Camping at Lake Eyre south

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 22:48
ThreadID: 37616 Views:10661 Replies:9 FollowUps:7
Anyone got some recommendation for camping areas at lake Eyre south? I have a hema map that points one obvious spot out but am wondering if any of you can recommend this or any others that are worth going to.

Grunt

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 23:04

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 23:04
Yes there is a couple of places right near the Oodnadatta track good for camping , but if you really want a good spot near Lake Eyre turn of about 7klm South of William Creek and 55 klm in there to the park area . covered tables etc and don't miss the Bubbler near Coward Springs, Enjoy the area it is so ancient,Just the Dinosaurs missing

AnswerID: 193909

Follow Up By: slave - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 10:38

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 10:38
We stayed here last year as part of our Simpson trip and found it to be the coldest night ever.We froze our butts off. Everyone was in bed early to get warm....no fires are allowed. There was another group camped nearby that seemed to be doing the same. Sunrise and sunset were beautiful.

There are 2 camping areas if you follow Dougs directions. The track divides at the 55 k mark and we went straight ahead to ( I think) Halligan Bay which was another 10 k. ABC Bay was approx 5 k after the road division.

HTH

Mrs S
FollowupID: 451821

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 20:29

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 20:29
Was there a few weeks ago.

Coward Springs is probably better.
The Bubbler & Blanche Caup Springs had the worse piece of corrugated access track I have come across for ages. Even the "bypass" sections are getting corrugated. Only about 7 K's in, but boy does it test your suspension.

IMO camping out at Halligan or ABC Bay is not worthwhile.
You can take a half day trip out to Lake Eyre to say you've been at the lowest point below sea level on dry land in Australia. When there isn't any water in the lake, a couple of hours is enough. Being a National Park you cannot light a camp fire either. You would be much better off camping in the camping area at William Creek, opposite the Pub. Has prepared camp fire rings and all amenities, but you still get the feeling of remoteness. It's not exactly crowded either.

Closer to oodnadatta, there is a great camping spot at Algebuckina Waterhole, on the opposite side of the road from the Bridge.

FollowupID: 451922

Follow Up By: Grunt Oxn - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 23:07

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 23:07
Thank you all for hrlping me out with this advice. Cheers for now.
FollowupID: 451962

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 09:24

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 09:24
Lake Eyre

The one mentioned by Doug is Halligan bay, great spot for some isolated camping, but is on Lake Eyre North. Doesn't look like there's any official camping spots on Lake Eyre South.
AnswerID: 193937

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 10:33

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 10:33
If you were to camp near the lake edge / adjacent to the Oodnadatta Track, you will be extremely exposed, and on a very fragile area. Maybe not an environmentally sensitive thing to do.

So that's why I suggest Coward Springs. Near enough to the lake itself. Very good camp facilities - have a dip in a mound spring while there!

From there you can visit The Bubbler & Blanche Cup in the Wabma Kadarbu national park, Strangways Repeater Station, Curdimurka, Beresford & up to William Creek. You can also visit L. Eyre south near Curdimurka.

AnswerID: 193951

Follow Up By: Grunt Oxn - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 23:08

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 23:08
Thanks for the tips mate.
Grunt
FollowupID: 451963

Reply By: ingo57 - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:19

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:19
Camped at Halligan's bay in june, The campground is all bordered off and is a very very small(quite dissapointing). When we arrived at the camp area late arvo there were 4 camps there allready and we just squeezed in. The star display at night was amazing but was bitterly cold, we did have a fire though to keep warm.
AnswerID: 193959

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 12:48

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 12:48
Bummer..... :-((

Just an information board when I was there in 2002. Had the whole place to ourselves. Camped on the lake shore about 200 metres south west of the board. Magnificent night.
FollowupID: 451851

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 13:12

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 13:12
We did have a look at ABC bay on the way back out and it was flat and a lot more room to camp, but there was nobody there.

How things change John, I remember camping at the base of kings Canyon with my parents in 1984.
Was fantastic....... now it's just a carpark. Makes you wonder what some of the great isolated 4wd spots today are going to be like in another 20 years.
FollowupID: 451853

Reply By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 17:47

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 17:47
javascript:WindowPreview(' Site Link 600, 480)G'day grunt, totally agree with Rick, base yourself at coward springs, there is so much to see up and around the oodnadatta track. cheers Lance
Home Away from Home

AnswerID: 194000

Reply By: jaffa2 - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 19:21

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 19:21
We just came back from a trip around there and stayed at Beresford ruins. It is free. it is about 32kms NW of a lookout of lake eyre south.
AnswerID: 194016

Reply By: Platz - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 20:14

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 20:14
Hi Grunt,
We camped at Muloorina Station, approx 53 klm off the Oodnadatta track. From there it is about another 43 klm to Sth Lake Eyre where Cambell broke the landspeed record. The campsite Was fantastic. Only one other camper and we couldn't see them from our site. Set up next to a billabong under a Coolibah tree. Also stayed at Coward Springs and really enjoyed it as well
AnswerID: 194027

Reply By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 22:49

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 22:49
I prefer to camp at Muloorina and then first thing next morning drive to Lake Eyre (north). A good day's drive stopping at all the attractions will still have you at Coward Springs the next night.
AnswerID: 194069

Follow Up By: Grunt Oxn - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 23:09

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 23:09
Thanks for the advice.
Grunt
FollowupID: 451964

Reply By: Grunt Oxn - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 23:11

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 23:11
I just like to thank you all for replying even those I didn't reply to individually. This should help make the trip all that much better.
Cheers for now
Grunt
AnswerID: 194074