Trip report - South of Rainbow Beach area

Submitted: Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 09:39
ThreadID: 37620 Views:3398 Replies:4 FollowUps:1
On the weekend we led a club trip via Coololla Way, Poverty Point, Pettigrews Track and Teewah Beach.

4 vehicles started the trip with us in our Landcruiser Troopy, 1 Rangie until lunch and 2 Disco's,

Most of the trip was easy as everything was so dry. Even the Noosa River crossing was lower than previous trips. During our lunch stop, it peed with rain, so much we thought about calling the trip off but we decided to continue in near dark conditions at 130pm – real strange. At the beach end of Pettigrews track there is a hill that is at times challenging to some as it is steep soft sand with tree roots. This was worrying me a bit before the trip as it was quite hard to get up with the roots and general steepness on loose sand but there was a very narrow chicken track if all else failed.

First up was us of course being trip leaders, no problem and when I walked back, there was a perfect set of tyre tracks all the way up which shows that I had no wheel spin. Next up the TD5 Disco which had a mulititude of multicoloured lights glowing on the dash (typical Landie problem that the dealers are having trouble fixing) 3 goes and it was the chicken track for him. Next up the new Disco 3. After 3 goes and different settings on the various traction aids, it was the chicken track for him as well. The Rangie had gone home by then, maybe he did not want to be embarresed by a real basic as they come Toyota which had just cruised up the hill like it was not even there.

Next onto the beach for the run to the Noosa river. All OK until we find a dead Landie - an old Series 2 LWB with a Holden motor not going. We looked under the bonnet, saw it was a black hole with grease so hooked up a tow rope instead of trying to fix it - this was the easy and cleaner option. They had a 3 month old baby and had been trying to get someone to stop for 3 hours with the tide coming in. 30 mins later we came to the beach exit so swapped the tow rope for a snatch strap around the chassis - everywhere else was very suspect. Off we go in the Cruiser in the very soft sand and 100m later, made it off the beach first go towing the dead Landie. Not so the TD5, he had 2 goes not even towing. The Disco 3 had taken off when we started towing as he was running late and needed to go but we assume that he had no problems..

Makes you wonder about the electronics these new vehicles have when a basic Toyota with a stuffed LSD and 750-16 tyres can out perform them with no problems at all in those situations - especially as the rear tyres were at 60psi - all day (recommended pressures for the load we always carry. They did heaps more track damage then we did like we did none and they gouged big holes. Sand and traction control in our experience = trouble.

All in all a good trip with a good deed done for the day

Stevesub

Reply By: Moose - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 16:28

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 16:28
G'day Stevesub
Perhaps driver abilities (or lack thereof) had some bearing on the capabilities of the Discos. Had these guys done a driver training program? Which club are you with? - I'm with TLC Qld.
Cheers from the Moose.
AnswerID: 193989

Reply By: daisygirl - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 22:12

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 22:12
I am leading a trip up that way in October for our 4wd club but have only ever done the Kings Bore Road and the beach. How do you find the Poverty Point, Pettigrews Track, etc???
AnswerID: 196532

Follow Up By: stevesub - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 07:23

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 07:23
The trip we did was as follows.

Start at 8am at the BP servo at Forest Glen. Then to the southern end of Coolola Way to Harrys Hut for morning tea. Then do the rest of Coolola way to the main road to Rainbow beach. Cooloa Way is really 2WD when it is dry but 4WD and a bit tricky when wet. At the Noosa River bridge, there is a bypass track through the river (fresh water at this point)

Once on the black stuff, head towards Rainbow beach.

The turnoff to Poverty point is at GPS 26 00 30, 153 02 58 on the LHS of the road, approx 3.5km from where you got on the black stuff. The Poverty Pt track is sandy but OK. Don't stop long out there but return to the black stuff and head to Rainbow beach for lunch and refuel for petrol vehciles.

Then head back the way you came for just over 10km from Rainbow beach to GPS 25 59 84, 153 04 20 where there is a track on your left it is quite easy to find as the entrance is wide and clay. A little way down the track, there is a sign, right for KIngs Bore track and from memory straight ahead for Pettigrews. Stay on Pettigrews all the way until your reach the beach end of Kings Bore - no problem, just follow the track and don't take side tracks. Pettigrews will take up to 2 hrs and is not really suitable for soft offroadsers due to low ground clearance problems when we went through - ruttedsoft sand

Once back on Kings Bore, head for the beach, one way only down hill, turn right at the beach and a km or so down the beach, there is Red Canyon for the afternoon tea stop and to loose the kids for a while. Then keep going south down the beach until exit 3 to get off the beach.

Good trip, not difficult at all and can be done in standard vehciles with road tyres. Keep a tight timetable as it can be a very long day.

Have a good day

Stevesub
FollowupID: 454847

Reply By: daisygirl - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 17:34

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 17:34
Thanks for that. We have done Kings Bore track before and wondered where the other track went to. Someone else last weekend recommended we go left instead of right to Kings Bore so must be the same place he was talking about.
AnswerID: 196641

Reply By: stevesub - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 17:40

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 17:40
Post a trip report when you have finished. It is a good day out and check the tides on the beach to avoid high tide problems, preferably have a 6pm low tide.

Stevesub
AnswerID: 196643