.
"and was dark yellow to brown in colour, like frying oil after 6 month of cooking fish chips and battered sav's" - the colour is one thing that doesn't really make a difference. Biodiesel is usally dark yellow to brown perhaps golden depending on what it is made from. This could be canola oil, through to waste vegetable oil and pork fat.
"The Federal Gov't is still sitting on it's hands in relation to fuel standards in this country." - Nope - they're not. They are sitting on their hands on lots of fuel related things, but fuel standards they are no.
"I'm going to be about 2.5k out of pocket, the servo claims it's Biodiesel" - in which case they would not have been advertising it as Diesel. Perhaps it is 20% Biodiesel.
"... however didn't know it at time of fuelling as it was night time and there is a
sign at knee height on the bowser advising they sell Biodiesel which meets Aussie Standards. Clearly not in a conspicuous position that one would see!!" - This of itself should be no dramas at all - Biodiesel is unlikely to cause the smoking you mention. Quite the opposite really.
Biodiesel might block up your fuel filter, but will have no effect on fuel pump or injectors.
"What recourse action is available. Maybe a class action??" - first you have to point the finger. Get the fuel tested - it is not that expensive.
If it was 25K's I would leave all the responsibility with Toyota under warranty and see what they could come up with - they are unlikely to blame biodiesel or even know about it unless you tell them that that is the problem.
There may have been crud in the tanks the Biodiesel came from. There may have been water in it. There may have been algae in your tank that it washed out, and which overloaded the filter.
But the whole story seems very strange for a 25,000 k's 2005 vehicle.
Ciao for now
Andrew.
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 14:52
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 14:52
Sounds like there is a station in Revesby stocking Biodiesel and perhaps selling it as diesel by stealth.
As much as I think it is great they are selling it, I think it is woeful that they perhaps are not upfront and certainly not educating the consumer.
Biofuels
Forum Thread
The fuel comes from Future Fuels who have a new plant in Moama it appears. You might try talking with them about the problems, because it may
well be crud in the tanks at Revesby getting cleaned out by the Biodiesel. It may not even be that evident in your sample, unfortunately.
Kind rgds
Andrew.
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 15:13
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 15:13
Wish we could edit posts here ...
Looking further into that thread on the Biofuels
Forum, I think there is potential that it is a Biodiesel blend with some other oil in it - perhaps JetFuel.
This is clearly one real theory on the cause of your woes and something that a fuel
test will identify.
Ciao for now
Andrew.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 01:09
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 01:09
Biodiesel is mixed with kerosine (very similar to JetA1) to make winter blend I understand? Dont know much about that though as winter blend is hard to find in NW WA!
Follow Up By: Member - John R (NSW) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 02:35
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 02:35
Jet-A works fine in some industrial engines. We run our diesel ground power units on the stuff. Dunno how
well it would work in auto engines though...
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:32
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:32
Normal petro diesel is also mixed with kero to make 'alpine' diesel.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 13:45
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 13:45
I thought that alpine diesel contains heating oil?
Leroy
Follow Up By: Member - John R (NSW) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 14:03
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 14:03
Which is where old Jet-A goes, Leroy. :-)
Recycling at its best :-))
I use Jet-A in a kero heater, and you get hardly any of the traditional "kero" smell.
Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 16:41
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 16:41
I tried a 10% bio diesel in my 2004 Pajero. On a regular trip that consumes 23 to 24 litres the half tank of bio diesel added made the consumption 32 litres. Got some way back to "normal" after a few fills. Was advised to service the pump but put some Bitron fuel aditive in the tank and now back to normal. $2 iinvestment is better (cheaper) than a pump service.
Some people swear by bio diesel but there needs more info on what vehicals are suitable or if there is something in some bio diesel that it can't cope with the higher injection pressure. Might be something akin to the waxing of diesel in low temperatures.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:36
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:36
Hmm,
well I don't know about you but the surf's normal running temp is 90 degrees c. At 70 degrees c, even straight vegitiable oil becomes the same consistancy as petrol diesel. Unless you are running your vehicle with no thermostat, I cannot see how the cold weather would create any kind of 'waxing'.
When I first introduced the surf to B100 my fuel economy dropped considerably. I reset my engine's ECU my disconnecting the battery for about 45minutes (while I was doing some work on the DB system). After that, economy was improved to be better than it was on petro diesel. Maybe worth a look. The Cetane level of BD is higher than normal diesel so your power and economy can be improved by retarding your injection timing slightly.
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 18:47
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 18:47
Hi JB, This happened to me about 18 months ago at a
BP servo in the Southern Highlands. Fortunately for me i could prove that i bought it there and BP were great. $800 to remove the takks and flush the lines. BP were wonderful, paid the bill, followed up to make sure i was happy with their service. The vehicle suffered no othere damage. All these servos have liability insurance and they can claim.. Someone is responsible for the damage. you handed over your cash for a product that was NOT suitable for the purpose, bio or normal fuel, it makes no difference. Take your sample back to the servo and tell him that someone is responsible, either him or the supplier or the manufacturer. Tell them you drove in with a perfectly good and running vehicle and drove out with a problem that came from their premises. Dont be put off by their lack of regard for a problem that was caused by their product. Regards Michael
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 18:53
Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 18:53
Not all service station attendants have common sense.
You might need to get to the operator/lessee/whatever of the servo.
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 01:27
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 01:27
This is
well after the 'horse has bolted' so to speak and won't fix your immediate problem, however may be helpfull in the future.
On having an after market turbo fitted, the pump was removed, serviced etc etc and new injectors fitted.
On being queried by myself, the pump
shop owner/tech advised that it was a good idea to use fuel from only BP, Shell or
Caltex servos with BP as first choice for the following reasons
(1) Best chance of getting fuel at stated production standard/blend.
(2) If there is a problem, then these companies will pay for the damage done if proven to be attributed to their fuel.
Since that time I have used BP whenever I can which is nearly always every time and I have never had a problem.
Yes it costs a bit more , but trouble free fuel is worth it.
Also I removed the OEM fuel filter system and replaced it with a CAV system which allows me to inspect it.
Pics of same : Site Link
Ken Robinson
Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 13:44
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 13:44
Hi Ken,
You have a 3.0l patrol right? Do you not have the oem filter inline with the CAV setup?
Leroy
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 16:40
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 16:40
Leroy
Ihave a 1997 1HZ Troopy - thats what the pics are of.
As stated above I removed the two OEM filters due to 'cavitation' caused by insufficient/restricted fuel flow through the OEM filters.
Replaced them with the two CAV Filter packs - (a) Agglomerator (water and chit seperator) and (b) Fuel filter - paper cartridge.
Both have glass bowls with drain ports and the Filter Header has a bleed pump incorporated in it.
Result:
No more cavitation
Can easily see if there is chit in the fuel
Easy to change filter.
Only change every 40,000kms unless there is water chit in the agglomerator - then as necessary.
Filters cost under $10.00
All sweet.
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 16:43
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 16:43
Ooops!
Sorry, I was telling someone else in another thread the reason I removed the OEM filter pack and fitted the two CAV units in their place.
Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 13:41
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 13:41
Here's something else JB.
Contact Michael Ward, assistant director, clean fuels and vehicles, DEH email Michael.Ward@deh.gov.au
They are responsible for fuel standards, testing and control.
Tell him you have a sample and the rest of the details. He may even be able to
test it.
I would be pleased to hear how you go.
There would be nothing worse for the existing reputable and high quality biodiesel suppliers to have somebody doing shonky business ... let's get the rug pulled out from under them ASAP.
Ciao for now
Andrew who smells like Biodiesel (fish and chips NOT paint thinners)
Reply By: bassj - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 17:27
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 17:27
Thanks everyone for yr responses, except for Doug (WA) who thought it funny to comment about it being stolen. Toyota is very specific re warranty work caused by bad/contaminated fuel. They warrant the mechanicals against faulty workmanship, not damage caused by crook diesel. Therefore situation would be no different to current.
Thanks Andrew,
I had already spoken to DEH last week who was very helpful, however they asked me to lodge with Dept fair-trading that I had done. They made contact with me today and even asked my permission to pass on to the Minister as he has asked for details lodged via the Dept in relation to Diesel Fuel complaints/issues. This I have of course agreed to.
Dept fair-trading doesn’t have the ability to
test the fuel and asked me to contact DEH again to see if they can
test. The cost of this is $2500, apparently they have a company Intertech do this within the Clyde refinery. Then the battle goes on from there. I will be getting my Prado back in the morning all fixed, over 3K in repairs.
Will keep you posted on outcomes. Leaving next Wednesday for the Centre and are not going to let this spoil my trip and will deal with it further when I get back.
It's going to be a process that could take some time.
JB